Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Ore no Imouto ga Konnani Kawaii Wake ga Nai


Alternative Titles

English: OreImo
Synonyms: My Little Sister Can't Be This Cute
Japanese: 俺の妹がこんなに可愛いわけがない

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2010 to Dec 19, 2010
Premiered: Fall 2010
Broadcast: Sundays at 23:30 (JST)
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: AIC Build
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.331 (scored by 253,105 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #23152
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #111
Members: 428,525
Favorites: 4,217

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 20, 2010
tg-jade (All reviews)
Preliminary
People can look at this anime anyway they want, but it'll forever be (for me) a sweet story of how an older brother came to love his sister as any older brother should. So far, every episode managed to unfold into how the two get closer to each other as the older brother helps his sister with common teen problems.

The story is different from other brother-sister relationship anime. Told from the brother's point of view, it's light and has no weird physical and romantic interaction between the two. I like how he started from not even talking to his sister to how he realizes read more
Dec 28, 2010
Skadi (All reviews)
Every season we seem to get that one show that has all the buzz and word of mouth about it from the anime community. This time most of that was centered on this anime, Ore no Imouto ga Konnani Kawaii Wake ga Nai. I will admit that from the first time I saw details of this show pop up I was not to thrilled with its prospects, but the hype over the show was too much to ignore and I decided to give it a go. In the end I am left wonder just what was all the fuss about?

From the start read more
Aug 4, 2012
Simonian (All reviews)
'Ore no Imouto ga Konnani Kawaii Wake ga Nai' (Long titles for the win) is one of those animes I just can't figure out. On the surface it appears to be an anime about a brother and a sister who struggle to realise their feelings for each other. But in reality it is about much more than that. We have a good chunk of the story here focused on anime and the world of otakus as well as the friendships that one can gain simply by going outside and meeting new people.

That said, the plot's main purpose is to of course present us the read more
Apr 5, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

I continue on my quest to explore new genres of anime and review really odd stuff. "Ore no Imouto ga Konnani Kawaii Wake ga Nai" roughly translates to "I can't believe my little sister is this cute!" I will call this title Oreimo for the rest of this review because honestly the full title is WAY too long. Much like one of my all time favorite spoof movies: Don't Be a Menace to South Central While Drinking Your Juice in the Hood.


Our main character is an obnoxious teenage male who is upset that his little sister doesn't bring him breakfast in bed and act like read more
Nov 27, 2011
Bocephus (All reviews)
This anime was a pleasant surprise. It has an interesting take on the bro-sis relationship. The two siblings treat each other like most do in the real world, with dislike, indifference, hate and of course love. It has an intriguing plot to begin with and as the story unfolds it actually makes you care about the characters.
I found the characters refreshing and liked how they seemed to change as the story advanced. Most of them seemed to be more well thought out than your usual 2d run of the read more
Dec 19, 2010
8thSin (All reviews)
'Ore no Imouto ga Konnani Kawaii Wake ga Nai! (My Little Sister Can't Possibly be this Adorable!)' is about an ordinary high school student (Kyousuke), who one day discovered his usually rude and rebellious little sister (Kirino) is a closet otaku. One thing leads to another, Kyousuke ends up helping his little sister with many otaku things.
After a quick glance at the title and plot synopsis, I thought this was some kind of incest harem comedy, and had an extremely low expectation. However, as the story progressed, a nagging thought began to dwell in my mind: "This Show Can't Possibly be this Enjoyable!"


The story is read more
Nov 10, 2010
Timofmars (All reviews)
Ore no Imouto is an entertaining and cute comedy that was thoroughly pleasant almost every moment. Those are basically the 2 things it offers, cuteness and comedy. But what makes it special is the unique brand of tsundere that the main female character, Kirino, possesses. The story is shown from the viewpoint of her brother, Kyousuke, which allows you, the viewer, to also be on the receiving end of Kirino's cuteness, which is particularly cute because of the complexity of her relationship with Kyousuke.

The main female characters look unbelievable cute, sound cute, and behave cutely, and it's a sexy-cute, not a childish cute. The cuteness read more
Dec 20, 2010
Rnooram (All reviews)
Believe me when I say to you, this is not what you were expecting. I've found brother-sister anime to be all either A: incestuous, or B: Completely boring. Ore no Imouto ga Konnani Kawaii Wake ga Nai takes the brand new option C: Incredible. I consider myself to watch things that have a decent amount of quality to them. I don't like to waste my time watching things that end up wasting my time. After reading the description of this anime, I brushed it aside. However, after taking notice that there was quite a bit of support for the anime, I changed my mind one read more
Dec 20, 2010
A2ZOMG (All reviews)
Ore no Imouto is an uncommon example of a show that has fantastic production, but abominable execution. The concept is fairly original, featuring a younger sister who has a problem fitting in society as a high achieving student who is also balancing a hobby for collecting and playing imouto-themed eroge. While the show is beautiful with its detailed character/background designs, unique EDs for each episode, and decent voice acting, the show amounts to being almost completely worthless and an insult to the representation of otaku culture and the associated stigmas.

Let's start off with the single worst thing about this show: Kirino. Kirino is many read more
Oct 3, 2010
danielti (All reviews)
Preliminary
Can't say much off of the first episode except that the characters are pretty original. I especially like the parents, they seem more real than the eccentric-type parents that often show up in this kind of anime. I also like the fact that they don't really design the little sister (Kirino) to be really sexy, and even point out her affection for the imooto-ero games is pure, which makes the anime a lot more comfortable to watch. I hope its not like Kiss X Sis, that one weirded me out.

I'd agree with the last reviewer, the series has a lot of potential. read more
Dec 20, 2010
Psychotik (All reviews)
Sisters. They can sure be a pain, and I know based on experience. They might cause you trouble and make you unhappy at times, but they really don't want that deep down. This seems to be the case in Ore no Imouto ga Konnani Kawaii Wake ga Nai (My Little Sister Can't Be This Cute), but maybe it was taken a little too far. I'll explain later.

Story: 6
Let me go over the story real quick. Kyousuke finds an eroge game in a DVD case. Kirino talks with him and reveals her hidden side; she's goes gaga for little sister eroges. Kyousuke decides to help her read more
Jul 28, 2011
Nipsirc (All reviews)
I can't help but feel this show got a little to mainstream for it's own good, hopefully without descending into a rant this show has evidently been watched by many users who knew full well they had no fondness for this sort of show going into it.

Ore no Imouto is at times nothing short of brilliant. While not quite up there with shows like Suzumiya Haruhi no Yuuutsu, when contrasted with more standard efforts like Nogizaka Haruka no Himitsu this show it truly special.

Our story follows Kyousuke who inadvertently stumbles across his seemingly perfect younger sister Kirino's secret obsession with little sister's (in games read more
Oct 24, 2010
sefira (All reviews)
Preliminary
As a little sister with an older brother, I was totally against this series the moment I heard about it. Incest in general is just all sorts of wrong, wrong, WRONG. Plus, everything about this anime just screams "hentai doujinshi fodder".

Putting that aside, I gave this series a chance because I was attracted by the beautiful animation and cute character designs and I was actually pleasantly surprised.

Although there are some questionable camera shots of Kirino from Kyosuke's point of view (for the fanboys, I suppose), their overall relationship remains sibling-like and both characters are thoroughly put off by anything more than that. I'm not read more
Jul 19, 2011
Reckoner (All reviews)
Ore no Imouto or My Little Sister Can't be this Cute is quite possibly one of the most deceptive anime I have ever seen.

Initially I stayed away from this show because I was quite weary of the rather ludicrous premise and the title made me think I was in for another incest anime. However, like any other hyped anime, sometimes one just has to see what is the deal with the popularity.

First of all, I'll admit that the initial episodes showed promising signs. My fears of this turning into some sort of incestual fetish anime were dispelled almost immediately, and better yet, the premise while read more
Dec 13, 2010
artist-retired (All reviews)
Preliminary
"This anime can't be any good!" is what I thought at first, but the name, I mean the context, is absolutely misleading.

STORY: I have to say, this anime probably slapped alot of people in the face if they expected another run of the mill ecchi, moe, and or even incest anime. Well my face has a big red hand print on it.

The very beginning shows a cute girl trying to wake her older brother, Kyosuke Kosaka telling him she has done nice gestures like fixing him breakfast, just like another ecchi/harem/moe/whatever else belongs there typical anime, but instead her brother becomes angry saying my sister read more
Oct 10, 2010
kidbaxter (All reviews)
Preliminary
It's about a growing relationship between sister and brother, entertaining in every second, leading to a heart-wrenching end.

What have I got to say? It is one of the few animes that stirred me, because 1) We care about the characters and 2) The delivery. It's amazing.

Go watch it, the story is thought out and well paced, the art is NOT 5cm per second, but it's good, the opening to fantastic, and characters are deep (well, some of the characters are unexplored, but they don't seem shallow. I hope they get to the other characters if there is a second season), and I enjoyed it so read more
Aug 2, 2012
Samstaforcesama (All reviews)
[Please take note that I watched all the 15 episodes of this anime, so this review is based also on those special episodes and on the real ending].

Otaku activity, like watching anime and especially playing eroges is usually viewed to be a hobby of a young adult males that are a little outcast. Surely, there's no way that a model middle schooler could do things like that.

Or is there a way? Ore no Imouto ga Konna ni Kawaii Wake ga Nai is an anime that tells you a story of a high schooler named Kyousuke Kousaka. His relationship with his sister named Kirino Kousaka is read more
Nov 3, 2010
AppleBread (All reviews)
Preliminary
Much better than I expected.

With lots of bright colors and a very light atmosphere, the art and animation is fantastic, clean, and simply very nice to look at, and the character designs stay true to the light novel illustrations and the manga.

The script is written fairly well, and supported by good voice acting, the dialogue flows very well, which is quite rare for an anime like this which usually have really awkward dialogues and situations. The atmosphere is lighter than the manga. Most scenes are less intense and dramatic, with more comedic relief in the anime. But the script still balances the more serious read more
Aug 20, 2012
Paulwillson26 (All reviews)
I thing I love about anime and manga (though I don't really read manga) is its ability not to take itself too seriously and the way it pokes fun of the extreme otaku's especially the grown men who are into magical girl anime. You know who you are!

Ore no Imouto ga Konnani Kawaii Wake ga Nai is a gem of an anime and something a lot of anime fans can relate to as in no one really understands why we watch it.

The story follows Kyousuke Kousaka, a Mr Average, who doesn't excel or suck at anything. His little sister Kirano on the other hand is read more
Jan 10, 2011
microx (All reviews)
NOTE: The anime is called “Ore no Imouto ga Konnani Kawaii Wake ga Nai” or “My Little Sister Can’t Be This Cute”. However, it will be referred to as “Oreimo” in this review for convenience.

The Good:
-Great animation and voice acting
-Not afraid to poke fun at its own stereotypes
-Great cast of colourful characters

The Bad:
-Great cast doesn’t have enough time in the limelight
-Most of the story progression is only in the first half
-Seems too short for what it sets out to do

Synopsis:
The plot focuses on 17-year old Kousaka Kyousuke and his 14-year old sister Kirino. As they were growing up, Kyousuke and Kirino’s relationship was pretty much read more