Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Nichijou


Alternative Titles

English: Nichijou - My Ordinary Life
Synonyms: Everyday
Japanese: 日常

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 3, 2011 to Sep 25, 2011
Premiered: Spring 2011
Broadcast: Sundays at 02:20 (JST)
Studios: Kyoto Animation
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.521 (scored by 157,201 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #962
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #135
Members: 393,259
Favorites: 12,812

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 28, 2011
Ryhzuo (All reviews)
Conventional wisdom has always taught us that more is usually better. We think that the more expensive car should have more completely unrelated features, the better ice-cream sundae should have a bigger pile of fresh fruit on top, and the better statistics report should be able to pull more numbers out of it’s arse. We compare phones by the multitude of apps it can run, our enjoyment of horror films is based on how many different ways the various victims die, and we often rate anime by how many story arcs, characters, subplots and themes it can cram into it’s 26 episode season.

As the read more
May 29, 2013
HaiiroTama (All reviews)
If I had to sum up all of Nichijou in one word, it would be "beautiful." As a slice of life, this anime can't be for everyone, as most people like to have a story that is actually driven by the plot. But even if you aren't into slice of life anime, there is something in Nichijou for everyone to enjoy.

Story:
Every episode is a series of semi-random "moments" in each of the characters' lives. As far as an actual storyline goes, there is no distinct beginning or end to Nichijou. No goal, no real conflict - as to be expected of a slice of life, read more
Sep 30, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

This is an anime that I went into with high expectations. I was told OVER and OVER online that this was one of the funniest anime series to ever exist! I don't think I laughed once. I'm not just saying that I didn't get any sidesplitting laughs out of this, I don't think this series made me smile more than 2 times! Nichijou is certainly a series with an outstanding online reputation, but in this case I don't feel that the reputation was well deserved.

Background:

Nichijou was actually a bit of a flop in Japan and wasn't able to build a large Japanese fandom. However, read more
Apr 11, 2011
Hurvilo (All reviews)
Preliminary
Reviews of shows that haven't finished are utterly pointless. They are only good for a couple of weeks at most, and of no use to anyone once the show is finished.

And yet I sit here, writing this review. I am fully aware that this review will become useless waste of space, it is inevitable, but having seen the series average MAL-score of 7.6, I decided to make a statetment:

Nichijou is fucking awesome.

The animation is outta this world (at least as far as slice of life is concerned) and the execution is flawless. The timing of the jokes is so, so good, and the physical nature read more
Nov 11, 2011
ToxxicTeardrop (All reviews)
Nichijou is to me, one of a kind. It emphasizes what seems to be the essence of slapstick comedy, but induces your favorite lighthearted scenario all within the same episode. If you were keen of Lucky Star, Azumanga Daioh, Hidamari Sketch, or Pani Poni Dash, then you would definitely know what I'm talking about. Except, Nichijou, or "EveryDay", takes a twist and turn every now and then to let you know this is not so ordinary, and from there, you're on a wonderful ride to a pure fun and blownout comedy.

Story: 7/10
Not at any point, did I criticize Nichijou for its direction of plot, read more
Aug 15, 2011
Black_Rose1809 (All reviews)
Preliminary
So... here we are. Another review to make you decide if this anime is worth it or not. Let me tell you something, this anime is FUCKING WORTH IT! I swear to god, this anime is so funny, you'll squeal like a school girl when you see a new episode come out.

So what's so special about this anime? As the name suggests, it says My everyday life, right? Guess what? Chicken butt.
...

Okay back to the guess what, it's not. As much as we were to taught to read the title to learn what the story is about, this anime is not the case. read more
Apr 26, 2011
DangoSage (All reviews)
Preliminary
"Selamat Pagi!"
Haremu Kingu at your service.
Yeah, yeah I know I'm using the word wrong since I'm writing this in the middle of the night but somewhere out there in the world, one of you are reading this in the day so yeah....

Another SOL anime? From KyoAni? Yes, the good people in KyoAni once again wants us to feel like "Gods" viewing from above on significant event of people just doing what they do. Living.

Nichijou or "My Ordinary Life" may be viewed as paradoxical to it's title but I beg to differ. I feel the entire content of the whole story generated by the author read more
Jul 10, 2011
foxnewsnetwork (All reviews)
Preliminary
My first impression of this show after finishing the first episode was a simple "what the **** is this?" And now, 15 episodes in, Nichijou has done nothing to change that.

From the epic imaginative world of Suzumiya Haruhi to the everyday laughter filled schoolyard of Lucky Star to the soul-wrenching vicissitudes of life that is Clannad, I had great expectations for Kyoto Animation's newest anime. However, Nichijou managed to somehow ignore all of them.

Lacking in story, continuity, character development, setting establishment, and everything else that goes into making a book, manga, anime, etc., Nichijou is completely devoid of substance. It doesn't provide the creative read more
Dec 20, 2012
Xybirk (All reviews)
Nichijou is a perfect example of a show that tries too hard to ride off the success of other shows. It's not that anything it does is bad, it's just that other shows do what Nichijou does much better.

Let's get the obvious stuff out of the way. The anime I can relate Nichijou to the easiest is Lucky Star. I haven't seen Lucky Star in a while, but I do remember enjoying it overall, despite some flaws. The thing is, all of the problems I had with Lucky Star, I had with Nichijou as well. And the main issue was the story.

The story in Nichijou read more
Mar 4, 2013
leingodf8 (All reviews)
How does one describe ordinary. Any dictionary will probably describe ordinary as "Something that is commonly encountered, usual" or something to that effect. So how does a show like Nichijou (which roughly translates to Regular Life) get a title like... well Nichijou. A show with robots, wigs, deer, and all manner of unusal things is anything but... ordinary right? Perhaps they titled it like this as a bit of a joke, to bounce off all the crazy stuff that is to come. But I think there is a little bit more behind the title than first meets the eye. Lets find out shall we?

Ok, lets read more
Dec 8, 2015
D-ohnuts (All reviews)
"Brevity is the soul of wit."
-William Shakespeare

If you're expecting a typical Kyoto Animation slice-of-life anime, this is pretty much that type of show. And much like most of their other shows, I find it pretty boring.

Nichijou is what the title indicates: ordinary lives. However, this show's gimmick is that it overexaggerates everything. The characters are all the same type of characters that we've already seen in other shows like this: the dumb one who tells shit jokes, the Straight Man, the perpetually-serious one who does crazy shit for no reason, the Child Prodigy, the annoying Tsundere, etc.

The problem with Nichijou is that it tries too read more
Feb 19, 2012
drakenation (All reviews)
Great animation won't save this slice of life comedy from absolute failure.
--
Overall: If you are looking for the fast-paced, pop cultured infused humor of Lucky Star, the strangeness of Azumanga Daioh or the cuteness of K-On, look elsewhere. Nichijou features obnoxious characters, jokes that drag on and a uneventful setting.
--
Story: There is no real story to Nichijou. Minor events that happen before are acknowledged later on, but don't have any impact.
--
Characters: The characters fall flat on their faces. Obnoxious, their "character traits" are over-exposed and take away from the almost-jokes the series try to tell.
--
Comedy: Most jokes drag on for too long and lack read more
Jun 12, 2015
Divina (All reviews)
Preliminary
I gave this anime a fair chance due to the high rating and glowing reviews. Having sat through 10 episodes of this, maybe I can save someone else the trouble.

I love good slice of life and I love good gag. This fails epically on both counts. It is too surreal and too absurd to be considered slice of life. It is not funny at all either.

Worse of all - and the reason why I stopped watching - the characters are completely dislikable. It renders the anime simply unwatchable because the end result is about as pleasant as hearing chalk squeak on a blackboard. This anime read more
Jul 4, 2015
Naanchos (All reviews)
Before I start with this review, I want to say: this is my first review. Maybe it'll be short for some of you people and probably, the only one I'm going to write. So please bear with me and with my lack of experience when it comes to review things. If there's something you'd like to tell me about the review itself or how wrong I am for not liking such “funny and original piece of art”, then you're free to do it, leaving the comments in my profile.

When a cartoon, show or any form of entertainment tries way too hard to excel in the read more
Jan 26, 2016
LeaderTGW (All reviews)
"A beautiful disaster-piece" is what I use to describe Nichijou. While watching, I couldn't help but find myself to be so engaged, eyes literally almost glued to my screen. That's how great it was. There are many things I loved about Nichijou which makes it one of my personally favorites..

I'll start right off the bat and say that what I loved most was the characters. In my many years of watching anime, many shows have come close, however none can touch the amount of likable and hilarious characters Nichijou provided with. A few of the things I liked and loved about the characters was read more
Jan 8, 2015
Ziljun (All reviews)
"Our everyday lives may, in fact, be a series of miracles."

Nichijou is the anime adaption by Kyoto Animation of the eponymous manga by Arai Keiichi. In a way, it might be one of the most important series in recent years, and in another way it's just a loveable comedy dense in quality and unadulterated joy of the art of animation. At 26 episodes, setting and keeping the bar high can be a tough job, but Kyoto Animation tackles any issues head-on and what remains is an awe-inspiring amount of everything that keeps anime fans in the medium. Nichijou translates to roughly “everyday”, as in ordinary read more
Jul 11, 2012
Ranivus (All reviews)
New generation anime sitcom has arrived…
A spiritual successor to two of my favorite anime sketch comedies of all time (Azumanga Daioh and Pani Poni Dash), Nichijou delivers the comedy 110% percent. Based on the manga of the same name, this is a perfect example of how a situational/sketch comedy should be made.

Anyone trying to find some objective story to this will ultimately blow their minds in front of their faces, as there is none. Hence Situational comedy, because its basically a group of people in high school and we’re there to watch the hilarity ensue. Typically things like this center themselves around a few read more
Apr 27, 2014
NegativeFeelings (All reviews)
When your entire show relies on gag comedy, and the majority of that gag comedy relies on subverting expectations, and most of those subverted expectations end with something random rather than clever, you've taken comedy and beat it down to its worst form. The lolrandom form, which is the form that Nichijou loves best. It's a sketch show, and all sketch shows are bound to be hit-or-miss. Nichijou is just a lot of misses with maybe a hit or two sprinkled in every five episodes. Maybe it's just my sense of humor, but a lot of the humor relies too heavily read more
Apr 3, 2011
saivan (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show is still airing, so opinions are subject to change.

Story: (6/10)

The story is alot like Lucky star, or K-on in that sense, that it simply is about cute girls doing cute things. It doesn't have the most catching plot, but if you enjoy randomness, filled with cute girls, then I guess this is your cup of tea.

Art: (10/10)

KyoAni has done it once again. The art in this show is simply marvelous. Not because it is super detailed, but because it is unique. The use of colours and animation makes, this a very enjoyable experience. The characters in the show have those very big read more
Feb 20, 2012
dariken (All reviews)
When I first finished this anime, I gave it 8. But I wasn't entirely honest with myself. This anime is possibly the anime I've subjectively enjoyed the most. As a pure episodic comedy, it won't be as deep as Erog Proxy or other mature anime, and there was my mistake: I was trying to compare a comedy to dark toned artsy series with deep plots. Then I raised the number to 9, thinking it had some shortcomings, but today after I yet again rewatched some of my favourite scenes I decided to give it a straght 10 and write a review. For me, Nichijou represents read more