Shinreigari


Ghost Hound

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Ghost Hound
Synonyms: Shinreigari: Ghost Hound
Japanese: 神霊狩 GHOST HOUND

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 22
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 18, 2007 to Apr 4, 2008
Premiered: Fall 2007
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Production I.G
Source: Original
Genres: Sci-FiSci-Fi, MysteryMystery, PsychologicalPsychological, SupernaturalSupernatural
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.461 (scored by 3598035,980 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #17252
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1196
Members: 119,200
Favorites: 730
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 16, 2008
Cyh (All reviews)
Preliminary
Many anime strive for a horror element and settle for the gore. Others try for the psychological approach and get lost in the relationships. This, however, is a shining star among them all.

Ghost Hound foregoes all the gore and heads straight for the downright creepy. The animation style, though soft and fairly unassuming, only enhances this creepy-factor once the ball starts rolling. Each episode title is taken straight from psychology texts, and exploits the given theme with finesse and underhanded tact.

Nothing is overdone. Everything is like a current flowing underground, or a train rumbling by only a mile away. read more
Apr 23, 2008
dragonshade (All reviews)
I must say that Ghost Hound is the most complex and technical anime ever made. It's the kind of anime which make you go on the wiki and search for the terminology. As is expected from the staff of Serial Experiment Lain, you have to pay attention to detail or re-watch it to understand what the story is about and the relationship and explanation of it. Ghost Hound, whose idea has gone through 8 years of planning, is indeed a masterpiece. A must see for any hardcore sci-fi fan.
Feb 5, 2009
Lomi (All reviews)
I decided to watch the series, because the scriptwriter of Ghost Hound also wrote Serial Experiments: Lain, Texhnolyze and Hellsing, all of which I am quite drawn to (especially SEL). I must say, that this anime is a great job, perfect for a 20th anniversary release.

~ s t o r y ~ 8 / 10 ~
If some of you think: 'Those cute characters and a psychological plot? No way!' I am glad to tell you, that you are wrong. At first, when I saw, that GH is of 22 episodes, I was sure, that it will be verbose and / or tedious (i'm used to read more
May 26, 2008
Master10K (All reviews)
Ghost Hound is a Supernatural, Psychological, Horror, Mystery, Drama series, produced by the critically acclaimed “Production I.G.” studio. Unlike most horror series that feature plenty of shocking, gory moments and psychological dramas that show the absurd, extremes of the human psyche; Ghost Hounds goes for a more technical approach. Sadly this leads to a great series with an incredibly complex story.

It is about four different kids who have suffered from different traumatic events; in their past and now have the ability to traverse this “unseen world”. That’s just the initial plot of the series and as the story begins, you will see a read more
Apr 10, 2015
NakedButtPirate (All reviews)
REVIEW CONTAIN CONCLUSIVE SPOILER

For the first half of the show, Ghost Hound have got everything right, from the creepy soundtrack that formed its designated atmosphere to the countryside setting that we're so fond of in horror anime. The series gave off the same kind of atmosphere that Higurashi and Shiki gave me, which shows how great it was directed. The unique camera angle amplifying the creepy tone of the series to a level where "horror" would be one of the appropriate genre for the series while the colorful and unique representation of the "hidden world" surely did its job to allow the viewers to see read more
Jan 12, 2008
Dj_Frog (All reviews)
Preliminary
1st Impression:
oh god, ghost or supernatural cr*p again? Nothing is better than Ghost H*nt.

Selling point(s):
Top notch sound effect, interesting facts on researches, dark and mysterious atmosphere

Reason(s) of liking the anime:

Well to start with, I am one of those horror fans. 1st episodes already caught my attention with their top notch story pace and astonishing sound effects, which really stirs up the eery atmosphere. In my honest opinion, this anime is like a marriage of Serial experimental Lain and Ghost Hunt( if you haven watch them, go watch em!). I am also interested of their homework done on the facts and researches regarding unexplained / read more
Mar 30, 2014
KiraieAeterna (All reviews)
I just finished watching this anime and it wasn't good. It leaves the audience feeling incomplete as there are a lot of questions left unanswered, and also with a heavy sense of disappointment. When the last episode ended the first thing that came to my mind was, "...ok...so...is that it?". I'd only recommend this anime to people who don't really want to be drawn and hooked to an anime, but those who are just wanting something to pass the time with and have absolutely nothing better to do. (I hate being this harsh, but it really wasn't good)

Story: 4
Let me just start off by saying read more
Jun 25, 2010
starshinesMonet (All reviews)
Let me preface this "8" by saying I thought the storyline for this anime was really terrific! A definite 10/10. It is complex without being too over-the-top (for the genre it is under, that is) and unfolds gradually, but not too slowly either. Each character, minor or protagonist, has an ever expanding role and someone you may think you will only see once or in the background often has a greater story to tell.

Another wonderful aspect of this anime is that rarely is someone as they appear to be and where certain situations could have played out in a typical fashion read more
Oct 25, 2010
skankfish (All reviews)
Story 8/10

Only on the penultimate episode did I discover that the original suppose for this series was penned by Masamune Shirow. It doesn't really show, although as that was in 1987 it isn't so surprising. Why it took 20 years to make such a great anime is anyone's guess.

Anyway, the story is very good. A dark and moody tale at heart, this anime mulls through the lives of its protagonists and a semi-real world of astral projection and spirits. It does so in a way immediately attributable to Nakamura Ryuutarou's (Serial Experiments Lain) direction. I enjoyed SEL's rasping static sensory deprivation, and I love it read more
Aug 28, 2012
angelsreview (All reviews)
The show starts out with a really creepy opening of something flying around and only getting glimpses of what’s happening from his eyes. We find out that it was all a damn dream from our main character. Taro Komori seems like a rather normal boring guy who lives with a family of brewers. And yet they bring up strange things about his past that seem to be bothering him. I can’t lie, even with knowing the description of the anime; this all was a bit confusing in the beginning. They jump around a lot and the only thing I really got was that Taro was read more
Feb 16, 2008
sacradin (All reviews)
Preliminary
Discover the new different reality of world and boundaries of spirit world.. at first i think it will only become the straight storyline and basic concept of anime..

progressively it become mysterious and become a gripping story that you can't past over

very touching and brain-minded. it's a film that make you feel what is the different perception of reality...

Good Art from I.G Studios combined with remarkable storyline makes this film get two thumbs..


Awesome Work
Jan 9, 2016
HumanBean (All reviews)
When an anime has to include cliff hangers every episode in order to make the viewer keep watching, then it's not worth watching. I can't even begin to describe how many things the anime does wrong, since there are 22 episodes worth of things. The goofy ghosts and exceptionally weak main character aren't helping.

Please, for the love of god, don't get trapped like I did. I saw a 7.63 but a few 10 and 9 reviews and thought, hey maybe it's not that bad (I had just seen the awesome Shinsekai Yori and Ghost Hound was recommended as like that).

The only reason I watched this read more
Dec 4, 2013
R3353 (All reviews)
Where do I begin?... The premise is nice. The execution was fair.

Taro (our whiney main-main character), Makoto (rebel extraordinaire) and Masayuki (professional milf hunter) are our three almost immediate MC's for this evening. They all have dramatic pasts that lead them to spend the rest of their days with regret not far from their minds. Masayuki is the bridge that connects Tarou and Makoto with his intrusive personality. Miyako is later introduced as main character 4? yeah... I guess we just hand out MC like it's no big deal around here. Don't question it. Read the synopsis if you want more, but it's really read more
May 5, 2010
aindah (All reviews)
In short, this is one of the best anime series I have seen so far. In one word it’s profound, and it’s a must-see, regardless of the genre you prefer. The only thing that made me falter in giving it a ten was the art which I did not enjoy at all. It’s too simplistic and disproportional. But it actually manages to compensate in a way I thought it impossible.
The story starts off innocently. There's a boy named Taro who has had a very traumatic experience with which he tries to deal with. However, the feel of the story is ominous from the beginning. read more
Mar 31, 2010
beamriflex (All reviews)
This is not a synopsis.

Ghost Hound is an anime that I stumbled across a year and a half ago while looking for more fuel for a horror genre anime craze that I managed to suffer. Upon watching the first episode and nearly quitting halfway through, I dropped the series... until three weeks ago. I started watching it again, I decided I was going to drill my mind right through it. So I did. I found that the, boring, static plot was unfolding very slowly. There were no lovable or badass characters as far as I'm concerned, nothing interesting, nothing read more
Jan 11, 2008
lordvizard (All reviews)
Preliminary
I have been watching this anime now for only 2 episode's so i can't really say much about it, but its very intressting am at episode 2 and the story get a bit deep alrighty so i think the story is very much deep and understandable and its also a little bit dark. The story as i am now at is about that kid taro witch has been in a very dramatic and shocking event in the past witch his big sister died and he try's realy hard to find out who the kiddnaper is or was. he's having nightmarres and out of body expirens... read more
Nov 16, 2011
Borneo (All reviews)
When I first encountered this Anime, I was really excited because it was advertised as a dark, edgy show that was well produced; qualities that are very difficult to find in most shows. The setting is in a small town that gives off such unsettling vibes that it sometimes gives the feeling that it could have been picked up by the silent hill franchise. The characters are introduced well, and begin to get fleshed out with a plot that deviates completely from the classic Anime stereotypes. In short, this Anime looks and sounds beautiful.

read more
Jan 15, 2009
Ta-kun (All reviews)
I kind of have mixed feelings towards Ghost Hound. Being into MindF$#k type animes like Lain and Higurashi the plot immediately intrigued me. The eerie opening with the song Poltergeist was one of the few selective openings I didn't skip over after a few episodes(it set the mood). Now on the topic of the story, I really enjoyed the complex plot. The art is dark and well-done which definitely adds to the creepy element(which hardly lets off until the latter episodes). The sound in this anime is definitely it's strong point. It could be called brilliant in terms of building up read more
Aug 10, 2011
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Wow, this was a great thriller title. Ghost Hound implemented use of psychological and philosophical elements to look into the developments surrounding the central characters of the series and piecing together the mysterious occurrences within the small town of Suiten. Like Serial Experiments Lain, Ghost Hound retains a subdued, mundane mood throughout its run during the show's normal mode and bumps up its suspense during moments when the boys experience out-of-body experiences in the spirit realm and dream of memories from their tragic pasts. The series does rather well at fleshing out the tragic pasts of Taro, Masayuki and Makoto where the series gets into read more
Apr 4, 2015
PhKay (All reviews)
Shinreigari: Ghost Hound is a 22 episodes long Psychological/Mystery anime by Production IG that came out in 2007. After i finished it just recently, my first thought was: "Man, i can´t believe it took me so long until i finally watched this!"

However...this show centers around three high school boys with traumatic experiences in the past, who try to solve a mysterious puzzle in the small mountain village of Suiten.

I was mentally prepared for a brainf*** since Ghost Hound was created by the same guy who did Ghost in the Shell and a few important staff members also worked on Serial Experiments Lain. Nevertheless, despite read more