Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Mahoutsukai no Yome


Alternative Titles

English: The Ancient Magus' Bride
Synonyms: The Magician's Bride
Japanese: 魔法使いの嫁

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Currently Airing
Aired: Oct 8, 2017 to ?
Premiered: Fall 2017
Broadcast: Sundays at 01:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Wit Studio
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.581 (scored by 27,615 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #722
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #353
Members: 185,798
Favorites: 1,290

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Oct 21, 2017
BriBri812 (All reviews)
As someone who is keeping up with the manga, I have to say Wit Studio is doing an awesome job (as expected) with this series and I'm really glad they picked this up. To me the pacing is just fine, and if it stays consistent then I think this will definitely be the series to watch for the Fall Season and even 2017.

If you enjoy stories like Natsume Yuujinchou or have seen Mushishi then you will definitely enjoy this series. Although the main character Chise can see spirits/yokai like Natsume, this story is way more of an emotional ride and a little darker than Natsume read more
Nov 11, 2017
Naevis (All reviews)
I honestly thought I would enjoy this anime, but so far it has disappointed me massively. It is a beautifully drawn show, but behind all the pretty colours, I find nothing but a lacklustre plot that is executed quite poorly.

I had watched the 3 episode OVA as a way of testing the water, seeing if this show was going to be something I would enjoy. And lo and behold, the OVA was good! Granted, it wasn't amazing, but I believed at the time that the anime was going to blow me away with its amazing art and atmosphere. And the art is amazing! It read more
Oct 21, 2017
RussianCircles (All reviews)
This series gave me a Mushishi vibe, it's relaxing, it's sometimes deep, it's emotional, it's cute but this time it has a lot of drama.
The warmth of the story and its past is very touching, as we can relate with it (in different grades).

Story: 9
So far so good. It is somewhat generic (magic stuff happening in London), but the way that is told and the background of Chise gives you some strong messages that get diluted in the warm and charming characters

Art: 8
Nice art, not the best, but it works nicely.

Sound: 9
The OST is great, touching, pretty, delicate.

Characters: 9
The few characters shown so far are read more
Oct 20, 2017
fiikaguya (All reviews)
It's a piece of masterpiece.
damn i really love the opening song xD
the mc looks like rias gremory for me lol
Enjoooooooy this anime, sometime i watch the anime, there's so much boring anime to watch but for this, i really enjoy to watch it xD
I'll put this anime in the second place about "2017 fall anime reccomendations"
after the food wars absolutely xD
just love the anime when there's a rare romance story inside it (human x nonhuman).
i didn't read the manga yet but actually i'll read that after the anime's ended.
i really really happy after read the news if this anime will be run for read more
Oct 22, 2017
LordGunders (All reviews)
This might be one of the best anime's this winter season, it has really good potensial. it wont be something REALLY BIG but it has a good start so far and i love watching this anime!

-Story so far is just to train an aprentice to be a mage, they go around doing adventrues. i'll give this a 7

-the art in this anime is really nice! it reminds me alot of re:zero. i will give the art on this 9, not a 10 due to small laggy scenes. i have only noticed 2 laggy scenes in this whole anime!

-The sounding is fitting and comes good in read more
Nov 3, 2017
Ghumi (All reviews)
*preliminary review based on the first 3 episodes of the series*

Wasn’t planning on writing a review for this one, since I’m gonna have to be a little daring to. But since I’m here now, let’s just dive into it.

Art : 8
Studio WIT never disappoints. The colors are just beautiful and soothing.
Sound : 10
Hands down the best opening and ending of the season. The other OSTs are also as amazing and as deserving of a 10.

Story & Characters : 6

I’m a big fan of Mushishi and Natsume Yuujinchou, which I think resemble this series a lot. I love series that appeases the heart read more
Oct 29, 2017
KANLen09 (All reviews)
One of the main premiere highlights of 2017 and going further into 2018 (since it's a 2-cour). This is one show that everyone is hyped about (including myself), and it is an outstanding (if not stellar) work by Wit Studio, and it shows throughout the show as its reasons why this piece of a work just appeases to the masses.

Heck, even the OVAs that preceded it made up the good example of a prequel to an already-known good series we're gonna expect a lot out from.

Story:
Hatori Chise, a 16-year old girl, had already lost all hope, and as a last bit, was sold off as read more
Nov 6, 2017
tingo_ (All reviews)
*notes*
-I have not read Mahoutsukai no Yome's manga and do not know what is planned for the story.
-I will update this as the episodes continue to come out.
-No spoilers


Okay... so 5 episodes into this show, I am absolutely blown away. I rarely watch seasonal anime, because I prefer the option of watching 2, 3 or even entire season's at a time if I am intrigued enough. However, for some reason Mahoutsukai no Yome caught my attention and after hearing all the many praises about the animation and fitting soundtrack, I decided to watch an episode a week, just like everyone else, I now find read more
Nov 7, 2017
Tsuyuhane (All reviews)
How to explain this. The show hasn't even complete yet and my desire to make this a 10/10 anime tell us something. Well, it either means that I am a sucker for magic and fantasy genre, a terrible reviewer, or a simple honest average every day anime watcher guy. Whatever it is, this show is a blast to watch. Each episode has an impact to certain moments in the scenes. It always draws me in and wanting to know more. Not a single dull moments that forces me to yawn. Unfortunately, because the series is not complete yet, all I can rate now is a read more
Nov 1, 2017
Rammus (All reviews)
Each season i think that iv'e seen all the good things that i can. So each season i pray for an adventure that will pull me in with a fresh fantastic story or characters. In this case, at least for now, i got both.

Mahoutsukai no Yome is leading me to believe that it will be focused on the romantic aspect between the main heroine and her love interest. Even though that is probably the most important part of this show it doesn't lack in other areas, such as character dimensions and development. In fact so far it is excelling in them! All things in this read more
Nov 12, 2017
Bobyak47 (All reviews)
The Ancient Magus Bride (also known "Mahoutsukai No Yome") is anime based manga made by WIT Studio with genre Slice of Life, Magic, Fantasy, and Shounen but i add the genre "Drama" because there's a drama scene in that anime.

Story:
The story is felt calm and more to journey, this is like story the beauty and the beast because the femal is human and the male is no human but this anime, the non human do the thing to saves the human from her darkest memories with makes her to be his dicipline and a wife. This story until now it's bit of romance, read more
Nov 1, 2017
joschmo11 (All reviews)
This is easily the frontrunner for anime of the season right here, a fascinating mix of art and story that will not fail to captivate its audience. I'm giving this a 9 to start things off, based solely on the fact that this series has been mostly expository so far, but I fully believe that this will be a 10 by the end of the season. From the pre-release OVAs to the promise shown in these early episodes, I'd be shocked by anything less than that.

The first thing to catch my eye in this series was its art and character designs. The style is reminiscent read more
Oct 26, 2017
LonelyLittleStar (All reviews)
Story: (9/10)
Based on the manga this story is very unique and original. As seen in the first episode Chise auctioned herself off and got bought by a monster named Elias who is really a sorcerer. Chise is a special human named a Sleigh Beggy (Slay Vega as in the manga) who has special powers unlike any other normal human being. This adds a lot to her character as we learn about her abilities.

From that day forward, Chise's life changes and she meets many new characters who help her through her struggles. She lives a new life learning magic with Elias, going on many adventures read more
Oct 28, 2017
Pizco (All reviews)
At the time of writing, the fourth episode has now aired.

I am an active follower of the manga and I’ve purchased all of the available books out. Please keep in mind that for this review, although I’d love to elaborate on each single detail, this review is long enough as it is.

STORY: Regarding the story, it’s completely up my alley regarding aesthetic, structure, and the treatment of the romance. If you aren’t an avid fan of those things, as well as fantasy/magic, then it’s not really for you. It has some Celtic vibes going on and has been compared to Harry Potter by others. Though read more
Oct 22, 2017
oraccio (All reviews)
This is the start to an anime that if it keeps its momentum will be the highlight of 2017 and be one of my personal highlights for the last decade. This anime is one of pure simplicity and beauty with a soundtrack and characters that grasp the mind and heart and will leave you breathless afterward. This studio is fast becoming one of my favorites for its artistic style and soundtracks but Mahoutsukai no Yome is the first one to truly grab at my heart and not let go. Please watch this anime with an open mind and heart and be swept away in the read more
Nov 20, 2017
NekoMikan (All reviews)
This is my first time ever writing a review, so please forgive me if it turns out to be bad!!
I watched the OVAs for Mahoutsukai no Yome before the anime started airing and was absolutely in love for it, I love the fantasy, magic, and romance aspect of this show. I was very excited when the actual anime started airing and watched the first episode the minute it came out, and I started loving it even more than I already did with just the OVAs! After the first three episodes came out I went and bought all the currently available manga so I could know read more