Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Hitsugi no Chaika: Avenging Battle


Alternative Titles

English: Chaika -The Coffin Princess- Avenging Battle
Synonyms: Hitsugi no Chaika 2nd Season, Hitsugi no Chaika Second Season
Japanese: 棺姫のチャイカ AVENGING BATTLE

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 10
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 9, 2014 to Dec 11, 2014
Premiered: Fall 2014
Broadcast: Thursdays at 01:05 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Bones
Source: Light novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.281 (scored by 76,550 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #25772
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #732
Members: 138,617
Favorites: 155

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 10, 2014
Stark700 (All reviews)
Hitsugi no Chaika is a show of peculiar nature, one based on a fantasy premise but is able to explore in depth of its potentials. The sequel, Hitsugi no Chaika: Avenging Battle wastes no time as it returns with our trio of adventurers. For those who have seen the first season, then it should be known that Chaika, Toru, and Akari are still on their quest to find Emperor Gaz’s remains. But throughout that journey, conflicts arise and dangers lurk in the shadow for the group to deal with. From this sequel, we learn more about their world, characters, and secrets that may invoke more read more
Mar 19, 2015
kaizersaber (All reviews)
Every once in a while you stumble upon gems amid a sea of plain, gray stones, and to me, Hitsugi no Chaika was one of them. While it was nowhere close to being a masterpiece, Chaika explores certain themes and original ideas that few anime are able to. This action-adventure flick can get a little boring sometimes, but certainly pays off towards the end.

TL;DR
Story: 7/10
Art: 8/10
Sound: 10/10
Character: 6/10
Enjoyment: 7/10
Overall: 7/10 (rounded down from 7.25)

Good points:
+ Adorable main moe lead (Chaika)
+ Great action & fighting scenes with myriad of magical abilities
+ Huge set of varied and interesting supporting characters
+ Significant plot twists throughout development
+ Excellent OP read more
Apr 18, 2016
LeaderTGW (All reviews)
Ha ha! man! this show got even more awesome!

The animation along with the intense amount of action was almost flawless! Thrilling! exciting, I mean the overall quality increased, and you can tell that the animators had themselves a jolly good time working on season 2.

There were so many things that I liked first one being that the main story is finally a clear as to who or what Chaika's are. Along with the main story that back-story that I've wanted has finally been explained too! because there were a few more questions I had as to why there were so many chaika's and honestly read more
Dec 13, 2014
KingdomHeart (All reviews)
I waited till the whole anime was over. Warning! It may contain spoilers. I try not to.

The anime is done now. I don't know about the manga. I was pleased by the first season and more excited by the second season. The story was good through the whole season except the last episode. It felt like easily done, we don't have the time to make it perfect. But still the rest of the anime make it all a good fit. I wished to see more of the battles for the remains of the emperor.

The characters where nice. I wished to see a lot more read more
Dec 10, 2014
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my reddit thread)

A famous piece of music contains the line, "War, what is it good for?" And the response is, "Absolutely nothing." War brings about destruction, famine, despair, and global bloodshed. While not technically nothing, it's definitely something that shouldn't be desired. Yet, for some people, war, or to a lesser degree, violence, is just in the nature of their hearts. Some describe war as an inevitability, while others still attempt to thwart such onslaughts. Hitsugi no Chaika: Avenging Battle is a mix of the two ideas, a mix that is a significant step down from the original season.

STORY

Avenging Battle read more
Dec 20, 2014
titoman12 (All reviews)
Hello everyone!
I was expecting much from this season of Chaika, after I finished watching the first season expecting much from the second and was great.
The story of getting the remains of the parents has been fine integrante, namely because they had other Chaikas, the battles, music (the opening fabulous), well designed characters, I love Fredrica :3 ,and art make this anime in my opinion one the best of 2014.
I would have given it a 10/10 but I feel that some things were in the air (must watch the anime and you will realize) and just 10 chapters seemed a final very forced.
9/10 Recommended 100%
thank read more
Dec 11, 2014
Tres_Bandidas (All reviews)
Anime...Hitsugi no Chaika: Avenging Battle....now finish, man I'm speaking like Yoda, here, anyways the season 2 is finally over and for that I'm gonna make my review.

Story

What we have is basically a continuation of the previous season where a Chaika finally accomplishes her mission....of course it was in a indirect situation where she has to fight to gain possession of Arthur Gaz's parts and like any quest it has to end. What I like about the story of this anime is how she keep her goal to bury his father's remains which of course it ended in a very good climax despite of the rush, read more
Dec 10, 2014
PyraXadon (All reviews)
There seems to be a trend going on with anime these days. With any show with 13 episodes gets a sequel, there always seems to only be an allotted 10 episodes for the sequel. I dunno why. Anyway, real introduction time. Chaika, Chaika, Chaika. When a word is said over and over again, it is said that it will lose its meaning eventually as the same syllables are played over like a broken record. But what happens when you put a little something...more into a word's meaning, hmm?

Story (7.43/10): The story of Hitsugi no Chaika: Avenging read more
Oct 15, 2018
Seregosa (All reviews)
So, this will be a long one, the long story short, it really sucks. It loses all the initial charm in season 1 and it results in all characaters being horrible, I don't feel strongly for a single character and there are more plot holes than the holes in swiss cheese. It's a waste of time, utterly.

Season two further went down a bad path and the flaws became all the more apparent for various reasons, be it the rushed pace, the more "serious" mood, the horrible settings and decisions or the characters themselves. Thus the score had to be lowered greatly, actually I should’ve read more
Jan 3, 2015
Plinius (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hitsugi no Chaika: Avenging Battle

Where the story ends by finding all the remains of the most powerful wizard of all time.
By this phrase, I think you can guess how is this going to end...you know...he is the most powerful wizard of all time, and the smartest (or not).

I got to be honest, I was kind disappointed with the second season. The first season had most of the story pretty cooked to be eaten on this season..But still this being an action anime, we didn't’ get the opportunity to see much action. The fight were probably the down side of this season, were there was read more
Dec 10, 2014
EpicSawce (All reviews)
The original "Hitsugi no Chaika"was a pleasant surprise for most people. It started out as your average fantasy- filled with magic, swords, and a quest. It was slowly, but nicely, paced; however, it left the viewer with a lot of questions. "Hitsugi no Chaika: Avenging Battle" set out to answer what was left in the air, and possibly conclude the series.

The story in Chaika 2 started out very poor. It lost the intensity that the ending of Chaika 1 had, although many sequels do. The show leisurely found a footing and made its linear path to an almost read more
Dec 10, 2014
emberreviews (All reviews)
As I've stated before, the trend of split-cour TV series (a series that will air its first half, take a season off, and then air its second half) has become increasingly more popular in the anime industry. Not only does it give the writers more time to think of ideas for the second half, but it also allows them to budget the animation better. By this logic, the second half should be just as good, if not better, than the first half, but is this always the case?

read more
Dec 10, 2014
evilteddybear101 (All reviews)
The continuation of Hitsugi No Chaika...continues Hitsugi no Chaika. It doesn't improve upon it, it isn't a lot worse than the original, it just...continues.

Differences from the first season: The pacing of the story events is faster and the focus has partially shifted away from Tohru as the main character.

Similarities: Half of the episodes leading in to the climax have no point. The plot and characters don't really develop at all. Well, a couple of the side characters developed a bit this season, just none of the main three. The anime makes up for all this by having an intriguing premise and interesting world building or read more
Apr 6, 2015
-Neptune- (All reviews)
Since this is the Second Season, most unanswered questions were answered here. Hitsugi no Chaika: Avenging Battle puts forth new questions in a deeper story about memories which define one's personality.

Story: 9/10
The story that was started in the previous First Season ends here in the Second Season as we get to explore it in more depth. The conclusion was fitting, but felt a little bit rushed towards the end, especially the last episode. The pacing was fine throughout the other episodes otherwise. The story becomes more complex in this season as darker secrets appear to be uncovered. Sometimes sequels will completely ruin a show and read more
Aug 24, 2015
JustAkitteh (All reviews)
i actually think the story of the sequel was splendidly done. The anime actually started half way where they ended the first season, to continue the story and have answered a lot of question that the first season has not given. if you've watched the first season and liked it, wanting the answers. you should watch this, i loved how they ended it.

Overall: this is the sequel for the anime " Hitsugi no Chaika", i rated it 8/10 since it has given more than the first season. enjoy
Mar 30, 2015
DanteMustDie8907 (All reviews)
Hitsugi no Chaika - Avenging Battle - 7/10

Before we start, let me warn you, Hitsugi no Chaika was my first ever anime, so keep it in mind while reading this review.

Short Review:
Art is ok, budget is kinda low but at least it's watchable so, it lacks CGI or cinematic effects so, to be fair it's a 6/10
Sound is ok, voice actors really did push some unique voices and personalities, the episode BGM is bland, but the Opening and Ending makes up for it so 7/10
Characters don't really have any depth whatsoever, but they are likable, maybe not as likable as say Cowboy Bebop, but still read more
Oct 5, 2017
oappo (All reviews)
S2's focus is not on running around collecting the remains, but rather what comes after that. S2 sets up the conclusion very nicely. It's a nice change of pace. For the most part, the plot was told well. It also focuses on more than just Chaika and friends.

As for it's issues, there are too many underdeveloped characters. This is a very big, glaring problem. It feels like some characters got ignored or even screwed over. Akari, for example,pretty much got no characterisation. Character are tied to the plot to an extent, so this hurts that in turn. Particularly in the last 2 or 3 episodes. read more
Dec 11, 2014
xgunawan (All reviews)
Hitsugi no Chaika as a quite phenomenal series with the main character, Chaika, back with a second season. Still using the same theme in the first season, we were taken to see Chaika collect the pieces of her father's corpse despite the doubts and the mystery behind the Chaika herself. Accompanied by Tooru Acura and Akari Acura, also loli dragon Frederica, this second season solves up various mysteries that were encountered during the first season.

With the use of the same themes in the first season until the third episode, we were taken to Chaika adventure in finding the heroes who have the pieces of her read more
Jan 6, 2015
Playcool (All reviews)
Having enjoyed alot the first season, I was expecting the second one to be at least good.
Not diving much further into.
It meet my expectations, and while it had slower, more boring episodes, the story was still interesting, the music was great to be point I never skipped the OPs, the characters, again if you enjoyed the first season, you know what to expect, Frederica is charming like always, the main cast trio is likeable, the supporting characters do they job, sure the anime has some flaws, some pacings issues, and japanese nonsense, but you see the anime till the end, and those cease to read more
May 22, 2015
ratchet573 (All reviews)
The hardest part of being a critic of anything is deciding whether to give in to your snobbish, critical side or to allow yourself to actually enjoy the things you watch. It’s a problem a lot of hardcore critics have to deal with and something that doesn’t translate well in the written word. I have written many reviews stating that an anime has problems but I heavily enjoyed it, something that seems contradictory to many, especially when the score reflects a better product than what is actually seen.

Thus, Chaika: The Coffin Princess, an anime I had such a hard time reviewing because I loved it read more