Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai!


Alternative Titles

English: Love, Chunibyo & Other Delusions!
Synonyms: Chu-2 Byo demo Koi ga Shitai!, Regardless of My Adolescent Delusions of Grandeur, I Want a Date!
Japanese: 中二病でも恋がしたい!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 4, 2012 to Dec 20, 2012
Premiered: Fall 2012
Broadcast: Thursdays at 00:30 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Kyoto Animation
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.911 (scored by 292,128 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #6582
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #59
Members: 504,270
Favorites: 8,309

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 28, 2012
Veronin (All reviews)
Growing up is not an easy process, and there are always moments that one looks back upon with a sense of embarrassment and regret. One might ask what it is that truly marks the transition into adulthood: the ability to live independently, or maybe the conformity and adherence to social norms. Are the people who remain true to their childhood interests not grown up, then? Perhaps. But is there anything wrong with that? It's hard to say.

There's a strange term used in Japanese internet culture. "Chuunibyou", or more literally "Eighth-Grade Syndrome", refers to matured individuals with an absurd self-created persona. Remember the times as read more
Nov 8, 2012
Stark700 (All reviews)
I like to laugh. Who doesn't? I like to smile. A smile always brightens the day. I like to watch some high school kids pretending who they are not and cosplaying as characters like the Dark Flame Master. Oh, I guess this is the right place then because Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai! can do all three of those things. Killing three birds with one stone, awesome isn't it?

Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai! (Regardless of My Adolescent Delusions of Grandeur, I Want a Date!) is an anime series based on the novel of the same name that is produced by Kyoto Animation. Some fans of read more
Apr 27, 2013
Yuno_Love (All reviews)
First review. I just finished this so it's fresh on my mind and I absolutely must write about it.

STORY: 9
What we have here is a typical story executed in a wonderfully original way. KyoAni blends the comedic and dramatic into a nostalgic exploration of adolescence topped with their particular charm. I found myself laughing, cringing, and tearing up multiple times throughout. It's an emotional roller-coaster, yet I feel it manages to avoid the realm of melodrama by contrasting drama with gags. It does what Toradora failed to do for me. That said, I feel the show could have used one or two more episodes to read more
Dec 19, 2012
Sh1nke (All reviews)
EDIT (1/1/13) : In the past, in advance and now I must express my greatest apology for creating spoilers of this series. I completely forgot somehow even though on my right and my right mind that it says to 'not write any spoilers', mental blank maybe or just my past acting up... But once again I must apologise and hope that you can forgive me. I will remove the spoilers for future readers and for current or past readers, I really do apologise. And without a further ado... I must add that there are some slight spoilers but not as much as before

A sense read more
Dec 19, 2012
Yukariki (All reviews)
Suppose you watch a work that seems to have a lot of effort put into it. It’s easy to tell the staff members have worked their ass off to make this work look pretty. Gorgeous character designs and backgrounds. Hell, it’s possible to just watch the show for the art. Turn off the sounds and take off the subtitles from the screen. It’s fantastic animation. I expect nothing less from Kyoto Animation, which has given us Hyouka gifs on our Tumblr. To expect mediocrity in art direction is an insult to the members of this talented studio.

Yet, prettiness is not always watchable. When the plot read more
Nov 6, 2012
FurryLizard (All reviews)
Preliminary
Well, it sort of feels like a blast from the past. Kinda makes you look at times in your childhood when you played ninjas or superpowers with your friends at school when you were young and how embarrassing it would be if you were to try that now in highschool, the looks on peoples faces and stares.

Right now the story hasn't progressed too much 4 episodes in, right now I think the characters are just being introduced. I can feel the romance progressing in the future and it looks promising, but for now its just a typical slice of life moe girls doing cute read more
Dec 15, 2012
Lanthanum (All reviews)
Preliminary
Sometimes, initial impressions can be highly deceiving. Chuunibyou is an example of that.

Incorporating elements of drama, moe and SoL, Chuunibyou is a superb show, displaying a remarkable level of literary and technical depth, and appealing to many different viewers as well.

Drama, characterization and plot are well executed, making this show one of the most enjoyable this season. It is only around the later episodes that one truly comes to appreciate the level of thoughtfulness and sophistication that went into the creation of this show. Whilst the first 1-8 episodes seem like pointless interactions, it is later revealed to be metaphorical to the inner struggles of read more
Dec 20, 2012
JustinNateal (All reviews)
*to those lazy people who just want to see a quick summary, just skip to the end*

I’m pretty sure that no matter who you are, where you live, and what you’re stature in life is, you’ve once dreamt of the supernatural. You know, like having special powers that set you apart from others, or living in a floating castle in the sky. But of course, regardless of that, there came a time when we all decided to forget such delusions and become a proper part of the society. Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai, otherwise known as Chuu-2, is an anime that focuses on such delusions. read more
Oct 28, 2012
Cyaniede (All reviews)
Preliminary
After watching a few episodes, I felt that it was necessary to review it. So far, this anime has been like a dream, coming and going almost instantly, just like the theme of youth and adolescence that comes and goes. It hits me that this anime is somewhat different. It's like, if you mixed your run of the mill slice of life anime, and baked at 400 degrees for twelve minutes, and then sprinkled in a cup of action, this is what you would get. If you came to watch the action, unfortunately, you may be disappointed. Because there just isn't that much. You get read more
Oct 17, 2012
Rowd (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ok where only 3 episodes in but i felt like talking about this anime as im waiting for others to be subbed right now. Anyways Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai is a typical comedy, school life anime that leans toward a harem genre. Its selling point is the theme revolving around chuunibyous as stated by the title. For those who do not know wat chuunibyous are, it literally means "eighth grade syndrom", basically meaning a short period of time when a person is heavily influenced by something (generally anime) and believe they are a mythical existence or have supernatural powers (ex. Kobato Hasegawa read more
Oct 26, 2012
Karhu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Despite the adolescent delusions, I want to fall in love! is KyoAni's newest masterpiece.


Story: 10/10 moeblob harem and a loli, plus action, fuckyeah. Also school settings and the characters create a club. Very original for them.
Characters: 9/10 loli moeblob and a harem, my favorite, but there is more than one male character which is a minus.
Art: 10/10 moe, almighty moe, awe-inspiring moe. Fucking moe, man.
Sounds: 8/10 loli voiced by someone else than Kugimiya Rie, not a smart move.
Enjoyment: moe = masterpiece of entertainment, moe = made of enjoyment. I also worship this anime and Mr. Peter is my favorite drink.


Seriously said. The read more
Dec 13, 2012
edorcean100 (All reviews)
Once upon a time, there was a really good friend of mine from middle school. Let’s call him Jim. One day Jim came to the brilliant conclusion that he was on the brink of something amazing: becoming a super sayin. Mesmerized by his words of stupidity, we all gathered around as Jim concentrated and let out this loud, flamboyant scream for what seemed like 10 minutes and in the end……………well………….let’s just say his parents had buy a new rug for the classroom.

Now you might be asking yourself, what does that stupid story have to do with Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai!? Well everything actually because read more
May 30, 2014
Sorainnosia (All reviews)
Chuunibyou Demo Koi Ga SHitai!

Story 7/10

Chuunibyou Demo Koi Ga Shitai! opens with a meaningful opening, and ends beautifully. The plot is balanced with emotions, dramas, and comedies all together in one, creating a strong and well depth story. Although, Chuu2byou have some meaningless episodes, but the plot still manages to do well to balanced the story up.

Art 8/10

As a modern anime, I’m not surprised I gave art 8 to Chuu2byou. The anime have a balanced contrast color, beautiful background, and well-produced character design.

Sound 8/10

The background music did very well to mix up with the stories. Opening and ending song is practically fit to the story. read more
Nov 25, 2013
xbobx (All reviews)
"Reality, be rent. Synapse, break! Banishment, this world! ...."

Behold!
The ultimate review by Dark Flame Reviewer Master.
What? You don't know who I am? How pitiful. Well... as expected from a human commoner. It is no surprise you haven't watched this epic series yet... What!? Did you say you don't acknowledge the meaning of the word Chuunibyou? Holy Chimera, do I need to explain everything?

Chuunibyou, aka 8th grade Syndrome, Pubescent Crisis, Fourteen sick, Hebephrenic schizophrenia, by the commoners, is actually the gateway to the Unseen Horizon. Only those who feel it can see the true reality. This tale presented before your eyes summons the adventures of read more
Dec 10, 2012
nipah_bitches (All reviews)
Preliminary
There's nothing to see here, just another generic moe anime.

Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai! is another one of KyoAni's generic moe anime that have little to no story, and is just plain moe + humor. They've done this style so many times, that it's getting just annoying watching them repeat the same style for each anime they do. Why are they stuck on the moe train? Do they really only want to appeal to the otakus who watch anime, not for it's story, for the character's "moeness"? KyoAni is wasting their talent on these "moeblobs", when they could be using their quality animation on bigger read more
Dec 24, 2012
gillis (All reviews)
"Another romance / comedy anime? And another eyepatch girl? Please spare us... "

I beg to differ.

Hello fellow anime fans, my name is Gillis. This is my very first anime review and I mainly decided to write it as this anime seems to have been overlooked by many, and I at least want it to catch your attention. Heck, another eyepatch girl, some may think when they see the picture of the anime. I am like that too, but if you miss this series I won't forgive you.

I have been watching anime for a long time, all the way back in grade school. When I started read more
Nov 12, 2015
phs_togusa (All reviews)
Kyoto Animation has this strange habit of making programmes I can relate to and yet have major problems with in spite of that empathy factor. As an example of this phenomenon of theirs, let's take a look at Love, Chunibyo, & Other Delusions: a programme that's about your Narutard phase from middle school, or more specifically, one person who recently got out of that phase and his relationship with another person who's still wearing a forehead protector and making hand signs.

I'm just gonna rip this bandage right off from the start so that yall know what I think of the show: I actually do happen read more
Feb 24, 2013
Firechick12012 (All reviews)
I'm autistic. I've come a long way since I was young. Oftentimes autistic people prefer fantasy over reality. When I was in the 4th grade, I got into Yu-Gi-Oh. Unlike most normal kids, I still couldn't distinguish fantasy from reality. I truly believed that characters in cartoons were real people. I fell in love with the little Yugi. No, this wasn't some childish crush. It was basically a hardcore obsession. I raved on and on and on about how I'd marry Yugi and cuddle with him and kiss him and have kids with him and all that dumb stuff. Yeah, stuff like this is normal read more
Jan 16, 2013
lastmann (All reviews)
(Minor Spoilers)
As I watched the first episode of Chuunibyou, I remember saying to myself "great...another Haruhi Suzumiya clone" and while there are distinct similarities between the two animes, I'm thrilled that I kept watching and gave Chuunibyou the chance it deserved.

There isnt much of a story or plot for much of the show, episodes usually introduce new characters or develop existing ones by way of crazy slice of life situations. That is untill the second half of the series, when much of the shows stellar humor is traded for an impressive romance, and all star character development. While I found myself missing the side splitting read more
Dec 16, 2012
anupkumar_ak47 (All reviews)
Preliminary
The title suggests it to be a random anime, the beginning gives you the image of a random goofy comedy anime honestly i didn't expect much out of this anime but it all changed once i began watching this series.

5 episodes into the series all this begins to change and the story becomes more emotional and heartwarming and at sometimes gives you a nostalgic feeling of how it felt like when we were kids.

"Chuunibyou", i looked up what it meant on Google and this was the answer that i found:

"A Japanese slang term which roughly translates to "Middle School 2nd Year Syndrome". People with read more