Kumo desu ga, Nani ka?
So I'm a Spider, So What?
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Kumo desu ga, Nani ka?

Alternative Titles

English: So I'm a Spider, So What?
Japanese: 蜘蛛ですが、なにか?

Information

Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Dec 10, 2015 to ?
Genres: ActionAction, AdventureAdventure, ComedyComedy, FantasyFantasy
Authors: Kiryuu, Tsukasa (Art), Baba, Okina (Story)
Serialization: None

Statistics

Score: 8.411 (scored by 46874,687 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #1652
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #907
Members: 13,789
Favorites: 901

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Nov 24, 2019
TheDeedsOfMen (All reviews)
Trolled. Hoodwinked. Bamboozled. Jebaited.

If you read the synopsis and thought, "This story is about fighting against monsters in an underground dungeon," then I guess I can't blame you. That was more or less my initial guess as well. While I thought that the events would eventually advance further, I believed that at least the genres, themes, and narrative structure would remain at least somewhat loyal to the idea of a conventional battle gauntlet survival struggle. Then I actually started reading further and quickly found myself wondering "What even is this?"

The initial assumption had been reasonable, given the synopsis. After all, that is what it sounds read more
Nov 23, 2020
enricocaliolo (All reviews)
Kumo Desu Ga, Nani Ka ( So I’m a Spider, So What? )
“Don’t judge a book by its cover!”

Well, I think everyone once looked to a book and said “What a lame cover/premisse, there is no way this book is good.” And I confirm it, I already did it once, but regreted when I read more
Oct 11, 2017
ByonKun (All reviews)
This is my first review on MAL about Kumo desu ga which currently have no other reviews. Also this review is for the WN and I'm up-to-date including all side chapters.

Story 10/10

The story is about Kumoko and her classmates reincarnating into another world with gamelike features. The main story focuses on Kumoko and the side stories focuses on her classmates and world building(they are not necessary to be read but they will be referenced later). The strong points about the story is how gradually it builds up the world, the world's systems and how continuous it is. I also like the plot that will read more
Mar 31, 2020
StanLe (All reviews)
Truly a great read for anyone that enjoys an action fantasy novel.

The characters in this story are some of the most enjoyable and likable that I have ever read from a fantasy novel. What makes this novel such a great one is the clear progression each and every one of the protagonists makes becoming ever so stronger and the exciting encounters of stronger and stronger antagonists. This is prevalent in the fights involving more and more ridiculous skills and stats that are displayed when characters appraise their opponents, which gave me one of my favorite scenes in the novel with kumiko appraising an opponent that read more
Nov 30, 2020
LeynaSept (All reviews)
This deserves the high rating it gets. I've seen this series around since getting into light novels but never got it. And when I bought the first volume I left it on my shelf a bit, but I decided to read it because I had another book order I was looking forward to. Well when I picked up this book I completely forgot about that other book series and instantly bought the rest of this series's volumes. Which made it the first time I've ever bought ebooks because of how impatient I was, and somehow I managed to read two volumes a day twice for read more
Feb 24, 2021
CrimsonHerring (All reviews)
This novel has quite a simple premise, in short it’s an isekai except the main character gets reincarnated as a spider. Despite having a simple premise, it’s character are amazing and it’s story are simply incredible which leads to an amazing experience reading this light novel.

Story:10/10
The first few volumes of the story switch between the viewpoint of the main character and a side character named Slaine Zagan Analeit another person reincarnated into the world. Most of the initial story and world-building comes from the Slaines side of the story and a lot of the information from this half of the book foreshadows and hints at read more
Nov 22, 2017
youseiki (All reviews)
If there are typical Novels out there where the MC have been transfered in the fantasy world, and then becomes OP and gets a Harem and bla-bla-bla-bla...

(WARNING SPOILER!!!)
This one is totally better than any other, like you’re reading a chinese fantasy novel (god defying mc) combined with game elements (grinding) then there’s a comedy parody and breaking the 4th wall with its counter part brutal and dark plot. Our protagonist is the legendary nope ‘Spider’ and the other characters are: ‘The Pacifist Hero’ ‘Unconscious Gay Bestfriend’ ‘Moe Loli Teacher’ Yandere BroCon Sister’ ‘Stupid wannabe king of the world’ ‘Fanatic Religious girl’ ‘Pathetic Ninja’ ‘A combined read more
Feb 16, 2020
pheonix-ix (All reviews)
Let's get the annoying details out of the door:
- isekai: a class of 25 students + 1 teacher got isekai'd by a mysterious incident into a fantasy world
- main protagonist, a female student, wakes up as a newborn spider (commonly referred to as Kumoko (kumo means spider in Japanese, -ko is a suffix for girl)
- Kumoko tries to survive in the Labyrinth where everything tries to kill her, including her Mother and siblings
- for some reason things in the new fantasy world is game-like, with skills and stats

Except it's not your typical isekai or your typical fantasy.

- The novel switches between several reincarnators' perspective. Even read more
Jan 1, 2018
Kyuless (All reviews)
This review is based on the official english release of the first 3 volumes of "So I'm a Spider, So What?"

This is also an updated version of my original review now that I have read more volumes.

Story:

For the most part, the story has picked up the pace and is now moving in a direction slightly similar to the Overlord series. It no longer involves just Kumoko and her adventures throughout the Labyrinth, the story has now gotten bigger and moved on to not only Kumoko's story, but the world's story. After 3 volumes the world's rules and mysteries start to unravel one by one, and read more
Jan 8, 2021
Ava25zFate (All reviews)
A fantasy lovers wet dream of a read.

These light novels have it all monsters, mystical creatures, hero’s, demons, gods, aliens?, human cyborgs? Reincarnations and a not forgetting a spider.

Please note this not a final review as such as the series is on going and currently 1-10 available in English translation. 1-13 in Japanese.

The story gives you that constant I must read more feeling. The style of writing which is in the first person help you immerse into the characters and quickly helps make that connection with them and the bond needed to take characters to next level. In terms of main protagonists there is read more
Sep 26, 2020
adeeda (All reviews)
(This review is spoiler-free, and is based on the official light novel through volume 10.)

I absolutely adore Kumo desu ga, Nani ka? (KumoDesu). It’s hard to pinpoint exactly why I enjoy it so much; in the beginning, it was the inhuman protagonist struggling to survive that kept me going. Then you learn that there’s more to the world than meets the eye, and that the weird things that are happening are there for good reasons. Then the story shifts, and it’s the diverse cast of characters with interesting interpersonal relationships and conflicts that drove my engagement. In this way and others, there are multiple disparate read more
Dec 14, 2018
Cleesus (All reviews)
I have read 4 volumes of the light novel and all of the current chapters of the web novel. That being said so far the LN is much better at telling the story than the WN. The translations, explanations, names, everything is better.

id give the LN a 4 so far and the wn a 3 1/2.
Moving past that there are some problems that I have overall with the series but are bigger problems in the wn. That is the fact that the author repeats and rephrases the same info in different ways back to back over multiple paragraphs or pages for no reason. You will read more
May 11, 2018
SovietWeeb (All reviews)
--The review contains spoilers--

Edit: 6/29/18 2:16 AM Quality of review update

This is one hell of an emotional ride. Various things In this story seem awesome. But then the story feels the need For throwing In small things. All those small things come together and can ruin the story. I personally feel that the Manga Is leaps and bounds better.

Took me longer than usual by a couple days. We get various qualities In the Grammar, It does get better later on. The stories that also happen can be lacking and don't call me back to read another chapter.

Compared to the Manga, The LN just doesn't read more
Jul 13, 2018
Jupi-Jup (All reviews)
the light-novel is really great.
but unfortunately it goes down.
its just becomes less and less good.

the main flow of this novel as it seems is.
that the creator don't know what to do next.
it has more and more filler dialog.
more and more slow paced events.
while the first 2/3 of the novel ~ 200+- on the main chapters.
is really good writen and exciting to read.

from after the "plot twist" it just start's to get less and less good.
mainly because the main plot becomes dragged out to much.
the main "quest" of the characters is absurd.

the "pride" thing in this show and being a "good" person is too deep read more