Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Sakamichi no Apollon


Alternative Titles

English: Kids on the Slope
Synonyms: Sakamichi no Aporon, Apollo on the Slope
Japanese: 坂道のアポロン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 13, 2012 to Jun 29, 2012
Premiered: Spring 2012
Broadcast: Fridays at 00:45 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Source: Manga
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.401 (scored by 109,441 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1652
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #427
Members: 230,190
Favorites: 5,185

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 28, 2012
Stark700 (All reviews)
Let's do a trivia here! Are you someone who wants to know what it is like back in the 1960's? Ever wanted to build an escapism from the harsh reality of today's world? Want to just sit back and enjoy some old school music after a stressful day? Well, perhaps you've found a series worthy to invest your time into because Kids on the Slope is there and sure to give you something to think about.

Kids on the Slope (also known as Sakamichi no Apollon) is a story taking place in the beginning of summer, 1966. It stars the protagonist Kaoru Nishimi, an honor student read more
May 22, 2015
ratchet573 (All reviews)
I love jazz. Some of my favorite memories of my time living in Florida have to be going downtown to listen to the local jazz festival. Sitting in front of that gazebo and getting into the spirit of the musicians is something you can only experience if you listen to jazz. It’s so different from any other musical genre and I was excited as hell to get to watch an anime centered around this amazing style of music.

The problem is Sakamichi no Apollon isn’t as much about jazz as it is about lame characters. There’s jazz in the series, and it definitely plays a part, read more
Apr 12, 2012
Envoked (All reviews)
Preliminary
Okay, the first episode of this wonderful show with tons of potential popped up about an hour ago, and I just had to write a review. (This is my first so cut me some slack, pl0x.)

First of all, I'd like to say that I have been anticipating the airing of this show for a while now, and so far, it has surpassed my expectations. The story begins with our main dude Kaoru who apparently moves around a lot due to his father's job, but I won't get too into that to avoid any accidental spoilers. Instead, let me fill the gaps what you can be read more
Aug 30, 2017
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Sakamichi no Apollon is a school drama from 2012. The original manga was written by Kodama Yuki. The anime version was brought to us by MAPPA & Tezuka, neither of which I've seen a lot from. I don't know what to expect from this one at all. So, let's just get right into it.

Story:

Our focus is on Nishimi Kaoru, a bright young student who plays the piano and moves a lot. He's also a complete drama queen, but we'll talk about that later. Nishimi suffers from social anxiety issues and feels the need to get some air on the roof after things take a read more
Feb 20, 2015
iron2590 (All reviews)
First of all, I must say it's been a while since I've enjoyed a series as much as I enjoyed Sakamichi no Apollon.

The story itself has an amazing pace, and in my opinion, has the perfect combination of romance, drama and music. The developments feel very natural and there are no fillers. The only "complain" I can have from the story is that the ending might feel a little unsatisfying. Luckily, if you end up feeling unsatisfied like me, you can read the extra volume from the manga and I can assure you that you'll feel a lot better after reading it.

The art is okay, read more
Jun 16, 2012
lienad60 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I usually don't watch josei but I decided to give this one a shot. Got tired of all that shounen crap some time ago.

Well, what can I say, there is a certain beauty about this anime.

The story: Certainly the cliched motifs of love triangles and rectangles and all the overused dynamics are in there BUT I was shocked to find that I actually enjoyed everything quite well.
For one, the relationships have much verisimilitude and show a more inexplicable human aspect rather than the KISS THAT SOLVES IT ALL type stuff. The thing with Sentaro, Yurika, and Jun-ni is definitely a BIG PLUS to the Ritsuko read more
Dec 22, 2013
paramuffin (All reviews)
As someone who hasn't good much background on both Jazz music and Japan during the 1960s, I was wary of watching it at first.

And yet it succeeds in its combination of josei, drama and high school slice of life. The show features Kaoru, the socially-anxious new kid in a quiet, rather remote town, who has been blessed with piano-playing skills. Through jazz, he finds the greatest of comrades, a family and even romance.

The story, as most josei goes, isn't anything too intense. It just shows the life of a jazz-playing boy as he goes through high school with his friends. I love, though, its read more
Nov 8, 2013
Nurseroo (All reviews)
Are you ready for a bromance so strong, you’ll feel friendship tingles down the shaft of your peen? For romance elements so complex, they are no longer love triangles--but instead, terrifying, ever-growing love polygons of doom? For jam sessions so boppin’ they could make the late, great, Sun Ra tap his foot in his grave? Then my friend, you are prepared for Kids on the Slope.

At a glance Kids on the Slope is nothing more than a high school drama, akin to the hundreds which flood contemporary media. While I’ll admit that I do enjoy a show that makes me feel my proverbial ovaries rubbing read more
Oct 5, 2014
Daidus (All reviews)
I saw this released awhile ago and never even tried episode one because it looked kinda boring to me. I gave it another shot and I already instantly started liking it.

The animation is really freakin' good, it is a 12 episode kinda show so I do expect really good animation, and this doesn't hold back. Whenever they play instruments, the animation looks smooth and solid and you can see them hitting the right keys and toms, no made up sounds. It is really hard to animate playing music (a lot of animes take shortcuts and show flashbacks to reduce animation time spent on playing) but read more
May 16, 2014
vigorousjammer (All reviews)
The story consists of a lot of romance tropes, and really tends to play up it's character drama. I didn't enjoy the romance stuff very much, but I feel like the show worked remarkably well in portraying the tension of the relationship between characters through music. When the characters are playing music together, you really can feel their emotions come through, and I thought that was really impressive. The characters, and their interactions with each other were really the best part of the story, despite the otherwise pretty boilerplate storyline.

The art was very nice as well. Everything had a very detailed, realistic look to it read more
Jun 29, 2012
LilyGinnyBlack (All reviews)
This is my first time writing a review here and I tried my hardest to leave out any real spoilers. So, here we go:

Sakamichi no Apollon started out with a powerful episode and ended with a powerful episode, but seemed to get lost in a tangle of badly handled and clichéd romance and some unneeded melodrama. The series also suffered from bad pacing, though that only really started to show itself toward the middle-end of the run, this was when the fast pacing became a double edged sword and affected not only the plot, but the characters as well.

So now, let me look at the read more
Feb 8, 2014
Tugglesworth (All reviews)
This was an anime that popped up in my recommendations for a while based off various other's I watched. I simply didn't believe it would be anything close to what I wanted and became frustrated seeing the same cover page over and over of which I wasn't to fond of. I refused to watch it time and time again based on my own superficial reasons until I finally said to myself "it's 20 minutes of my life, I'll watch just one episode." It wasn't just 20 minutes, it ended up being a good portion of the season before I had to finally read more
Jul 28, 2014
UsualGuy (All reviews)
Once again we are encountering a great anime. Kids on the slope is another combo between Shinichiro Watanabe and Yoko Kanno. I can't imagine now if someone else did a screen version of Kids on the slope. But lets get to the point.

The story focuses around Kaoru, who is your normal geek, straight up alone and unexperienced when it comes to real life. He loves studying and playing on instruments. Because of that he apparently can't fight and stand by himself, and this is where another character is introduced to help Kaoru. Sentarou on the other hand is your typical badass character, who doesn't give read more
Sep 6, 2013
azuslu7jpg (All reviews)
It’s not gay if it’s a three way.

As always, my reviews are spoiler free.

Jokes aside, looking at the surface of Kids on the Slope, one might think that it is a just another music SOL anime such as K-On! or Tari Tari. After all, each of these series is about a number of high school students living out their normal lives, all brought together by music. Look a bit deeper however, and you will see that Kids on the Slope, directed by the famous Shinichiro Watanabe of Cowboy Bebop and Samurai Champloo, is a totally different entity entirely.

Story - read more
Oct 12, 2013
sandshrew (All reviews)
Preliminary
Sakamichi no Apollon (or Kids on The Slope) is like a breath of fresh air from recent anime developments and definitely stands out from the rest. I don't think a show could have impressed me this much just by watching the first episode, and it left me with a better feeling than any anime I've ever watched ever has.

The animation is super unique as well, and far different from the cutsie pop-art style that's used so often to the point where you can't tell one anime from another. To summarize it briefly, it's the summer of 1966, and a really reserved kid named Kaoru Nishimi read more
Sep 3, 2014
Anyua (All reviews)
Set in 1966, Sakamichi no Apollon is centered on Kaoru Nishimi as he moves to Sasebo to live with relatives due to his father’s job. Naturally, he’s a loner, a great student, and completely isolated from people since he’s always been moving around; he doesn't try to get attached to people in case he must leave them again. But there’s something in the air in Sasebo, and it’s not just love or friendship, it’s a new sound (to Japan at least) known as jazz. Music isn't new to Kaoru as he’s a classically trained pianist, but jazz is certainly new and interesting to him, as read more
Aug 28, 2013
johnvswild (All reviews)
How much you enjoy Sakamichi no Apollon is largely dependent on your level of emotional maturity.

SPOILER-FREE™

Sakamichi no Apollon translates to “Apollo of the slope,” not “Kids on the Slope,” so whatever translation you want to use really doesn’t matter. Kids on a Slope may look on the surface like a typical clichéd romance anime with lots of misunderstandings, too much drama, love polygons and people sort-of-but-not-really changing who they love. You may be tempted to think that’s all Adolescents on an Incline is, and you should give in to that temptation because that’s exactly what it is.

Juveniles on a Slant, by the way, is totally read more
Jul 4, 2014
myronator (All reviews)
When anime fans see the name Shinichiro Watanabe attached to an anime they usually get excited due to his excellent work making Cowboy Bebop. So going into Sakamichi no Apollon there is a certain expectation given to the show. Unlike Watanabe's previous animes, this one does not have any action in it at all. Instead, the focus is on romance and drama.

Sakamichi no Apollon captures the setting of 1966 Japan well from the classroom to the clothes the characters wear to the style of music that is played. The backdrop for the story is great and unique as it is very rare to ever see read more
Jan 2, 2015
Kakikesu (All reviews)
Set in 1966, Sakamichi no Apollon tells the story of three close-knit teenagers growing up in small-town, seaside Japan. The main conflicts and problems in the plot involve the drama inside this group. Put simply, if you are not a fan of drama and romance (and jazz, but we'll talk about that later on), you most-likely won't enjoy this show.

The art and animation is fluid, smooth and detailed, especially during the performance scenes, where you can truly see it shine. The drumming scenes with Sentaro particularly impressed me, showing off a sheen characteristic of Tezuka Productions. Watching the sticks perform fills and rolls, flourishing on read more
May 23, 2012
domdom (All reviews)
Preliminary
I only watched the first few episodes of this series, though i think i'm able to write a review about it.

First of all, i'm not someone who is pleased easily. I don't watch many anime, in fact i don't watch TV or Movies all too often, because they are, well let's say ... crap. When i read and heard about this anime i was eager to watch it, for it promised not to be "mainstream" (as i like to call it). Also, Yoko Kanno was on board as well, so that held my hopes high enough. It's really hard to see this promise not fullfilled.

Why, read more