Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kizumonogatari III: Reiketsu-hen


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Koyomi Vamp, Kizumonogatari Part 3
Japanese: 傷物語〈Ⅲ冷血篇〉

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 6, 2017
Producers: Aniplex, Kodansha
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Shaft
Source: Light novel
Duration: 1 hr. 23 min.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.841 (scored by 102,506 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #242
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #519
Members: 199,827
Favorites: 2,740

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 6, 2017
DubstepKazoo (All reviews)
EDIT: People, people. I went and saw this in a movie theater. In real life. Please stop asking me where you can download it, because I don't know. Thank you!

As perfect as they were, I almost regret giving the other two movies tens, for now I have no numerical way of showing that this one is far superior to even them. Spoilers for those movies, obviously.

Anyone who's seen the main Monogatari series can tell you that the difference between pre-Kizu Araragi and post-Kizu Araragi is like night and day. The question, though, is this: what happened in Kizu to change him so dramatically? There were read more
Apr 8, 2017
moodie (All reviews)
Kizumonogatari is 1 movie contrary to how it was marketed, distributed, and how mal has it entered into its database. So I will speak about the series as a whole.

Kizumonogatari takes a cinematic approach on the well-established TV series the Monogatari series. This is truly a prequel that can only be appreciated when watching all of the series up towards Owarimonogatari. If you want Kizumonogatari in the chronological order you are watching anime wrong and the entire intention of the series is ruined. The foreshadowing is lost and you lose the bigger picture SHAFT tried to create for Nisio's work.

But before going through Kizu read more
Apr 8, 2017
Lugengeschichte (All reviews)
I had the opportunity to view this film in theaters. This film exceeded my expectations. The previous 2 films were, unfortunately, unable to stand alone. Out of the two, this was the most action-packed and climactic. I was continuously blown away by the excellent sound direction and animation. Like most Shaft anime, the last Kizumonogatari film has an avant garde method of storytelling. It might seem strange, but it works for the tone and comedy of the anime. Random clips pop out and sometimes seem disjointed, however they only add to the amazing animation. There was one scene in particular that had everyone in the read more
Jul 12, 2017
ChaoticThinker (All reviews)
(Minor spoilers/Rant in Enjoyment section)

Kizumonogatari is back and at last we get the last piece of the puzzle, This time part three otherwise known as "Reiketsu-hen" or "Cold Blood". The final chapters animated, just how well did it do?.


Story 10 / 10

We start the film at a brief conversation between the characters of Oshino Meme and Araragi Koyomi talking how it is unreal how Koyomi managed to overwhelm the hunters that were after his life and his master, Kiss-Shot Acerola-Orion Heart-Under-Blade.

The film progresses as we see a rampant return of the eloquence of visuals, symbolism and long chats that have left a mark on read more
Apr 10, 2017
varmala (All reviews)
Kizumono 3 answered questions that surfaced in the first and second installments. It also lessened my disdain for some of the objectives that were displayed in the previous films, particularly in regard to Guillotinecutter and his crew. After one last major surprise, Kiss Shot is returned to her final form. Her attitude has reverted to that of her 8-10 year old incarnation in the first film; cheerful, carefree and seemingly generous. Of course, her impression will appear differently to others. this is only my opinion and I admit, I didn't care for her person in Nekketsu. Araragis growth as a vampire and as a young read more
Jul 18, 2017
red_yen-z (All reviews)
Note: my native language isn't English. Sorry for any grammar/spelling mistakes.
Also: this is my opinion. Im not here to regulate thoughts or influence the way you look at this movie. If you loved it: great! More power to you. However, I would like you to remember that I also am entitled to having an opinion.
Also: yes, I've read the book and watched every part of the series till Owarimonogatari.

I'm planning on working this critique out a bit further sometime in the future, but for now, here is my critique of Kizumonogatari part 3.

-

This movie tried too hard.

As a mild fan of the Monogatari series (mainly read more
Jul 13, 2017
Sukeroku (All reviews)
[May contain minor spoilers (almost nothing)]
This is a review from a Monogatari Series fan, to Monogatari Series fans.
Oh boy, how do I start? I will be fast: If you are asking yourself "Shoud I watch Kizumonogatari?" the answer is: YES, AND NOW!

The first two movies were to introduce you the way everything happened. But now, at the third movie, you have one of the best screenplays and fights of the anime history. This is the movie with more fan-service in the world. You will be happy when you see what is awaiting for you. For Hanekawa fans: You will get one of the best scenes read more
Dec 9, 2017
Colorly (All reviews)
"If you were to die tomorrow, I'd be fine with tomorrow being the last day of my life."
"If you were to live through today, I will also chose to live through today."

*May contain spoilers*

Kizumonogatari One and Two was really the base for this Three part series. Part One and Two explains the beginning of the relationship between Araragi and Kiss-Shot or aka Shinobu. Part one explains on how Araragi found Kiss-Shot injured with none of her limbs. He saved her thinking by giving up his own life, he hopes to reborn as a non-selfish person that is willing to help anyone without doubting read more
Feb 9, 2018
black0678 (All reviews)
Ive seen monogatari series from the season 1 and all the movies and mini series/side arcs. Shaft doing really good job in making this series interesting if not for them i'd definetely alrdy dropped this series long time ago, definetely will give 9 score to the main arc bakemonogatari and nisemonogatari and 7-8 score for some of the side arcs.

This series feels really dragged already. and it basically have almost the same pattern for every arcs after bakemonogatari and nisemonogatari, things going down hill from there and boring for me,

Araragi likes girls and surrounded by girls but seriously just go fuck hanekawa or read more
Jul 17, 2017
YouniverSoul (All reviews)
Kizumonogatari is not "out of the box".......

It completely destroys and re-imagines the box into something unique and beautiful.

It doesn't JUST have beautiful, high-budget animation... The actual ART......The visual & auditory presentation is designed to get the viewer out of their comfort zone.
The visual presentation is a direct compliment of the story's unorthodox narrative.

The movie doesn't really fall into tropes or common generic overused storytelling tools...in fact, Kizu is the direct antithesis of ALL generic media. It takes what seems to be simple and glamorizes it with a mind-blowing, visionary flare.


Great movies...outstanding pieces of art....unique.... must watch.

part 1:8/10 part 2:9/10 part 3:10/10

Aug 13, 2019
Falco2424 (All reviews)
Kizumonogatari III is good, but not as good as I was expecting. Kizumonogatari II is better by leaps and bounds, but Kizumonogatari III is better than Kizumonogatari I.

Kizumonogatari III is a relatively average, plot heavy arc from the Monogatari Series. It is similar in quality to the other Shinobu Arc, but it looks like Kizumonogatari. Speaking of which, it looks more like Kizumonogatari I than II, as in: it is also overly ridiculous and dramatized.

Kizumonogatari III is very simple, making it hard to talk about. I really enjoyed it, but I am underwhelmed by it after watching Kizumonogatari II. Don’t get me wrong, read more
Oct 7, 2018
MartiRabella (All reviews)
(Sorry for the bad English, this review has been done with gogole translator)

What to say about this movie, is a visual marvel in every way, an excellent animation by shaft and an incredible soundtrack composed (if I'm not mistaken) by Satoru Kousaki.

The story of is the continuation of "Kizumonogatari II" and we will see what will happen with Araragi and Kiss shot. An anime that you can not miss and a perfect closing for the start of a great anime and without a doubt one of my favorites.

finally I would like to say that this is the movie that I liked most of read more
Jul 19, 2017
legitbeans-san (All reviews)
First Review. Here goes nothing.

It's been a while since a movie had me experiencing every type of emotions out there.

Character development and Story: 10/10

From the giddiness of the "romantic" scenes between our main protagonist and Hanekawa to the existential crisis posed by the dilemma of immortality, I can say for certain that these 3 movies, especially this one, achieved its goal of strengthening the characters from the main anime story line. The center piece to all of this was Araragi and his character development. By being imperfect and making *many* wrong decisions throughout the plot, the audience is far more likely to connect with read more
Jul 13, 2017
Artrill (All reviews)
[8.0/10]
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Going into Kizumonogatari III I was somewhat worried. Part two, for it's spectacular visuals and astounding fight sequences really left a hollow first impression from it's character perspective. The inclusion of Hanekawa as a focal point was disappointing, and her sequences with our protagonist, Araragi were either barebones fanservice, with understandably beautiful shot composition, or tedious, obvious dialogue-driven moments that were unexpectedly banal for a series that has illustrious and hilarious writing. With the focus on Hanekawa, there was a lack of development between Kiss-shot and Araragi, which made me extremely worried for the eventual climax of this film since it is reliant on that read more
Aug 30, 2018
LegendAqua (All reviews)
-Third Act-

Climax/Ending/Conclusion

-Reiketsu (冷血)-

cold-heartedness/cold-bloodedness

The third act and boy does it complete all it's requirements to be a third act. The climax of having most of the main tension being brought up into a more dramatic fashion, resolving subplots and finally and most ironically at least, the main protagonist has a new sense of who they are...

Kizumonogatari Nekketsu had by all means brought up some subplots it had missed to resolved and like any third act should, it resolved it. So what is there really left for Araragi to do?, well the fact of the matter is of how Araragi was able to defeat vampire hunters even read more
Nov 10, 2017
potbrick (All reviews)
Well, I've finally arrived at the end. I first read the book an entire year ago, and I'd be lying if I said I didn't love it. It works beautifully as an installment of the franchise, as its own stand-alone tale, and as a subversion of Shounen tropes. A key part of the book's triumph was its relentess pace and editing, which ensured that no quality dips were to be found all the way to the end.

It is thus with regret that I come to terms with the fact that the third film adaptation is a disappointment. The biggest offender of course is the read more
May 16, 2018
Decibelle (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

Reiketsu-hen was always going to be the toughest film in the Kizumonogatari trilogy to talk about. It does many things that are tough to analyze from a critical perspective, most of which are due to the way the adaptation has prioritized character development across its three parts. While Monogatari as a whole has many dark parts, I would easily call this the second darkest part in the entire series. Character motivations are either not made entirely understandable or otherwise vague. The grand, powerful final fight has a mix of different tones and emotions that are tough to sort through the first watch read more
Apr 27, 2018
seannyb (All reviews)
The weaknesses of each individual movie — uneven pacing, abrupt endings and dubious adaptation choices — are erased when seen in its proper form. Up-and-coming director Tatsuya Oishi vanished into a cave after 2009's "Bakemonogatari" and emerged several years later with his over-3-hours-long prequel. Aniplex trisected its release but fortunately a local theater ran a triple-screening: the only worthwhile way to watch it.

There are three ways to approach an adaptation of Nishio Isin's pulp novel. One is to clean up its more dubious aspects and present it to a mainstream audience. Another is to adapt the material faithfully to please preexisting fans, presumably the current read more
Jan 6, 2019
IcySch (All reviews)
I'm just gonna review all three Kizu movies here if you don't mind.

Every so often I come upon a piece on entertainment where the public opinion differs a lot from my own. But after watching Kizu, I would have never imagined it would fall into this category.

So yes, I think these movies are bad.

I'll start with the animation, because it hurts the least. Kizu has the same abstract art approach as the rest of the series. However, there are two things that are different here. First, Kizu ditches the colorful look of the TV series for a more somber exterior. The palette is murky and read more
Aug 1, 2017
dipu (All reviews)
Those who are still dwindling whether to watch this or not. Please do watch in a quiet place without interruption. This movie is truly a masterpiece. I believe it pushed the boundary of anime-world again like other Monogatari stories.

The poetic way of telling stories with enticing art style will keep you glued to the screen until the last moment. All you need to do is to keep your mind wide open and try to grasp the real feelings of all the characters to enjoy this and find the hidden meaning that the tales express: "We are all crooked inside in some way. Let's embrace this read more