Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Doubutsu no Mori


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Animal Crossing, Animal Forest
Japanese: どうぶつの森

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Dec 16, 2006
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: OLM
Source: Game
Duration: 1 hr. 27 min.
Rating: G - All Ages

Statistics

Score: 7.141 (scored by 7,203 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #29742
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3013
Members: 13,701
Favorites: 78

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 19, 2009
5757 (All reviews)
My first review, please bear with me.

I didn't even know there was an anime adaption of Animal Crossing before I came across it on this site. My first thought was, how could the make a movie out of a game that doesn't have a plot? But I was really interested, as I loved the game. Not sure what to expect, I watched it. And I was very surprised.

Story ; 9/10
The story centers around the main character, Ai, and how she adjusts to living in the animal village she just moved to. Again, I wasn't really expecting this to have a good plot, but it read more
Mar 24, 2008
Kani-Sama (All reviews)
Animal Crossing was really worth it. It dosn't matter if your a fan of the video games or if this is your first time seeing Animal Crossing; people are going to be watching through this till the very satisfying end. The story, altough at first dosn't really have a strong plot in the beginning, will make you stay on the edge of your seat and will be making you wonder what will happen next. The art is a bit toned down from most anime. It has a more kiddish feel to it, but it goes well with the anime in this case and it makes read more
Aug 23, 2008
maybelletea (All reviews)

As a fan of the game Animal Crossing (both Gamecube and DS versions) I was pleasantly surprised to discover an anime adaptation had been made. If you haven’t played the game, Animal Crossing is basically just living your life in a new town, but while you’re a human, the other villagers are all other animals. It’s a nice RPG slice-of-life, and it’s very fun living your life in your town. This experience is different, obviously, considering you’re watching the character living her life in a new town instead of being the character himself/herself.

The main character’s name is Ai, a magnanimous yet somewhat undecided girl read more
Apr 11, 2013
ktulu007 (All reviews)
You know what game franchise would really lend itself to film well? I'm sure you all had different answers to that, but I'll bet none of you said Animal Crossing. And why should you? It's a repetitive game about collecting random rubbish with basically no story that many call "slightly less boring than watching paint dry." And yet, it has a film adaptation. I've been thinking about checking it out for some time just out of curiosity and this seemed like a good time. So let's look at the Animal Crossing movie.

The story opens with a young girl named Ai moving to the animal read more
Dec 7, 2017
LovelyTekki (All reviews)
If you are a major fan of Animal Crossing, you should watch this. The main character, Ai, is reminiscent of the journey one goes on when they play the game. She starts off confused, until she eventually starts to fit into town after a while and she even made some friends.

The worst part of this movie was Whitney by far. I never liked her as a villager, and she's even more of a stuck-up jerk in this movie. Other than her, the rest of the characters are likable and fun. I loved how they portrayed Mr. Resetti especially.

The artwork stands out as it is read more
Dec 16, 2008
Doorstop_Idol (All reviews)
Really, you would think that there is not much to say about Animal Crossing, but that just is not the case with this movie. It is simply wonderful when you watch it for what it is: Pure and simple enjoyment. This movie captures all the best elements from the game (the character archetypes, events, chores, etc.) and puts them together seamlessly with a plot that, while certainly not Shakespeare, is certainly cute and simple but workable. And the best part is that it never feels like this is trying to sell you something. Did it make me want to play the read more
Apr 14, 2009
Akari-san (All reviews)
For those of you who enjoyed the game, Animal Crossing was an interesting movie. It summarized the game fairly well, adding in different characters and giving Ai, the main character, a home to live in. It was a fun thing to watch. The animation was cute and the storyline similar to that of the games.

One thing that I didn't like much about this was that it didn't have much of a plotline to go off of. Much like the game, you get a job and fix a house up and that's pretty much it. Where do you go with that in a movie?
Feb 24, 2016
crap-zapper (All reviews)
"It gives the Player the ultimate AC feeling."

It's nearly 10 years since this movie came out, and I watched it for the first time today. So how does it hold up?

If you are a fan of the Animal Crossing games, you know how addictive it is. Doing in game activities that you rarely do in your own life. (Fishing, Collecting bugs, sharing gifts with friends on a regular basis)

Thinking, how on earth could Animal Crossing have a film, when there is no plot? That is sort of the charm it got. The film uses the simple lifestyle of the villagers, as well as their day read more
Sep 3, 2017
ToonSword (All reviews)
How do you make a movie based on a game with no story? Like this, apparently.

What impresses me the most about Animal Crossing: The Movie, is how perfect of an adaptation it is. Not only are a lot recognizable being portrayed here, but nearly almost scene connects to something you can do in the the game, whether it be letter-writing, digging for fossils or shaking trees. The film even portrays the feelings surrounding your favorite villager moving away without telling you. That way it feels both self-aware and genuine at the same time.

The only problem is that if you haven't played any of the games, read more
May 15, 2014
vigorousjammer (All reviews)
Animal Crossing, much like the games, doesn't really have a complex story. That is, things don't really happen for a reason, they just kind of happen at random and don't have any real point to them. This made the whole thing very difficult to sit through, and about 1/3 of the way through the movie I was already bored of it. They do try to spice it up here & there, having some adventure-themed moments, and trying to throw in a bit more plot by introducing some mysterious elements... but both of these still manage to come off as forced, and also somewhat uninteresting.

The characters read more
Mar 19, 2014
LadyTharja (All reviews)
Like many of the others I had no idea what to expect going into an animated version of Animal Crossing; as the games themselves have little to no plot other than what you make of it by yourself.
However, what I found was a loving adaptation of the video games that any fan of the series would enjoy! (Especially those who loved Animal Crossing: Wild World) This was a beautiful, heartfelt, and child-friendly movie with a plot that anyone could follow.

Final Line: If you're a fan of the games or just love cute things in general this is a must see!
Aug 15, 2009
maxmatsu (All reviews)
Ok. So I watched the movie and it was ok, I am not an Animal Crossing fan, but this movie is changing my mind a bit. Well, without further ado, lets get to the score.

Story:
The story pretty much follows the Animal Crossing one abit, and I liked how it turned out. Its pretty much about the main character, called Ai, and how she meets the neighbors and new friends, and gets to her new home. I give this a pretty 9.

Art:
The art was fantibulostic. Well, not that of the WOW! But to the animal Crossing style, it fits pretty well, and every character is pretty read more
Jun 21, 2017
snapler (All reviews)
Rate a 6
English Dubbed

Story
If you played the animal crossing game from the game cube; which pretty much was the main reason to buy the system, you will be well enriched. While the main character was not what one would expect the name made sense. My theory is that the game designers went for a symbolic approach then a realistic. Put another way this video is based from a game. A game involves a human to play it. I could go further but hopefully you see the chain of events linked. As for the conclusion i must say i was rather mystified. Not saying i was read more
May 26, 2013
AnimeIsCool (All reviews)
Since I'm a fan of the game I decided to watch the movie. I liked how they had the same sound effects in the right spots and the same music as well. I was surprised how good the movie was since it was a video game that all you had to do was collect items, sell them, and pay your debt to your house and what not. They had a lot of the characters in it like Tom Nook, The Able Sisters, K.K. Slider etc. For K.K. Slider they had actual lyrics to the music. I didn't know they had lyrics to the songs. It read more
Aug 10, 2013
Kandem (All reviews)
It's not easy to adapt such a strange concept into a movie. But whoever did it, they managed to keep (at least) the spirit of the game. Watching this movie makes you feel soothed and give you a smile you keep all along.

It's not really a great movie though. The story is kinda predictable, even boring considering the very slow pace of the movie. But, maybe by some spell cast on you, you end up appreciating this little moment in this little village with these little and cute characters. Especially when the ost comes from the game..

And that's why we love Animal Crossing.