Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Gakusen Toshi Asterisk 2nd Season


Alternative Titles

English: The Asterisk War Season 2
Synonyms: Academy Battle City Asterisk
Japanese: 学戦都市アスタリスク

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 2, 2016 to Jun 18, 2016
Premiered: Spring 2016
Broadcast: Saturdays at 22:30 (JST)
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.281 (scored by 127,303 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #26302
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #428
Members: 230,991
Favorites: 609

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 11, 2016
SirTifide (All reviews)
Have you ever hated something so much you went out of the way to hate it? If this sentence makes you judge me, you're probably right in doing so.

After all, if I really hate it that much, then I should just go watch something else. And I probably should. Regardless, it's gotten to the point that I derive some sort of twisted happiness from watching and hating this show. It's pitiful, to be honest.

But enough about my failure to act rationally.

Why do I have such a hate boner for this anime? Why do I go out of my way to hate it?

I hate it for read more
Jun 19, 2016
jdam5798 (All reviews)
Story: 4/10
There's not really much to say about the story other than the fact that it focuses on the Phoenix Festa and the events that transpire during it.
Art: 6/10
The art is really good. I love the designs of the characters and the city itself looks beautiful. The action scenes also look amazing. Unfortunately, I have to give the art a 6 because I couldn't ignore the fact that there were times where the animation looked kind of stilted and 3D-ish and I hate when anime do that because in my opinion, it's lazy. At least put in the time and effort to flesh everything out.
Sound: read more
Jun 22, 2016
D4rkwulf (All reviews)
Spoiler Free:
I've been struggling with an opening sentence, because before I was gonna hate, i'd like to tell a bit about asterisk in general. But what is asterisks?
It has no story or anything interesting to write an opening about. This is one of those few anime that might be well liked by newbie anime watchers since they haven't seen many good or even mediocre anime that are out there.
After all it has decent art and the music is great. You can't deny this. Sadly these are the only 2 good points of the anime are completely wasted on asterisk.

_______________________________
Story: 1

So we continue where the anime read more
Feb 15, 2019
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
"Too little, too late" is a painful phrase.

After 12 episodes of broken nonsense, this show somehow got a second season that attempted the impossible: being a competent sequel to The Asterisk War. By some miracle, it succeeded. Not to say that this show is even remotely good now, but this second season somehow turned being awful into an accomplishment. I'm not sure whether to be impressed or depressed.

Part of why this second season managed to improve upon the first one is that it actually makes an attempt to have dynamic characters, giving every character something to do, posing an actual threat for the main character, read more
Jun 21, 2016
Whoahoho (All reviews)
So the 2nd sequel has ended, so anybody for season 3??????????? I'm gonna get down to business:

Storywise, basically since it's a sequel it very much connected to the 1st season. But in this season everything is chucked into this so called "Phoenix Festa". In fact everything about the story is all about the "Phoenix Festa." There were no romantic or character development at all, so in my opinion there isn't much to expect at all for this sequel, the same thing with the Art, we never get to see Julis in her underwear anymore, nor do we see any of Claudia skimpy bikinis, so both read more
Jul 31, 2019
Krystal269 (All reviews)
I don't understand why everyone is hating on this anime. I've seen much worse harem, OP lead character animes than this one. I don't think the story is boring either. There's so much we don't know too. Yeah, he did get some of his restrictions taken off, but they definitely aren't off. Plus, what's up with his sister? We still know nothing about her. Additionally, I want to know more about Claudia's background and story. I would love to see their team in the next festa because that's a pretty badass team they put together! I also want to know what Yabuki is up to. read more
Jun 18, 2016
Juarez (All reviews)
This second season pick off where the first left. I'll say this one better, for some reasons.

- Story-wise, more background stories to enlighten us. More serious tone than the first I think, which is good
- Action/Battle, Still as good as the first or even better. More strategies involved and we could see how the MC struggle more to overcome his limit when face stronger enemies.
- More characters and team development, it's true that they're still helplessly fighting over MC (this is harem, ecchi show right? nothing is wrong with that ), but we could see they're growing as team and trust each other more.

Overall, read more
Jun 19, 2016
Syliph (All reviews)
This is one of the spring anime that makes me hype since last season

Story(8/10):
This is the continuation from the season 1 where they were participating in the tournament. The plot switch from high school theme to solely battle in the tournament with some minor seasoning. After the tournament ends, there were some episodes left. The story then moves into the next arc which brings a lot of cliffhanger. Which made me rate 8 instead of 9. So much new character, new plot which makes me like "wait.. who is she?","Ehh...",etc.
Definitely, I would like to watch the next sequel

Art(8/10):
The art is really good. Especially when read more
Jun 19, 2016
DEBT437 (All reviews)
With the ending of the 2nd season finishing as I write this, I think it's fair to say that Asterisk is pretty good within its genre. Not life changing or anything, but within the battle harem type genre, it's probably among the best I can think of at the moment. But first, make sure you watch the (inferior, I may add)first season... now then, let's begin.

STORY: 6/10

If you watched the first season and are still watching it now, you get the whole idea of what's going on. Pretty much more of the same, with the Phoenix Festa continuing and the MC continuing to overcome the read more
Jun 14, 2017
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This review has been adapted from my blog/reddit thread. Spoilers ahead!)

Screams echoed and metal churned above my head.

I started to panic. We were buckled in, so we couldn’t move. The ride had stopped. The doors to let us out wouldn’t open. And when the lights came on, scary props of all kinds stared back at us. Their creepy eyes and wicked smiles practically laughed at our impending demise.

“They need to get us out of here!” My voice croaked.

Someone, somewhere, listened to my frantic cry. For at that moment, the doors opened and our seatbelts unfastened. I rushed into the hallway, breathing in more so than read more
Feb 1, 2017
Jersie (All reviews)
Hello everyone, since you're reading this you wanna hear my opinion and my review on this, so let's just get right into it,

The Story,

(I'm not gonna talk about the story, you can read it in the description you potato)

The story of Asterisk War is not anything new, and it really doesn't bring anything new into the genre of "tournament anime"

The Art,

It's certainly colorful in my opinion, but not anything too special, art like Asterisk War is like art for a standard 2015 anime, so it's ok

The Sound,

I personally think the Openings and endings are pretty good, the second ending is definitely my favorite read more
Feb 5, 2018
The_Anonymous28 (All reviews)
Although the series is just a continuation to the first season, Gakusen Toshi Asterisk 2/The Asterisk War 2 is still the best action, sci-fi, fantasy and harem anime to date.

The review rundown:

Story: As mentioned, the series story is a continuation to the events of the first season where Ayato's seal is now revealed to the public where it sends him and his partner, Julis, into trouble of winning the Festa since there is more powerful opponents to stand its way. It was intended to stop it from comparing it with Chivalry of a Failed Knight in terms of setting.

Characters: Same main characters read more
Dec 31, 2018
budda-bro (All reviews)
When this show came out in 2015, it had a "rival" if you could put it that way, and it was a show called "The Chivalry of a Failed Knight" at first this show started weaker than the asterisk war but over time it showed what it truly was at it's core and eventually beat out the asterisk war by the end of the season. despite its bigger fanbase and higher rating, the asterisk war is the show that would continue with a second season...too many people's distaste. The asterisk war didnt have a strong footing in the base so read more
Jun 19, 2016
mkzxwing (All reviews)
*Possible spoilers ahead*

Well, yet another time i wasted my time due to my bad habit of refusing to let things go. I had a bit of hope for this title, and i gave it a honest shot, but boy, did it fail to deliver. Let's start our analysis then shall we? First of all, why do most of us like watching anime, as well as watching movies? Well, a big part of it, is pretty much the same reason we like reading books - the story. Well, honestly it is rather mediocre. However mediocre isn't necessarily bad, unless you choose to deliver it like Asterisk read more
Jun 19, 2016
King_Of_Light (All reviews)
So the second season of Gakusen Toshi Asterisk is now over and I will say that compared to the nightmare of season one, it was better. Now don't get ahead of yourself. It is still sh*t, but it is better sh*t than season one.

Season 2 brought in more action which is to be expected as much of the anime focuses on the Phoenix Festa. The fight scenes were decent to look at, but average in terms of the overall effect. We [still] have the overly op main character, Ayato, who can somehow always pull out some victory from his Godly a** and his overly read more
Jun 19, 2016
PyraXadon (All reviews)
Amongst the plethora of generic fantasy harem anime, there are usually a few gems that make the genre truly shine and not just some place where someone can attach themselves to their favorite large chested female harem stereotype that gets found by the overpowered male MC who aside from his best friend is the only damn guy in the series. Asterisk...is not one of those.

Story: With the series being made into a split-cour series, Asterisk season 2 directly follows our overpowered MC, Amagiri Ayato and his harem of similarly powerful but not as strong female characters who can all be described in 5 words read more
Aug 8, 2016
Pegeras (All reviews)
Asterisk War is an adventure that has barely gotta started, because of its slow pacing and no third season in sight. But none the less, it was a fun one to watch and what we have already is good enough to get your fill or thrilling action. Many of the characters though, are your basic archetypes put to the test, but isn't as heavy handed as other action harems like it. The show is more of the same thing we always see, but trust me, it feels different than the others. If you want to see my full review/discussion video, then copy the link down read more
Jul 1, 2016
Anime_wuv (All reviews)
I swear the 1st Season was better i could see alot of potentials but this 2nd season really ruined it all.First of all the 1st season had a good introduction but it only had that and nothing more and the plot was kinda ehhhhh.Well if it was only a introduction i expected alot at Season 2 but what happened really is like a pointless thing -.- This may contain spoilers so if you haven't watched the series read at your own risk well only a little obvious spoilers ^.^.
Well they won the festa but that doesn't change really change anything at the plot.So it was read more
Sep 23, 2017
PvMDream (All reviews)
*review may contain minor spoilers*

Action-harem based anime, and I do not see where all the hate is coming from.
This review will be my review of season 1 and 2 combined.

Story 6/10
Young boy joins a school.. from here on out, all the girls will love him and he happens to be quite strong. trying to win the phoenix festa so they can have 1 wish fulfilled.

Art 8/10
I really liked the art on this one, it was nice, stayed consistent and some really nice special effects here and there.

Sound 10/10
The voice acting is really good, and for the actual sounds/songs itself. in season 2 there was 1 read more
Jun 18, 2016
ElSensei (All reviews)
So, the second cour of Asterisk is over and its time to reflect on what transpired. I liked the first cour, and had high hopes for the second. However, I am really disappointed in how the paced the second season.

Overall Score: 6/10

Story: 6 - The pacing was really off here. I know the! phoenix festa was a big deal and all, but counting from when it started last season I think it lasted for 13 episodes! If the plot revolved solely around this one tournament, this would not be so bad. But there are other main plot treads that get left by the wayside read more