Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

ACCA: 13-ku Kansatsu-ka


Alternative Titles

English: ACCA: 13-Territory Inspection Dept.
Synonyms: ACCA: 13th Territory Inspection Department, ACCA: 13th Ward Observation Department, ACCA Jusanku Kansatsuka
Japanese: ACCA 13区監察課

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 10, 2017 to Mar 28, 2017
Premiered: Winter 2017
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 23:00 (JST)
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.771 (scored by 18,328 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #9142
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1236
Members: 49,767
Favorites: 258

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 24, 2017
N3SSART (All reviews)
Preliminary
So I'll first start by saying that this isn't a full review, and I am just reviewing the first couple episodes. I will gladly re-edit this review when the series will finish.

So first, is it good? Answer: Yeah, it's the kind of anime that no many will notice while it is airing but will become a cult classic afterwards.
Then, why is it good?
It is good for it's different pacing, storytelling, artstyle that is not too atypical and of course the OST.

ACCA 13, is an anime that tells the story of a man named Jean and his work in the ACCA organisation that is suppose read more
Mar 28, 2017
Cinefil_original (All reviews)
My Opinion:
In a world polluted with otaku-targeted shows, ACCA:13 feels like a breath of fresh air and stands out through its intriguing plot and character cast.
From the beginning of this anime season I looked forward to watching ACCA:13, a show that conveys a delicate theme through an interesting, slow-burning plot accompanied by characters with intriguing personalities.
The animation worked in tandem with the sound department and offered an immersive experience in which I could really enjoy the show to its fullest.

Story: 8/10
The kingdom of Dowa, which is subdivided into 13 autonomous states, has many agencies that are controlled by the giant organization known as read more
Mar 28, 2017
T3hSource (All reviews)
Ever feel like you just want to slouch on your couch and savor the taste of vintage fine wine? That's what the suave, stylistic ACCA feels like. It has a very sweet, but calming taste, it's never sharp, and is striking because of it. And on top of keeping such a presentation the show offers a perspective of many cultures and how they affect society. It's a road trip in aesthetic, but extremely political in essence. If raw exposition about political power moves and stances are not to you liking, then you won't like this show. To keep perspectives as they are, it is very read more
Mar 28, 2017
Sterps (All reviews)
ACCA was a nice change of pace from the usual. It was slow, but interesting. You can chill and watch, but if you chill too much, you might miss out on all the little details.

7/10 story:
Story isn't complex or anything, but it still keeps you guessing. You at times wonder where the story is going and who to trust and who not to trust. What is this guy planning? What about that guy? As a viewer, I felt like Tony Soprano at the end of The Sopranos. Paranoid as fuck and kept yelling at the screen,"No, don't trust that guy!" and then when it read more
Mar 28, 2017
themegamancave (All reviews)
The concept of a coup de’tat, in which a plot is developed to overthrow a populace’s own government, has been around for centuries. In fact, the history goes back as far as 870 B.C. in which an Israeli commander Zimri killed his own king to commandeer the throne for himself (he later committed suicide due to talks of being overthrown by his own subordinate- karma’s a bitch, eh?). Most recently, our Lord and Savior, Studio Madhouse adapted a little known manga, ACCA, which primarily centers itself around this historical theme. With rather mixed impressions, ACCA attempts to overthrow anime stereotypes with its atypical approach while read more
Feb 6, 2017
Finite7 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I've seen 4 episodes of ACCA and this review is based on that much only:

Reason why I'm writing the review?
To be honest do I need a reason?, well I don't appreciate the lack of viewership this show is getting and it's lack of popularity on MAL, not to mention it's relatively low rating.

So, this is an attempt to tell people of what potential this series holds(Unlike the other anime this season Eg- Masamune-kun no Revenge, kuzu no Honkai, Ao no Exorcist: Kyoto Fujouou-hen) and what it's doing right.

Story:
I like the scale of the story. We are 4 episodes into it and the set read more
Mar 28, 2017
Stark700 (All reviews)
Ah ACCA, a title that took me by surprise as we witness this anime adaptation by Natsume Ono. I have to admit, the show is hard to accept at first. The premise sounds like something from 1984 and mixes in police drama with political affairs. First impressions of the show can really be a make or break for viewers to continue watching. As such, I suggest watching ACCA with an open mind because by doing that, you can enjoy the storytelling much easier.

I’ll be honest, the storytelling moves at a pretty slow pace. It takes patience to accept the story because the first few episodes read more
Mar 28, 2017
Erol (All reviews)
Acca-13-Ku Kansatsu-Ka or ACCA: 13- Territory inspection Dept. which I’ll shorten to Acca for the rest of this review is a show I have been looking forward to for a long time. Madhouse has descended into the production of plenty of mediocre shows recently causing a probable all time low in confidence for their studio. I hoped that Acca would redeem them, prove to the anime world that they are still up to scratch and that they can still make anime on the same level as Death Note and Hunter x Hunter.

Unfortunately it doesn’t. Acca was a great attempt to break from the norm; create read more
Feb 9, 2017
PalpableEmoji (All reviews)
Preliminary
ACCA is a story that says to hell with expectations and preconceived notions on what makes anime good, throwing the staples of anime tradition to the wayside in favor of a more subtle, nuanced approach to storytelling.

As such, It should come to no surprise to know that this winter season’s ACCA has dissenting opinions among the anime community. Some people have cited it as ‘People talking, the anime.’

After all, the show doesn’t aim to dazzle us in the way we’ve come to expect from traditional series— there are no explosive visuals, no internal monologue, no signature moves or battles, nor is there any trademark fanservice read more
Mar 28, 2017
jRad522 (All reviews)
From the start of the season this was the thing I was the most excited about. While it did have its good points, it ultimately became the thing that most disappointed me of the Winter 2017 season. I will now proceed to tell you why in EXCRUCIATING detail.

Our setting is the Kingdom of Dowa: a continent/kingdom made up of many districts, shaped like a bird, and populated by gangly noodle-people. Our hero is Jean Otus, a blond guy who smokes cigarettes, wears jackets, and works in the titular governmental organization ACCA as some sort of district inspector. This is about all we know about read more
Mar 29, 2017
Dillan- (All reviews)
ACCA is a slow burning political drama centered around a rumored coup d'état and set in the fantastical yet embedded in reality DOWA kingdom. It has a very rich style, a laid back intrigue and a cast of cool characters - that come more into the light as the plot develops in the second half. Through the world building, it made me care about what was happening to DOWA and the possibilities of where it was heading.

The land is segregated into thirteen unique and natural states based upon the history, government infrastructure and resources. The protagonist, Jean, has a job to audit each read more
Mar 28, 2017
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
You never heard of a dark horse? The term comes from the dark horses in horse racing. They aren't the popular ones that most people will bet on, but they automatically catch at least a few eyes willing to give them a chance, and low and behold, they do surprisingly well in the race, sometimes even willing. Given how bleak this season has been for most people, this seemed like one of those surprising shows that could've been one of the best of the season, but, as the saying goes, "close but no cigar". Fitting, really.

*Paragraph 4 contains mild spoilers for ACCA: 13-ku Kansatsu-ka. Proceed read more
Feb 17, 2017
Serisly (All reviews)
Preliminary
The atmosphere of this anime is cool, calm, collected, and captivating.. bundled with good OST, stunning colorful art-style and relevant animation delivered by madhouse.. This anime is quite great (with the exception of story)

Well, to be completely honest, I am watching it solely for the cool atmosphere and chill vibes.
The story itself is not all that interesting in my opinion but it's not boring either, I am just quite neutral to it.

The characters are very chill too, and all in all it's the kind of anime that you can chill to and simply enjoy..
Not to mention how fanservice in this anime is literally read more
Apr 8, 2017
godspeed95 (All reviews)
I don't understand the little success ACCA has achieved, comparing it with the rest of the Winter 2017 anime series. For being such a thrilling show (despite it's apparent stiffness), it went under the radar of too many people. It's true: it's a bit hard to get into. The first episodes can be a little confusing, and it's characters may appear uninteresting at first glance, but ACCA has a powerful hook that not that many people seem to have appreciated: it's visuals.

Character design in ACCA is beautiful. It's stimulating, and it doesn't need to be spectacular to get it across. The sophistication and elegance in read more
Mar 1, 2017
enjoylras (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hello. My name is Joyce, and I am so offended that this has a score lower than the shitfest that is Gabriel DropOut, which is barely even funny.

ACCA13, while claiming it as a masterpiece is far-fetched, is a story without unnecessary flash and barely any annoying, anime-common hamfisting and repetition.

Again, not a masterpiece. But god, this is a show anime needs really, really badly.

It respects its audience enough to put 2 and 2 together - and though not all too difficult to piece together, it is a story with a lot of nuance, and one I am eager to see progress.

Please watch this. The first read more
Mar 7, 2017
Ataricorn (All reviews)
Preliminary
* This review is written as of Episode 9 is aired.*

TL;DR: If you want a mistery / political drama anime, stop reading reviews and go watch the episodes!

ACCA 13 is one of those animes wich I recommend if you're tired of the usual moe-school animes, as a "political" drama , the anime is quite interesting.

Why do I like ACCA:13? Everything they show you has a secret. No-one is what they appear to be, have you ever wondered about your family past?, all those 'what if...?'... no, those are all things that just children have time to think about, you have to keep it up with read more
Feb 26, 2017
UnexpectedMemes (All reviews)
Preliminary
Well, this is certainly the most interesting anime out this season to say the least.

ACCA: 13-ku Kansatsu-ka is set in a country called Dowa, a super state that is actually made up smaller 13 countries or districts, which all have their own unique specialty and are all bounded together by the power of diplomacy or in this case. a special organization called ACCA.

The main character, Jean Otus works for the organisation called ACCA (which uniforms are surprisingly suspicious of the Schutsfaffel, but regardless, this is an anime) which does relative inspections of each countries/audits to check things are going efficiently and to see if any read more
Apr 12, 2017
ricardoanimeow (All reviews)
The story is okay.

Yet it feels so, so refreshing to watch this show.

The music is good; the art is wonderful; the ACCA uniform is good enough of a reason to work there; the breads look amazing.

Additionally, the intrigue is rarely seen for other 12-episode anime. The drama is jazzed down, even some dark matters are only artfully sorrowful, and not more than that. With a flow of plot points and interesting, varied settings, ACCA retained my attention like any good music would.

A relaxing, comfortable gem.

8/10, higher if I'm generous.

(I never knew there's a word minimum for these reviews. I tried my best to write a read more
Mar 30, 2017
Whoahoho (All reviews)
Ok, so after a long bout of watching anime with the usual plot, this one has given us something of what can be called a breath of fresh air, and frankly it's not always that we get to see something out from the ordinary, so let's get it on with:

Good 7, Story

What we have in here is plot that is full of twist and turns, at first you might be tempt to drop this out, but, the real surprise is that plan coup de etat, where you might ask yourself as to how the main character Jean Otus is connect with it, which would glue read more
Mar 28, 2017
EnZanity (All reviews)
Spoiler Free Review
Send feedback if you have any

ACCA: 13-Territory Inspection Dept. What an incredible piece of art. What seems like a simple story, a kingdom separated into 13 districts looked after by the organisation known as ACCA, manages to keep you guessing on how exactly everything is going to turn out. We follow Jean Otus, second-in-command of ACCA's inspection department, who travels to each and every district to make sure that any signs of corruption is discovered and prevented quickly. Starting off slow to introduce characters and some world building, the story steadily opens up to what can only be described, in the most non-spoiler read more