Aggressive Retsuko


Aggretsuko

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Aggretsuko
Japanese: アグレッシブ烈子

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 100
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 2, 2016 to Mar 31, 2018
Premiered: Spring 2016
Broadcast: Saturdays at 12:00 (JST)
Producers: Sanrio
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Fanworks
Source: Other
Genres: MusicMusic, Slice of LifeSlice of Life, ComedyComedy
Duration: 1 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.641 (scored by 2908929,089 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #11722
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1775
Members: 74,551
Favorites: 433
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 11, 2016
usnb-bjuN-SU (All reviews)
Preliminary
Aggressive Retsuko is about a red panda office lady that relieves stress by singing death metal. That's all you need to know.

All the characters are anthropomorphic animals, and I think that's quite charming. Retsuko is basically the cutest thing ever when she's not screaming death metal.

The humour is alright, managing to make me smirk a few times throughout the ten episodes I've seen. One could say this is a family-friendly version of Detroit Metal City - though a family-friendly version of DMC is not DMC at all.

The episodes are only a minute long, so you may as well give it a shot.
Oct 11, 2016
DjKagamine (All reviews)
Preliminary
My baby sister of 2 years old enjoys the angry death metal, she say's "cat angry" and follows up with little raspy sounding roars to match the death metal.

At the end of the episode, She says "Win" as Retsuko does the victory pose.
Then she asks for more.

Will simply say she enjoy this anime so far, Will watch again with her.

MAL wants me to create a longer review but that is all i have
stop reading from here on out, this is just to fill in some space till I reach the minimum requirements, Need more filler words as this is not enough read more
Apr 10, 2018
MetaThPr4h (All reviews)
Aggresive Retsuko manages to be hilarious with just a single minute per episode.

The story is simple, Retsuko has to deal with way too relatable stressful situations during her everyday life, and when she can't handle what happens in that episode anymore, she goes crazy and starts singing death metal music, the way it's done makes the series really fun because you totally emphatize with the protagonist and her reactions are just priceless.

The character designs are simple but charming, the music is mostly 2-3 songs and that's all which is fine considering its duration, and there is always Retsuko giving some lyrics in her rage attacks read more
Aug 25, 2016
chevybow (All reviews)
Preliminary
Anime shorts are a weird topic to talk about in the anime community. Most go relatively unwatched with little interest stemming for them. I mean, how often do you see someone get hyped over an anime that has 1-3 minutes of content every week? The ones that do gain popularity gain popularity due to being absolutely ridiculous. An anime short about a fart is going to get somewhat popular with people giving joke 10/10 reviews. Bananya is perhaps the worst culprit with it gaining popularity on sites like reddit for being so "cute". From last season, Sushi Police gained an infamous bit of popularity for read more
Apr 21, 2018
AesthethiccWaifu (All reviews)
to be honest, this is probably one of the most enjoyable animes I've ever watched

I (and basically everyone lmao) have never felt relatable to a character then Retsuko, Retsuko is literally me when someone says something i don't like,does something i dont like, act a way i dont want them to or do something that i don't like,
there are 100 episodes and all of them are 1 minute which means that you can get this anime done in 1 hour and 40 minutes

the story is simple: Retsuko deals with stressful situations and goes to karaoke to start singing death metal music to help with her read more
Aug 30, 2020
AnimonyListano (All reviews)
Deathony Metano here, the Internet's busiest anime nerd, and it's time for a review of the 2016 anime Aggressive Retsuko.

Each minute-sode runs around the life of eponymous mid-20s working-class Retsuko where she deals with everyday problems in the workplace and everywhere else, and expresses how she feels by belting out death metal screams to cap off the minute-sode. In short, she reflects the life of the average person dealing with worklife in and out by the day, which the show lightens up in good, comedic fashion.
Story - Strong 8 to Light 9

The art style for this marathon (oh no I don't think this is a read more
Jul 24, 2018
onizuka_anime (All reviews)
Aggressive Retsuko manages to be very funny with just over 1 minute per episode.

Story (8/10): The story is very simple. It is about a red panda girl named Retsuko who has an office job. She deals with way too realistic and relatable
real world problems and when she can't take them anymore, she sings death metal and her reactions are priceless.

Art (8/10): The art is very good but nothing to die for.

Sound (8/10): The music while only being 2-3 songs, is fine considering the length of each and every episode.

Character (8/10): Retsuko is a great character and the side characters are read more
Dec 11, 2018
imsotoxiclol (All reviews)
I'm trying to recall the points I made 6 months ago. Note that many of the detailed story elements aren't too fresh to me given my vague memories of the show. I will, however, try the best I can to provide an unbiased critique, a personal account on how I view it.

I am ardently hyping for season 2. It is a pretty standard show that caught my attention due to the popularity of a few of its characters, especially Haida, who has since became quite a sensation in the furry fandom. Regardless of that fact, Aggretsuko doesn't exactly break boundaries. It's concept is interesting, but read more
Apr 29, 2019
Prinzesschen (All reviews)
So since I felt like this show needed more reviews I'll put my heart into writing one!Spoiler-free!

Story: 9/10
It's a simple story about every day life for a women that has a hard job and a variety of co-workers.It can get very relatable at times,and make you laugh all the time.I often feel bad for Retsuko, and can't help but laugh at her anger issues through the series.The story though, seems like it has no end:That's not bad to be honest, quite entertaining and catchy!

Art: 8/10
The art is very cartoon-ish and cutesy,simple with nice colouring.I didn't pay much atention to it, but when you do its read more
Jun 9, 2017
RayaTheImmortal (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime is made for the workers where they can actually relate to Retsuko (or for some students out there), I have watched every episode and even though each episode only has 1-minute, I enjoyed it. Whenever Retsuko is mad and such she will start singing metal and each episode has the same rhythm but different lyrics.

The reason why I gave such a high rating on this one because I can entirely relate to Retsuko's problems at the office or at the parties or even with friends and such. (Yeah I raged like that too).

Wish that they had 5-minutes long instead of 1-minute long.
May 3, 2018
Akagi-han (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is by far one of my most loved anime out there. It's short yet, very funny, especially when you see Retusko change into a completely different person. Plus, it's quite funny how this can relate to so many people. Especially, in regards to the range of Retsuko, and how she hates that everyone just piles everything on her, and how little things just find to annoy her so much. If you want a short, and snappy anime that has humour in it, then you need to see Aggressive Retsuko, as it's by far one of the most funniest animations out there.
Jan 11, 2017
h-gpup (All reviews)
Preliminary
Aggresive Retsuko is one of those fun little short that will most likely get a good few chuckles or a good laughing out of you with it simple premise of cute red panda girl has to deal with a constantly demanding job and stressful co works and to help elevate that stress she sing death metal.

that about it it a simple show with a simple idea and it does it pretty well as each ep has something that i think everybody can relate to and laugh at or at least get a chuckle out of you.

one thing i really like about this show is read more
Dec 7, 2017
OppaiSempai (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime... is just great. Not only is it cute, it has death metal. I think that's all an anime needs.

Story
The story obviously has barely any depth to it. I mean, why would it? It's just a bunch of 1 minute shorts, How would you make an overarching story? Despite this, It still technically has a story, sorta. It's a slice of life show, revolving around the life of Retsuko, a 25-year-old, single, red panda, who works at a company in Japan. Her coworkers are the most annoying people on earth, and whenever they annoy her, she sings death metal. I mean, what else are read more
Aug 24, 2020
Booweeboo (All reviews)
Sometimes, you need a feel-good, relatable, or funny anime to watch in between tasks or even to wind down between eps of a different show. Not particularly good for younger audiences, teens and children would probably not resonate with the situational humor, but YA's and older would probably like it! If you're not sure if you'd want to watch the Netflix series, start with this one to get a taste of the humor style first, and if you enjoyed this show I HIGHLY recommend the Netflix one too as it actually provides a good (but simple) plot! MAL is telling me to make my review read more
Jul 24, 2020
Parlox (All reviews)
WARNING: I'm gonna spoil this show (Aggressive Retsuko), I recommend you watch this anime before reading, for context and to be able to watch without spoilers.

I watched the first season of the ONA version of this, so I might have a few comparisons here and there.

I usually rate shows by how much they impact me emotionally, like I figure most people do, and on this one I gave it a favor by giving it a 3. Its emotinal impact almost doesn't exist, and you can't expect to get some feels or great laughs. why? let's think about it.

I'll start with the good stuff about read more
Jul 10, 2020
Royal-Guard-Reli (All reviews)
2020 has been a… somewhat cathartic year, hasn’t it? In a dark, Carlin-esque-way, I’m kind of infatuated with it in many respects. The constant stacking of laissez faire capitalism, oozing with corruption of power from authoritative figures paired with rampant political correctness - exposing the true, repugnant husk of a selfish society masquerading as law-abiding citizens. It’s. Just. Ambrosia.

Speaking a tad more seriously, rather, with less malice in my tone - my greatest sympathies go to those effected in the worst of ways by these trying times, from looting, paranoia - etc. And I’m sure each and everyone of us are falling to some read more
Apr 15, 2020
ammeym (All reviews)
When I first heard news about this anime coming out on Netflix I couldn't wait to watch it. The advertisement was catchy and I couldn't help but find it hilarious. When I finally got to watch it I grew attached immediately. I feel exactly how the main character does in her situation at work. I'm hard working so people like to push stuff onto me, and my work environment has been nothing but hell. I really enjoyed the ideal that I could relate to the main protagonist.
I would highly rate this anime as it is incredibly comical and just feeling the character's emotions and read more
Jul 19, 2018
SaintJames012 (All reviews)
Aggretsuko is the working man's (or woman's) Hello Kitty. A too-real story about a young office worker who hates her job and co-workers and needs to find some way to cope. Aggretsuko's many tales of navigating office politics, dealing with the cold reality that conflicts with her imaginative and hopelessly romantic ideals in her mind, and finding happiness in her world of monotony and disrespect, allow for us the viewer to see the story of struggles that may or may not be too close to home for some of us poor unfortunate souls. The brilliance of Aggretsuko is in the relatability of the characters. Each read more
Jul 15, 2019
RedBloodFoxHound (All reviews)
Story 9/10- Has a very good story. The only downside is that sometimes you want to throw somthing at the T.V.beacuse of the dumb decisions made by Retsuko, but I guess thats the point.

Art 10/10- Do not judge a book by its cover, because the messages within the show are extreamly relatable on abulting 101.

Sound 7/10- To credit where credit is due, Retsuko's screemo scenes are awesome and the music that comes from that is great! However, when Retsuko's metal scenes are not playing and the scene music is on it is creative however the music is extreamly overused and becomes annoying.

Character read more
Jul 3, 2017
Waffle_Empress (All reviews)
Preliminary
'Why, I've done all the screaming already,' said the Queen. 'What would be the good of having it all over again?'
— Lewis Carroll. Through the Looking Glass.

Ah, Japan, what a weird country you are. And just when I begin to think that nothing can read more