Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Mahoutsukai no Yome


Alternative Titles

English: The Ancient Magus' Bride
Synonyms: The Magician's Bride
Japanese: 魔法使いの嫁

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 8, 2017 to Mar 25, 2018
Premiered: Fall 2017
Broadcast: Sundays at 01:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Wit Studio
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.251 (scored by 115,392 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #2792
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #167
Members: 354,329
Favorites: 4,483

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 24, 2018
PaladinAlchemist (All reviews)
Like many others, I highly anticipated Mahoutsukai no Yome. Maybe that was my mistake, and I expected too much. But even anime that fail to live up to expectations usually fail them this hard.

So where did things go wrong? The plot? The characters? The worldbuilding? All of the above?

I’ll start with what I liked about Mahoutsukai no Yome. It’s beautiful. There were scenes that were, for a lack of a better word, magical. The soundtrack is also worth listening too.

But despite having high production quality and a magical world to explore, Magus Bride falls flat thanks to its dull cast and lack read more
Nov 22, 2017
Love_Lies (All reviews)
Preliminary
Mahoutsukai no Yome, also known as the ancient Magus Bride, is a masterpiece. The world of this show is full of mystery and goes into depth more than just one or two times. However, if you are a new anime watcher, I don't recommend this as a show to start with. My reasoning for that is the story can be confusing and sometimes overwhelming - some people may also find certain situations unnecessary or "wrong" when if looked upon from my standpoint, is not true. Every detail in this show means something and I am excited to see more.

Story
The plot for read more
Mar 24, 2018
Nekyia (All reviews)
The most disappointing anime I've watched this season. I've tried very hard to like this show but it did so many things wrong and honestly I don't understand the high score it has right now. If you're looking for something good just watch the OVAs.

Trying to be short, the show is a mess.
Most of the episodes in the beginning was the same rinse and repeat Chise getting into trouble.
Later on It feels like whoever wrote just thought of half interesting scenarios to put their MCs in.
The way they introduce characters for half of them to never appear again
really seems like they picked random read more
Mar 23, 2018
Stark700 (All reviews)
Opening a book and reading word by word is simple. Jumping into a story becoming part of its world while being enveloped by its ideas is a whole different experience. Mahoutsukai no Yome (The Ancient Magus Bride) has a way that make us see through its world, characters, and story. If you fancy yourself for a creative fantasy experience that blends between the lines of fiction and reality, then you came to the right place.

An anime adaptation of Mahoutsukai no Yome is pretty inevitable in the eyes of many fans who are familiar with the author’s work. Ever since we got the 3-episode prologue OVAs, read more
Mar 23, 2018
PhantomKurata (All reviews)
“I don’t care if he thinks of me as a toy, and throws me out when he’s bored. It’s because he… even though it was only one time, said to me that I am his family.” Chise Hatori.
The fall 17 anime season was a very interesting season for anime as we got a lot of shows that were actually good for the most part. Sure it that season had it stinkers like Ousama Game The Animation and Juuni Taisen but what am trying to say is that Fall 17 anime season reminded me how great the Fall 14 anime season was in terms of shows. read more
Nov 28, 2017
Hokumi (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is a good anime so far, this is why I'm still watching it. I like the whole world that was created, but the story doesn't seem to convince me. The characters, specially Chise, are very shallow. And her, as the main character, should be a little more explored. EDIT (ep 10): she is finally getting herself more prominent in the narrative - finally! And I also watched the OVA for this series that explores her past much more and explains her future actions.
Another thing that bothers me is that many things are left with no further explanation, I think this is cool to do read more
Nov 25, 2017
Luxain (All reviews)
Preliminary
I've had a hard time trying to grasp what I don't like about this show/manga. After 8 episodes and 33 chapters of reading I think I've got a good idea of what's putting me off.

THE SHOW MOVES WAY TOO FAST.

I wish the show would move slower, everything that happens either happens way too fast or is way too big. It's hard to get a feel for it all and be attached or invested in what's going on because of this. To give an example or metaphor: It's as if we're introduced to a character who we're suppose to be invested in at some point but read more
Mar 24, 2018
RenommusZrev14 (All reviews)
There was a lot of hype leading up to the Ancient Magus Bride. Its first three episodes were shown in theaters months before it began to air, and critics and the masses alike were declaring it the best thing ever. In a lot of ways, it lived up to all of that hype. However, I think all of that glowing praise is overshadowing some actual issues with this adaptation.

Before going into the story, I’d like to quickly run down the structure of the narrative. Magus Bride is a slow-paced and contemplative journey, and that’s not for everyone. Several friends of mine dropped it about a read more
Nov 29, 2017
Geingrohiik (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story: (9/10)
Just from the first few episodes I was in love with this very unique and original story. The main character unlike any other, auctions herself off because she has nothing left of her life. She was bought by a monster named Elias who is really much more than just some monster. All of Chise's life she has had special abilities that made her an outcast to everyone who had ever loved her. She is a special human named a Sleigh Beggy (Slay Vega as in the manga) who can see beyond the sight of normal beings. She sees mysterious things that many others cannot. read more
Jan 7, 2018
cremated_spatula (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is a story about a depressed, suicidal young girl, who auctioned herself as a slave, to be used in however manner the buyer wishes. She then get's bought by someone who isn't a complete sadist, a somewhat 'benevolent' demon-magician, who decides to groom her into his wife...
The prequel episodes were decent but after that, the story became insufferable.

It feels like there's no purpose or progress in the story, each episode is meandering and boring, it's not that there isn't anything happening, I just don't care about anything happening because it's not leading anywhere.
There's no sense of adventure and what little mystery it has, just read more
Mar 28, 2018
juneboba (All reviews)
There’s so much to love about Ancient Magus' Bride but their entire relationship is predicated on:

1) an older non-human man buying a 15-year-old girl at an auction (in other words, human trafficking),
2) calling her dehumanizing things like “puppy” right after she was sold, lording it over her that she's "expensive," and every character acknowledging she’s a “child” (especially him),
3) invading her privacy and trying to touch and bathe her without her permission (he understood that what he was doing to a child was morally reprehensible as indicated by Angelica),
4) telling her she has no choice in matters but is “free to reconsider”,
5) calling him his read more
Dec 24, 2017
ReplayMVP (All reviews)
Preliminary
First off,
I've seen various reviews and I'm first going to debunk the whole idea of the pedophilia lolicon concept people keep throwing out there. Those who are watching with these concepts in mind are forgetting the most important details of their relationship. He is a NON-HUMAN being who's only recently entering into the human world. Therefore, he's even more innocent and child-like than Chise, in terms of building and maintaining human relationships.

Essentially, they’re both in the same platform, despite age, both essentially powerless in their own sphere, trusting each other out of their curiosity, fear of being abandoned and misunderstood.

I don't sense any feeling read more
Mar 7, 2018
ladycalista (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is my first review on this site so I apologize if it's hard to follow. I actually never even thought I'd write a review but something needs to be said about this anime that everyone seems to love for no good reason.

It's just bad. Almost everything about it is bad. If not for it's art and sound, it would have nothing to offer you.
The story is absolutely boring and doesn't seem to have any real direction.
The protagonists, Elias and Chise, have got to be the worst part about it though. Chise has little to no personality so there's not much to be said about read more
Mar 24, 2018
JPKalauer (All reviews)
Based on the premise and quality of the art and animation, I really wanted to like this show. But even in just the prequel OVAs, there were some warning flags I really should have paid attention to, because they forecasted the subtext of the rest of the series pretty well.

In the fewest words possible, Ancient Magus' Bride is a quintessential girls' escapist fantasy. In a sense, it's a bit like Sword Art Online in that it knows its target audience very well, and feeds them exactly what they want to see. In the case of Ancient Magus' Bride, this generally revolves around "a unique power read more
Dec 10, 2017
deluxe66 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime is bad because its base , at least until now, are " sad love stories" that happened in a magical world. I'm not kidding you, this is a fact.


What I wanted from this anime was an odd couple that had lots of cool adventures, filled with action, especially magic, and sometimes a look to their feelings. Elias' character is pretty badass, I look at him and I think, damn, this "monster" looks awesome, and Chise is the opposite, she looks plain boring and dumb, she's a teenager and since she's damaged because of her traumatic "upbringing", then we get a teenager with sad read more
Mar 24, 2018
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
Life is a wonderful, horrible, fascinating, disturbing, and complicated concept to experience.

The idea of existing is fascinating, as you get to have experiences that leave memories that you take with you and leave behind as you live your days in your world. No matter what twisted and painful situations occur in someone’s life, the idea of happiness, and memories worth cherishing, is nigh-universal. Everyone wants to have happy memories before they die. Death is a sad, chilling reality we must face, so we must cherish the life we have as much as we can, with people who will make us feel happy about living and read more
Mar 29, 2018
EmiyaRin (All reviews)
Preliminary
Regardless of how nice the music or art is I simply can't get excited about a show that is so extraordinarily repetitive and boring. The characters repeat the same boring lines of how Chise never had anyone call her family before and how Elias doesn't understand humans. They literally had Chise monologue how Elias was the only person to call her family about 20+ times. We get it, that and Chise is constantly being taken and going through the same process with a bit of a variation multiple times. A mediocre story can not be made into a good anime with great art and music.
Dec 17, 2017
Asunakob (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is one of the most disappointing anime I have watched this season. It starts off great with awesome premise and all but leaves you hanging right there. the worst parts of ancient magus bride are the pacing and the overall story , when there seems to be a fight people just summon some random stuff saying some other random stuff which makes some random stuff happen and everything goes just as it should have. Absolutely no rules apply to their magic and tbh it was kinda good in the beginning but man does it get boring , after episode 5-6 it was an utter read more
Nov 12, 2017
Bobyak47 (All reviews)
Preliminary
The Ancient Magus Bride (also known "Mahoutsukai No Yome") is anime based manga made by WIT Studio with genre Slice of Life, Magic, Fantasy, and Shounen but i add the genre "Drama" because there's a drama scene in that anime.

Story:
The story is felt calm and more to journey, this is like story the beauty and the beast because the femal is human and the male is no human but this anime, the non human do the thing to saves the human from her darkest memories with makes her to be his dicipline and a wife. This story until now it's bit of romance, read more
Dec 3, 2017
Silvrocity (All reviews)
Preliminary
I would gladly consider this a masterpiece of modern day anime and I will explain several reasons why I think this way.

1. It does not overemphasis on the characters. This creates a perfect balance where the audience can speculate on what is to come next and not been overwhelmed by the suspense.
2. The story is very well paced (arguable depending on the audience, but I find it perfect). It is slow enough to keep up with and fast enough to be interesting.
3. The art is marvelous.
4. The main characters do not follow the same meta of most animes. (Once again, arguable depending on the audience) read more