Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Bleach

Bleach

Alternative Titles

English: Bleach
Japanese: BLEACH

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 74
Chapters: 705
Status: Finished
Published: Aug 7, 2001 to Aug 22, 2016
Authors: Kubo, Tite (Story & Art)
Serialization: Shounen Jump (Weekly)

Statistics

Score: 7.781 (scored by 115948 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #16442
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2
Members: 181,993
Favorites: 24,247

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 20, 2008
Sykadel (All reviews)
Preliminary
Back when I was just beginning to watch anime and read manga, Bleach was one of the first subbed anime that I picked up. I eventually started reading the manga and I really enjoyed it. However, after the end of the arc where Ichigo manages to save Rukia, everything went downhill from there.

The story was very good up to the end of the Soul Society arc as it was always very suspenseful and the fights were well-contrived. However, after that arc was done, you have a plethora of new characters and new plot devices stuffed down your throat and you are never quite given the read more
Jul 25, 2013
sushiisawesome (All reviews)
Preliminary
Oh great, yet another Bleach review. Fantastic.

Before countless people flame me and press the "Not Helpful' button because I gave Bleach a comparatively low score to the rest of MAL, please do note that I didn't think Bleach was bad. Bleach was good, REALLY good at the beginning. The series introduced a wide variety of fantastic concepts, a charismatic and love-able cast of characters and has some of the most adrenaline pumping battles I've ever read in any manga. I'm fully aware that the fan-base of the shonen demographic has become increasingly desperate for series that have originality, adrenaline pumping battles and brilliant storytelling.
While not read more
Jan 8, 2010
Darkchao45 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Bleach is a like a roller coaster ride. It has its dull moments but also has its exciting moments. If you are an avid reader, you will know what i am talking about, If this is your first time reading Bleach then i hope you give it a chance and see what this wonderful manga is about.

Sure it has the typical Shounen components, but it is more original than you would think. Bleach has many mysteries that have yet to be revealed, keeping you always wondering and wanting more. Give it a try if you have not already and see for yourself since everyone read more
Jun 11, 2009
supermario23 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Dubbed as one of Jump's "Unholy Trinity", Bleach epitomizes the typical action shonen manga--fighting, fighting, fighting, fighting, and did I say fighting? Brainless power level tripe. To be fair, fighting manga can also be great, if it could be balanced with a well-crafted plot and sublime character development. Too bad Bleach also epitomizes the term "mediocrity" and what's more, wallows in it in an almost deliberate fashion(Despite being my gateway back to being an active fan of manga and anime in general).


Bleach's story is generic shonen tripe. Boy lives a normal high school life, girl pops up out of nowhere, turns out the boy has read more
Sep 5, 2008
Wasabi (All reviews)
Preliminary
OMGZ ANOTHER BLEACH REVIEW. At least I'm not giving out mostly 10s for some strange reason! *Chapter 355 is the latest chapter, excluding all sidestories such as the Hitsugaya sidestory and the Pendulum Arc*

Bleach is an on-going manga by Kubo Tite. It is part of the holy trinity of never-ending shounen manga (along with Naruto and One Piece). I haven't read One Piece but I believe Bleach is superior to Naruto in many ways. It does not feature orange jumpsuits or straw hats but a black robed GOD OF DEATH AKA a Shinigami.

The anime is mediocre at best but like every other show based on read more
Oct 13, 2014
DeuxExKane (All reviews)
Preliminary
Bleach
One of the top 3 Shounen mangas in popularity. It suffers the same problem the Naruto does: it starts with good smaller arcs,with puns and some character development, or at least a well driven long one ( which I totally recommend reading), and then goes into the infamous, unending and slow advancing Deicide\Arrancar Arc which could have been summarized in an 8th part of it's length.

I must admit that I stopped reading after finishing that second arc, as the next one didn't quite hook me a lot. This means I'm not doing this manga justice by reviewing only the first part of read more
Jun 26, 2008
theeggman85 (All reviews)
Preliminary
OH. MY. GOODNESS. This is about the most perfect manga you will ever read.

For those fans of the Bleach anime, I know you're like me, waiting around for more stupid fillers about a dumb princess that no one cares about. I invite you to delve into the world that is the Bleach manga. No fillers, SO much more movement and SO much more story. This is where its at.

Story: 10/10

I rarely rate an anime or manga with a story above 8. I hate to say it, but most animes/mangas these days follow too closely after their predecessors, and end up being almost identical clones of read more
Jul 7, 2009
smurfdude (All reviews)
Preliminary
Well... A prime example of how looks can be deceiving. Bleach looked good, oh so very good. In the long run it is one of the few manga I have regrets about reading.

Bleach is another overrated Shounen manga. Sucked in by another promising plot Bleach follows a young man named Kurosaki Ichigo, a high school boy who can see spirits. One day a girl who claims shes a shinigami comes into his life and everything changes. This grabbed my attention for the first little while until the story started getting repetitive.

The author of this manga goes through the same process twice over and that has read more
Oct 31, 2008
jazzlsx (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you're planning on reading Bleach because you hear it's awesome, I've got some news for you. Bleach was awesome. Not so much anymore. If you decide to read it, STOP AFTER CHAPTER 163. Don't even waste your time reading on. Tite Kubo's writes himself into stupidity and the story sucks from here on out. He creates so many characters that he doesn't know what to do with that he has them have fights one by one in stupid succession. This manga goes to crap.
Apr 20, 2011
hJ (All reviews)
Preliminary
Failure and success seem to have been allotted to men by their stars. But they retain the power of wriggling, of fighting with their star or against it, and in the whole universe the only really interesting movement is this wriggle. (E.M. Forester)


PLOT: -

Among the most popular mainstream Shounen, Bleach has arguably the most controversial plot. The main reason of being that way is the Seinen vibe that this manga has got and the mangaka’s lack of control over his plot and characters.

Kubo has tried his best to mix the Shounen and Seinen elements. That is plus and negative point of this series at the read more
Nov 30, 2010
Bryce-kun (All reviews)
Preliminary
[MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS]
Bleach- also known as "Blah"

Intro:
Basic story starter. "____ is your typical high school student but one day his life is changed forever when he meets a "mysterious" girl who gives him the power to defend and save humanity. In the process he is practically dragged into her world and has no choice but to interfere." Does this sound cliche to you? No duh.

Story: Above Average --> Disappointing --> Nonexistent
Plot like most long running shounen follow the arc-based-plot. Okay.. I have to admit it the first quarter of the plot was good. Ichigo's introduction to the world of Shinigami's was quite amusing and entertaining. read more
Jun 23, 2009
Tumerking (All reviews)
Preliminary
STORY: 5/10
So this is a shonen manga, and in my opinion it's a bad one. If you've seen Inuyasha, Dragonball Z, or Yu Yu Hakusho then theres no point in reading this. Bleach pulls absolutely everything it has from those other series. flying and energy blasts from dragonball Z, spirit energy (yes, they actually call it the exact same thing) from Yu Yu Hakusho. And the miain character has a Man-sized sword that can shoot waves of energy just like Inuyasha. If i could rate the originality i would give it a 0.

The story goes on forever. First one girl gets captured and read more
Nov 3, 2009
Awesoma (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ok so I’m pretty new to the wide world of manga and admit that I primarily read shonen manga and anime. However I do not like what I read in the reviews and would like to throw in my 2 cents.

Story:
The story most people seem to think has 2 arcs. I personally break it into smaller pieces. The first being Ichigo Kurosaki as the substitute shinigami. He fights hollows with the powers he stole from shinigami Rukia Kuchiki. His friends Chad, Orihime, and Ishida have obtained their own powers and can also fight hollows. They are all helped by the mysterious Urahara and his crew. read more
Aug 23, 2016
Sapphire (All reviews)
*THIS REVIEW DOES CONTAIN SPOILERS*

Like a flutter of a butterfly’s wing, Kubo has created the dynamic of a life after death scenario, twisting people’s minds and imaginations throughout its journey with surprises, questions, and a bold statement of what happens after we leave this world. Invisible forces play into the scenes, grasping a hold of reality and raining out a massive event that not even humans can comprehend. Sparks fly as metal swords clash. Tears fall down pale cheeks. Romances bloom like a soft flower petal in the spring. People think there is nothing after life, but they are wrong. Death is only the beginning.

Story: read more
Aug 19, 2016
riflow (All reviews)
Bleach started out as a very promising character-driven manga with several great arcs. It’s a massive shame it didn’t keep up. The story starts with a bang, builds and builds, wraps up the first few arcs in a satisfying manner and then trips over itself, rolls down a hill, into the ocean and sinks into the abyss. I can say I was thoroughly disappointed with the way it ended after the potential it showed at first.

I've been reading this manga since I was 13. The story was never really anything special, but it was fun. Initially, the characters were interesting and dynamic, they felt important read more
Aug 14, 2015
Dietrologia (All reviews)
Preliminary
Bleach is a series that is in a very awkward position in the manga community. It used to hold a large amount of prestige and popularity as one of the pillars of shounen manga, along with Naruto and One Piece. Naruto has since ended and One Piece is still going strong, with Bleach now finished as well. While sales of it in its later years were still quite good for a manga in general, it was a far cry from its original sales and it routinely tanked in the ratings in Shounen Jump until its conclusion.

The premise of Bleach is quite similar to Yu read more
Aug 5, 2011
Karhu (All reviews)
Preliminary
So Bleach.Or like we fans like to call it; Blah, Plotkai, The Troller's Guide to the Fandom, Rinse.

Story:

Well it's really great.Too bad same things happens 17 times with different characters.Or alternatively with same characters who has new haircut or new costume.The Bold and The Beautiful, if it were anime/manga it name would be Bleach.

Characters:

Yes, there is a lot of those.Really great one, like Inoue Orihime.Lets just say if Yagami Light knew her, her name would be written really quickly.

Art:

At the beginning, there was one.It was messy and reader didn't always get what was happening.So it got fix'd and turned into "lines."No ink is wasted anymore.You read more
Dec 31, 2008
Azula_Faith (All reviews)
Preliminary
It's addictive (I won't comment on what others had said). There are two arc.(s) till now as the manga is still on-going. While some may not fancy this Espada saga compared to the Soul Society arc. I, on the other hand, think that this arc is just as great as the previous ones. The fights, the sacrifice, the hardship.
Basically, what I think is that the author is trying to create the different points of view in each of the characters. Like "they feel the pinch when another is suffering" and stuffs like that. Also in this (Espada) arc in the manga, it creates a read more
Nov 24, 2008
Aja (All reviews)
Preliminary
Bleach. Use it only on your clothes, and not on your eyes or mind. Bleach WAS a good manga/anime until the end of the SS arc. After that, a plethora of sudden and raw characters are introduced - no exposition asked - and they bring with them their "interesting" plot devices. Except they aren't interesting: they're repetitive and confusing. To top it all off, the protagonist becomes emasculated after the end of said arc; all his training and exercise go to waste as these sudden entrants all seem to be Goliath to his David, except that this time, David has no more rocks. Almost read more
May 20, 2013
melonpanfan (All reviews)
Preliminary
Bleach has been in the top rated manga/anime charts for years, its success is even known by people who arent huge nerds like us ;). Being someone who has been reading and watching for most of my life, I was always a little curious as to what all the hype was about. Finally my curiosity got the best of me and I picked up the manga for the first time.
I didn't put it down. For all the popularity and discussion this was a read that definitely did not disappoint.

Story-10: The general idea of the story is about Ichigo, a high school boy who has a read more