One Room

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Japanese: One Room (ワンルーム)
English: One Room
More titles

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 11, 2017 to Mar 29, 2017
Premiered: Winter 2017
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 22:40 (JST)
Producers: Smiral Animation
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Typhoon Graphics
Source: Original
Genre: Slice of LifeSlice of Life
Duration: 4 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 5.561 (scored by 4000440,004 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #102572
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1548
Members: 109,287
Favorites: 139

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 29, 2017
bmoore07 (All reviews)
If I were to describe, in detail, every moment in which I was saddened, revolted, or infuriated by what I witnessed, I’m afraid that it will be the death of me.

For you see, One Room is unparalleled in undermining any rational expectation from its audience; few anime series have disappointed as consistently and as vigorously as One Room. I’ve never seen a show blatantly resist originality, creativity, and artistic integrity quite like One Room. At first glance, One Room appears to be yet another cash cow representative of the harem genre, a product engineered from the assembly line to satisfy the masses. On further examination, read more
Mar 29, 2017
syncrogazer (All reviews)
Some members of the anime community always seem to make a point to show public outrage when random seasonal show-x doesn't meet some arbitrary standard of 'maturity' or 'artistic integrity,' all in some weird attempt to distance themselves from "those kinds of anime fans." When doing this it's always easier to go after the low hanging fruit, shorts like these which most people don't care about or don't have high expectations of. This review of One Room is written with the expectation that nobody else on this site will defend it.

The fact that this is a POV anime seems to be enough to send read more
Mar 29, 2017
Abraham_Ford (All reviews)
One Room- Anime of the season for sure. Yes this is a decently sized review so of course a tl;dr will follow, have no fear all lonely otaku's pondering this show, all your questions are answered in the most spoiler free way possible.

there's a lot of hate for this show and I understand why, this show is for lonely otaku's to give them the perfect waifu so of course normal weebs would see it as an iffy show. However I approached it more leniently and tried to enjoy the cringefest that was One Room, and succeeded to a certain extent.

Story- probably the worst part read more
Mar 29, 2017
LIQfilms (All reviews)
Oh boy! It's that time again to review another terrible show that is only around four minutes in length and features cute girls, one of whom is underage, as they talk to you, the audience, through the eyes of the voiceless main protagonist! One Room is strange. Damn strange. I have no idea what the show is trying to convey or achieve and belongs in that certain type of anime, under the "what the bloody hell is that crap?" with titles such as Pupa and Sleeping with Hinako.

While on the topic of that big titted slut, Hianko, One Room also follows a very similar structure read more
May 16, 2021
KioSKa (All reviews)
There are slight spoilers in this review, but not anything too specific, read at your own discretion.

I will be reviewing this by each arc and then overall.

Arc 1 // New neighbor, busty underclassman - 6/10
This arc is pretty easy-going and has a story. Overall average, but very nice art and happy ending.

Arc 2 // Energetic, cheerful, and petite sister - 1/10
I am not a big fan of sister complex's much less petite figures. Not to mention the story is pretty lame and the ending is just ?? like ?? wasted 16 minutes of screentime for what?? Sister stuff, just not my cup of read more
Feb 3, 2017
QueenofDamn (All reviews)
Preliminary
'One Room' is one of the most sweet '5 minute episode' anime I have ever seen. It's amazing how you can watch the episode and kind of interact with the main character. Hanasaka Yui is such an amazing, cute and beautiful girl that just wants to enter a good University and find love.

The story is, so far, enjoyable. It isn't very detailed, but it's a good story. The art is just amazing. The characters, the objects, the places, etc, are very well drawn and the animation is ver good, as well. The sound is what makes this anime different. It's very good and, in this read more
Apr 2, 2017
NihilLoli_Gasan (All reviews)
What is fiction? What is reality? At what point do these two worlds intersect?

On the outside, One Room's universe is pleasant: placid, reticent, and content. Disturbances, competition, and adventure are uncalled for here, as there is no need for them in this world. These suburbs are complacent and familiar; this world is built around your desire for external support and comfort. Your interests won't be challenged by the motives of others because this world was not created for them. Here, you are of utmost importance.

Of course, this aloof existence won't suffice for your other needs. Humans crave reinforcement in social institutions, or else they'll become read more
Mar 29, 2017
HaXXspetten (All reviews)
One Room is like the anime equivalent of having an abortion: a perfect representation of why there is a birth rate problem in Japan. The mere fact that this anime even exists is legitimately disturbing.

On paper, One Room sounds decent and simple enough. It is a short series (4-minute episodes) about an ordinary guy interacting with a few different girls in everyday situations, pretty much like any other slice of life short. If that was really all there was to it then One Room would probably have been just fine, however unfortunately that is not the case, because this is quite frankly one of the read more
Mar 28, 2017
Blood_Diver_A (All reviews)
[THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS]
–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––

Do you want to feel loved?
Are you looking for a 2D relationship?
Do you like animated girls with cute and charming features?
Are you comfortable with a first-person point of view?

If you answered “yes” to all of those questions, then you are in luck! A new game/animation for the Playstation VR is available in stores. What is it, you might ask?

It’s called, “One Room”.

That’s right! Pull on your headsets and be immersed as you experience different scenarios with three lovely girls. Every scenario is unique and will require ‘special' attention as you solve the girl’s problems and win their hearts. read more
Mar 29, 2017
84DaysWithout (All reviews)
One Room is a self insert cringe fest where teenage and little girls talk flustered nonsense with you, the silent protagonist.

Yes this is an animated visual novel. Yes it's creepy. No there's nothing more to it than what appears on the surface.

It's obvious that One Room is pandering to the segment of the anime community that enjoys eroge gaming. The difference is there's actual intimacy in those games and the player can choose from a multitude of routes. One Room offers no such option and only manages to be a tease that countless anime have done better before it.

The three featured girls are the same read more
Feb 13, 2017
DanyyelTR (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you're using the POV type of story-telling to immerse the viewer then stick to it! Don't just switch to an impossible angle where the guy's eyes would never be...

One Room consists of cute (or awkward) innocent 4 minute episodes that has the protagonist spend time with the girls of the show, showing it through the point of view of the protagonist eyes (most of the time) to immerse the viewer as if he is interacting with the girls.

It's nice enough eye-candy and the music is pleasant. Overall, if you're feeling down this could possibly make you smile, or maybe you cringe, or read more
Mar 29, 2017
jamanime87 (All reviews)
This is my first review on any anime. This one not great. It didn't grab much of my attention nor enjoyment.

Story: You basically are the character in it, watching it from the male lead, or female who ever is watching it. Three different stories that weren't really all that amusing. More drama than anything.

Sound: Fine

Character: Kind of boring. Didn't get any excitement.

Art: The art was actually good.

Enjoyment: Didn't enjoy it much. I was just watching. It more to calm anyone down more likely.

Overall: Not really all that great. Should had made this one a hentai. Would have been 10 times better.
Jan 12, 2020
Ellenwitch (All reviews)
Honestly walked into this after hearing about it, thinking it was going to be one huge mess. But it's actually surprisingly not?

The characters are cute, and all have realistic goals, attitudes, and personalities. Which is a great thing to see. The art is really great to, with how the visuals can be stunning, along with the sound be really fitting and nice too. From the ending theme, to the sounds within scene by scene as the show went on.

But even with that, it just felt like an awkward mess at times lol. Some of the camera angles were really not needed, along with in read more
Feb 2, 2017
Lshalo (All reviews)
Preliminary
So I'm pretty new to anime and have seen all sorts of new formats, storytelling and other content since then. But I think it may be the first time I got this confused about why something got made. I like slice of life, romance, drama, school animes so the genre is not the issue. But what's with this format and story, 4 minute episodes that literally consist of a chain of clichés, POV with an MC that doesn't speak, I guess it's supposed to make it more immersive but does the exact opposite by not being interactive.

What is the value/point of this? What can you read more
Jul 4, 2018
Minteee (All reviews)
I decided to write a review for "One Room" to provide a point of view from someone who's actually in the demographic for the show, as opposed to the all-too-common feigned outrage or outright mockery things like this show tend to attract. There seems to be a lot of hate for this series that I don't think is at all justified.

That's right, I'm actually writing a serious review for once!

With that out of the way, I suppose I should talk about what this show is actually like. First off, the art is gorgeous. Kantoku did a great job making characters that are stylish and memorable, read more
Mar 8, 2017
kuroishi_x (All reviews)
Preliminary
I really don't see a good reason why this kind of anime should exist, but given the generally good reception, I guess there is a big enough audience to support this sub-genre, this hybrid of simple visual novel and anime.

And I'm certainly not one of them, maybe it would also appeal to me if it was exceptionally well done, but this one failed at most things that you could say it had going on. The first person thing view would work better if they could just stick to it, instead, they went mostly for unnecessary low point panning shots, and if they really wanted read more
Sep 22, 2018
RYCANORK (All reviews)
Holey! Yet a first person Anime that cures much of my daily stress and depression that brought me one second thought... "Why don't I have these kind of girls (people) in my daily life?" Oh, well! People work around in mysterious ways and we might not have seen this coming... or would come soon.

The art and music is nice. It really blends well throughout the show. The art though reminds me of Kantoku-- ahh yes! He is the illustrator. Kudos Kantoku on that one... love the art style and everything!

These girls surely showed different expressions and feelings... even their reactions on pervert stuff. Too bad read more
Mar 30, 2017
Whoahoho (All reviews)
Ok, now that's over, here are my ratings for this short anime.

Very Good 8, Story.

Ok, there is none, in fact the story plot was more like a game where we the audience were the first person character's here, in fact , it's no different than "Tawawa on mondays" , the reason I've gave it such rating was this time the first person character (which is us) has no speaking lines.


Decent 4, Art.

Ok, so far only Moka is the hottest around here, and don't be expecting some fanservices coming from Hanasaki Yui and Momohara Natsuki.

Decent 4, Sound

Cu'z I have no comment about the seiyus who read more
Feb 24, 2020
JukeLawl (All reviews)
Preliminary
Summary in 2 words: Bruh Moment

If you are a big virgin this is the best show for you!

Too Short and cringe to watch. Stay away from this shit.

The first person angle makes it weirder than it already is. You are constantly looking at the girls asses and tits, making it embarrassing to watch it if you are not alone.

The art, is normal at least, nothing too special, nothing too shit.

The 4 minute episodes are already a waste of time themselves. You could be watching something better than this. Even Himegoto, that has the same screen time per episode isn't as appalling as this bs.
Dec 25, 2021
Tobitwo (All reviews)
First-ever review

I am gonna be honest and say this. I only watched this for the ending theme because I play OSU!

I didn't care about the plot as it was 4 minutes episode and was pretty boring. Every episode I was just waiting for the ending to come on. This show could have been watchable if it had a full runtime rather than a measly 4 minutes . And i didn't like the first person POV as it almost felt like playing a VN.

Overall if you want to listen to the ending just watch a YT video instead of doing what i did and watch read more