Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

K-On!


Alternative Titles

English: K-ON!
Synonyms: Keion, K-ON! Season 1
Japanese: けいおん!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 3, 2009 to Jun 26, 2009
Premiered: Spring 2009
Broadcast: Fridays at 01:59 (JST)
Studios: Kyoto Animation
Source: 4-koma manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.861 (scored by 237,294 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #7392
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #61
Members: 408,629
Favorites: 11,632

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 22, 2013
UnknownUser- (All reviews)
Mod Edit: Minor Spoilers mentioned.

I'm just going to say this straight away: These kind of animes bring out the silly little girl in me. And as I'm a 19-year old guy, it's kind of an unexpected thing, even for me. And I mean this in the most positive way possible.

"K-On!" follows the story of Hirasawa Yui, a girl who lives a life similar to your average person on the net, except for the internet part. It's difficult to explain without using the words "carefree" and "lazy". In a way, she probably reflects a majority of people I know, including myself, except for the fact she read more
Jun 19, 2009
Splitter (All reviews)
If K-ON! is the future of slice-of-life moe anime, then the genre is dying. Now, I myself am personally a great fan of the niche genre and have delighted in viewing many anime falling under it, no matter how silly or inane. That's because I don't mind having to turn off my brain to enjoy anime, but I expect to be compensated for doing so, be it by making me laugh, warming my heart, or leaving me with something to remember. K-ON! splendidly failed in all three ways multiple times throughout, and came off as a shoddy effort all around.

Because a slice-of-life moe series is read more
Jun 28, 2009
Dorcas_Aurelia (All reviews)
K-ON! is inconsequential fluff. One might compare it to popcorn or cotton candy: a tasty treat, but if you're looking for a meal, it will leave you looking for something more substantial after it's done.

K-ON! follows the tried and true formula of cute girls doing cute things. Based on a 4-koma comic, the series is about several high school girls who form (technically join, but all the previous members graduated) a light music club and follows their activities. The music itself often takes a back seat to the antics of the girls, and audiophiles may find themselves somewhat disappointed if they go in expecting detailed read more
Jan 4, 2010
thepapercut (All reviews)
This review is going to be broken down into the 5 parts that MAL focuses on with each section getting critiqued.

Story:
As you know by the description on the anime's page, K-on is suppose to be about Yui Hirasawa and joining of saving of her high school's light music club, with the problem being that Yui has never read music or knows how to play a guitar. Slowly a few of these problems get cleared up but the main bulk of the plot goes no where whatsoever. You can come in at any episode and still get what's going. The anime is heavy on the theme read more
May 2, 2009
Rub_My_Fanny (All reviews)
Preliminary
Allow me to just start by saying I don't particular like the slice of life genre, but that didn't turn me off to the show. I have enjoyed other slice of life animes such as Azumanga Daioh, it was a real good laugh, and so I figured I would give this a try. I was wrong, it and turned out to be like Lucky Star with guitars.
Story:
I thought this would be about music, and I realize that the show has only begun, but as of late they have failed to introduce any musical element to this anime. There was maybe 2 minutes of music read more
Feb 19, 2015
JKinky88 (All reviews)
Some shows have stories that are complex or linear. Some have stories that are downright hilarious. And K-on.......uh......umm.......whats the story again? Does anyone even know the story of this show, anyone?! No, well thats awkward. K-on, the show that has cute ass girl who drink tea, eat and have fun.....and play music. Not really but you could put that in a sense. What is this show about and the point of it? Absolutely nothing, but not in a bad way. This is that type of moe-show thats there in case you wanna sit down and relax, it isn't a show that keeps you on your read more
Jun 14, 2009
Ranivus (All reviews)
Preliminary
:::QUICKVIEW:::
Story: 5 ( It almost feels like the show has a bad case of A.D.D. when it skips the important stuff. Trust me, they do it ALOT.)

Art: 7 (I believe most of the time and effort and money went in to replicating the girls instruments with their real life counterparts.)

Sound: 9 - (If you hate j-pop/rock, feel free to deduct 3 points)

Character: 8 (one phrase: Moe moe~ Kyu!, deduct 6 points if you hate moe)

Enjoyment: 9 (Its obvious as to why such a short and simple show is so appealing to the masses)

Overall: 38/50 points = 7.6 ~ 8.0 (or 4.0 if read more
Jun 23, 2009
game8910 (All reviews)
Time and time again, Kyoto Animation has gained the hearts of the people and has quickly become a company that seems to turn whatever they animate into an instant cultural frenzy. For K-ON! this is no different. Based on a 4koma manga by Kakifly, K-ON! went from practically unknown to massive super hit in only a matter of days. However, putting aside its massive popularity, how does K-ON the anime fare? Read on and find out.

Before I start the review there are some important questions you should ask yourself:
1. Do you hate animes with extreme amounts of moe?
2. Do you hate slice of life animes?
3. read more
Apr 25, 2009
K4emic (All reviews)
Preliminary
After reading a review of this series while comparing it to Lucky Star, I couldn't help but twitch in all of my facial muscles used for frowning and decided to write my own review.

Story:
K-ON! is, simply put about a group of four high-school girls who join the schools light music club for various reasons and with various degrees of enthusiasm. However, as members of the light music club, great responsibility is put on them. As of episode 4, nothing seriously mind-bending has happened, but the individual characters drives the story forward in their own fashion, rather than some evil villain who pulls all the strings.


Art:
Rather read more
Jun 30, 2010
iamjoe (All reviews)
There are far and few fabulous things in this world.

But in the midst of all the moe puke and unfabulous whatever-dere, otaku pandering nonsense comes a series that manages to both please the fanbase and stand on its own two feet. No, I'm not talking about my reality TV show--I mean K-On.

Yui, the resident retard-moe, has herself an unfabulous predicament: she needs to join a club. What a coincidence that Moe, the tsundere (i.e. mood swinging bitchy stick in the mud) bassist and her best friend Ritalin the genki drummer have a club that needs members. The light music club. By "light music", think read more
Oct 6, 2010
kajia (All reviews)
I picked up "K-On!" envisioning it as some kind of healing, mundane slice of life in the same vein as "Aria the Animation", something nice and gentle that would help soothe my severe withdraw symptoms brought on by finishing "Hikaru no Go". Even though on the surface I mostly got what I was looking for (it is mundane, and it is a slice of life), the end product was a huge disappointment. It's a bit like one of those twisted fairy tales in which some greedy guy makes wishes to the devil or a genie or something. Even though his wishes are all granted, read more
Jul 18, 2011
Reckoner (All reviews)
Before I begin this review it must be noted that I am not a moe hater. Shows centralized on moe are fine so long as it succeeds at its task. What is not fine is a show that is completely false advertising.

Coming into K-ON! you would expect to see a show about girls getting into a band and watch them enjoy the experience of learning to play music. While we don't exactly expect for them to get all that dramatic or serious all the time, it's still nice to see the struggles of learning to play music, the effort it takes to get good, and read more
Nov 2, 2011
Charliegone (All reviews)
I can write many single words to describe my feelings towards K-on, but I'll try to convey them in a small review.

Story
Story? What story. There is none. It is a slice of life show and I really mean they just take a slice out of anything they find amusing (which I probably didn't) and put it in the show. A day in the life of a high school girl who happens to be in the light music club. Some of these "slices" though tend to lead to very boring and I mean boring episodes. I think I was asleep half of the season watching this read more
Apr 25, 2009
lixiaochenx277 (All reviews)
Preliminary
As a guy who enjoys many varied animes from Ah My Goddess to One Piece, I'm quite willing to adapt to and enjoy many genres.

Many animes have "moe" characters in it to either please viewers or just to add a touch of cuteness. However, K-On misses the point entirely. In fact, as soon as the first episode begins, the "moe" (read: retardedness) seems almost FORCED onto you. By the time I was 10 minutes in, I was drowning in a see of concentrated lame attempts at cuteness.

Seriously, this anime will only please girls very fond of "OMG SO CUTE :3". For the rest of us read more
Aug 5, 2009
motoko09 (All reviews)
Well, I did watch this show and my impression about it isn't really that good ... At first it was like an energy boost after that it was the same thing everytime, One would have thought that it was the people who were discussing their issues around a table, the life of every day, and that KAWAI thing is simply exhausting; I only wanted to see what's the story is going to evolve to (thanks to god there were only 13 episodes ) ... but nothing ; just a bunch of crap and the voices were HORRIBLY cute.

Yet pleased that I have not had read more
Mar 21, 2014
baobin (All reviews)
Having spent most of my summer engulfed in the world of engineering, I figured a series based on music would be a great distraction. Tack on some hyper-energetic high school girls and a slice-of-life setting, and K-On’s light-hearted charm naturally piqued my interest.
This premise is undoubtedly what makes K-On so captivating. As a whole, the show never attempts to step beyond its means; it sets itself out to be simple fun and undoubtedly succeeds. Despite operating off a number of base gags and jokes that find themselves revisited from episode to episode, the series never seems to drag. Ultimately, the musical aspect of the show, read more
Sep 20, 2009
qwertyasdf1234 (All reviews)
Story: 5
K-ON! is a slice of life anime with no real story. Its about the day to day lives of cliche moe characters that form a band and do everything BUT actually play music.......for the most part.
The majority of the time is wasted with the characters eating cake and talking about a bunch of random nonsense that isn't delivered as good as in anime like Lucky Star, neither is it as funny, and it gets old pretty fast. The final episode (12 or 13 doesn't really matter what you consider the final) is pretty anti-climatic (like most slice of life series) and just leaves much read more
Feb 23, 2015
mattyodavinci (All reviews)
Some say that moe is the future of anime. Other say it is because of it that anime is dying. Giving an answer would be hard, of course, but if all moe are like K-On !, well, anime might be in a bad state.

Story 6/10
As many others reviews of the same anime say, it has no story. Of course, this isn't totally true. Yui, the main character, enters the light music club (whatever "light music" means, because it's never explained), then eat cakes, drinks tea, and... What ? There's music too ? If K-On ! is a show about music, why is there almost read more
Aug 22, 2015
Kenji_The_Engi (All reviews)
This review covers both seasons of K-On

K-On is an easy going slice of life that follow the daily high school lives of five girls brought together by a light music club and mostly focuses on their interactions in the club room, drinking tea and eating sweets. Now, despite the fact K-On has a musical backdrop it’s not the anime’s core focus, it’s just something to bring the cast together, so viewers shouldn’t expect much emphasis put on it. I don’t think the anime not putting much focus on its musical elements is a flaw by any means, but what I do think is bad is read more
Aug 31, 2014
UnoPuntoCinco (All reviews)
K-On! is a good show, something I'll find myself rewatching a few times.

Slice-of-life is an awesome genre, you can have drama filled story like oyasumi punpun or peaceful anime that makes you want to bum a smoke and chill, but you won't cause you're too busy watching chinese cartoons

Story: 7

There's this foolish western view on plot that thinks plot = conflict, K-on! doesn't care about conflicts, K-on! gives us a mood, an atmosphere, a feeling.

Each chapter is about this cute little girls soing something that's irrelevant to music, and this is cool because it's realist, sometimes you just say "fuck this shit I'm drinking some read more