Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Mahoutsukai no Yome


Alternative Titles

English: The Ancient Magus' Bride
Synonyms: The Magician's Bride
Japanese: 魔法使いの嫁

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Currently Airing
Aired: Oct 8, 2017 to ?
Premiered: Fall 2017
Broadcast: Sundays at 01:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Wit Studio
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.501 (scored by 58,995 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1032
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #221
Members: 276,670
Favorites: 3,214

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Dec 4, 2017
juneboba (All reviews)
There’s so much to love about Ancient Magus' Bride but their entire relationship is predicated on:

1) an older non-human man buying a 15-year-old girl at an auction (in other words, human trafficking),
2) calling her dehumanizing things like “puppy” right after she was sold and acknowledges she’s a “child”,
3) invading her privacy and trying to touch and bathe her without her permission (and no, he understood what he was doing to a child was morally reprehensible as indicated by Angelica),
4) telling her she has no choice in matters but is “free to reconsider”,
5) calling him his bride, and
6) her being FIFTEEN goddammit (pedophilia).

Chise and Elias read more
Nov 22, 2017
Love_Lies (All reviews)
Mahoutsukai no Yome, also known as the ancient Magus Bride, is a masterpiece. The world of this show is full of mystery and goes into depth more than just one or two times. However, if you are a new anime watcher, I don't recommend this as a show to start with. My reasoning for that is the story can be confusing and sometimes overwhelming - some people may also find certain situations unnecessary or "wrong" when if looked upon from my standpoint, is not true. Every detail in this show means something and I am excited to see more.

Story
The plot for read more
Nov 28, 2017
Hokumi (All reviews)
This is a good anime so far, this is why I'm still watching it. I like the whole world that was created, but the story doesn't seem to convince me. The characters, specially Chise, are very shallow. And her, as the main character, should be a little more explored. EDIT (ep 10): she is finally getting herself more prominent in the narrative - finally! And I also watched the OVA for this series that explores her past much more and explains her future actions.
Another thing that bothers me is that many things are left with no further explanation, I think this is cool to do read more
Nov 25, 2017
Luxain (All reviews)
I've had a hard time trying to grasp what I don't like about this show/manga. After 8 episodes and 33 chapters of reading I think I've got a good idea of what's putting me off.

THE SHOW MOVES WAY TOO FAST.

I wish the show would move slower, everything that happens either happens way too fast or is way too big. It's hard to get a feel for it all and be attached or invested in what's going on because of this. To give an example or metaphor: It's as if we're introduced to a character who we're suppose to be invested in at some point but read more
Nov 29, 2017
LonelyLittleStar (All reviews)
Story: (9/10)
Just from the first few episodes I was in love with this very unique and original story. The main character unlike any other, auctions herself off because she has nothing left of her life. She was bought by a monster named Elias who is really much more than just some monster. All of Chise's life she has had special abilities that made her an outcast to everyone who had ever loved her. She is a special human named a Sleigh Beggy (Slay Vega as in the manga) who can see beyond the sight of normal beings. She sees mysterious things that many others cannot. read more
Dec 10, 2017
deluxe66 (All reviews)
This anime is bad because its base , at least until now, are " sad love stories" that happened in a magical world. I'm not kidding you, this is a fact.


What I wanted from this anime was an odd couple that had lots of cool adventures, filled with action, especially magic, and sometimes a look to their feelings. Elias' character is pretty badass, I look at him and I think, damn, this "monster" looks awesome, and Chise is the opposite, she looks plain boring and dumb, she's a teenager and since she's damaged because of her traumatic "upbringing", then we get a teenager with sad read more
Dec 24, 2017
ReplayMVP (All reviews)
First off,
I've seen various reviews and I'm first going to debunk the whole idea of the pedophilia lolicon concept people keep throwing out there. Those who are watching with these concepts in mind are forgetting the most important details of their relationship. He is a NON-HUMAN being who's only recently entering into the human world. Therefore, he's even more innocent and child-like than Chise, in terms of building and maintaining human relationships.

Essentially, they’re both in the same platform, despite age, both essentially powerless in their own sphere, trusting each other out of their curiosity, fear of being abandoned and misunderstood.

I don't sense any feeling read more
Jan 7, 2018
cremated_spatula (All reviews)
This is a story about a depressed, suicidal young girl, who auctioned herself as a slave, to be used in however manner the buyer wishes. She then get's bought by someone who isn't a complete sadist, a somewhat 'benevolent' demon-magician, who decides to groom her into his wife...
The prequel episodes were decent but after that, the story became insufferable.

It feels like there's no purpose or progress in the story, each episode is meandering and boring, it's not that there isn't anything happening, I just don't care about anything happening because it's not leading anywhere.
There's no sense of adventure and what little mystery it has, just read more
Dec 17, 2017
Asunakob (All reviews)
This is one of the most disappointing anime I have watched this season. It starts off great with awesome premise and all but leaves you hanging right there. the worst parts of ancient magus bride are the pacing and the overall story , when there seems to be a fight people just summon some random stuff saying some other random stuff which makes some random stuff happen and everything goes just as it should have. Absolutely no rules apply to their magic and tbh it was kinda good in the beginning but man does it get boring , after episode 5-6 it was an utter read more
Nov 12, 2017
Bobyak47 (All reviews)
The Ancient Magus Bride (also known "Mahoutsukai No Yome") is anime based manga made by WIT Studio with genre Slice of Life, Magic, Fantasy, and Shounen but i add the genre "Drama" because there's a drama scene in that anime.

Story:
The story is felt calm and more to journey, this is like story the beauty and the beast because the femal is human and the male is no human but this anime, the non human do the thing to saves the human from her darkest memories with makes her to be his dicipline and a wife. This story until now it's bit of romance, read more
Dec 3, 2017
Silvrocity (All reviews)
I would gladly consider this a masterpiece of modern day anime and I will explain several reasons why I think this way.

1. It does not overemphasis on the characters. This creates a perfect balance where the audience can speculate on what is to come next and not been overwhelmed by the suspense.
2. The story is very well paced (arguable depending on the audience, but I find it perfect). It is slow enough to keep up with and fast enough to be interesting.
3. The art is marvelous.
4. The main characters do not follow the same meta of most animes. (Once again, arguable depending on the audience) read more
Dec 11, 2017
AnafTheConqueror (All reviews)
Great show, I disagree with those who talk about it is wrong cause we see an adult man buying a girl as if it was a slave, or him behaving wrongly with her. This is a fantasy world with different rules and in the end what really matters is the purpose. You can see all the time that Elias intentions are good, taking care and respecting Chise, trying to do the best for her.
We cannot judge the show using our standards, otherwise we wouldn´t watch anything.
The music is beautiful,the art is excelent art, there are very interesting characters, and the struggle between good and evil read more
Nov 28, 2017
Tsuyuhane (All reviews)
Quite frankly, even after watching up to the most recent episode of Mahoutsukai no Yome (was on 11/28/2017), I still feel the same as when I reviewed when only 3 or 4 episodes were out. Objectively, the anime is good so far. Why is it objectively good? Because it follows the story line without any confusing nonsense. Of course, if the end doesn't explain and cover and loose end at the end, then I would have to reedit this review again. An anime series is like any other TV shows we've seen. Anything story telling related means that it must have a start, a middle read more
Feb 20, 2018
MikaelX (All reviews)
Myanimelist's review system is fundamentally broken.

If you wait until a show has actually aired in full before writing your review, then practically no-one will ever read it, because reviews are sorted by upvotes by default. This means, early reviews will already have racked up so many upvotes your review can never compete - newcomers will read (and add even more upvotes to) the earliest reviews while yours is hidden from view on page 17.

So if you care about getting readers, you better hurry to say something quickly. Don't wait until you actually know if the anime turned out good or not, then it's going to read more
Nov 24, 2017
MitaClaus (All reviews)
This is not only my own opinion but also, I don't rate how good this Anime is but rather how much I enjoyed it and the parts, right.

So this Anime so far is already my favorite of all time. It just takes a very very beautiful harry potter vibe to it, adds the heartwarming moments of Natsume Yuujinchou and a quite similar atmosphere as Mushishi has. This together is just perfect and it feels like it is made for me.

If you like any of the Anime that I just named, watch this. You won't regret it, I'm pretty sure.
Dec 30, 2017
potato_embodied (All reviews)
Plot

Magus Bride does not have much of an overarching storyline, instead following the ventures of Elias and Chise as the mage teaches her the way of magic. Luckily it doesn't attempt to imitate a large plot and does well with the smaller subplots.

Speaking of subplots, the anime includes many individual stories that are encapsulated into two or three episodes at a time. Most feature some sort of sinister element and an emotional conflict - one that Chise has familiarized with by the resolution. She will, with help from other characters, be the one to bring said stories to their ends.

In the long run there is, read more
Dec 27, 2017
redyellowquattro (All reviews)
(This is my first review so it might not be too good and I'm trying not to contain any spoilers)

In an honestly pretty poor year for original anime in 2017, there have been a few strong animes. Personally 2 originals this year can be considered amongst the best, the first being Summer 2017's Made In Abyss, and Fall 2017's Mahoutsukai no Yome.

As the synopsis goes, Chise is a young girl coming from a broken family, who has given up all hope on her life and future, to the extent of even selling herself. She is then bought for an absurd amount by Elias, a demon? read more
Dec 4, 2017
Ken3 (All reviews)
This show has become my new obsession!

One complaint I have heard from many people is that it's taking a long time for the plot to come along, and as someone who has caught up with the manga, I can say that this isn't the kind of story that likes to throw it's viewers head first into a deep convoluted story, while trying to explain the rules of the world, and the back stories of every character involved, all at once.

If I could put it into words, it's the kind of story that rather than race through to get to the finish line, it likes to read more
Jan 7, 2018
Sasora (All reviews)
Ah, an Anime that takes a grasp of societal ideologies and totally becomes controversial because of it. That's not what the Anime is about, but that's what everyone likes to talk about. Before I get started on this horrible review that's only my second ever.. This is by far the best Anime I've ever seen already at 13/24 episodes. It's... Beautiful. [Contains MINIMAL SPOILERS]


Mahoutsukai no Yome is about the main heroine Chise Hatori and our WONDERFUL MAGUS Ainsworth Elias.. Despite the hardships displayed in the OVA of Chise's sad childhood she got newfound hope whenever she decided to put herself up for sale and Elias read more
Dec 25, 2017
vespertinerabbit (All reviews)
This will be my first review, so forgive my poor formatting. I was *really* not feeling it at first, but this show has grown on me so much that I'd like to share my thoughts.

This review contains no spoilers.

The Good
There are many things to like about Mohoutsukai no Yome: the animation is stunning, it's beautifully scored, and the plot arcs are far from predictable. Though Chise is the protagonist of the story, the subplots and backstories of all the minor characters are often much more compelling. The pacing is faster than ideal, in my opinion, but it makes the whole show seem read more