Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Ao no Exorcist: Kyoto Fujouou-hen


Alternative Titles

English: Blue Exorcist: Kyoto Saga
Synonyms: Blue Exorcist: Kyoto Impure King Arc
Japanese: 青の祓魔師 京都不浄王篇

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 7, 2017 to Mar 25, 2017
Premiered: Winter 2017
Broadcast: Saturdays at 01:55 (JST)
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.791 (scored by 63,866 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #8722
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #338
Members: 169,126
Favorites: 719

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 27, 2017
mollysavill (All reviews)
Preliminary
So now that we're the first quarter of the way through, I have decided to write a short review on the newest season of Blue Exorcist.

SPOILERS FOR SEASON 1 + SEASON 2 BELOW.

First things first, if you have watched the first season, this is NOT a direct continuation. Disregard everything about Yukio being half Satan, as that shit isn't a thing, it's pure filler. This is a continuation of episode 17 of the first season, so everyone is still preeeetty pissed at Rin for you know, being the son of the worst being in the universe, nearly killing 'em all. It happens.

STORY: 8/10

The story is read more
Mar 25, 2017
Scarlett_ryuken (All reviews)
I used to believe that an adaptation that follows the source is better than an adaptation that just goes anime original. Well not blue exorcist, since it somehow made me rethink that idea.
To simplify this review, and for fun i will list 5 major flaws that i disliked about the show. Why 5?
cause Rin has 5 friends.

1.7.8/10-IGN retconning.
Similar to black butler, the show just decided eh our fans have prob read the manga, so we'll just continue as if the ending didn't happen and they know the story already. I had to google it, but from what I learnt, I could be read more
Feb 4, 2017
Veteris (All reviews)
Preliminary
Spoilers ahead.

Second season of the first season of Ao no Exorcist, aired in 2011. I waited 5 years for a second season AND FINALLY, THE DID IT BUT IS ONLY 12 EPISODES. Ao no exorcist was my first anime (not going to count Doraemon and shit because everyone has seen them) and I liked it a lot. But when they went batshit crazy with the things of "Yuki is a demon too and he can use the flames" or "Hello, I'm Rin and Yuki's grandfather" it was pretty shitty. So if you watched the first season and didn't read the manga you are going to read more
Mar 24, 2017
riorangel21 (All reviews)
*No Spoiler Review

Ao no Exorcist is one of those show with interesting plot but goes downhill as the series progresses.

Story 6 - The story to be honest is not interesting at all, unique plot idea but the setup and build up are so generic, the story is predictable and the executions were kind of sloppy. It holds down the true idea of the main plot. I seems like A-1 didn't put an effort on this series. Overall kind of fair story yet with rough direction and very cliched setup ( predictable ).

Art 4 - After watching the 1st episode and the Opening at the end, read more
Mar 24, 2017
LegendAqua (All reviews)
So who hated the first season's ending........AND the movie?

Well, this second season VASTLY makes up for that...

Kyoto Fujouou-hen erases what the first season finale did and makes it's way to a new conflict involving the resurrection of the Impure King, however with this going on, Rin Okumura has his own personal demons to deal with along with Bon's more family issues to wring in much more character development from the rest of the cast, what can LA say ALREADY but this second season MASSIVELY helped with it's characters with how they portrayed and developed the majority of it's main cast.

***** SOME SPOILERS AHEAD YOU HAVE read more
Mar 24, 2017
Erol (All reviews)
The first thing I noticed going into this is how despicable the main character, Rin, is. The mix of the voice actor which gives him this arrogant tone mixed with how he acts. He comes across as your typical shounen character but slightly more annoying than the norm. Despite his ability, he also comes across as overly brash, walking into a potentially infected environment without a hazmat suit on. You can have characters that know they are stronger than everyone else yet come across likeable yet here, it’s the opposite. This made the moments I most enjoyed the most be the ones where he wasn’t read more
Feb 18, 2017
anime7103 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I want to begin first by saying the animation on this season amazing , probably at the level of the new fate night series or even better.

I love the fact that with this new season the have completely erased all the filler stuff (episode 17 onwards) they made up in the first season which downgraded the anime from A+ to B-. They are now sticking to the source material which, in my option always works best.
*SIDE NOTE*: if you get confused as to what is happening in the new season due to the cut and its read more
Mar 19, 2017
AlmaElma (All reviews)
Preliminary
It is with deep regret that i write this truthful review of Ao no Exorcist: Kyoto Fujouou-hen : it is just a filler project for a broke studio, its only selling point being the gullibility of the average otaku.

STORY: 2.
The story is flawed, terribly paced, and the lack of humane characters makes it impossible to enjoy. Note : please, get an education and some real life experience before writing a story.

ART: 3.
The studio must have been at the epicenter of the last earthquake, cause they seem to have no money, and the staff seems to have suffered some terrible concussions. The art is worse than read more
Mar 29, 2017
evildoctorshadex (All reviews)
* * * THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS * * *
I've seen a whole lot of super positive reviews about this season, so I'm here to wholeheartedly disagree and ruin the fun!

DISCLAIMER: I don't mean to directly review the original source material for Ao No Exorcist, rather I am reviewing what the staff at A-1 pictures decided to do with it. If I say the story is bad, I don't mean in any way that the plot for Ao No Exorcist is bad, because it's not.

Story - 2
Saying this story is flawed is an understatement; This show read more
Mar 31, 2017
Leegf (All reviews)
First, I really want to thank A-1 pictures for the sequel. At long last. What's more important I want to thank them for the proper sequel, done according to the source, which begins right after events of approximately first half of the first season.

The story takes us quickly to new arc briefly explaining missing parts to make a connection with the first season. Glad they did it this way as well.
The whole season dedicated entirely to one arc. Actually, I haven't read manga, so I can't judge how well they bring it up to anime. However, it feels like old good blue exorcist read more
Mar 24, 2017
Tonysol67 (All reviews)
Question. what do you do when you deviate from the source material, and reach your own ending only to try to go back to the source material. Do you-

A: try to find a way to work around it.
or
B: just forget about it entirely.

well in blue exorcist case it's choice B. mind you that blue exorcist isn't the first case of this happening, as you can clearly point out in the shounen filler section, but for me it's the worst case. you see blue exorcist was a show that aired during 2011 with decent success, but because it was getting close to the source material decided read more
Apr 4, 2017
JordanRidderhof (All reviews)
Maybe I'm bring too cynical and judging this show way too harshly.Or maybe it's just trash. Alright, now that I have that out of my system, lets start.The plot is forgettable at best and agonizing at the worst. Characters, what characters? I only found 2 characters interesting and one of them is barely even in this season and is just a worse version of meme from bakemonogatari. Some would be more likely to call the other character a plot device rather than a character and the only reason I kind of liked him ws cause he did something interesting, but sadly I'll never know what read more
Mar 29, 2017
PotatoGod64 (All reviews)
Well. All I can say is that I was disappointed. Like, really disappointed. Blue Exorcist, as some may know, is one of my favorite anime. Sure, its average, but I just enjoyed it. What's ironic is that while most people, especially manga readers, bashed on it after it diverged from the manga, but I honestly liked that arc. Then again, I haven't actually read the manga, but now I want to. Lets please make this review quick and short, because I've already wasted enough time watching this season.

The story is going to trip up many people, unless you have knowledge of what's going on. read more
Mar 26, 2017
TakamiKaribuchi (All reviews)
I can tell a good number of people are disappointed with this season, but I personally am not. I don't think ti was a bad idea to just continue from the last point in the first season that followed the manga and ignore the original ending. Now, I'll get into the actual specifics.

The story for this season picks up from where Rin had his fight with Amaimon in the first season, where he first lost control of his power. It continues to flow through events involving Todo, who is after a new and stronger source of power, and events dealing with the read more
Mar 25, 2017
AnaSilva (All reviews)
I had really good expectations on this one. I already saw the previous season. However, seeing as this is something that is not the continuation, but rather another story that fits between Rin’s real identity revealed to his friends, was somewhat more disappointing that what I anticipated.

Story - 7
The story had a good pace and even the flashbacks did not feel rushed or confusing, but something that filled some other gaps, mainly about how Shirou and Tatsuma meet each other.
Could it be done better? Maybe if the inner monologs and demons of some characters were not so annoying. But I will get to that read more
Feb 27, 2017
kirughhh (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you hated how the first season of Ao No Exorcist strayed off the original source material, GOOD - because I did too. Especially because it started out so great. :(

Let me just start by saying that this is my first time reviewing an anime, so I'll keep this generally simple and short, as to not waste precious time that would be better spent watching anime. Still, here goes nothing.

STORY: 7. The story of Blue Exorcist isn't all that original, as a few other popular animes in this genre are very similar to this (bad ass teenager finds out he has supernatural powers, wants to read more
Apr 2, 2017
kokuborou (All reviews)
Ao no exorcist 2 review

We all know A-1 pictures fails to make good anime and Ao no exorcist 2 is no exception at all.





Story 2/10
This anime is supposed to be shounen- action- fantasy genre anime but season 2 fails to accomplish that and forgets everything season 1 accomplished and starts to focus more on character development and interaction between characters. That’s fine but not in this kind of anime we are not watching a “soap opera “ here we want action and character development through that action.
The story is not much to say it’s simple minded exorcists fighthing demons for the sake of read more
Mar 27, 2017
Whoahoho (All reviews)
Ok, now that's over with, Rin got friend zoned, I don't give a fuck, since I prefer to see him being Shura's pet demon that a Shiemi's koibito, so another supernatural, action packed anime has ended for this winter of 2017, and I'm presenting my ratings, the way I see it:

Storywise, it was pretty much the same as the first season where it involves Satan's child who just got himself drafted into True Cross Academy for what else? To fight his own kind, but I'm kinda perplex that they have to take a few steps back as to how the first season ended, since read more
Mar 21, 2017
tinaisatd (All reviews)
Preliminary
while watching this anime, I was really hyped up for it and it...disappointed me.

Story 9/10: the premise was already originally good so i have nothing to complain about here except for the pacing. (which was horrid.)

Art: 7/10: while it wasn't amazing, it wasn't bad.

Sound: 5/10: listening to the entire soundtrack online, I only liked the first soundtrack compared to the others.

Character: 3/10: this was the worst and the most into detail I'm going to go in. It seems like every character has their moment to shine. There are too many typical tropes like a character gets depressed over what they did and lamented. They read more
Apr 1, 2017
puppetmaster123 (All reviews)
It feels like a long intro arc into the main story with characters re-unlocking powers or getting new one but then it ends.

It makes sense with the timeline but very unsatisfying with no closure which will make you wonder why they chose this as a story and the story just sucks in general. Rin's friends and family feel like they are in the way of the story rather than adding to it.

The only emotional thing you will feel is sadness realizing this is probably it for exorcist. Exorcist first season was created and introduced us to a new world but this failed read more