Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Toradora!


Alternative Titles

English: Toradora!
Synonyms: Tiger X Dragon
Japanese: とらドラ!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 2, 2008 to Mar 26, 2009
Premiered: Fall 2008
Broadcast: Thursdays at 01:20 (JST)
Licensors: NIS America, Inc.
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.411 (scored by 495,526 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1582
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #13
Members: 800,573
Favorites: 32,239

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 11, 2013
rooserloom (All reviews)
I don't usually watch the romantic comedy genre of things. I always enjoyed action, fantasy, adventure like Soul Eater, Cowboy Bebop, Trigun etc. but for some reason I was in the mood for something different.

Toradora is just the 3rd romcom anime series i watched and I can truly say that it has become my FAVORITE anime.

The short version of this review is: I very much enjoyed Toradora

-The characters are all unique, likable, and relatable due to the fact they all display their weak sides sometimes and moments of insecurity behind the personality exterior. The chemistry between the characters was fun to watch

-The story stays read more
Feb 9, 2015
MugenDreamu (All reviews)
This's the first time I got the "4 seasons" feeling while watching an entire anime show.

What's "4 seasons" feeling I am talking about? Here's the explanation:

I felt the sensation changed 4 times while watch this anime:

1st time: During episodes 1 to 2, watching those episodes for the first time I thought this series would just be a light comedy anime which will make me chuckle without a complicated story. It just like the spring season that give a high hopes on the early year.

2nd time: During episodes 3 to 14, I'm getting a bit bored and almost drop it, but I decided to push read more
Jan 21, 2010
Radeon (All reviews)
Moderator Edit: This review contains spoilers.

-------------------
Toradora!= Another normal romance/drama anime involving high school...We had many anime of this kind. In fact, these type of anime are very common nowadays. I had watched this type many times, but mostly ended up so wrongly.

But this time, Toradora! is done the right way. Yup, I ended up loving this "normal" anime. Story involves two high-schoolers, a normal guy, and a short girl....Now where have I heard that from? Many anime had this kind of story. Yup, It kinda gives me feelings of Deja Vu-ness. This time its done the way I like it. On to the review....

Story- read more
Aug 11, 2013
Satire (All reviews)
Romance has always been a tricky, unforgiving genre; you make one mistake and the story slowly begins to crumble. Why is that? Well, as many of us may know, love is a complicated business. So is entertainment. So why do we watch romantic series? There's many different answers that vary based on the individual. Maybe we're simply taking a chance at trying to find a feeling. A feeling of the tingle of our heartstrings, or a stir in our human emotions. It's good to feel these things from time to time. Fortunately for us, Toradora is a series that gracefully grants us this chance. It read more
May 8, 2015
awerture (All reviews)
Preliminary
Toradora! is one of the most annoying shows I have ever watched. And it has the single most ridiculous ending of all anime I've seen. Even the ending of Claymore was more satisfying, which is saying something.

It is naturally that annoying because initially it seems to have much quality. I liked animation, music, opening, and, most importantly, I really liked most of the characters, including Taiga and Ryuuji. It is definitely quite cliché but charming brainless high-school romance with engaging characters isn't something I automatically hate.

But, as episodes go by, all of the shows' cons start to become visible. First of all - read more
May 13, 2017
TheBrainintheJar (All reviews)
Preliminary
Note: this series has been dropped at episode 14

Unlike the main protagonist of this anime, I do not have much strength to withstand torture. Put me in the clutches of a diabolical serial killer/torturer, and I have no idea what I’d do. Ryuji, our hero, is one of a kind. Bards should sing about him in taverns all across Tamriel. For 14 episodes, he stands Taiga’s relentless abuse with a smile.

In one of the greatest songs ever written, the extremely white lead singer of the Smiths sings about how it’s so easy to laugh and so easy to hate. Kindness and gentleness are difficult, and read more
Feb 28, 2010
Minami-Nan (All reviews)
Mod Edit: This review may contain spoilers.

Story: Secret love, unrequited love, love triangle... So yeah... The funny thing is that the ending is given away in the beginning. This can't even be considered spoilers to say that the main characters are going to end up together. Anybody who says otherwise is just too blind to realise this. Let's take the main points of the plot. First of all, one guy, one girl, each in love with each other's best friend. Two, those two try to support each other with their love interest. In order to do that, make them spend a lot of time together. read more
Nov 29, 2015
merryfistmas (All reviews)
The premise of the show is pretty hard to believe. After an accidental meeting involving two violent outbursts, Taiga Aisaka and Ryuuji Takasu make an agreement to help one another pursue their respective love interests, Kitamura and Kushieda, who also happen to be Ryuuji and Taiga's mutual friends. It's the stockholm syndrome trope, create a situation in which the two main characters are forced to spend large amounts of time together and wait for them to fall in love. High school ‘contracts’ are an object of fiction, much like the accidentally overheard conversations that drive most of the character development. People do overhear things occasionally, read more
Mar 18, 2009
Retro8bit (All reviews)
Preliminary
Going into Toradora, I wasn’t really expecting too much from it. I thought it would be your standard school life love story we have all seen so many times before. But low and behold it came out to be surprisingly good, and has quickly become one of my favorite 2008 airing anime series.

Story: 9/10
The story revolves around Ryuuji and Tiaga, two ordinary students that end up working together in order to help one another end up with the ones they love. It stays pretty true to the "love story" formula. What makes this anime really good is the excellent pacing it takes with the story. read more
Jun 25, 2010
KyonzumiNagato13 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Toradora isn't your story that only focuses on one thing. Well, at least I don't think so. It conveys so much meaning to everything that is going on in life. It shows you that sometimes, even your most important wish, the with you want to come true the most, can sometimes not be reached. But it also shows some examples of how people decide their path and move on forward.

Please bear with me. This is only my third time reviewing.

The story was fantastic. Even though there are only 24 episodes, which is actually plenty, the story was well read more
Oct 24, 2008
Ceptryn (All reviews)
Preliminary
NOTE: This Review will be Updated every 6 episodes

Toradora is a highly entertaining romantic comedy that successfully escapes the cliched harem tales that dominate the genre. Although it is somewhat let down by mediocre animation and music, the original premise and unforgettable dialogue make Toradora one of the best light hearted romances of the season.

Story: 8

Toradora is based primarily on the interplay of Takasu and Taiga. A nice guy who has a fearsome reputation due to his aggressive looks, who makes an unlikely pact with a volatile, but cute girl, to help each other succeed with their respective crushes. This premise quite refreshing, and read more
Mar 29, 2009
Meddigo (All reviews)
Toradora can do one thing extremely well: comedy. The characters of Toradora are completely built for playing off each other well in comedic gags. That's why I really loved the first half of Toradora. It had some of the best school comedy scenes I've seen.

However, at the half way point, after the Culture Festival, it seems that an invisible switch was flipped for the story, where instead of focusing on comedy, the drama would be more prevalent.

Now, there have been many shows that have been able to mix comedy and drama, they even form the genre of "dramedy", Kodocha and Clannad to only name read more
Nov 16, 2016
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Toradora is based off of some romantic comedy light novels written by Takemiya Yuyuko. From October '08 to March '09, an anime adaptation aired. It was brought to us by J.C. Staff, the same studio behind Shakugan no Shana, Yami no Matsuei & Hachimitsu to Clover. So, this could be terrible, really good or bland, based on that. The anime version's writer doesn't help narrow things down either. It was handled by Okada Mari. She's worked on such anime as Canaan & Kuroshitsuji II. So, let's take a look and see if this is one of J.C's better works, or at least entertainingly bad read more
Mar 26, 2009
X10A_Freedom (All reviews)
Fairly enjoyable but not really cutting edge.


Overall - 6/10

I personally found Toradora to be somewhat enjoyable to watch but not exactly outstanding. My biggest gripe was the use of Kugimiya Rie, coupled with J.C.Staff being the producer, which really dampened the potential impact this series.

For people not very informed, Kugimiya Rie has played the role of a tsundere with fairly similar personalities in 4 different anime works (Shana, Zero no Tsukaima, Hayate no Gotoku, Zettai Karen Children). I liked the use of a deeper, lower tone for Taiga and I acknowledge this, but I simply found the (over) use of Rie rather stifling.


Story read more
Apr 16, 2016
LeaderTGW (All reviews)
[Spoilers Mates] I have had my Toradora box set sitting on my shelf since 2012 or 13. I've had the VN for the PSP sitting around for years too, I have no idea why it took me so long to watch and finish this amazing show but god damn was it worth it.

Now with the story let me start off by saying I was really impressed with the pacing, romance and drama in the story. I mean, it was unfortunately too predictable for me however that did not stop it from being great. I liked that no matter what episode I was watching there read more
Mar 25, 2009
game8910 (All reviews)
It seems JC Staff loves to makes animes out of light novel publications from ASCII Media Works. Toradora! is one of their newest adaptations, and in the genre of romance/comedy that has been overdone extensively already, I am pleased to say that this anime has exceeded my expectations greatly.

Story: There is nothing extraodinary about the story in Toradora, I dare say its a cliched scenario of the 2 main characters being together for all the series to find out in the end they love each other. However the way Toradora excecutes and delivers this story was done so well that even if the outcomes and read more
Jul 30, 2016
themegamancave (All reviews)
Looking to expand my occasionally action or intellectually centered anime tastes, I perused the top rated anime list in the hopes of sparking interest for something a little different. Toradora has been recommended to me a number of times over the years, but I've always been hesitant or too busy to give it a try. Perhaps it's the inconsistencies I have with the romantic comedies genre. Shows like Nodame Cantabile have left significant impressions on me, while others have been mediocre or laughable at best. Believable love stories can be difficult to convey as a narrative, especially when you start to add petty high school read more
Apr 26, 2015
highpriest2500 (All reviews)
As we dash forward to chase our ideals, we may eventually realize that what we were chasing was beside us this whole time.

That is the basic premise that Toradora builds its story upon. Although Toradora is a rom com, the story line is not your typical rom com plot line. Our two main characters, Ryuji and Taiga, help each other get matched up with the other's friend. Furthermore, Taiga, for some reason, does not know how to take care of herself so it's up to Ryuji to make sure Taiga eats well and lives like a human. Obviously, it's inevitable that they will grow closer read more
Mar 12, 2017
Sonal1988 (All reviews)
*massive spoilers*
If the anime had the pacing and interesting twists like in the first 4 eps that got me hooked to it, then I would have rated it a 9. However, the paced slowed down considerably, the filler eps did nothing for me and the ending was a little too….. much for me. I mean, yeah you two like each other and stuff, but deciding to get married without actually having experienced life as a couple? That’s BEYOND dumb. Which is precisely why anime school children shouldn’t be considered a benchmark for romantic relationships, and precisely why they *are* considered a benchmark.
Needless to say, I read more
Feb 12, 2015
Visceras (All reviews)
Toradora .. it is considered one of the best romance anime of all time .. well i disagree. I only saw a couple of romances and i already saw 3 romances that for me were better than Toradora.


Why this anime for me is over rated? Well it has nothing special to offer .. pretty usual, pretty normal, the romance is predictable, well nothing here excels in my opinion.


Story: 7/10. I only gave a 7 to the story because we have a interesting way of starting an anime. The rest ? Clichê. Everything ! Not even one character is original, everyone are clichê and read more