Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Full Metal Panic!


Alternative Titles

English: Full Metal Panic!
Synonyms: FMP, Fullmetal Panic!
Japanese: フルメタル・パニック!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 8, 2002 to Jun 18, 2002
Premiered: Winter 2002
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 18:30 (JST)
Producers: Kadokawa Shoten
Licensors: ADV Films, Funimation
Studios: Gonzo
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.731 (scored by 182,713 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #10582
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #229
Members: 357,315
Favorites: 4,133

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 10, 2008
TheLlama (All reviews)
When I first started watching this series, I had very high hopes for this, due to many of my friends saying great things about this series. You can safely say that I was not disappointed.

This series follows a member of the Mithril organization, Sousuke Sagara. He has been assigned with the task of protecting a high school girl, Chidori Kaname, from terrorists and other bad people. To do this, he has to enroll in her high school. Of course, when Sousuke is a stiff with no experience or knowledge whatsoever when it comes to socializing with other people, trouble is predestined to arise.

The story read more
Jul 31, 2008
YoungVagabond (All reviews)
What, that's it?

Despite not being much of a mecha fan, I decided to check this series out after a lot of strong recommendations from friends and online sites alike. I was expecting a compelling story, jaw-dropping action scenes, and decent humor. Those predictions went zero for three.

Instead, I got a series which seems to have no clue what kind of story it wants to tell. Is it a romance story framed around action and comedy? Or is it an action series with comedy and romance thrown in? This synthesis can work, as long as the director is talented enough, and as long as putting these read more
Feb 1, 2009
ColdBeans (All reviews)
STORY
8/10
Basically, Sargeant Sagara Sousuke, from the anti-terrorism organization Mithril, goes undercover to protect Chidori Kaname, a girl who holds the key to "Black Technology" and is targeted by a terrorist and mastermind criminal. The twist is that Sousuke is socially retarded and he enjoys using his military knowledge in everyday life which causes all kinds of problems and hilarious situations. This definitely was not one of the more believable shows I’ve encountered. How could one of the world’s most feared and professional military units have a 16 year old commander who tolerates abuse from her peers and subordinates? If you can get past read more
Mar 24, 2007
infinity (All reviews)
-- [ Full Metal Panic :: Eps: 24 :: Overall: 9 ] -

Full Metal Panic. Now, this is something which you will want to see! It's a very good mixture of humour, action and suspense. In fact, it balanced everything very well so that the anime is neither too heavy, nor too light. It's serious, without being too serious, if you see what I mean. Well, there aren't many things to criticize about Full Metal Panic (FMP), rather there are many things to compliment. Up to now, I found nothing particularly bad. Save perhaps for the lack of details here and there. But if you read more
Oct 30, 2010
Lindle (All reviews)
Full Metal Panic is a series that tries to please two kinds of viewer, and as a result, succeeds at neither.

The problem with it, in general, is that Full Metal Panic is both a serious militaristic action series and a high school comedy at the same time. Now, I've seen quite a few things over my years that should not go together, but do anyway. This, however, is not one of them. The two of them are essentially a massive clash, rather than a well-mixed combination.

The premise of Full Metal Panic is this: Kaname Chidori is one of the "Whispered", a group of people who read more
Apr 27, 2010
MS06FZ (All reviews)
I'm strongly of the opinion that Full Metal Panic is a wasted opportunity. It takes an interesting universe and an interesting political situation which would later be modified and evoked by Gundam 00, and then doesn't quite know if it wants to be a real robot show, a super robot show or a high-school comedy.

My main problem with the mech combat is the "gimmick" of the main units - the Lambda Driver. Essentially it's a thing which makes the impossible possible, acting variously as a force field, an energy weapon, a TRANS-AM style turbo boost and more. It doesn't work too well in my opinion. read more
May 6, 2011
MrReadmen (All reviews)
Preliminary
Full Metal Panic! is the light-hearted story of a military teen with aspergers syndrome who teams up with a high school girl with ADHD and hilarity ensues.

At least that would be the story if there were no robots in it.

This anime fits the bill of being your typical high-school-romantic-comedy with the only major difference being that it's also a mecha anime. The story mostly revolves around the two characters Sousuke Sagara and Kaname Chidori.

Sousuke I-got-a-stick-up-my-ass Sagara is a mercenary working for the top secret military organization MITHRIL who has been assigned to protect Kaname from a host of terrorists and governments who want to read more
May 17, 2010
kajia (All reviews)
"Full Metal Panic" and its sequels are a couple of my friends' favourite anime. But to be perfectly honest, I really don't see what all the fuss is about. Although the presentation is pretty shiny (it's GONZO after all), and the execution competent, for me, this is mostly just a bog standard action anime with some comedy moments (only some of which are funny) and some nice gripping scenes sprinkled over it. But the key word there is "mostly"... and more on this later.

You've probably seen the type before. You have a military organisation, and they go on the various missions, always running into this read more
Dec 24, 2010
Pizza (All reviews)
Preliminary
I began watching this anime after reading a lot of very positive reviews on the internet, with many people saying it's one of their favourite anime of all time. But none of these reviews was well-argued, now I understand why.

Story: 3/10
That is the only good-point of the anime: Full Metal Panic have a story that is not original, but it have the merits of permitting to have both action and humor, and why not an thrilling fight for the sake of the world. But up to episode 15, i saw none of these.
The very firt episodes were okay, but read more
Feb 4, 2009
tigerz (All reviews)
Introduction
Full Metal Panic doesn't do anything new, it just does everything better

A lot of mechas alternate between school and action trying to be two different animes at once but were always lacking in one respect. Full Metal Panic is the exception. True, the young Sergeant moonlighting between school and working as a mercenary seems cliche at first, but there's something different about Sousuke and his personality that makes him interesting as a fighter as well as a student. Full Metal Panic does the best job of balancing the two so it never feels like the school episodes are fillers but are necessary read more
Dec 10, 2011
Ibelucas (All reviews)
"SOUSUKE!"

"Oh, Chidori, I was just-"

*Fan slap*

What do you get when you mix a stolid, obedient, loyal, emotionless killing machine with an average, popular, high school girl? HILARITY. Absolute hysterics, rolling on the floor laughing at the insanity of such a crazy combination of weird characters. Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this odd mix of personalities.

Sagara Sousuke, a merciless killer and professional guerilla soldier, finds himself in the worse situation possible: protection of a high school girl in a civilian life he has never lived. His emotions, frayed and destroyed from constant warfare since childhood, are nonexistant- until he meets Chidori, that is. The story ranges read more
Apr 21, 2010
HowToWatchAnime (All reviews)
The first compilation review of the HTWA! Hope you find it handy!

"Haha, first to dis this anime :P. It's popular because it has hit US airwaves, other than that I don't know why it's popular. It was mostly boring for me, hated how they had to fight the same guy 4+ times to kill him, and I really hated the Lamda Driver thing, because I don't think something so unrealistic should be in this kind of mecha anime. I did like the characters, animation, and the romance however. Because I know this lamda (whatever) driver is in the next season, I'm not watching any more read more
Nov 28, 2015
ChucriBZ (All reviews)
Full Metal Panic!
Another anime that let me down, i had high expectations towards this anime because how well praised is, and from the beginning to the end this was just fine but not what they say it is.

Story
The setting of the anime is kinda interesting, the problem is that is not well developed and not to mention that the bland characters didn't help at all, with an annoying MC Chidori Kaname who has constant angry problems that comes out of nowhere, and her mood doesn't make sense, why bitch to the person is trying to protect you, and she acts like if he doesn't have read more
Feb 6, 2013
5camp (All reviews)
Full Metal Panic is a pulpy Cold-War era story that has been run through the Anime-machine. From the cold-war story side we get conspiracies to start World War 3 involving Soviet scum with gloriously evil villains and high-tech weaponry fighting guerilla warfare. From the anime side we get the heroes not being pumped full of testosterone faultlessly nationalistic Americans, but instead a teenage boy and a paramilitary force with terrible CG submarines captained by a cute teenage girl. Also giant robots. Because there is not a single story than cannot be improved with the addition of giant robots.

Full Metal Panic has to win some kind read more
Nov 27, 2007
toanbui (All reviews)
This is going to be my first review, but bear with me. You're in for a treat.

Story: (9) For the story, I'd say originality is a key term for FMP. It is a brilliant, well layed out plot and to say that it's nearly perfect is an understatement!

The story goes about a young, yet skillful 17 year-old MITHRIL sergeant, Sousuke Sagara. In his bare nature, he is military-obsessed and also clueless of normal civilian conduct. As a sergeant under command of the military, Sousuke is instructed to look after and protect Ms. Kaname Chidori. Kaname, for one, is very unique. As one read more
Jun 23, 2007
Ducky (All reviews)
Okay. The following is a review I did ages ago, for another website. But I wrote it so here it is. Don\'t bitch if you think it\'s shit.


Plot Summary: Based on the Japanese Novels of the same name, Full Metal Panic! is a series set around Souske Sagara, a member of the Anit-Terrorist Organisation \'Mithril\', and Kaname Chidori. Souske\'s mission is to act as a bodygaurd to Ms. Chidori by becoming a fellow High School student.

Review
Storyline: The story line towards the beginning relies on alot more of a comedic approach but quickly shocks you away with Terrorist Hijackings, Mecha battles and deep details of read more
May 15, 2018
KaiserShounen7 (All reviews)
This will be a quick overview on this show. So ill give my general statements on it. A more detailed one may appear at some point in the future. I wont give a synopsis cause there's already one provided. Spoilers ahead so be warned. With that out of the way, grab a seat. let's have a chat.

*Infinite Ryvius OST- nowhere plays*

Full metal panic tries its best to mix an overarching militaristic plot with SOL comedy antics. However the later is a lot more poorly handled than the former. I will say this, it can potentially be a way for us to delve in the read more
Mar 19, 2009
MoMo-Da-Gr8 (All reviews)
Story: 10/10
Sousuke Sagara, a seventeen year old military specialist working for the secret organization MITHRIL, has been assigned to protect the latest "Whispered" candidate Kaname Chidori. To complete this task Sousuke will have to deal with enemies from his past as well as the occasional panty thief. Unfortunately for Sousuke, the toughest part of his mission isn't only protecting Miss Chidori but also getting used to living an average High School students life, no easy task for someone raised on the battlefield.

Now, I HATE mecha animes, but this one. THIS one caught my attention years ago with the novel I borrowed from a friend. I read more
Aug 22, 2014
Darkmoq (All reviews)
Story: This anime is about a highly trained military commando/mecha pilot with no social skills named Sagara. He gets assigned to pose as a high school student to protect a large-breasted female student from being abducted by terrorists. As silly as the plot is, it creates room for interesting challenges. How will he blend in? How will he avoid suspicion? How will he protect this girl without blowing his cover? Etc. Well this anime chooses to brazenly ignore all of those concerns and have the Sagara act about as conspicuous as possible. It really requires that the audience suspend all disbelief. Example: What’s a normal read more
Jul 3, 2019
slackjawmaw (All reviews)
After finishing season 1 of Full Metal Panic I can safely say that it makes me want to watch Fumoffu a lot more.

The first three or so episodes do a fantastic job introducing you into this world that's a mix between a high-school comedy and a military-mecha setting. It's really entertaining and I was looking forward to seeing more of it.

Sadly, after that initial arc the show begins to lean far more heavily into its military-mecha half, and the comedy all but dissipates.

Two out of the four featured "serious" arcs bored the hell out of me. The entire time I was watching them I read more