Tonkatsu DJ Agetarou

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Japanese: とんかつDJアゲ太郎

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 10, 2016 to Jun 26, 2016
Premiered: Spring 2016
Broadcast: Sundays at 22:15 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Studio Deen
Source: Manga
Genres: MusicMusic, ComedyComedy, ShounenShounen
Duration: 9 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.141 (scored by 51655,165 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #30042
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #4505
Members: 11,492
Favorites: 88
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 26, 2016
MetaThPr4h (All reviews)
Tonkatsu DJ Agetarou is my clear choice for underrated anime of this Spring 2016 season, it's a shame that few people gave it a try because it's a really enjoyable anime.

Agetarou works at his family's tonkatsu (a Japanese food which consists of a breaded, deep-fried pork cutlet) restaurant, he doesn't like it much, but destiny made him discover the disc jockey world, and, for his surprise, he realizes more and more every episode how similar is cooking and working in a tonkatsu restaurant to being a DJ in the details about them.

Something that I really like about this anime is the "bro" feeling it has, read more
Jul 6, 2016
ultra_aleph (All reviews)
You see all sorts of musicians in anime - jazz, rock, death metal, classical, pop... But until now there has not been, to my knowledge, an anime series devoted to electronic music. Tonkatsu DJ Agetarou has righted that wrong at last and put electronic music in the spotlight where it deserves to be. As a fan of electronic music, I really cannot begin to express how much I enjoyed the series.
It takes electronic music seriously, it shows both the artistic and the scientific side of it. Being a DJ requires vast knowledge about different types of music, the ability to imagine how various tracks can read more
May 5, 2017
Skittles (All reviews)
Imagine having to succeed the family food business without the motivation to cook anything. What would you do in this situation? For the mischievous Agetarou Katsumata, the answer is clear: become a professional DJ, and show the world how mixing electronic music can make you a better chef!

Anime has essentially covered every music genre—rock, pop, and even hip-hop—but electronic music is a first for the medium. As its likely pioneer for anime, Tonkatsu DJ Agetarou does well in presenting the life of a rising DJ star through an expert lens. While Agetarou fights his way to the top, we see the ambition, creativity, and read more
Jul 15, 2016
420kawaii (All reviews)
Sometimes people fail to remember that anime is simply the Japanese word for any and all animation. But outside of Japan, the word typically refers to any and all Japanese animation. Of course, there is a typical "anime art style" that comes to mind when thinking about contemporary Japanese animation. This style (realistic body proportions, colorful hair, thin outlines, large eyes, etc.) comes to mind because, arguably, it is used in almost all modern anime. This has sometimes led to some Western, non-Japanese works (Teen Titans, Avatar: The Last Airbender) to be described as "looking like anime." But, how can anything "look like anime" if read more
Aug 2, 2016
DawnYamada (All reviews)
This anime caught my eye because I want to be a DJ, but as soon as I saw how much a table costs, my soul left my body. Anyway, I truly love music whether it's rap or EDM, I go to any kind of music festival/event.

I came across this anime when I got busy and wanted to watch short episodes, I'm so glad I did.
Watching anime or cartoons gave the experience to give ugly art a chance, I guess casual watchers always want something good on the eyes *throws shade at popular plot-less anime*.

Story:
It's pace changes per episode, but the only thing missing is what read more
Apr 2, 2018
Arachnophobic (All reviews)
This show is a poor man's Shokugeki no Souma - with the added conceit of synthesizing cooking and DJ-ing. Call it Shokugeki no DJ. I must admit that was a fun idea. I liked some of those nutty reaction faces, and the c h i l l o u t moments were quite easily the highlight of the show. I liked the trusty friends' group and that weird background guy in traditional clothing who showed up everywhere to dance. You go, guy! Oh, and there were some puns, beware. I liked those too though. At some level, this show had potential to be something quite read more
Nov 17, 2016
blaice (All reviews)
Disclaimer: You will regret not watching this show with headphones!

Tonkatsu DJ is simply incredible. If you like music, you will love this show! I got some avantree blue-tooth over-ear headphones right before I started watching this (nothing crazy, just a 50 dollar pair).

The tunes are great, the atmosphere is fantastic, and the story keeps you wanting more. Originality is oozing from this one! I went in with an open-mind, because the animation is different, but that turned out to be one of the beauties about this hidden gem! It is similar to the style of Ping Pong, and read more
Aug 24, 2017
Eddy_Kruger (All reviews)
One of the more enjoyable animes coming out in yet another heavy hitter season. I'm sure it flew under the radar for many reason. The art, the story, the quirky nature of it all.

Those are the exact things that make this show that great.

The art is scrappy, fitting of it's subject matter which deals with djing and club culture. Also all of the episodes are shorter than most so it is kind of refreshing to see this as a show that was slapped together. It feels really raw and it hits all the necessary points in the right way.

Watching Agetarou become a DJ read more
May 10, 2017
Remainstobeseen (All reviews)
This anime merits a score of 9 not because of where it stands in the entirety of the canon, or even in the genre of music-related anime, but just because of how fresh and fun it is. When I was in Japan last summer I saw Tonkatsu DJ Agetarou merch everywhere.

Each episode is about 9 minutes, and follows Agetarou's rising career in DJing as he works in his family's Tonkatsu restaurant and seeks to master both skills.

It's something of a teaching anime, where you'll learn about the craft if DJing and of tonkatsu if you aren't familiar with already.

The energy and vibes read more