Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Gamers!


Alternative Titles

English: Gamers!
Japanese: ゲーマーズ!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 13, 2017 to Sep 28, 2017
Premiered: Summer 2017
Broadcast: Thursdays at 21:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Pine Jam
Source: Light novel
Genres: Comedy, Romance, School
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.301 (scored by 81,545 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #23672
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #379
Members: 174,771
Favorites: 876

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 23, 2017
Maddy-Bunny (All reviews)
Preliminary
First review, but I felt like some of this needed to be said and I felt I've seen enough.
This does contain some spoilers, I suppose.

Gamers has a cool premise: modern gaming, where there's a school club for it and the leader is a popular and pretty blonde girl who tries to find other gamers and recruit them - but the main lead says no to joining!

The first few episodes seemed pretty decent and I was enjoying the show. After a few episodes, things got really frustrating. The show steered away from video games and gaming culture for the most part and turned into an read more
Sep 28, 2017
TuyNOM (All reviews)
Yeah ! Another adaptation of light novel about a rom-com focused on otaku high school students who like to play video games. It is true that we didn't have enough similar animes and studio Pine Jam was kind enough to realize it. A big thank-you.

Gamers! is your seasonal generic anime and my expectations weren't high but it is not even satisfying because it tries to be funny by repeating gags based on misunderstandings all along the anime till this concept is exhausted.
We have a series with a lambda protagonist named Keita Amano who loves to play video games. He will meet progressively people who read more
Sep 28, 2017
Yasaal (All reviews)
Gamers. An anime that perfectly showed us how teens behave in real life. Games, the concept of love and the like are all things we go through in real life and Gamers excels in it's faithful representation of that. Simply put, it's *damn* relatable.

Story: 8/10

The story is less about Gamers and more about how teens live their daily life along with the everyday shenanigans involved. It as mentioned before was very relatable and was fun to watch. The plot moved on slowly and smoothly and I enjoyed the pace it went at as it didn't feel rushed at all. It didn't have any particular 'arcs' read more
Sep 28, 2017
Stark700 (All reviews)
Gamers is honestly a show that made me scratch my head more than I realized. As a gamer myself, this anime really feels relatable at heart on occasions because of its concepts. However, what really follows is a rough adaptation that translated into a questionable story. It ended up being an anime that I can’t fully say it’s appreciable for what it had to offer. And that’s too bad really.

Based on the light novel of the same name, Gamers stood out as an anime at first for me just by its title and it seemed like a show that I felt comfortable with. However, what read more
Aug 3, 2017
Mike98 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Typically I can't even decide if I'll like an anime after just 4 episodes but this time I NEED to write this review in order to persuade people into watching this.

So, first time I saw this I was convinced it's some kind of copy of "Netoge no Yome wa Onnanoko ja Nai to Omotta?". They're both basically about the same thing (slice of life in a video game club) but their execution is way different.

This anime basically completes netoge in some areas and it seems to explore the social aspect of video game geeks. At the same time, it seems to be a manifesto for read more
Sep 28, 2017
Pipe (All reviews)
What is the meaning of gamer? If we go to our favorite culture dictionary, we will consider a gamer someone that plays video-games. Is it the main topic of this anime? Sadly, it isn't. The video-game idea is irrelevant here unless that we associate the game concept with a relationship. In that case, we can say that the plot of this anime is a relationship game and a "gamer" interprets, acts, and plays on that relationship game. The goal of the game could be ending with someone, maybe love, etc.

I can give several convenient titles for this anime, "Misunderstandings," "The mess," "Mistakes," "Misconceptions." All read more
Aug 20, 2017
Subieco (All reviews)
Preliminary
Gamers! is a bog-standard, uninspired romance-comedy anime that tries nothing new and fails at every stride it takes, not to mention its offensively bad representation of the gaming community.

Story: 2
Have you watched a rom-com anime before? If you answered yes, then there is no need for you to watch this show. It's your generic story of a loser, socially awkward MC that gets attention from the hottest girls in his school for no apparent reason. The relationship webs between characters are poorly done and only arise because the characters are too stupid to make logical decisions when it comes to their relationships. Ultimately, it fails read more
Aug 4, 2017
le_halfhand_easy (All reviews)
Preliminary
The center of videogame stories are almost often gaming prowess of some schmuck who can go hayaku. But there is another important aspect that is not usually touched on: how videogames affects our day to day interactions and how it opens up a whole new way of forming bonds. There's a reason why MMO players say "Came for the game, stayed for the community." It's a beautiful sentiment that captures the often unheralded but nonetheless important aspect of gaming in today's society.

I'm happy to say that Gamers understands that aspect and struggles to make it the core of the series. While the characters right now read more
Aug 10, 2017
mihnlee (All reviews)
Preliminary
"Missunderstandings" everywhere. That's about it. The characters are all dumb (literally) and most characters are your "average cardboard cut out unoriginal" character tropes you find in any anime. You have your "loser MC that the prettiest girl is attracted too", the "prettiest girl in class that somehow has a crush on the loser MC", the "annoying girl with an annoying voice" (you know which one), the "dude that is really popular but likes to hangout with loser MC", and the list goes on. The show never seems to go anywhere. I give this show a 3/10.

Rant out of the way, I'd like to say a read more
Aug 18, 2017
existentialist (All reviews)
Preliminary
There is absolutely no way people can be as clueless and absolutely pathetic as these kids are. It's impossible. The amount of trivial misunderstandings in this anime is criminal. Every single conflict could easily be solved with a normal civilized conversation, with questions being asked between two people for clarification of what they meant.

I understand the whole "highschooler logic" thing where everyone gets confused and they don't understand emotions and whatever. But come on. This is going way too far.

Other than the inept communication ability of all the main characters, the anime is alright. Art is good, music is fine, the plot is read more
Sep 6, 2017
alwaysConfused (All reviews)
Preliminary
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS!

I'll admit I was hooked in for the first few episodes of the series, they were very appealing and interesting for me as an avid gaming fan. But it all fell apart midway.

I went into the show completely blind not knowing what to expect, and the first episode was great. It had very nice gaming culture references from CSGO and even Guilty Gear! It made the MC, Keita, a very relatable character that just wants to plays game for fun instead of playing it competitively like the gaming club does.

The second episode was wonderful as well, especially with its wonderfully animated introduction read more
Aug 29, 2017
StoneColdStunner (All reviews)
Preliminary
misunderstandings and really awkward, awfully written characters! nice bait and switch with the gaming theme btw. i really appreciate how this turned into yet another terrible, cliche-ridden, flavorless romcom after like 3 episodes and completely threw away the idea of actually being about games at all. it's so ridiculously convoluted and over the top with the constant misunderstandings (that would instantly be solved by any single character actually acting like a human being) that it's actually somewhat memorable/noteworthy. noteworthy for being shitty, but still.

but seriously, why is this show called "Gamers!"? the show has almost nothing to do with games at this point, and as read more
Sep 7, 2017
RandomCritic (All reviews)
Preliminary
To all who manages to see this review I am going to start with this: all of you, including the other reviewers and those on the forum of this series HAS THE WRONG IDEA on what "Gamers!" Is all about.

This story is NOT about games. IS NOT about gaming. And IS NOT about gamers (per se).

>>This story is about misunderstandings<<

Just because we have games involved, and gamer characters does not mean this story is about games, that is just collatheral.

And I have that fact by the proof that so far in the light novel, none of the character are shown participating in competitions or doing read more
Sep 11, 2017
Venicik (All reviews)
Preliminary
Gamers! is one of the few anime I've watched where I gradually kept disliking it as it kept on progressing. I try to keep all airing anime up to date so that I can give reviews on them, and this is an anime I kept thinking "great, its Thursday and another episode of this is out".

Honestly, the first few episodes of Gamers! were halfway decent, with many new characters being shown and a story line progressing all along with many people having personalities that were somewhat memorable.

It's animation is quite good and with the exception of the annoying cliche apologies the dialogue is good. What read more
Oct 30, 2017
PakiUSA (All reviews)
STORY: 8/10
CHARACTER: 9/10
ART: 7/10
SOUND: 8/10
ENJOYMENT: 10/10
OVERALL: 8/10

Funny enough ‘Gamers’ is NOT an anime about Games, rather it’s an anime about the people who play Games! The show is more a Slice of life Romcom about teenagers where the story just focuses on their lives at High school and their interactions with one other which may disappoint some viewers due to its Soap Opera-ish vibe. (If you are looking for something similar but with more gaming involved, check out ‘Netoge No Yome Wa Onnanoko Ja Nai To Omotta?’) I too was upset upon learning this, but the anime brilliantly defends itself by delivering spontaneously strong, albeit read more
Oct 4, 2017
B4nny (All reviews)
Alright, I almost dropped this anime from episode 1 because I got influenced by some reviews saying its 'cliché'. Note to self: Never read mal reviews before judging a show by myself ever again.
Just know that clichés do not automatically make a show bad. A very great example of a clichés done right is Konosuba, which utilises the isekai trope to create a wonderful and humorous parody of the actual genre, and in my opinion, another great example is Gamers!. This turned out to be one of the most impressionable romcoms for me.

The reason I almost dropped this show was because I was overly judgemental read more
Sep 28, 2017
OtakuJKP (All reviews)
Hey guys, do you like video games? Are you a gamer? Are you alone? Are you an awkward individual? Are you also an otaku? If you checked off more than one of the options I listed, I got the show just for you! It's "Gamers!" The show where all of your characters are nothing more than a bunch of awkward teenagers trying to connect with each other.

You can't help but cover your eyes hoping it doesn't get any cringier. Seeing this makes me want to bawl my eyes out as the characters fail to interact with each other like regular human beings. It's a mixture read more
Sep 14, 2017
Shiraishiku (All reviews)
Preliminary
I don't quite understand the people reviewing this. Are you seriously telling me this is relatable to how "gamers" behave?
That must be a joke, because in the first place, The "Gamers!" in the title is only to lure for viewers, nothing more. The plot itself has nothing relatable to video games, this series is all about misunderstandings and a boring/generic romcom plot.

Let's start with the basics, the story is pretty bland, first 3 episodes do have a bit of game references and how the protagonists game and stuff. That's about it, after episode 4 the misunderstandings and the romcom start, but horribly. I understand the read more
Oct 1, 2017
PvMDream (All reviews)
*Review may contain minor spoilers*

Man this anime makes me so angry..

Story 1/10
there is the ''loser" who gets asked to join the game club by the most popular girl in school, once upon going to check out the game club, there are a few very talented people and they won alot of prizes etc, So you might think this anime will be very nice about competitive gaming. NO IT IS NOT!! From ep3 till the end gaming made barely an appearance, It was just a pentagon of love and misunderstanding about who loves/cheat on each other.. And it didn't even have a real ending man..

Art 4/10 read more
Sep 7, 2017
Bunnycorn (All reviews)
Preliminary
Gamers is...frusterating.

It is a cluster of things that I enjoy and don't enjoy, I myself being a fairly hardcore gamer, mostly in game types not really covered in the short time gaming is mentioned.

The story itself begins with a very socially awkward Keita, the beautiful president Tendou, boyfriend and girlfriend Uehara and aguri, and fellow gaming addict Hoshinomori.

The series starts out well. The first 3 to 4 episodes are honestly pretty good, with surprises in how the main character acts, and how all the other characters react to him.

But then, from then on, it turns into a cluster of high school emotions. read more