Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

K


Alternative Titles

English: K
Synonyms: K-Project, K -eine weitere Geschichte-
Japanese: K

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 5, 2012 to Dec 28, 2012
Premiered: Fall 2012
Broadcast: Thursdays at Unknown
Licensors: Viz Media
Studios: GoHands
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.641 (scored by 235,803 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #12902
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #137
Members: 466,361
Favorites: 5,775

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 1, 2013
Tatatatara (All reviews)
You're probably aware of the fact this anime is gettin' pretty low scores and most of the people who review it keep complaining about same stuff. No coherent plot, weak character development, rushed storytelling, blah blah blah.

Well, well. That's all cool and stuff, but why don't we show the other side of the coin, too. By the way, I'm a guy, straight and all. K is manly stuff, k. (fakken pun)

Story: 9 Simply put, this story is great. It's not the most original story of all times, but it isn't a complete cliche either, as many would like you to believe.

See, the thing read more
Dec 29, 2012
thewinrar (All reviews)
K can be best described as a poorly baked cake covered with an excessive amount of icing. One can look at this cake and view it to be extremely succulent and sweet on the exterior, but after tasting it, one may find dissatisfaction from cake's lack of quality. Just like this cake, K attempts to attract viewers with its beautiful visuals and flashy soundtrack like icing, but the poor quality of an inconsistent story that felt rushed can dispel the exterior beauty and leave viewers sick to the stomach.

Upon viewing K for the first time, it is hard to disagree that it looks beautiful. K read more
Mar 20, 2013
SeitenSoushi (All reviews)
First review coming up, K?! (pun intended)

Story: 9
At its core, K is a story about finding the identity of a murderer and its implications in an ongoing war between superpowered clans. Elements of sci-fi, fantasy and mystery are combined to make for a very appealing package. In my opinion, the first few episodes don't really explain much, but they leave enough questions unanswered to make you keep coming back for more. I suppose it may be to give the viewer the same feeling that the protagonist Yashiro would get from having his daily life changed so suddenly. However, the story really read more
Mar 30, 2014
PeachYogurt31 (All reviews)
Art and Animation: 9

I'll start out by writing about the positive aspects of this anime, which is obviously the art and animation quality. Fantastic fluidity to motions. Very active scenes and active bodies. The color usage is bold and nothing to overlook, however, I did start to find the experimental color gradient to be a little bit of an eyesore at times. Yet, at other times it was definitely effective in setting the mood. The characters were cleanly drawn with slim, delicate figures. Smaller details such as clothing design and the cityscape are fun.

Character: 6

The show is similar to Durarara! in that it incorporates read more
Dec 27, 2012
The_Pro_At_Stuff (All reviews)
Beautiful art and appealing soundtracks. You're probably thinking, "This will be amazing!", right? Well it isn't. There are many flaws and factors that drags K down from being a well done anime to a below average one.

Let us start with a close look at the story. Our hero, Isana Yashiro, goes on an errand one day and is suddenly attacked by a group of men on the streets. It is later revealed that he is blamed for a murder that he does not remember committing. An interesting plot with a decent bit of potential behind it.

Everything is fine until we realize the plot comes to read more
Dec 27, 2012
Stark700 (All reviews)
I love K! I love it for the fact that the series seems almost like watching rainbows without an actual way of expressing itself at first, especially regarding its artwork. It's almost like the directors are indirectly saying, “let's throw some cool animation and shit and get the audience to watch this!" Sure, there is a plot but it's just way too slow. I'm not exaggerating here but K is a series that just doesn't work out right at all. For those of you reading this, you might agree and some of you might not. Anyways, let's begin shall we?

Let's start by asking ourselves...what is read more
Nov 4, 2012
Karhu (All reviews)
Preliminary
K is a weird action anime with relatively high production values. It follows the story of a young boy named Shiro who murdered some random guy who was pretty much a big deal except Shiro didn't kill him because he has an alibi, but everyone thinks he killed him until they get to know his alibi but then Shiro remembers he did kill him or something but he didn't because he has an alibi. The story still makes sense very much, at least if we compare the story to the characters action's which frankly reminds headless chickens.

The characters of this series run all over read more
Oct 30, 2012
Jaggy (All reviews)
Story: 1/10

I've never watched an anime with a more pathetic story. I think I find the Cockroach girl anime more appealing than this one. The story line feels like the creators decided to pull all their favorite aspects out of all the anime they've ever liked and put it into one. There is a weak reference to "deep" connections between these 7 gangs in the anime, but this story is following the main character, Shiro and his cat that turns into a sexy girl randomly. The blue gang is a vigilante police group and one of the members, Kuro, believes that Shiro committed a murder read more
Dec 28, 2012
Toucanbird (All reviews)
I've got news for GoHands. You can polish a turd, make it really pretty, flashy, and cool...but it still doesn't defeat the fact that it's still a turd.

K Project might be the biggest letdown of an anime I've seen all year. It has some of the best OSTs I've heard in a series this year. The animation is gorgeous and the art direction in the first episode had a setup for a series that was going to be epic. So what the hell happened? To put it bluntly, how did such a captivating series become such an epic pile of crap?

Simply put, the story read more
Dec 5, 2012
D41SY (All reviews)
Preliminary
For those wondering about "Low Ratings" or "Low Scores" it's because everyone has their opinions. I mean, some of these people are trying to be deep about it and writing like a critic, but a lot of it is just a guise for their own taste in Anime. If they state something that they don't like, well that' just cause they don't like it.

ANYWAYS, I just finished up episode 8 of this series, went straight from 1-8 although I probably shouldn't have. So i'm pretty hooked.

Trying to go no spoiler here:

The story is alright it has plenty of generic points but, if you abstract things read more
Dec 28, 2012
AnimeForDummies (All reviews)
K-Project

1st Review and a Long One

*Please take the time to read/skim through it. Don’t just judge by the score I give the anime! If you hate my review, please explain why.

The autumn season of 2012 was an entertaining one. The season brought new light and a breath of fresh air to the anime industry. Of all the anime there is to talk about, K is one of the most talks about anime to date. It might be though to the fact that the PVs carry ton of promise for the project bringing in huge read more
Mar 20, 2013
Dandey (All reviews)
K, let me start by saying that although this series wasn't close to becoming a masterpiece, it is not nearly as bad as alot of viewers are making it out to be with scores such as 3's/4's. However i can see why many people didn't like this anime.

Plot: Im not going to bore you all with giving a summary of the plot, as im assuming you have at least some knowledge of the show if you are reading this review. 'K' had so much potential, however like many recent shows airing, the plot was neglected due to the high demand of having pretty visuals and read more
Mar 23, 2013
atmosphic (All reviews)
Sometimes I wonder if people want to be original from the get go or just take concepts from different shows, throw them all in a pot and hope something good comes out. Project K is a classic example of people who have to much to do and not enough resources to do it with.

STORY 4/10
From the first episode we have been given the basic outline of each character, their goals and where each of them stand in terms of ranking. It doesn't help the viewer that episode one starts in the middle of the plot, tracks back and then pushes forward.
It read more
Nov 27, 2012
KiAce2 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show had a good start, the first episode showed the best of what this show could ever offer. Cool characters, beautiful art, nice introduction to the plot and setting. As I watched subsequent episodes however, I started to realise the story was progressing from nowhere to little at all.

The story could have been something interesting. The first episode presented many interesting characters, and the plot was good enough that it could have gone somewhere interesting as it progressed. Sadly, this progression had gone almost nowhere after three episodes, and many characters took a turn for the worse. They're shallow at their best, and completely read more
Apr 15, 2013
CD209 (All reviews)
Do you know one of those anime that despite not having anything outstanding to it, still end up making you watch it until the middle of the night and go tell all your friends about how great it is the next day? Yeah, K is one of those

Story: 8/10

K story is set in a busy, futuristic city that underneath its grandeur lies supernatural forces and dangerous gangs. Much like Durarara!!, the show has multiple story lines that end up intersecting each other in the end. Now, if this is the first time something like this was done, I would really had enjoyed it much more. read more
Jul 29, 2015
karlstein12 (All reviews)
K is by no means a masterpiece but at the same time it isn't as bad as some people are making out to be. I personally think that K completed the plot its based around its own little world pretty well.

Isana Yashiro is a soft and an adolescent teenager who lives on his own and is always active with his friends around the campus. However he soon finds himself chased down by the infamous gang named "HOMRA" who are the clansmen for the Red King. In the anime, seven kings or rulers are portrayed who have their own persona and supernatural powers. From the read more
Dec 29, 2012
Growler (All reviews)
When you watch K the things that captivate you are the soundtracks as well as designs and animations. The story is intriguing and first but becomes a letdown later on. However you cannot say it is a failure just because you don't understand the overall complex of the series. For those of you who enjoy action scenes or characters that act cool and/or clumsy.. then you should watch K.

For those of you who don't know how to appreciate a good anime please don't write crappy reviews when you look only at a tree and not the entire forest
Nov 22, 2013
Odysseus (All reviews)
'Set in a world where history has taken a slightly different course from the one we're familiar with, K follows the story of a young boy whose life is caught in a psychic war between seven kings'

Story: 4
Where to begin, first we start with the protagonist which is a student that goes by the name of Yashiro Isana, a normal student who attends school at first glance however that is not the case. Yashiro Isana is attacked by a group of suspicious men because Yashiro is suspected of killing one of the groups comrades, however to no memory of Yashiro. This is the catalyst read more
Mar 19, 2013
Orsonius (All reviews)
When I first saw pictures and trailers for K, I though:
"Man this looks promising!"

And so the first episode started off with an amazing instrumental hip hop track, some cool looking dudes and a cute loli... and this weird blue filter...

Well after a couple of episodes full of nonsense later I found myself baffled how anyone could even understand what this show was about.

Well needless to say, this show made as much sense as a monocycle riding monkey on a plane.

Let's just get to it.

First the good:

Animation 8/10

This show looks damn fucking amazing it would have earned a 9/10 but that damn ugly blue filter ruined read more
Jan 10, 2013
shinezu (All reviews)
Project K. What can I say? I have mixed feelings about it; more importantly it is a typical sad case of great concept ruined by terrible execution. Here's why.

Lets put the story aside for a while, and talk about the concept. The concept for Project K is arguably fresh and creative. I won't call it particularly innovative but it does wonderfully so combine elements of sci-fi and fantasy. Seven Kings and their vassals endorsed by that special power, street gangs, military-like organizations and a high school and an inevitable evil mastermind behind all the events. It's a bit of everything and I suppose that's why read more