Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Fullmetal Alchemist


Alternative Titles

English: Fullmetal Alchemist
Synonyms: Hagane no Renkinjutsushi, FMA, Full Metal Alchemist
Japanese: 鋼の錬金術師

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 51
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 4, 2003 to Oct 2, 2004
Premiered: Fall 2003
Broadcast: Saturdays at 18:00 (JST)
Studios: Bones
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.261 (scored by 556,681 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #2792
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #33
Members: 915,422
Favorites: 23,705

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 9, 2010
Archaeon (All reviews)
Obsession is a very strange thing indeed, and may be one of the few human traits that so clearly falls between heaven and hell. What one does with their obsession though, well, therein lies an altogether different proposition, especially as people often define their "obsessions" in terms of what they love and hate, or even what brings them hope and fear.

Isn't it strange then, that such a well known human trait can so easily be mistaken for something else entirely?

Or is it simply a case of people not seeing what they don't want to see, especially if there something new and shiny to watch?

Many anime read more
May 31, 2013
KingIK (All reviews)
To be honest, I’m somewhat baffled by the mixed reaction this anime has received after the release of Brotherhood. Because prior to Brotherhood, this anime was often considered a classic by most anime fans. In my opinion it’s still a classic and essential for all fans. I’m probably in the minority here, but I feel as though the original FMA and Brotherhood are equal in terms of quality. Enough of that, lets get into the review. read more
Oct 19, 2013
Eastunder (All reviews)
"Humankind cannot gain anything without first giving something in return. To obtain, something of equal value must be lost. That is alchemy’s first law of equivalent exchange. In those days, we really believed that to be the world’s one and only truth."

I'm typing this review, and i wonder to myself, "Why am i doing this? What can i say about a show that's been talked about to death?", and you know what, i don't exactly have a clear answer. Fullmetal Alchemist premiered a decade ago and is still to this day, one of the most beloved and well known anime of our recent generation. It's read more
Jun 24, 2009
CottonCandyLover (All reviews)
Fullmetal Alchemist is often considered an essential viewing for any anime fan and a stepping-stone for many newcomers to the world of anime. It's received universal acclaim and if you were to ask any anime fan about Fullmetal Alchemist, chances are, he/she probably has some knowledge of this series.

*Review may contain minor spoilers, may hint at things, and will not be reviewed as an adaptation of the manga and how it compares, but as a standalone anime*

Story: 9/10

The basic basic synopsis of the story is about "The Fullmetal Alchemist" Edward Elric, and his brother, Alphonse Elric, and their quest of searching for the Philosopher's Stone read more
Jun 13, 2008
TheLlama (All reviews)
FullMetal Alchemist follows (to a certain extent) the manga made by Hiromu Arakawa. Taking place in a different world, where alchemy is commonplace, the story follows the brothers Edward and Alphonse Elric's quest to regain their normal bodies, by creating the Philosopher's Stone.

The concept - in my eyes - is very fascinating. Some people may say that alchemy is no more than just another form of magic from just another series, but it's not really like that. It's not like they just draw out some hidden power and poof, they've made something from nothing. They use alchemy by decomposing, restructuring and rebuilding materials. For read more
Feb 17, 2009
ColdBeans (All reviews)
I'm a big fan of Fullmetal Alchemist, so it's a-must for me to write a review.

STORY
10/ 10
Fullmetal Alchemist takes place in a world that seems similar to our own, but not as technologically advanced. Trains and steam powered engines are used a great deal, and the science of alchemy is far more prevalent than machines of our time. In alchemy, there is the rule of equivalent trade: you must give something of equal value in order to get something. And above all else, human transmutation is against all rules of alchemy, and does not work... or so it seems. Rumors have it that the read more
Sep 29, 2007
jet2r0cks (All reviews)
5 WORDS OR LESS REVIEW: Heartwarming, fun and Exciting. Recommended.

Fullmetal Alchemist is another one of the series I wish I’ve seen sooner. The reason why I didn’t watch it right away was the number of episodes. Usually, I prefer series that have a maximum of 26 episodes, because series with 50 episodes or more tend to lose its juice somewhere around the middle. It was not the same for Fullmetal Alchemist.

Fullmetal Alchemist definitely kept me entertained. I don’t think there was a time during any of the episodes that I felt bored – there was always something that caught my attention. The storyline definitely had read more
May 5, 2013
dublincore (All reviews)
This is probably one of the last anime series that actually needs another review. But I suppose I can write a little something on it, though I doubt I'll be able to add much to the conversation that hasn't already been stated better elsewhere.

FMA is the story of... well surely you know what it's about by now, don't you? I oftentimes refer to FMA as being the Star Wars of anime--even if you've never seen it, chances are good that you know who most of the characters are, what their allegiances are, what happens to them, and the general path by which the story progresses, read more
Oct 16, 2014
Reimei-Chan (All reviews)
"Humankind cannot gain anything without first giving something in return. To obtain something, something in equal value must be lost. That is alchemy's first law of equivalent exchange. In those days, we thought that to be the world's one, and only truth."- Alphonse Elric

Ever since Brotherhood came out, I've heard constant arguing of which is better and which one a noobie should watch, or if they should read the manga. In my opinion, if you want a friend, cousin, or whoever to get into anime, show them this. The original will give them a better understanding of anime and what it can be. I love read more
Sep 8, 2014
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

Holy shit! He's reviewing FMA and not FMA Brotherhood!!? Why would anyone want to watch that old piece of crap when we have the perfection that is Brotherhood!? I have a dark confession to make. Forgive me father for I have sinned. I liked the original FMA a lot more than I liked Brotherhood. I'm serious, I'm not trolling! Allow me to explain.


Story: 9/10

The story of FMA as most already know takes place in an alternate world where alchemy has advanced rather than the science of our world and now alchemy is the staple of technology and society. After the tragic death of their mother, read more
Sep 29, 2009
-Naami- (All reviews)
What I hate the most when it comes to anything remotely to do with science is science that doesn’t make sense (e.g. Doctor Who). I thought FMA would be like this, just spewing out any rubbish to explain the situation or how they saved the world and call that science. Fortunately, this isn’t the case with this anime. I was actually quite impressed with some of the science used behind it, e.g. the fight between Greed and Edward…and the use of carbon (won’t say anymore, trying to keep it spoiler free).

“Humankind cannot gain anything without first giving something in return. To obtain, something of equal read more
May 16, 2008
doge_senpai (All reviews)
Full Metal Alchemist.
Synonymous to: Amazing.
Yes, I am well aware that there are probably more rave reviews for FMA than necessary, but I seriously could not help myself. It had to be said. :3

Story
The plot is nothing short of brilliant. It twists and spirals more than a rollercoster, yet provides depth, and is easy to pick-up and follow. The introductory episodes, which can also be considered as the 'flashback' episodes, are sometimes bland, but once the real plot gets going, you'll get hooked immediately. Of course, even the flashback episodes themselves have their own merits, as they provide much appreciated character development and establish the foundations read more
Mar 23, 2018
Johan (All reviews)
It’s hard to believe it’s been 3 years since my last review of Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso. Unlike other reviewers I don’t derive entertainment in taking out the piss on a show or its fan base. I could easily choose to write on how poor Citrus has been – spending hours intricately providing examples of how poor the dialogue has been, how stale the characters are, how forced the romance feels, and how nothing seems to naturally develop. I’ll leave this to the other reviewers who find such writing necessary. For me to write, I have to be genuinely motivated and/or inspired. That’s where read more
Aug 10, 2007
Treacle (All reviews)
Well.. In the beginning I didn't want to watch this anime. I thought, this is a pattern show, which has a lot of fan. Of course I was wrong. This is a wonderful anime, with such a great and unique story.

I think this anime is one of the best. You can't compare it to the others, well at least I can't. The story is so complex, it contains drama, mystery, action, romance and of course adventure. The characters (even the supportingcast) and their background story was perfect, not to mention the design and the music. I think within the characters eveybody finds his or read more
Jun 8, 2015
King_Of_Light (All reviews)
*Note* This review will not be influenced by Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood. This review will be solely based on the 2003 dubbed version of Fullmetal Alchemist.

Story: 10/10
It's hard to criticize this anime if you've seen it start to finish. The story is super emotional especially at the end and the seemingly straightforward plot of the story unfolds into a complicated web of problems as time goes on. The only problem of it may be that it goes at a very slow pace in the beginning which may be a little disappointing for some viewers. In fact from episodes 2-10 it's all backstory and I didn't even read more
Mar 16, 2009
ParaParaJMo (All reviews)
The very first thing I can say about this anime is that its strongest foundation is its cast of characters that exhibit its multiple themes in relation to the concepts behind the story whether basic ones such as brotherly bond, or bigger issues such as ethnic cleansing, or crazy cults that make scientology look good. I feel that the bond that Ed and Al share is something that everybody can connect and relate to, especially if you have your own sibling(s). I felt their relationship does more than enough to exhibit a majority of its distinguishing qualities, as well as the other supporting cast read more
Aug 3, 2014
Leopah (All reviews)
EDIT: I realize now that I probably came off as elitist and that was definitely not my intention, so eventually I'm going to rewrite this and sound nicer.

Some notes before I get into this review:
-It annoys me when people compare 03 and Brotherhood so I'm not going to do that
-I'm not going to be very nice so if you genuinely like this series for some reason I wouldn't recommend you read this
-If you're planning on watching this show, don't (If you've already seen Brotherhood, stop there).
-This review is mostly spoiler-free (some vague mentioning here and there)
-This was the first anime I watched (excluding Pokemon), but read more
Jan 25, 2007
ivorykeys (All reviews)
Fullmetal Alchemist is honestly one of the best anime series you'll ever see. It's humerous, full of action, mystery, has some sad parts, and has a great list of characters. I used to love Naruto, but after seeing this show, that has become number 2 on my list and FMA has taken the number 1 spot. It's definitely worth seeing and buying on DVD. It's really a series that you can never get tired of watching and will want to watch over and over again. The plot is fantastic and you'll fall in love with the characters. If you haven't seen it yet...WATCH IT!! = read more
Apr 6, 2008
danceljoy (All reviews)

This is an example of an anime I categorize as a "well rounded shonen". Even though it is indeed included in the genre of shonen, action, steampunk , drama, adventure, thriller etc. this anime encompassed those fields emerging as an anime masterpiece, not imprisoned in those areas' stereotypes.

Story: 10

"You cannot gain anything without giving something in return. To obtain something, one must trade an equivalent value - that is the law of Alchemy and the law of the world."

That simple concept of alchemy gave way to top-notch anime action, character conflicts and heart-wrenching questions.

First of all, Full Metal Alchemist watchers will be excited with its read more
Jun 18, 2007
spazmo (All reviews)
Of the 30+ series that I've seen over the years, I've never seen an anime series so complete, so perfect, and so flawlessly done as FMA.

Honestly, this series is more complete and more "beefy" than even series with 200-300+ episodes. The entire series flows almost like a movie. EVERYTHING in EVERY episode has a meaning and relate to the ultimate story line. There is *not a second* in the series that doesn't have some ultimate meaning to contribute to the story or the ending. The story line is so intricate that you could probably write an entire thesis read more