Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Ano Natsu de Matteru


Alternative Titles

English: Waiting in the Summer
Japanese: あの夏で待ってる

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 10, 2012 to Mar 27, 2012
Premiered: Winter 2012
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 01:30 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Original
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.671 (scored by 99,502 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #11332
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #305
Members: 197,303
Favorites: 1,469

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 26, 2012
Yukariki (All reviews)
AnoNatsu is a strange case: a competent JC Staff romance anime, that works as an installment to an old series (the Onegai series), dealing with filmmaking, sci-fi, and summer holidays despite being a Winter 2012 anime.

Directed by Nagai Tatsuyuki (Ano Hana, Toradora!), this anime is a mix of the new and old conventions of romance anime: love triangles, genre fusion, and more. Kirishima Kaito (Shimazaki Nobunaga), who looks awfully a lot like Jintan from AnoHana, is your average geek interested in using an old film camera he found in the attic. Equipped with various ISO films, he practices cinematography along with his friend, read more
Apr 7, 2016
PoeticJustice (All reviews)
What happens when you run out of ideas? You take tropes from popular anime and mix them together. Harem? Check. Bad comedy? Check. Bad romance? Check? Love octagon? Check. Then you get Ano Natsu de matteru, the anti-thesis of good writing. A show so creatively bankrupt that it should never be watched by anyone.

The story starts out with a big breasted "alien" girl with glass who comes to earth. She tries to get back to her planet, and until then, she fits in with the humans. Little did she know, the ugliest guy with glasses and a camera fetish develops a crush on her. She read more
Sep 30, 2014
Kyuutoryuu (All reviews)
"A picture is worth a thousand words"; I've never quite believed that saying as much as I did after seeing the last scene of this anime.

Ano Natsu de Matteru is an anime about a group of friends spending their summer vacation hanging out and filming a movie. Sounds simple, yes? Not quite. It doesn't take very long for the romance and the drama to kick in, where Ano Natsu is most focused. In fact, that STILL might be an understatement. Within the first 4 episodes, all of the love interests of the main characters are well established and/or heavily hinted at, and there is read more
Aug 15, 2013
LiquidNitrogen (All reviews)
Considering how Onegai! Sensei went, I was expecting the same because it is of the same author however, I am honestly surprised by this anime.

What surprised me was that I was expecting it to be yet another anime close to the harem line where none of the characters will actually get to confess to anybody and the plot will be left hanging at the end of the series. But no. It didn't go that way.

For a 12 episode series, the anime covered the storyline pretty well despite the short episode allocation and not only that, it wrapped up the relationships between all the characters very read more
Jan 10, 2012
Saito-kun (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ever seen the anime Onegai Teacher? Ano Natsu de Matteru is basically a remake of that anime. Though its only had one episode I've already compared the characters from each show. So far each one of them is like the other. The only difference between Onegai Teacher and Ano Natsu de Matteru is the alien girl is younger. Instead of being a teacher in Kaito's school, she is a transfer student. Also, Kaito is making a movie. That definitely sets the two anime apart from one another.

Story 8/10 - I give it this score because it feels kind of like a rip off of read more
Jul 2, 2012
Stellio (All reviews)
Understanding this poem,
Is like understanding why leaves fall in the autumn,
To comprehend why the age fades away so faintly,
You'd have to first understand its beauty,

I will never forget that one summer, 
When one of my friends suggested me Ano natsu de matteru,
They told me it was a 10/10 classic drama, 
But I decided that was all dogma,

So I started watching it with an attitude, 
Through the entire anime I felt I was secluded in a water tube,
By the end of the tunnel,
I'd have to say I felt pummeled,
This bittersweet taste almost as if a precision meant to be,
But it's all interpretations meant for different viewers to see,
To what read more
May 21, 2015
chevybow (All reviews)
"I don't want to be chased. I want to be the one chasing. I want to chase the girl I like"


Ano Natsu De Matteru is a short anime that kept me watching episode after episode. I finished it in a single day. In short: Ano Natsu De Matteru is a story about a group of kids making a summer movie. There's love in the air but I think where this anime excels is the parts in which the use of the filming camera by the main character is used in an intelligent way and where messages about life are present.



Story: 8/10


The story gets read more
Mar 27, 2012
Yemi_Hikari (All reviews)
This Anime is a major disappointment. First off, when I picked up this Anime I simply expected it to be simply slice of life but in the very first episode you have the added twist that two new girls in the group are an alien and someone else with a big secret. The Anime doesn't really flesh that out. In fact, it really doesn't focus on them making the film but instead focuses on the relationships between the characters. Some of the moments were great and enjoyable but other times it felt like I was hitting my head against a brick wall.

Then there is the read more
Mar 7, 2012
dzhangg (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ano Natsu de Matteru is the follow up work by Tatsuyuki Nagai (myanimelist.net/people/8539), the same director of AnoHana (myanimelist.net/anime/9989). For me, this was reason enough to jump right on it.

[Story & Character]

In short: A bunch of strong characters stuck in a lackluster story.

It's summer vacation and a group of friends decide to shoot a film together. The romances are the focal points here, no pun intended, and the vacation and the film brings all the characters together episode after episode. It's not a plot-driven show. The viewers have to care about the characters and their emotions in order to enjoy watching this. If you're one read more
Oct 16, 2014
tukky12 (All reviews)
“We are only truly gone from this world when all memories of us are forgotten, that is true sadness”

Ano Natsu de Matteru is definitely one of the more quirky shows I have seen in a while. It is a harem themed show, but its take on humour is a bit different from most other harem shows and as a result it certainly was a thoroughly enjoyable watch. In English it translates as “Waiting in the summer”. The show first aired in Jan 2012 and after 12 episodes, ended in March. It was produced by Sentai Filmworks, who notably have made highly acclaimed shows such as read more
Sep 6, 2012
loveiszero (All reviews)
I admit, I'm pretty much skeptical at first when I picked up this show. It was on my 50/50 list (50% drop, 50% pick-up). Good thing the female lead was hot. Oh well, time for the review:

Story: Expect the unexpected with this series. The synopsis says that "...a group of friends are trying to make a movie." so I gave this series a try. It started with a nerdy male playing with his old school camera then suddenly something from the sky fell and, wait-- just watch the show to know what happened next. Just give this show a chance, even two episodes will do. read more
Feb 10, 2012
Gabiru (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story 9/10:
If you are looking for an anime with a soft story with a good love drama. You must watch Ano Natsu de Matteru. With a plot that makes you be looking forward for the next episode, Ano Natsu de Matteru tells a story of a group of friends, new or old ones, that intend to record a movie during de Summer Holidays. But, they are not just friends. Each one has a tipical feeling called love toward another. With this, the plot of the story keeps developing with the intrigue of a girl that love a boy who loves another girl that loves a read more
Mar 21, 2012
Nasty001 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ok , just 1 more episode to go and we'll probabaly know other details such as:

Is Remon really an alien?

Is there a connection between "Onegai Teacher" and this anime?

............Well, we do know that this 12 episode anime is a remake of "Onegai Teacher" (already stated in MAL's info and in forums). The thing about remakes is that it follows the plot but it doesn't imitate the entire setting and story, in short, it is a complete modification of the orginal show, so that's why we see the chiquita (female lead) being a senior student instead of a teacher and that the muchacho (male lead) is read more
Jan 13, 2012
AnimeFan500 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Re Review

Ano Natsu de Matteru is the same creator as Onegai Teacher. Also the same director as Toradora and Anohana( which i was told). Also the character design is so similar too. The story of Ano Natsu de Matteru is about a group of High School kids who want to make a movie over summer vacation. Kaito( Main Character) sees an object in the sky and it crashes in front of him. The next day he is magically healed and alright. At his school we meet a new transfer student Takatsuki Ichika( 3rd year). Kaito has this mysterious read more
May 30, 2012
r3quiem (All reviews)
A work inviting the nostalgic elements of the unforgettable Onegai series, Ano Natsu de Matteru broadens the original idea with surprising dramatic elements, twists on cliché comedy, and realistic maturation of stock characters. This is difficult to do with the highly-abused romantic-comedy genre in 21st century anime.

In the beginning, the main character, Kirishima Kaito, films the evening sky pondering the wabi-sabi of afterlife. Suddenly, Takatsuki Ichika, bursts into his empty life with a quirky, sci-fi brilliance. A summer of teenage passion and emotion ensues, all backed by a camera, questionable beverages, men in black suits, horny siblings and alien invasions. Ironically, read more
Jan 11, 2012
JudgeTheCover (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ano Natsu de Matteru is a very strange show. It contains elements that have been done over time again and again. The story seems quite standard: mystery girl from space appears, main character falls in love with space girl leaving behind the short blue haired girl to uselessly follow the main character. You can tell quite a bit about the show from the first episode giving you a clear insight and understanding for this 12 episode series.
It's obvious that even though there is to be a love triangle going on, Kaito will fall in love with the blue haired girl (because the red haired read more
Mar 27, 2012
steviePOPO (All reviews)
Coming into the winter 2012 season, I had two definite shows on my radar: Nisemonogatari and Guilty Crown. I tried out a few more shows but noticed I didn't have a romance anime slated in (I try to have one to balance all the action/comedy out). I caught wind of Ano Natsu de Matteru and decided to give it a go. Not familiar with the individual works of director Tatsuyuki Nagai (Anohana) or Yousuke Kuroda (Honey and Clover), or their collaborations (Onegai Teacher/Twins), I dove in. What I came away with after three months was a ride I wasn't expecting; many manly tears were shed read more
May 1, 2012
Rhaal (All reviews)
Writing this review without making any spoiler is proving much harder than I'd predicted, especially without even mentioning the events in episode 1 or 2, so I suggest you just look at this anime for yourself as my review could well be inaccurate.

However, Ano Natsu de Matteru is the example of what experience, wisdom and a solid background in the setting you're using can accomplish.

The story is certainly among the strong points of Ano Natsu: the plot is enjoyable, fresh and most of all delivered through quite unique narrative devices. However, for how fresh and creatively delivered, I've found it to be a little predictable, read more
Jun 9, 2016
SlushieCafe (All reviews)
I stumbled upon this anime when browsing through the drama genre on kissanime. I didn't expect much at first, but I gave it a chance.

I'm glad I did. If you enjoyed Angel Beats and/or Clannad, you'll love this anime. It's a story about a group of friends who decide to film a movie together. Like any drama anime, there are love triangles and, well, drama.

But it's all done right, in my opinion.There are hardly any misunderstands, and if there are the characters sort it out within five minutes instead of over whole episodes, which is refreshing. The characters feelings and actions aren't forced read more
Nov 12, 2015
dilydaly (All reviews)
I usually hate the romantic triangle type anime because you end up screaming "JUST TALK ALREADY, USE WORDS DAMIT" for a majority of the time, yet this series was great. I saw the description for this, and the Film Making aspect of this was the reason I finally got around to watching it. Was pleasantly surprised.

After watching I went to make a review because this a really well done animation, and I learned that the people who did this also worked on another previous animation and similar story. I have not read this, nor have I watched the previous work. (like I said, I tend read more