Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Mouretsu Pirates


Alternative Titles

English: Bodacious Space Pirates
Synonyms: Mouretsu Uchuu Kaizoku, Miniskirt Pirates, Moretsu Uchuu Kaizoku
Japanese: モーレツ宇宙海賊

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 8, 2012 to Jul 1, 2012
Premiered: Winter 2012
Broadcast: Sundays at 00:30 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Satelight
Source: Light novel
Genres: Sci-Fi, Space
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.221 (scored by 19,032 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #26832
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1322
Members: 52,742
Favorites: 228

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 15, 2012
artist-retired (All reviews)
Preliminary
...I-is it okay? I mean this should be a total piece of garbage by all means, but there's no panty shots? No bungie cord titties flopping around? There's a shit ton of girls and even a maid cafe and a goofy pirate outfit, but... Why doesn't this show suck? Maybe because it's not trying to be BS, but trying to be a great space adventure with a great lead character.

*This review will be updated as I watch more episodes, it's up to seven so far.*

STORY: Moretsu Pirates or Bodacious Space Pirates, which ever sounds worse to you... Wow, even a terrible title, but this anime read more
Aug 5, 2013
StopDropAndBowl (All reviews)
It is hard to explain the fascination we have with pirates in literature and film. In reality, they were not really romantic people, and their "adventures" more often ended in disease and death than anything else. No sane person would ever truly wish to consort with real pirates. They were undeniably brutal people who lived undeniably brutal lives. To say the least, they were not exactly what you would expect from the inspiration of so much romantic attention.

Despite the inconsistencies between historic truth and fiction, the fascination with pirates still exists. We see in their exploits a kind of freedom and nonchalance that read more
May 4, 2012
cafekun (All reviews)
Preliminary
For the past few years, the anime industry has been infested by tons of shows which focus on material which promotes sales. May it be adding Moe element, fan-service, over the top drama story and many others. Only few titles are willing to make a risk in order to bring new material to the table. Mouretsu Pirates (Bodacious Pirates) is one of them.

Story 7/10

The story is simple. A normal high school girl living a simple life similar to these slice of life shows that you usually see. After a string of events, she was left to make a trivial decision to become a space read more
Sep 8, 2012
Nonyflah (All reviews)
Story:

Mouretsu Pirates is effectively a slice of life show jammed into a space opera. Because of this, it feels in many places that the series is not entire sure in which direction it wants to go. This is amplified by the fact that the series takes the plots from several of the light novels without trying to tie them together. The result is a series of unrelated story arcs that begin out of nowhere.

Mind you, the story arcs themselves range from incomprehensible to interesting. In some cases, the conflict is resolved without fully explaining how the conclusion actually ties up the loose ends. In other read more
Mar 30, 2012
Plagus777 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I find this one of the most difficult animes to get through out of the list of animes on my currently watching list. Screw the helpful/not helpful rating on the reviews, that shit doesn't do anything to bring justice to what which animes are really worth it. Regardless of whatever future rating this review may have, please just read this before you just disappoint yourself watching this anime.

There is no story. There isn't anything. No character development, you won't know what's happening most of the time, you don't see what you think would make this anime progress towards the better ,you will fail to see read more
Feb 4, 2012
YeOldeMan (All reviews)
Preliminary
*As the show is still going, this review is based on the first five episodes.

Are you tired of shows with excessive fan service and just need an anime with great story and characters with some depth on them? Do you love old style space opera akin to Space Battleship Yamato? Then hop on aboard to the ship known as Mouretsu Space Pirates!

Mouretsu Space Pirates (or MSP for review purposes) is a throwback to old style space opera scenario: A guy (or a girl in this one) with little knowledge of his/her own destiny and ability, is thrown into a grand scheme that pits him/her against read more
Mar 26, 2012
RevanFanatic (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hey guys, this is my first review and the only reason I'm writing one is because everyone else who gave this show a shitty rating like myself put little to no effort into it so I thought "It's 12:30am, I'm half asleep and I still think I can pull it off better than these guys!" So following that thought I pulled my ass out of bed, picked up my laptop and here I am now, about to deal out a review of a shitty show I had high hopes for. Oh and before I start I think you should know THERE WILL BE SPOILERS TO read more
Jun 30, 2012
Infinite (All reviews)
Even though Mouretsu Pirates doesn't deliver on the potential of its first few episodes, it still ends up being an enjoyable and light hearted show, even if it suffers from incredibly slow pacing and the loss of its seriousness and realism.

Despite the silly premise of a high school girl becoming a space pirate, the show was originally very grounded, the technology was not too farfetched and along with the bureaucracy of getting the Letter of Marque and the electronic warfare, it impressed me with just how realistic it was. Everything seemed to have procedure which compared to most futuristic sci-fi shows was impressive and a read more
Sep 3, 2012
colonelpanic (All reviews)
Preliminary
This show suffers from two major problems. First, it's ridiculous. While it manages to be pretty watchable anyway, a better show would been more believable. Prime example: the way the letters of marque work is completely nonsensical. That alone could kill the whole thing for some people. Second, as everyone knows, space opera is far more exciting if it ignores most of the boring realities of (possible) space travel. Most people are not that thrilled about ships using solar sails to favor energy efficiency over speed. It's the difference between Star Wars and 2001: A Space read more
Jun 30, 2012
Nasty001 (All reviews)
SAAAAAA, ORE NO MOURETSU PIRATE REVIEW JIKAN DA!!!!!!!!


Now that this 26 episode has ended, time to make my review, so what we have here is an anime with a adventure, comedy, sci-fi, space opera, school and shoujo genre, but it is some like of a "Pirates of the Caribbean" thing where the space opera is the main theme, however this is one wholesome anime with a pirate thing that kinda stand out. One thing about it is that it does have some historical factual element in it like the " Letter of Marque" and yes such thing does exist during the hey days read more
May 9, 2012
hellwyr (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story:
I have to say this Anime has everything a good sci-fi show needs, so it seems. A political unstable situation, kingdoms, empires, pirates, a talented new captain, companies and battles. But.............................. . . . . . . . . .
The story evolves around a teenage girl who one day is all of a sudden faced with the decision whether she wants to take on her deceased father's job as a captain of a pirate cruiser or if she wants to remain an honor student read more
Nov 30, 2012
Dyne_Hikazisha (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story:

Space pirates! Since the first episode, we are introduced to them. Sadly, it is over before the main character gets to experience it.

She is introduced in a rather unique way, having all sort of unique friends, which was okay.

Sadly, the story quickly becomes boring, choppy and hard to follow, also, nothing like piracy ever happens in the show. The best description would be actors playing pirate in a space opera... with a highschool girl as captain.

Art:

Good drawings and effects. Not a fan of CGI or other stuff, but, fairly good.

Sound:

I always give any anime I see one chance with the intro and ending. If I read more
Mar 26, 2012
Miycu (All reviews)
Preliminary
At the time of writing this show is at 12 of 26 Episodes

Firstly I feel I should put out a warning, if your here because Mouretsu pirates has PIRATES in the title, you may want to look elsewhere, in fact a more suitable title would have been "Mouretsu Privateers", however even this conjures more images of dastardly rogues then this show provides

Story 6/10
Mouretsu pirates is very slow, normally in a show like this there might be a forgivable trade off in terms of great action sequences, perhaps a long build up to a unforgettable action sequence, however this would imply that Mouretsu pirates has action. read more
Jul 21, 2016
MioSakomoto (All reviews)
I love this anime it was very fun to watch. The real pirates were not near cute, they were brutes, vicious... but this is after all set in future and in anime, so everything is possible.

Story arcs are good, very good i would say, however end is little weak, i would be nice if Marika in the end meet with her father. But even if its not, it is still good.
Art, overall i like it very much, it is nicely done, ships are nicely designed, featuring old with new, grand cross on the other hand, zig-zaging which i hardly believe that would be read more
Feb 24, 2012
avallac_h (All reviews)
Preliminary
I think that your little sister will be delighted by this series (if she is 13 years or so). Everything is very nice, beautiful, and represented in pink. However, this series will make older viewers frankly bored.
This is a very girly and beautifully drawn anime with great soundtrack and cute characters. Kind of a "Outlaw Star" for younger ones. You can safely recommend this series to your friend's young relatives.

And do not look for fan-service here, Mouretsu Space Pirates is just a naive touching anime.
Jul 3, 2012
amf85 (All reviews)
Preliminary
The show is beautiful...and that's about where the good parts end.

The entire show is a shallow teen girl fantasy. The long and short of it is a bunch of teen girls play around in space with ships that people just give to them for no explainable reason with a few shoujo guys. The characters are all bland, there's no character development - a bunch of teen school girls are just automatically great pirates from the start -, there's no plot, there's no danger or excitement, there's nothing. The entire show is as if the author just took a teen girl's daydream "well, read more
May 24, 2015
KD7BWB (All reviews)
Lion Tamers, I have a new review, of a great Anime: Mouretsu Pirates.

To begin, I wish to clarify a point other reviewers have made, that speaks to their ignorance of history. That term is 'Letter of Marque'

The following link on Wikipedia will make everyone much more cognizant of this term. Read folks, this is the way it really was:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Letter_of_marque

-----------------------------------------------------
Now that I've cleared that up, let's get into a great anime. I fear that rehashing the basic plot will damage the show, so I'm going to try to stay away from plot spoilers, but folks that have read my reviews know that I just can't help read more
Jul 25, 2012
NeverKnowsBest26 (All reviews)
Bodacious Space Pirates is among the rare shows which take genre conventions and spins them into something fresh. It takes elements of space adventure sci-fi anime and combines them with elements of moe school life anime. The result is an incredibly fun and surprisingly smart show with a fantastic female lead.

That female lead is Marika Kato, a high school girl turned space pirate captain. She became the captain of the legendary pirate ship Bentenmaru, after a few of her mom's old friends (members of the Bentenmaru's crew) come to her house with the news that her father, the Bentenmaru's captain, has died and that she read more
Jun 30, 2012
X10A_Freedom (All reviews)
TL;DR version: A compelling and highly innovative series in terms of strategy and characterisation but struggles to make its genre identity known. Unexpected genre changes from space combat, to comedy/slice-of-life is seen which is rather unpalatable in the first half. This is rectified in the second half where everything starts falling into place, and a good, clear balance is found. The series is more for those who like deeper thinking and strategy, instead of the average shounen battles.

The story is deep and intriguing, with a wide variety of piracy missions requiring different skills and tactics. What is emphasised greatly is that read more
Jun 16, 2015
Thorn_Goddess (All reviews)
Preliminary
The characters are diverse and believable. At first the main character might come off as unlikable, but you end up loving her in minutes. Its not the typical situation where the character is thrown into a situation not know what to do then learns (not that that is bad) but She actually knows what she is doing. It's like taking a breath of fresh air.