Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Summer Wars


Alternative Titles

English: Summer Wars
Japanese: サマーウォーズ

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Aug 1, 2009
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Original
Genres: Sci-Fi, Comedy
Duration: 1 hr. 54 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.191 (scored by 199,408 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #3482
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #234
Members: 338,964
Favorites: 3,235

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 30, 2009
Archaeon (All reviews)
As far as family entertainment goes anime is rarely high on the agenda, especially given the numerous offerings from Disney, Dreamworks, and other such movie studios. Generally their features appeal to children and adults alike, and in order to compete with them Japanese animation studios have had to shake off their habitual approach and focus on making films that are more accessible to Western markets. The undisputed king of this is Miyazaki Hayao, however there have been several challengers to his throne, the latest being Hosoda Mamoru.

Now those of you who have watched the latest anime incarnation of Toki wo Kakeru Shoujo (The Girl who read more
Dec 20, 2010
Uriel1988 (All reviews)
Summer Wars is a perfect example of a story biting off more than it can chew.

The film opens with an introduction to ‘OZ’. An information network that controls and monitors electronic services all over the world: from shopping to competitive gaming to healthcare facilities. Think the current internet age, but even more extreme.

Then we’re introduced to Kenji, a math wiz who works as a moderator for Oz and has a crush on a girl named Natsuki. A few moments later we’re introduced to this crush of his who begs him to come with her to visit her family’s summer home. Thus kicking off the read more
Feb 27, 2011
dietmango (All reviews)
As one of the directors responsible for making Digimon: The Movie happen, I guess it makes sense for Mamoru Hosoda (also did The Girl Who Leapt Through Time) to infuse elements of his past work into future projects. Such is the case for Summer Wars, his latest and quite possibly his most ambitious film to date. Even if you’re not a fan of anime, you’ll find something to like in this sci-fi/comedy/romance spectacle that is both awfully heartwarming and very pleasing to watch.

Kenji Koiso is a high school student/math genius who works part-time with his best friend, Takashi Sakuma as moderators for the massive, widely read more
Jan 21, 2014
Zelot (All reviews)
There is only one word that can sum up this entire movie. Family. The whole concept of this entire movie revolves around being a cooperative and strong family. What does the word family mean to you? A group of people who are of same blood? This movie will show you the true meaning of family, a group of people who may or may not be of blood relation, but truly support each other till the death. That is what a true family is.
One spoiler in this review.

Story: 9
In a world where everything is connected to OZ (Imagine the internet, read more
Dec 5, 2009
SirMuffin (All reviews)
This is the first anime to have gotten me off of my lazy bum to write a review. Why? Because it was awesome and I think that I need to chuck in my biased review into the mix with all the other reviews to balance out some of the negative stuff out there. Don't get me wrong though, I'm not trying to create an argument here or anything and everyone's entitled to their own opinion, here's mine:

First I’ll give you brief summary of the story in my own words. In the near future, where the internet has manifested itself into one coherent program named the read more
Apr 26, 2010
Ranivus (All reviews)
Chalk this movie up as another anime title with an anime-style story. So what the hell is an anime style story? I'm glad you asked
- Everything happens to be conveniently placed around a small group of people.
- The story starts to take one direction, and then ends up being a completely different genre from how it started.
- It turns a semi serious idea and pretty much takes a dump on the whole idea. (much like how Kure-nai did)

Now I don't mind a Pokemon Anime but if its disguised as a slice of life drama where a boy is unexpectedly thrust in the read more
Nov 24, 2009
Mifnar (All reviews)
I've waited eagerly for this movie and what a disaster it turned to be.

Now, don't get me wrong: it's not horrible in its wholeness. Actually, it's quite good at the beginning: lovable characters with a Miyazaki-like style of interaction between them, overall realistic setting, great art and animation. But everything ends up in ruins once the plot enters the scene. It’s simply illogical in relation to its own world that is just like our own.

So if you can cope with a lame plot, you can even enjoy the movies because, like I said earlier, it’s quite good in its other aspects. But for read more
Jul 20, 2012
woodenbottom (All reviews)
Rant, there are spoilers, feel free to disagree, no cry babying on my page, constructive criticism is accepted, opinions are also accepted, it is 3 am and I am tired, do not expect former writing.

Okay, I watched the movie thinking it would be a warm hearted romantic film with comedy and a bit of action but I didn't expect such a disaster.

First of all, the story takes place in two different worlds, real life and the virtual world. The main character(can't even remember his name) is "hired" by his friend(can't remember her name) to attend a birthday party for her grandma. By "hiring" it means read more
Nov 30, 2009
Splitter (All reviews)
It's been quite a decade for director Mamoru Hosoda. Making a splash in 1999 and 2000 with his directorial debut with the first two Digimon movies, Hosoda honed his skills over the course of the next decade. Now ten years from his debut, Hosoda has returned to his humble beginnings, invoking his second work "Bokura no War Game" to give the world "Summer Wars"; a surreal cyberspace adventure about the power of family and the things that power can accomplish.

"Summer Wars" already gets a notch off because it really is a complete rehashing of "Bokura no War Game". From the growth of the Love Machine read more
May 31, 2011
SpookyTanuki (All reviews)
Summer Wars was a little overhyped for me. I went into it expecting a sort of mashup of Satoshi Kon’s Paprika and Digimon: Our War Game, and really that’s just what it is. Those are definitely the ingredients, but the measurements must have been off somewhere because despite a mouthwatering recipe, this dish came out a bit bland.

The characters are all fairly typical. The two contrasting settings however—the Jinnouchi family’s thoroughly traditional Japanese home, and the ultramodern Facebook meets Second Life world of Oz—are enough to make Summer Wars memorable. These two worlds make this movie’s message clear. Unfortunately, I feel like it’s a message read more
Apr 17, 2013
kaonasi_mV (All reviews)
History.
Senior Koiso Kendzhi, presented in mathematics, accepts the invitation from the girl to go to her family. If he only knew that everything will end! At first he unexpectedly should play a role of the guy of this girl. Then somebody steal his account from the "country Oz" (it is virtual reality in which you can not only play and have a good time, but also run quite serious business). As a result this couple must to save the world (real and virtual), and at the same time to rescue themself and relatives from death.

Main idea:
« all, that is created by the person, read more
Nov 29, 2009
Frosterminator (All reviews)
After the success of TokiKake (Toki wo Kakeru no Shoujo), there was quite an amount of hype over Summer Wars. However, Summers Wars doesn't live up to this hype and is decent at best.

Basically, there's this virtual world called Oz which everyone, from the government to a high school student, has an account in. Oz is heavily integrated with the actual world and a lot of things like satellites and such can be controlled from within Oz.
Then, an evil AI comes and everything in real life like traffic goes wrong due to the AI messing around with Oz, the foundation of the world and read more
Mar 8, 2019
GlassPufferfish (All reviews)
Summer Wars, and please don't attack me for saying this, is the most over-rated thing I've watched. My friends all talked about how great it was, sang it's praises. Why? I was baffled so when one of them offered to watch it with me on DVD I jumped on the opportunity. I would rather have jumped out the window, a trip to the A&E would have had more interesting people and the reason everything was happening would be clear.
I genuinely disliked most of the characters, why should we settle for complimenting these bland as bread people? Every refers to the aspects of family in this, read more
Aug 26, 2016
FAKEANIMEGIRL (All reviews)
Mamoru Hosoda is a fairly prolific anime director I haven’t gotten much into yet, despite the fact that I enjoyed The Girl Who Leapt Through Time quite a bit. I chose to watch Summer Wars because the premise of it seemed a bit more unusual than his others. It’s also been compared several times to the Digimon movie, which I haven’t seen since it came out so I can’t comment on the similarities. Summer Wars came out in 2009 and opens with Kenji Koiso, a typical 17 year old virginal weirdo who’s never asked a girl out and has the physical sensitivity of an abuse read more
Sep 19, 2010
miscanime (All reviews)
Let's start by getting all the obvious win of this movie in terms of art and sound and whatnot--it's amazing! But unfortuntely for Summer Wars, art and sound do not a movie make.

Going against the 9 and 10 grain of the common persuasion here, I have to say that this movie was a dud when it came to actual purpose. Like someone else mentioned everything is just too damn coincidental--oh hey math genius needs to meet old grandma whose grandson happens to be the best net fighter in the world and whose other grandson yadda yadda yadda connections all over Japan, birthday coming up read more
Sep 20, 2014
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overall:

Summer Wars is a highly acclaimed movie that pleased audiences in Japan, the US, and pretty much everywhere. It is cheesy and doesn't have the strongest plot, but it is a terrific feel good movie and will make you smile.

Plot and characters: 6/10

Spoilers! If you haven't seen the film yet. I summarize the rather short plot, so if you plan on watching and you don't want it spoiled than skip the plot summary!

Kenji is a socially awkward math wizard that is invited by a girl in his class named Natsuki to pretend to be her boyfriend, so she doesn't have to go to her family read more
Nov 13, 2014
walrusking14 (All reviews)
What would happen if Facebook was used to control every key factor of society? Used to govern every day to day function of our lives? Director Mamoru Hosoda answered this question in 2009 with his heartfelt standalone, Summer Wars. We live in a world that is constantly becoming more and more integrated with the technology we create; so where do we draw the line and say enough is enough?

Setting:
Summer Wars takes place in two primary locations, Ueda, Japan and the virtual world OZ. The year is an alternate, but very similar 2009, where the world relies on a virtual database known read more
May 3, 2018
Zaugr (All reviews)
Summer Wars - A film with a very unique and touching story to tell, and unfortunately a whole lot of missed potential.
It falls flat in a lot of areas and there is no mistaking that, but I'd say with what remains; it's still worth your time.


Summer Wars is first and foremost about family, and the strength that comes with a prideful and close family. It is very much a love-letter to traditional family values and the strength of having pride in your own.
The Jinnouchi family is without a doubt the best part of this movie. The family dynamics and the relationships within are incredibly read more
Nov 23, 2013
BuddhaDom (All reviews)
[This is my first review... comment on my profile/message me with any feedback if you wish. Enjoy.]

Summer Wars. With a title a bit away from the actual topic of the movie this movie bring very nice feelings to you. Ranging from exitement to sadness, fun and dessperation, and so on. This movie really felt good while watching and I bet that's how it should have been.

STORY (9):
The plot is very interesting. I like how they mix virtual and real concepts very well, making the relation between a person's avatar and himself very important throughout the movie. They did a good job in that as well read more
Aug 6, 2010
Marquis_D_Luffy (All reviews)
Summer Wars was recommended to me by an eccentric friend whose tastes in all aspects of life differ greatly from mine. This is key in understanding that I was genuinely very surprised to find that I really enjoyed Summer Wars, to the extent that I might even be willing to add it to my top 5 favourite anime of all time.

The first key aspect to throw in to this review, is that I watched Summer Wars in a group setting. I was with a load of friends at our local anime club meeting. And every little nuance or easter egg someone could spot was read more