Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Girls & Panzer


Alternative Titles

English: Girls & Panzer
Synonyms: Garupan, Girls und Panzer
Japanese: ガールズ&パンツァー

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 9, 2012 to Mar 25, 2013
Premiered: Fall 2012
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 01:00 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Actas
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.651 (scored by 72,850 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #12172
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #558
Members: 148,277
Favorites: 2,659

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 27, 2013
NotDolphy (All reviews)
There’s a reasonably well-justified tendency among anime fans to hastily dismiss the potential merit of any permutation of the whole “cute girls doing cute things” motif that’s so nauseatingly ubiquitous in modern anime. In recent times, we’ve had a spate of these lusterless shows - whether it be “cute girls climbing mountains!” or “cute girls that are actually anthropomorphic guns or something!” - and the results are nigh-invariably uninspired dreck that’s not worthy of anyone’s time. With this in mind, it’s only natural to approach the simple premise of “cute girls driving tanks” with caution. It is against all odds, then, that Girls und Panzer read more
Nov 20, 2012
PrinceBrushie (All reviews)
Story 8/10
Other then the whole high school girl club about tanks aspect, the story is not very original, but I never really based the quality of an anime on how original its is, just how well executed it is and the story for Girls und panzer was pretty well executed. There were several conflicts and issues in the story that developed through the anime that were paced well. I found the ending quite satisfying. The scenes are well written and the whole anime had a nice pace that was comfortable, but not too slow either. The dialogue is good, even though both can get really read more
Dec 25, 2013
ZeroReq011 (All reviews)
Senshado. Tankery. The Way of the Tank.

“A strong, but delicate art that aims to make women more polite, graceful, modest, and gallant, both on and off the battlefield. To learn tankery is to armor the heart of a maiden, the soul that embraces and burns with femininity. Intense and strong like a tank's iron. Cute and lively, like the clattering of its track. And finally, passionate and precise, like its main weapon. If you train in tankery, you will become a better wife, a better mother, a better student, and a better worker. You will become healthier, kinder, stronger, and men from all over the read more
Mar 26, 2013
Infinite (All reviews)
Something that I have discovered whilst watching Girls Und Panzer is that trying to convince people that it is genuinely a fantastic show is nigh on impossible. I don't blame them, if someone had told me before I watched it that I'd be rating it an 8 and calling it a highlight of the year then I would have greeted them with a doubting look, wondering whether they were joking or whether they just had bad taste.

It's obvious why there's so much doubt, it's the premise. Cute girls driving tanks immediately brings up memories of shows of "cute girls doing cute things" or of "Cute read more
Jul 31, 2014
emilsinclair (All reviews)
This was better than I expected. The premise on this series is battles between groups of tanks as an after school club. In this crazy world, this is treated just as another sport which contributes somewhat to feminity. (I wonder what the hell would boys do, given the proper atention by the series: ¿kill each other?, ¿learn to cook?).

Art gets pretty interesting when tanks are battling.

All related to tanks is ok and even seems well documented, but the slice of life with stribes on the girls seems to pale a bit in comparison. Take for instance a moment at episode two or three when the read more
Mar 26, 2013
Yukariki (All reviews)
A particular scene in Girls und Panzer always struck me as the most beautiful thing animated. Reizei Mako is a loli with black hair; she wears a white headband and goes to school. The problem is she’s often sleepy and is always late for school. The other members of the cast are worried because they need a teammate for their panzer team (more on that later). Mako is perfect for the role of the driver. But once again, on the day when she is needed, she is still sleeping in her comfy bed. Nishizumi Miho, the protagonist, with her brownish-orange hair decides to wake her read more
Mar 9, 2015
Vene (All reviews)
~Multilingual review, English & Español: Girls und Panzer~

Nowadays "Cute girls doing cute things" have become an unwritten genre, or better, a keyword that open a window through which we can imagine completely how it's going to be an anime, even if our knowledge about it are pair to zero, we could almost go far and state a "first impression" derived only by hearing those words. We tend to imagine a group of cute girls doing absolutely nothing, actually only cute things, or engaged in some particular activity, sometimes that unusual that we could consider them totally out of ordinary or from what we could call read more
Jul 8, 2013
Zarashy (All reviews)
“Girls und Panzer”, Girls and Tanks (Panzer - taken from the German language), can be considered as one of the few anime which truly sticks to the title. At first glance, it can be said that this show is all about ‘cute girls competing each other with tanks’. To some it may sound amusing, while for others it might seem as another tedious work.

The anime is set in the future (some few decades from now) where tanks are obsolete and are at girls’ disposal for honing their skills in Sensha-do (Way of the Tank). We have our protagonist Miho Nishizumi, driven from her past read more
Apr 2, 2017
literaturenerd (All reviews)
One of my older reviews that got removed. Back for your amusement.

Overview:

Today we look at one of the silliest anime to come out in recent years! Girls und Panzer ist ein anime about frauen zat drive panzers! Each Panzerbesatzung (tank crew) consists of little moe girls that make otaku go "awwww". There is also lots of ww2 tank porn that appeals to armchair army geeks that have played WAY too much World of Tanks and now consider themselves military experts.

Plot: 5/10

The plot is that tank combat between teams is now a sport, and girls rather than guys are the primary participants of this activity. read more
Nov 3, 2012
CLironheart (All reviews)
Preliminary
First of all, I know the series isn't fully out, but this is what I've gathered from what I've watched.

I'm impressed with the way the Panzer IV Ausf. D and the StuG III looked. Was also great see the M3 Grant (going off of the Lee having 7 crew members and the Grant having 6, but that could be developer oversight or crew shortage) and Panzer 38(t) getting some love. The sounds are also decent, not quite there, but that'd ruin the atmosphere of the show.

Character design and story are lacking, but its your typical moe blob, so thats that. But as the later episodes read more
Jan 10, 2013
lj167 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show is basically heroin.

at first you're like dude why should I watch it and your friends are like just do it and you give in because peer pressure and you're like that is pretty decent i should watch the next one and you keep going and they're drinking tea in the middle of battles and singing war songs and putting pillows in their tanks because why not and this is such a ridiculous premise but they take it so seriously and you're writing run-on sentences because these characters are so great and the battle march starts playing and Miho screams PANZER VOR and you're read more
Dec 24, 2013
Phaetons_Folly (All reviews)
Girls und Panzer is a running joke that never delivers its punch line, and that is why the show is a masterpiece. One its surface, Girls und Panzer appears to be another ‘cute girls doing cute things’ anime with the cute thing this time being riding and fighting tanks. That’s the joke. The underlying premise is so ridiculous and absurd that you can’t not find it funny. However, this anime will play it straight faced for all 12 episodes, but it’s still a joke. This anime enrapture you with breathtaking tank battles, clever comedy and surprising drama, but it’s still a joke. The fact that read more
Apr 24, 2017
takoco (All reviews)
I avoided the anime for some time because title sounded like the anime would be cheap and awful.
Well it is a cheap anime but not as awful as I though, but it's bearly decent.
There is good graphics and a bit of humour, that's it.

If you're looking to watch a brainless show like you'd watch an action movie, this is pretty nice.
But it's a very long action movie, a repetitive one.

There is almost no story.
character have as small backstory about carrying family tradition but god it's unrealistic and poor,
you learn a bit about tank names, although tank battle and strategies are completely ridiculous.

The only original thing read more
Mar 26, 2013
Nasty001 (All reviews)
Guter Tag allen von Ihnen, sorry about that I still have that German thingy after watching the last 2 overdue episode of this 12 episode anime, and btw I hate the way studio Actas have to delay it for 2 months. Ok so now this anime has come to an end, how do I rate this anime?

Here's how:

Story: Schön 6.

The story plot was very simple yet entertaining, there isn't any profanity nor does it have any violence, the whole plot revolves around the girls of Ōarai Girls Academy who are member of the newly revived sport called "Sensha-dō, " as well as the life read more
Jan 12, 2013
KlinsK (All reviews)
Preliminary
Girls und Panzer. I never thought I would be attracted to an anime where there's no boy, I mean an anime that seems to be for girls. After watching some minutes, I saw that it has a male demographic in mind.
Honestly, i firstly watched this for the beautiful artwork, and thinking there will be some fanservice, and now i'm following this for other reasons. Believe me, this is REALLY addictive.

Story - 7 (x1.5) : Girls fighting with tanks, what an original and strange idea right? What miss in it, is the development. Let me explain : in any sport anime you'll see that read more
Jun 5, 2017
YourAverageKiwi (All reviews)
dis is great animu:

it show tanks gud.
historical accuracy is actually accurate!!!!!
foony jokes.
sound design is veli gud.
the action is very gus also.

i recommend!
honestly what can i add.. if you like cute girls, sports animes and or WW2 TANKS just watch it you'll be amazed. also HOLY THE ANIMATION IN THE MOVIE!!
oh and it also has accurate renditions of warsongs as the soundtrack.. need i say more?

also watch dis before the movie because it enhances the experience!



why must this be longer???? pls help me im being held captive!! myanimelist pls let me go i wanna play csgo
Sep 19, 2014
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my reddit thread)

Anime allows for many different combinations since what we view on-screen doesn't necessarily have to be ground to reality. In that regard, when you mix together cute girls riding in tanks, you get the anime known as Girls und Panzer.

STORY

Girls und Panzer stars Miporin, a young girl who just transferred to a new high school and, upon enrolling, she is enlisted into the "Tankery" elective due to her supposed background in the field.

What I found the show did nicely was its world-building. They actually introduced some interesting concepts regarding the use of the tanks and the lore behind read more
Feb 17, 2015
Blazestar (All reviews)
Moe is a unique genre that only exist in Japanese entertainment. It has such a different nature, which makes the shows really difficult to evaluate: If we compare the plot with shows such as Death note... 0/10, If we compare action with shows such as Attack on Titans... 0/10.

But is it fair to ever look at shows like Girls Und Panzer on a critical stand point? I think not. It is not what the creators are trying to achieve, it is not what audiences are looking for either, at least they aren't supposed to.

I guiltily admit Girls and Panzer is actually the one read more
Mar 25, 2013
Bobjonez98 (All reviews)
Anime Review:
 Girls Und Panzer
By Bobjonez98

Story: 8/10-
In the very distant future, Sensha-do (Way of the Tank) is considered a traditional martial art for young girls, it is a way to build character, relationships, and attitude. Miho Nishizumi, youngest daughter of the famous Nishizumi Tank Driving School, transfers to Oarai Academy to escape the world of Sensha-do. Once she arrives however, she discovers that the program is being revived, and she is pressured by the student council to join. The story follows Miho, and her friends as they scrounge up tanks, hone their skills, and enter the world Sensha-do championship. In the world of “Cute Girls read more
Jun 12, 2013
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Girls und Panzer is an anime from Actas Studio. What's that? You've never heard of Actas? Well, that's not surprising. They mostly do in-between animation and other secondary animation work for larger studios. The only anime I've seen, besides this one, where they were the main force is Tales of Phantasia. One other odd thing to note about this anime is that the series came out at pretty much the same time as the manga rather than one being based on the other. Well, let's take a look at Girls und Panzer and see how that worked out for them.

Our story opens at Oarai girls' read more