Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kekkai Sensen & Beyond


Alternative Titles

English: Blood Blockade Battlefront & Beyond
Synonyms: Bloodline Battlefront & Beyond
Japanese: 血界戦線 & BEYOND

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 8, 2017 to Dec 24, 2017
Premiered: Fall 2017
Broadcast: Sundays at 03:08 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Bones
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.061 (scored by 66,703 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #4852
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #510
Members: 169,330
Favorites: 773

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 24, 2017
NoizyFrog (All reviews)
The second season of Kekkai Sensen is more of the same show from 2015. If you liked the first season, you will probably like this one as well. If you did not like the first season, chances are high your opinion will not change. Style over substance - the anime.

STORY: Bizarre, aimless and minimalistic.
Kekkai Sensen & Beyond is a simple case of the week show. There is no overarching plotline, 1.5 episodes of overall story progression is a major letdown. Each episode is concatenation of bizarre events mixed with introduction of Libra members, who did not get attention in the first season. Those small and read more
Dec 23, 2017
Stark700 (All reviews)
Watching some over the top action anime these days can really fill anyone with a dose of popcorn entertainment. There’s popular Marvel based movies coming out each year, book adaptations that turned into cultural influence, and iconic Hollywood stars that made history in the film industry. Then, there was Kekkai Sensen. Remember Spring 2015? Among the many action based shows, Kekkai Sensen stood out as a show that stylized action and violence to present a storyteller of supernatural gimmicks. Well guess what? Bones is back at it again and made sure that Kekkai Sensen is here to talk about for 2017.

I’m not going to lie. read more
Dec 23, 2017
Nurguburu (All reviews)
Story (2/10)

Except for the last two episodes, there is no plot in none of the 10 episodes. Some are just background of Libra members (4,6,7), others are nonsense ( 1,8,9) and some are rushed (2,3,10). The episodes 8 and 9 are the worst of the season. The episodic episodes feels like a bunch of OVA mixed together.

Art (7/10)

In this aspect the show in much better than the other options. The fights have very good animation and the colour is beautiful.

Sound (6/10)

Besides the opening and the ending, i don't remember much of the soundrack.

Characters (3/10)

Despite the show have episodes dedicated to Libra members, after that, read more
Dec 24, 2017
Vyxria (All reviews)
[Re-Submission]
I'll try and explain why this isn't a good sequel, at all. [Spoiler Free]

I'd just like to get it out of the way that I'm watching this hot off the heels of the first season, as I binged the first and second season in about a day. The details of which are still very fresh in my mind.

This is also the second season of Kekkai Sensen, so I'm assuming you're familiar with the story.

Why does Kekkai Sensen 2 fail as a sequel? To put it bluntly, it's because this season is much more episodic in nature.

In the first season, almost every episode leading up read more
Dec 3, 2017
chekkit (All reviews)
Preliminary
I was honestly, truly looking forward to the new kekkai sensen season. My friend and I absolutely adored the first season. It had the right amount of craziness and enough plot to keep us going. Because of how great the first season was, we both went into this with high expectations. But this season... has been a train wreck.

With only 3 episodes left, I have very little hope that there's going to be a truly satisfying ending. Seeing the preview for the next episode even further solidifies my feeling.

The format has been that of an episodic anime, where something that happens in one episode doesn't read more
Oct 29, 2017
BlueEclispe (All reviews)
Preliminary
The first season of this show is one of my favorites of all time. The wild and crazy antics that Leo goes through on top of a deeply connected story was amazing so I had high hopes coming into this. The story is basically about the aftermath of a fallout which connected new york to another world to state it quickly. This season lacks the continuity that the first season had. It is more like a series of OVAs so far. The show also feels toned down compared to the first season the antics aren't as frequent or heavy but they are still there and read more
Oct 30, 2017
joschmo11 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Kekkai Sensen is... a fairly unique show by today's standards. It fills a niche category that doesn't pop up every season, and is even more rarely well done: that of the episodic action series. Instead of a linear plotline, Kekkai Sensen instead focuses on worldbuilding through mostly one-off episodes, shifting its focal point to different characters around the protagonist in order to further pull you, the viewer, into their world. While this style alienates some viewers of the show, for me it reminds me of the first season of Darker than Black, a series I greatly enjoyed (we don't talk about the second season). While read more
Dec 23, 2017
Zaber_san (All reviews)
Its not Kekkai Sensen Season 2. It is Kekkai Sensen and Beyond!...
The first season of Kekkai Sensen was aired last Spring 2015 and gave us a good plotline of the characters of Libra. With the story on point in season 1 up to the end, it was a good anime on my perspective. Then here comes Kekkai Sensen and Beyond. The season 2 of the hit anime and I, to be honest cannot really decide which is better. Thus, I compared both of them for this review and come up that it is without a doubt there is a great difference.

Story:
Beyond starts of with read more
Dec 23, 2017
LegendAqua (All reviews)
Kekkai Sensen & Beyond or Blood Blockade Battlefront & Beyond or BBB & B is back! (That's alot of B's)

The very first thing LA would mention about this second season is the absences of Rie Matsumoto, the director of the first season who brought that zany flair she added to Kekkai Sensen that will be sorely missed in this season but nonetheless, this season helmed by Shigehito Takayanagi (Director of Dagashi Kashi and both season of The World God Only Knows) tries to emulate Rie's vision in his own way as well as pay respects to Rie all into this second season with great results.

For read more
Oct 29, 2017
LordFabio (All reviews)
Preliminary
Okay incoming 1 episode reviewer here, don't take me too seriously:

HA this is shit BUT IT'S GREAT. This is approved by someone with S1 in his top 5 favorites. I'll be honest: This season is 100% imitations of Rie Matsumoto's OG style for season 1and no lie; it's only 1 ep in so I may be completely wrong but this style is everything I wanted in a second season against all my expectations WOOP...

Okay well MAL requires me to submit a longer review so I will, just give some of my general thoughts to please the overlords. But here's my general idea after watching just read more
Dec 28, 2017
Kitsune_Goon (All reviews)
There's a lot of reviews on the frontpage that seem to point a pretty negative light on this second season of Kekkai Sensen, and while the points they bring up are valid, I feel like judging Kekkai Sensen based off a conventional anime framework doesn't really do it justice, especially considering how ambitious it is as a series.

Story: This anime is episodic and unlike the first season which developed the plot throughout the season, the second season only contributes to the main plot in the last two episodes. This is perfectly fine as Kekkai Sensen at its absolute best is 1-2 episodes per arc. The read more
Dec 28, 2017
Fahiemoon (All reviews)
Awesome sequel to season 1, I have to say I preferred this season a lot more to season 1. Like season 1, there was a great selection of BGM and OP/ED, which reflect the mood of the anime. The way in which the soundtrack was woven into the animation alone should be reason for watching this sequel

Some of its downfalls are that the finale of the anime didn't have a lot of foreshadowing to it (technically hints were dropped since season 1, but this could have been with more emphasis). Would also have loved to learn more about the power he was given and why read more
Dec 23, 2017
Injenss (All reviews)
To be fair, I am biased towards this anime. I loved the first season of it, because it was so off-the-wall and against every standard, run-of-the-mill series you generally see out of the industry today. No high schools, no love triangles, no moe, no cliffhangers, no training regimens, no by-the-numbers plot. The anime is absolutely insane, disjointed, bizarre, and creative, while still being able to deliver a cohesive storytelling experience, which excellent characters, tons of over-the-top action, and a main character in Leo Watch, that while weak, isn't too weak to be annoying and will man up when need be. You read more
Dec 23, 2017
Shaboigon (All reviews)
Kekkai Sensen & beyond was an enjoyable second season. Given so, I'd like to elaborate on where I felt it did well, and what held it back.

In terms of the shows entertainment value I found this installment to be quite enjoyable. The action scenes were intense and well animated, the humor was not overdone nor out of place, and subtlety placed throughout the show.
This season gave us a small look into the backstories of many side characters who lacked depth from the first season and this, i believe, was a good touch.

Art and sound were solid but not exceptional, but i certainly liked the read more
Dec 28, 2017
Aikii-kun (All reviews)
Hellsalem's Lot - the city where the human world and the alterworld intersects. Commotions are never bizarre in the city's everyday life as a plethora of different creatures crawl upon it. As two "distinct" worlds collide, a secret organization, Libra, maintains the balance of these two realms. After White sacrificed herself to protect the barriers of Hellsalem's Lot, what destiny lies upon the men behind Libra?

Kekkai Sensen & Beyond starts after the events of the Spring 2015 anime Kekkai Sensen, with Leonardo Watch continuing his daily life in Hellsalem's Lot to support his younger sister Michella. Traversing every weirdness this city has to offer, he read more
Dec 28, 2017
necro_dancer (All reviews)
ok, i dont usually write reviews but i have to do it this time because this show is getting a lot of negativity by people

kekkai sensen season 1 had a "plot" and that plot was anime original, as a result of that...the anime couldn't focus on characters that much

season 2 does just that, it gives insight about characters and does some world-building

this is one of the best sequels i have ever seen

art: good job studio bones...action scenes are really good!

music: really great, fits the theme of the anime, we also got some soundtracks like tortoise knight which are different from others

overall...i really enjoyed read more
Dec 23, 2017
TylerPilz (All reviews)
Season 2 is over. I had ups and downs with this season, but the ending shows it again: I just love Kekkai Sensen. The comedy, the action... just a very cool combination! This Season focused on Backgroundstorys and other Characters. Yes, it was a little annoying to see little stories and not a big one. BUT all these parts made a really overall season.
The ending was very good, because Leo don´t have these depressions about his sister anymore.
I highly recommend it, but i think that season 1 was a little bit better. it isnt 10/10, not 9... but a very good 8 and I WANT read more
Jan 11, 2018
TheonlyRoggol (All reviews)
I love this show.

Story: 6/10

Weakest Aspect since there is no overarching story but instead a bunch of mini-stories which while extremely good left me unsatisfied and hoping for a season 3. Thus given a serviceable rating.

Art: 8/10 It's bones. The characters are elastic, expressive and the animation is always on point. However nothing overwhelmingly standout.

Sound: 8/10 Brilliant OP and ED. Good soundtrack, well used. The soundtrack for the battle in the last episode was particularly standout.

Character: 9/10 Everyone in this series is a treasure. If there had been a tad more character growth and character arcs this would be a 10.

Enjoyment: 9/10 God this series read more
Dec 24, 2017
All-Hail-Lelouch (All reviews)
I Prefer to call this season to be a long OVA between season 1 and season 2 (if ever comes).

There probably will be people who expected the story of the anime to go on more seriously and wanted the anime to be more focused on the main story line in this season. In that case they will be disappointed because most of the episodes are about characters and their own personal stuff and the writer is trying to get us to feel more close to the characters.A reason maybe that we couldn't find the time to know most of them in the first season because read more
Mar 7, 2018
spartan_073 (All reviews)
Preface: Most reviews break down into categories to assign a numerical rank too (sound, story, art, etc), so to change it up my reviews will be focus on what works, doesn't work, and what kind of viewer I think would enjoy this series.

Introduction

I have never had a love hate relationship with a series as I do with the two seasons of Kekkai Sensen. I find this series bounces back and forth from getting me invested into the character drama and then to leaving me behind with a bunch of events that have no stakes to them. It's beyond colourful in all read more