Taishou Otome Otogibanashi
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Taishou Otome Otogibanashi

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Taishou Maiden Fairytale
Japanese: 大正処女御伽話

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 5
Chapters: 42
Status: Finished
Published: Jul 4, 2015 to Sep 4, 2017
Genres: ComedyComedy, HistoricalHistorical, RomanceRomance, ShounenShounen, Slice of LifeSlice of Life
Authors: Kirioka, Sana (Story & Art)
Serialization: Jump SQ.

Statistics

Score: 8.301 (scored by 42734,273 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #2662
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1166
Members: 9,940
Favorites: 329

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 13, 2017
misterreicchi (All reviews)
I don't really have a plan on writing any reviews. But after seeing this one being almost unnoticed and not getting the attention it deserves I decided to write one. I wanted everyone to know that this manga is one of the greatest hidden gems that was serialized in Jump SQ. This is going to be my very first review, and probably my last so please let me have some of your time and read this.

If you like simple, cute, and pure romance, you'll definitely like this one. No love rivals, ship already sailing at the first few chapters, cute moments between the MC and read more
Aug 30, 2018
Salieri_Hiyajo (All reviews)
*Warning: spoilers for Taishou Otome Otogibanashi in story, plot and character arcs*

Taishou Otome Otogibanashi is one of the sweetest manga I’ve read. The story, while dealing with darker than expected tones about pre-war Japanese society and living with disability just ends up being so cute and sweet that I couldn’t help but have a big dumb grin on my face. The story itself is very engaging, and the plot progression makes it a very easy manga to read through in one day. The resolution of the problem our main characters face in the manga is very satisfying, and the ending just gives you diabetes.

Our main read more
Jul 1, 2019
hexashadow13 (All reviews)
tl;dr: A story with really solid character development built upon really solid, and adorable, relationship development built upon a surprisingly solid plot. 

This was much more interesting than I thought. Based on the description, I expected it to be mostly lighthearted fluff without that much intensity, focused primarily on just being cute and sweet. While the core relationship certainly does produce a very strong stream of cute and sweet moments, there's a lot more to than just that though. The characters have a really good amount of depth, with backgrounds that greatly impact them and personalities with flaws, both of which play a major part in the read more
Jul 23, 2018
Raiho80 (All reviews)
This is the first time I'll be writing a review here on MAL so please forgive me if it's unappealing. I'll try to keep this review as spoiler-free as possible.

Story: 9/10
Taishou Otome revolves around a pre-modern Japan setting in the Taishou era estimated during 1912 to 1926. The story follows Shima Tamahiko and how he deals with his depression of being thrown away by his family with the appearance of Yuzuki, whom is his bride to-be purchased by his father. Although it's nothing special, it's a nice change of pace from the modern setting of romance stories so definitely check out if you're a historical read more
Jun 26, 2020
zztl9 (All reviews)
tl dr; I am sooo glad that I decided to start reading this.

AHHHHHH I JUST finished this not short, yet not too long manga, and I am so so so happy that this even exists.

The story is set in the 1920s, but there isn't any problem getting used how things went at the time at all. The characters are so pure, and as a reader, you can't help but hope they don't go through too much hardship and live a happy life. It is very clear that the author went for a deep dive into researching even the smallest details we wouldn't normally even read more
Dec 19, 2019
kingpai28 (All reviews)
Taishou Otome Otogibanashi, or Taisho maiden fairy tale is a wonderful, heart warming bitter sweet (mostly sweet as hell, sometimes bitter) tale about the cold, pessimistic Tamahiko and his bubbly, out right literally pure sugar wife Yuzuru that will slowly melts and thaw out his ice cold heart. This this manga, you will follow our main characters through their sweet and adorable daily life. Witness how they expresses their love in cute little ways. Their fateful encounters of many amazing people, including: Tamako (the little sister of Tamahiko), and Ryo (the neighbor girl).

In this little manga, with every chapters, the author masterfully crafts the dialogues read more
Feb 5, 2019
Senayaa (All reviews)
i just can't stand the fact that this manga is not getting what it deserves! i started reading this manga bcs i saw someone recommend this in a forum post. and ohh boy i didn't regret it at all.
this is truly a heartwarming pure romance that has been developed with care. me as a fan of pure romance feels blessed after reading this manga. it's just a manga that you can read while you relax and all without worrying about anything.
before i started reading this, i felt insecure due to some personal reasons and watching anime and reading manga has been my escape. by read more
Oct 25, 2018
Mongoreader (All reviews)
Loved it! The characters were awesome and the whole manga had such a warmth to it. All in all it was a wholesome feel good manga with an amazingly executed romance. The character arcs of each character where well done and nothing really felt cliche.

This manga has pretty much ruined all other romance mangas for me, because all these other mangas seem to tease the couple getting together forever and none of them ever seem to really be in love. However in Taishou Otome Otogibanashi I can really feel the love radiating through the main characters.

The only negative I have about the manga is that read more