Photokano
Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 


Alternative Titles

English: Photo Kano
Synonyms: Foto Kano, Photograph Girlfriend
Japanese: フォトカノ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 5, 2013 to Jun 28, 2013
Premiered: Spring 2013
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: TBS, Enterbrain, BS-TBS, RAY
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Visual novel
Genres: EcchiEcchi, RomanceRomance, SchoolSchool
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.271 (scored by 3300533,005 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #68922
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1381
Members: 81,007
Favorites: 98

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 1, 2013
darkj25 (All reviews)
Before watching this anime, you should know the definition of "omnibus format". The omnibus format main purpose is to dismantle harem genre anime such that the protagonist is able to have romantic developments with the multiple different chosen candidate without having a dispute between each other. One famous example would be the Amagami SS.

Amagami SS was the first anime that adopted the style "Omnibus Format". Each heroine had 4 episodes arc in which their romantic confrontation was completed. By each confront's conclusion, the universe would reset to the initial world for the next heroine's romantic confrontation to begin. All memories of moments that happened during read more
Jul 2, 2013
Stark700 (All reviews)
Well, what do we have here. It's PhotoKano, a series based off the dating game of the same name. The series focuses on this young boy named Kazuya Maeda who happens to be a high school student enjoying the youth of his life. Perhaps he is enjoying it too much though with that little toy of his. It's a camera and used to capture memories through its lenses. With imagination, you can discover magic through a camera. But that's just all an imagination because in PhotoKano, magic doesn't exist. Rather, there exists many girls who wants to pose for you in lascivious positions just wanting read more
May 11, 2013
Ressamp (All reviews)
I've made another review. The original one (the one I wrote at six episodes out of ten) is below.

~ Completed Review ~

Photo Kano was definitely a disappointment. The first few episodes led me on, it suggested potential that was definitely never realized. And that, makes me sad. It makes me sad because Photo Kano was something that I had actually looked forward to watching - that implementation of photography, actually really interested me. The art and character design, were actually appealing. The opening, wasn’t amazing, but it was better than average. It was potential. From the very first episode, I felt some, if any potential. read more
Jun 15, 2013
IdleSheep (All reviews)
Preliminary
This series is a fine example of wasted potential. When I discovered this anime I was really looking forward to watch it, I'm a great fan of romance, even the cheesy, sometimes forced, type of romance, and after learning this show used the now more popular omnibus format I defenitely had to give it a try because I was expecting something along the lines of Amagami SS which was fine by me. The idea of having a show where all the possible scenarios are depicted is in my opinion an asset because fans can't get angry with pairings since they get all of them, it's read more
Dec 4, 2014
Znatte (All reviews)
Have you ever had that situation where you love the beginning of an anime but the rest of the series doesn’t turn out too well. You get disappointed and just want to forget all the things that were bad. That is how it was with Photokano for me.

This series is about Maeda Kazuya, a normal high school boy that receives a digital camera from his father. He starts to get interested in photographing which opens a lot of doors for him. During the series he comes across people he would never had talked to if it wasn’t for his newfound hobby.

The structure of read more
Jun 28, 2013
Obihiro (All reviews)
Photokano is about a boy Maeda Kazuya whose father passes his old camera to him. "Through the viewfinder" (he says it that way), he meets girls, and told in separate episodes, develops romances with each of them.

Story: 5/10
The initial premise frankly doesn't sound too bad. You are given introductory episodes where Maeda meets the heroines. After that, each of the heroines' romance stories with Maeda is told in one episode. Each route follows the same format: an encounter that puts Maeda on the girl's route, problem, resolution, confession, then ending. Because each route is crammed into one episode, everything is rushed, and abrupt development read more
Jul 9, 2013
Kynov (All reviews)
*If you're not into reading too many sentences, just read the conclusion parts*
**There is some comparison and minor spoilers in this review**


"I dont like take a people photo, their smile doesnt matching with what in their mind" - Hikari Sanehara (Episode 7)

PhotoKano is an anime that you wouldnt find in anywhere. Using same method as Amagami SS and Yosuga no Sora called Omnibus format*. Photokano is said to be the successor of those both anime. Many people like me (who loves Amagami SS) have a high expectation about this anime, since like i said before not many anime using this format. So is this anime read more
Jun 1, 2013
Nano-kun (All reviews)
Preliminary
Photo Kana~

I know there are only eight episodes out for this anime but I feel like this is actually a good time to review this hidden gem. I didn't really hear about this anime from anyone and really just decided to watch it because the art looked gorgeous. And no i'm not just here for the pretty girls...

Story - Photo Kana is pretty simple. There isn't a whole lot to it and I think that suits it just fine. It's a story that unfolds before you that might be predictable but still enjoyable. The main character Maeda gets a hand-me-down camera from his father read more
Jun 10, 2013
crrstle (All reviews)
Preliminary
Well this series kind of felt boring for me since the romance wasn't really that developed. It's like Amagami except that the girls fall in love a lot easier and well... the guy just takes pictures of the various heroines in each route.

I personally think that the whole point of this show is really just focusing about taking the photos of the girlfriends in each episodes as the title suggests Photokano which means Photo Girlfriend.

I wouldn't really recommend this series but if you have lots of free time and like romance genre, you can try watching this and might come like it but who read more
May 31, 2013
Onsaki (All reviews)
Preliminary
Applause for the girls, they're like a tool to use and getting expired after he says "I love you".

I hate it more, just because Madhouse disappointed me. The thing is they're got the wrong show to make money for.

Okay if you're going to say WHY you're making a review in only an 8 episodes done. Let me say, this show hasn't been something to look forward to, other than seeing the girls. So i thought why not, girls will keep coming in the end.

The jumping from one to another girl. That's something should develop that guy. I'd say it's a developing BUT it's not, because read more
Jul 11, 2013
ace0fspad3s (All reviews)
I thought it was decent, the first four episodes set it up pretty well, because it had also served as the common "Arc" for the rest, however because it was based off of a dating game, the rest of the episodes didn't have very much depth to them.
I didn't mind the idea, in fact I liked how they made the series treat the other girls as canon as he "did their route" but they condensed each story into one episode with the exception of one character in which they gave her two episodes and of course she felt more round than the others because read more
Jun 29, 2013
IZEROII (All reviews)
Photokano was described as the spiritual successor to Amagami SS prior to it's airing. This fact alone made wanting to watch Photokano appealing. However, in the end, this particular anime did not satisfy the romantic in me and likely not in you.

Story:
The story is an omnibus format which simply means the show is split into stand alone arcs. This is arguable the biggest flaw. There are simply not enough episodes to flesh out any meaning in the relationships given the number of heroines. Being a romance at it's core, Photokano does a very average job in capturing the emotions read more
Jun 5, 2013
KaiserLos24 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Photokano is one of the few anime I know that are depicted in the omnibus format; the other 2 being Amagami SS and Yosuga no Sora. I was pretty surprised. It was better than I thought it would be, but it could still use some work.

Story: 8

What can I say? The series is based on a dating sim. The story is that of the typical dating sim game plot. But how the protagonist started his whole romance life because of a hand-me-down camera his dad gave him was original, as far as I'm concerned. Other than that, the rest is pretty standard:
1. read more
Jun 13, 2015
Vanillax04 (All reviews)
this Anime is pretty fucking underrated than I expected, I will make a comparison here so deal with it, for instance, Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun as we all know is about a pair of couple named Shizuku and Haru, Shizuku in general is pretty fucking weird who only focused on studying, but I can deal with that, while on the other hand, Haru is completely fucked up who only do what he wants and not giving a shit about what others think, if he wants to punch a guy with his friends, he will do it despite the fact that he might get beaten afterwards, that's read more
Jul 7, 2013
EIsword (All reviews)
Preliminary
WARNING SPOILERS ARE CONTAINED (Last Paragraph)

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Ohhh boy, here we go, Kazuya, a mild-mannered high school sophomore receives a gift (Camera) from his father. Kazuya begins to take pictures of a-lot of things he find as a "Photo Opportunity". The club leader of the Photography club spots Kazuya and wants to recruit him. However, he only wants to recruit him for perverted reasons since Kazuya knows some popular girls and can get some dirty pictures out of them for the perverted Photography club. That's basically the main story (So far).

To be honest here, this is one of the most stereotypical cliche Animes I have ever watched. read more
May 29, 2013
soupsane (All reviews)
Preliminary
I thought it was really great and cute but then as i got further into the eps i felt like i was watching amagami ss all over again. Dont get me wrong they are both good animes, but all i know is that if you really like amagami ss and want to watch something almost identicall, then photokano is your anime. Of course there are some differences, and the first few eps would catch your attention if your into love dramas. Its nice.
Apr 21, 2014
Chilz (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime is one of the worst i've ever seen and i didn't just watch one episode. I watched eight, yes i wasted a good couple of hours sitting and wasting my time on this. Ok, its based on a game and to be fair, when you're watching it, it feels as if you were playing a videogame. But if i wanted to play i videogame i would have bought the videogame.
Now, lets start by saying that the music in this show is the most intrusive music ever, you cant focus on the utterly pathetic dialogue and almost non existent but most certainly dreadful plot read more
Jan 27, 2017
HikiNEET021 (All reviews)
I called luck.... and it's a win...

Cause it all make sense...

He end up with all of them.. in every route.. (especially his sister???? better not involve her with this)

Best to update the route (Ep. 8 i wish it's much longer than the rest)

A kind of photograph which could tell that your youth had just about to start..
a kind of shot... which hold a secrets that hold us together... Well i'd say the anime is a very simple romcom, where a boy encounters a girl... In other words even we don't need a better strong story or any kind of gestures that attains much more mutual.. read more
Jan 15, 2014
Arizzle (All reviews)
Harem anime offer a multitude of aspects for a viewer to enjoy when watching one. Viewers are offered what`s essentially a line-up of different female characters (or males for the reverse genre) who tend to all follow a certain archetype that`s become fairly common in most genres of moe-blob, and slice of life shows, and almost staple to visual novel adaptations. Given that the characters are interesting enough, with a sensible plot behind them, anyone can find at least one character who found themselves enjoying the time of day given to that one specific character, even though that, canonically, the main girl will be chosen read more
Apr 22, 2019
Eugenefindit (All reviews)
Well, it's been a while since I wrote a review on MAL, but since I've got nothing to do now, I thought I'd do one.

Now, this is gonna be a fun one to write. Photokano has been on my radar for quite some time now for several reasons: 1) It's by Madhouse, 2) but it's got a pretty mediocre score, and of course 3) just because it's got Ecchi as a genre. Well, what can I say? I am a guy after all and I ain't gonna miss out on some 'nice' shots that I may come across. And speaking of nice shots, it really read more