Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Michiko to Hatchin


Alternative Titles

English: Michiko & Hatchin
Synonyms: Michiko e Hatchin, Michiko to Hacchin
Japanese: ミチコとハッチン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 22
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 16, 2008 to Mar 19, 2009
Premiered: Fall 2008
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Manglobe
Source: Original
Genres: Action, Adventure
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.891 (scored by 32,363 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #7122
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #803
Members: 95,363
Favorites: 1,319

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 21, 2009
Archaeon (All reviews)
What would you get if you crossed Thelma & Louise with City of God? You may get complete drivel, or you may, if you're very lucky, get something like Michiko to Hatchin.

Manglobe, the production company (and the brains behind), Michiko to Hatchin, have really pushed the boat out with this anime. But then again, they're no strangers to success or quality, especially as they are the company responsible for Ergo Proxy and Samurai Champloo. The series was directed by Yamamoto Sayo and is effectively her first full time at the helm of a production, and whilst this may have been a gamble on the part read more
May 17, 2011
WishMeLuck (All reviews)
In a world plunged into an immoral wasteland, it is often difficult to find friends and comrades that you can believe in. The cold brutality of the situation may be that you simply can’t. But sometimes a slight glimmer of hope remains amid the tumult and chaos, that maybe perhaps you really do have a partner out there, a comrade that will stick with you and care for you to the very end.

The world depicted in “Michiko to Hatchin” is this wasteland, a setting fraught with greed and death amid the indigent and the impoverished. This is South America (Brazil), or rather a variation of read more
Nov 27, 2013
Jodyqt (All reviews)
Anime that are set out of Japan whilst not as uncommon as many may think are still few and far between but what is even more rare is an anime that takes place in Latin America. Michiko to Hatchin is representative of everything that is uncommon but amazing about the anime industry: it has style, nice characters, a unique setting and a vast array of themes, and whilst at times it is harsh it never forgets to be light-hearted in its ingenuity.

Michiko to hatchin's story is rather unusually executed; my original impressions was that the series was episodic but upon completion that statement was a read more
Aug 17, 2015
maazu (All reviews)
Have you ever felt the need to watch an anime that butchers the Bechdel test in every episide, centered around two incredibly strong and well-rounded female characters? Then look no further.

Michiko e Hatchin follows the two unlikely comanions on their journey to find a man from their pasts, and in the course of the show we see wonderfully written characters going through beautiful character development.

The two main characters - as well as many of the recurring characters - go through important character development, and it's so fabulously excecuted you don't really notice it until it hits you hard.

As well as being full read more
Dec 22, 2008
webkid94 (All reviews)
Preliminary
****As of Episode 11****

Story - 9.1/10 (A-)

For the most part, the story brings you in from the first episode. A real good plot, some really well drawn out character backgrounds, a spice of latin flavor in each episode and the occasional boob shaking, finger flipping action, courtesy of Michiko. You're going to love the random yet plot focused action of the femine duo. Many twists and turns await, and as of episode 11, it's been a great ride.

Art - 9.7/10 (A)

Well, i haven't seen such colorful designs in..never. Each episode brings something as unimportant (Ex. Shoes, TV's, a gas station) to life. This has something read more
Oct 29, 2008
Orion1 (All reviews)
"Michiko e Hatchin" is a hybrid between Brazilian and Japanese culture that is best compared at first as a "Cinderella"/"Prisoner 701 Scorpion" mix, however the episodes that follow seem more like a Thelma and Louise story arch accept it's a mother daughter combo. "City of God" was also mentioned by another reviewer and it's hard not to compare the Braziling like gang violence that occurs throughout this series. These comparisons are really loose references though, considering Michiko and Hana's relationship became much more dynamic as the series progressed. The artwork is very vibrant and fun, and the music has a spicy Brazilian edge and read more
Jun 17, 2013
HybridMedia (All reviews)
This show came out in October 2008……..and yet I just found out about it or know its existence 4-5 years later. I did a little research about the show and wonder a few things about it, such as it was made by Manglobe, the same production studio who brought another favorite anime of mine, Samurai Champloo, and also it was the first anime directed by a newcomer by the name of Sayo Yamamoto, who later on went to direct Lupin the Third: The Woman Called Fujiko Mine (which I heard good things about, although I don’t keep track on the franchise) and I can see read more
Jun 23, 2016
gwern (All reviews)
_M&H_ is an adventure anime featuring a young orphaned girl Hatchin who is kidnapped from her foster parents by an escaped felon to look for her father, Hiroshi McGuffin. They travel from town to town in a quasi Mexico-Brazil, searching for him while evading the police; invariably, they discover the princess is in another castle and must leave town under hot pursuit. Every episode, someone beats Hatchin, scams her, tries to sell her, kill her, abduct her, or lie to her, while no plot happens. This goes on for 22 episodes.

To be blunt, _M&H_ is an astonishingly mediocre anime. The plot is astoundingly boring as read more
Oct 17, 2008
kristin (All reviews)
Preliminary
Even though there has been only one episode aired, for those who want to know if this is good enough to watch - watch it. The first episode was full of surprises. It had me grinning, then depressed, then happy again. So far, the story is really good (very original), I really have not seen anything like it before. The voices don't seem to go well with the characters, but I know for sure that it'll grow on you as you watch. The pace seems slow, but it goes with the artwork, so it goes well with each other.
Sep 30, 2009
Unregistered00 (All reviews)
Preliminary
After seeing the first few minutes of MtH, I hav enoticed the character design for Michiko. She doesn't look like 99.99% of anime girls (woman in her case) but she looks 99.99% better than them. The sexy, cute, strong, rowdy, independent woman is composed to perfection in her. And I am glad to say that she never uses her sex-appeal to get what she wants.

As you can probably see, Michiko is the strongest point in this anime, but that doesn't mean that the side characters are worthless. This is one of the handful of animes in which side-characters and "villains" have more depth in read more
Nov 19, 2009
Zero_sama (All reviews)
Introduction:

We often see in a lot of anime series either the same setting, Japan or an alternate apocalyptic distant future setting, well that happens most of the time in anime these days. Been a fan of anime I often ask myself: "When are we going to see the setting of a story, crossing the Sea of Japan and reaching a different shore?" Well Michiko to Hatchin is the answer. This series delivers in a single episode more of what you can see in anime these days, imagine all 22 episodes? The breathtaking locations, landscapes and scenarios are perfect; you will actually be transported into this read more
Sep 3, 2016
Fire_n_mage (All reviews)
*Light-medium character spoilers ahead!* (speaking of their development and personality throughout the show)

Quite a few reviews praise the ability of the female cast, but I just had to say that I found them rather flawed, honestly, the entirety of the cast is flawed. It seems that in order to make characters w/o stereotypes, they just used characters that had strong personalities and very little to no grow for multiple episodes, which bothered me. Michiko is no doubt "strong" but extremely stubborn, and as others have mentioned, fails to move the plot forward in any way until someone has a lead on "Hiroshi" and his whereabouts.

My read more
Dec 18, 2009
vitaamin (All reviews)
In a small Latin American town, a young girl dreams to be freed from her abusive foster parents. Her wishes come true when an escaped convict leaps through the dinner room window on a teal motorbike and asks her to help her find her mysterious father. Together, they travel the distance to find a man they thought they knew while experiencing the barren but lively existence shared by their fellow countrymen.

It's been a few seasons since the last promising title in this genre popped up--and Michiko to Hatchin certainly lives up to expectations. With deep Latin American vibes and subtle storytelling, the series manages to read more
Aug 14, 2015
mochakawaiibear (All reviews)
This anime was a breath of fresh air. In anime there's so many things you can do with a story and characters buy sometimes it's good to see a realistic setting (other than Japan) with (semi) realistic action and adventure. The dub really gave a feel to this anime the sub didn't.

Michiko and hatchin starts off with them on a quest to find hatchins father Hiroshi, sound familiar? It's more so about the ride and how the characters develop than an actual plot. Most episodes can standalone and still make sense of the story. Maybe 2 episodes kind of felt dragged but they were need read more
Nov 15, 2015
RoneSpeak (All reviews)
I remember seeing this as a recommendation a while ago, and didn't really look much into it. I only started watching it after I found out Manglobe had filed for bankruptcy, just to see if they had gone completely belly up. How wrong I was! This feels like the tryptic entry to Cowboy Bebop and Samurai Champloo, they all have a similar enough feeling to them and an incredible soundtrack to keep everything together.

Michiko no Hatchin came out of the gate as quickly as Samurai Champloo, the first episode had me begging for more. The style is so similar, from the fluid movements and incredible read more
Jul 15, 2013
the7thfloor (All reviews)
Michiko to Hatchin, taking place somewhere in an eccentric, sandy, and unpredictable South American setting closely resembling Brazil, follows Michiko Malandro, a sexy and aggressive convict on the run, and 10 year old Hana Morenos, a shy, pale, mild mannered young girl living under the wing of a cruel foster family which has made her life a constant struggle for as long as she can remember. In a meandering and heart pumping trek across various South American cities filled with adventure, tragedy, and bloodshed, the unlikely duo stick together led by one common goal; the hope of finding Hiroshi Morenos, the man who Michiko fell read more
Aug 1, 2017
clonewang (All reviews)
Michiko to Hatchin starts out and finished strong and offers one of the most realistic, and believable portrayals of Latin America, Brazil in particular, that I've seen in anime. If you're on the fence about watching, don't hesitate, stop reading, and go watch! Since I've watched Samurai Champloo fairly recently and Manglobe produced both, I'll be referencing and making comparisons to Samurai Champloo throughout this review.

The story is engaging and thrilling from start to finish. The basic plot is quite simple and fairly reminiscent of Manglobe's prior original animation, Samurai Champloo, and also involves a series-long epic journey with the end goal of finding read more
May 4, 2010
Julius_sleezer (All reviews)
:STORY:
The story for this series is fantastic. What I seem to be noticing is that anime sort of has a niched appeal, which is okay. However, the problem is that those who are responsible for creating the anime are more responsible for putting in the stylistic elements in anime that anime fans enjoy than creating a piece of literature that can benefit humanity. This series, however, transcends that and truly is a piece of artwork that pays no loyalty to the traditional standards of what makes anime entertaining, but rather is loyal to getting the creator's message across in the most effective way possible. In read more
Feb 6, 2014
sneg (All reviews)
Michiko to Hatchin was a pleasant surprise. After reading a few short reviews I was intrigued by the fact that a lot of people pointed out how the series turned out to be a much deeper drama rather than a simple action-driven anime that they were expecting.
I was not disappointed. If you are looking for a series with interesting, complex characters, do not miss this. In fact, I will be go further and say that you should watch Michiko to Hatchin.
This series features some of the most deep and complex character portrayals I have ever seen in an anime. Be warned - the directors read more
Jan 4, 2015
BrinkersMad (All reviews)
Well well well here goes my first MAL short and sweet (SS) review! Let's hope I'm not rambling anything so here is how I'll go...

If you are an action addict like me and only came here to see whether this is a great action anime look somewhere else but if you somewhat happen to want to delve yourself into an adventure that has some outstanding characterisation, art and sound set in Brazil (it's Brazil! What a change of setting for once!) then this might be that hidden gem you're looking for.

Story 7/10
As the summary by MAL suggests this anime tells us of the adventure read more