Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Saint☆Oniisan (Movie)


Alternative Titles

English: Saint☆Young Men (Movie)
Synonyms: Saint☆Onii-san (Movie), Saint Onii-san (Movie)
Japanese: 聖☆おにいさん

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: May 10, 2013
Producers: Aniplex, Kodansha, Toho
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Manga
Duration: 1 hr. 29 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.921 (scored by 24,789 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #6882
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1709
Members: 53,067
Favorites: 269

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 3, 2013
Uniju (All reviews)
I'm just going to start this review with: I legitimately feel that watching this film has expanded my understanding of my own faith and I encourage others to watch it if they are looking for the same sort of spiritual experience that I had.

This anime shows a very candid look at how people of different faiths can come together and treat each other well without conflict in these turbulent modern times, and will likewise instill good morals upon the viewer regardless of their own religion. By showing how the founders of these religions themselves might act in these situations this anime sets a very good read more
Jan 10, 2015
tehnominator (All reviews)
If you can get behind conceptualising Jesus as the type of guy who'd be flattered at a comparison to Johnny Depp, or Buddha as the kind of person who takes too-long showers because he's just a couple more minutes away from enlightenment, then you'll definitely get a kick out Saint Young Men.

Jesus and Buddha -- the actual beings themselves -- decide to take an extended vacation on earth, with their tourist destination being ("Exotic!") Japan. The result is this slice of life comedy that is miraculously charming and inoffensive. The movie doesn't have a clear storyline, but consists of vignettes of their vacation in a read more
Sep 8, 2015
Kaiyume (All reviews)
I have to say right off the bat: this is one of the few anime that made me laugh out loud. Not "type lol but actually sort of smirk a little" but actually laugh at the comedy, so loud that my neighbors probably think I'm crazy now.

Everything about this anime feels simple, but gives off this warm feeling of awesome. The art, with the two main characters drawn differently from the rest, the story with its small twists and turns through Japanese life, and the way it so casually plays with symbols of two major religions - all of this is simply bound to read more
Feb 1, 2014
WdaCdaShdaDid (All reviews)
I have not read the manga and I am neither Christian nor Buddhist. This was just a 'that looks interesting' watch. And I am very happy I watched it.

The story is about Jesus and Buddha while on holiday to spend some time in modern-day Japan and they're also very good friends and roommates. They're both a bit clueless in regards to various modern customs (especially in relation to religious celebrations related to them), so most of the hilarity comes from their reactions to that. It's interesting to see how they react to being somewhat sinful and indulgent or when something good happens (e.g., Buddha's head read more
Jan 1, 2014
Syurelia (All reviews)
This show is very hard to watch. The main characters, Jesus and Buddha, simply act like 12-year old immature girls. Even worse than that. And I really mean it. You can see them making girly gestures, screaming in high-pitched voices, overreacting over nothing, getting excited and emotional like a girl. That's not what I expected from seeing the holy figures. They were transformed into beings with the mentality of a middle-school girl.

I actually felt like giving this movie a chance, thinking it would get better over time. But, after 40 minutes, I couldn't watch it anymore. There is almost none story progression. Just a cliched read more
Oct 23, 2016
Luuji222 (All reviews)
I've found a great anime while searching for a seinen-slice of life genre. I never thought about this unique and imaginative story they have created. The two of the most popular and respective religious figure having an anime that didn't follow the historical story about them. I'm glad I gave this a try. I get hooked and enjoy every second of it.

For those religious viewers. Don't worry, there are no scenes that can offend you. I know jesus and buddha are respectable character, but the joke are well used.

story: 10
The story is pretty unique and original. Looks like the author just came up read more
Mar 15, 2017
MasonOcker (All reviews)
Say, roughly two weeks ago, I was watching some Gigguk videos on YouTube, as I had just recently gotten back into anime, and I had heard about him. He was apparently a really funny dude, and I do agree with the consensus. However, in his video "5 Anime Concepts I'd Like To See," he mentioned a concept so absurd that I simply had to watch it- Jesus and Buddha living together in an apartment in Tokyo. As soon as I heard this, I was instantly interested in seeing whether or not such a concept would be funny or not. I watched the mini-series beforehand, and read more
Jan 1, 2015
Budakang (All reviews)
A Brilliant concept with incredible potential. Which just made it that much more disappointing.
Poorly executed. Only a couple good moments in the whole show. A seemingly very limited understanding of both Jesus and Buddha; certainly not a deep enough understanding to actually provoke serious pathos or ethos. Plus.... They squandered almost every opportunity for humor.
Mar 29, 2014
GChan (All reviews)
Never heard of this manga but after reading the concept for the movie? I had to watch.

Jesus and Buddha decide to take a vacation together and pick Japan. They wind up sharing a place together in an apartment building run by a senior citizen that's so scary that both quiver in her presence. There's also a trio of bratty kids who want to poke Buddha's third eye and think he's an alien.

There's no plot really in the movie; it's just sketches of everything from a dead-on parody of Disneyland to Buddha trying to teach Jesus to swim(and discovering that Jesus is quite a fraidy read more
May 27, 2014
WinstonWingZhang (All reviews)
First of all, for a film that uses such a controversial hook, I must state my inevitable bias, and that is I am a Christian who is somewhat knowledgeable (I dare not proclaim myself an expert) about my own faith with a bit of understanding of Buddhism and its teachings. Therefore, before you get heated and declare me unhelpful, know where I stand in relation to you on this subject, thus if you are not a person of faith and have no real interest in hearing what I might have to say, then just do us both a favor and skip my review. With read more
Feb 12, 2014
AristocraticZed (All reviews)
When I first heard the synopsis of this movie, I was a bit reluctant and dismissed this as another, "oh, these are just the Japanese being weird." but then I just suddenly watched it not knowing what's in store for me. And I'm just glad I did. It's rare for anime to delve into the world of religion and seeing it in a slice of life/comedy aspect was interesting to say the least.

I immediately knew I shouldn't take this too seriously after seeing their lives in Japan. What people don't recognize is that this is slice of life and comedy so the lack of read more
Sep 27, 2016
Ruttone (All reviews)
Spoiler free.

Story: 7

This movie is all about the "daily adventure" of Buddha and Jesus, who chose to make a vacation in the modern Japan...and that's enough strange, in a good sense.
We'll going to watch various "chapters" that depict different "daily", or anyhow common, situation, and the original way that the characters have to face them.
Despite the division of the movie in different "chapters" the time dedicated and the time's flow are well balanced and each story result interesting and funny.

Art: 7

As i usually say, the art have primarily to "fit" the kind of work that have to be presented, and in Saint☆Oniisan does it's read more
Dec 28, 2013
iloveschool101 (All reviews)
this movie was hard to get though, i just kept wanting to turn it off and finish it later, if i felt like it. the art/animation was the only thing keeping me going, that and i wanted to seen the Christmas sense. it was slow and confusing at points. almost felt like it should of been 15 minute episode but the creator pushed it together into an hour and half.
Jan 1, 2018
FoxThrowaway (All reviews)
This anime covers the story of Jesus and Buddha who come to Earth on a vacation. It's filled with all kinds of mischief and fun. If you're looking for something to cheer you up, look no further than this.

The story is just that, they're here for vacation. It might sound boring to some, but it's the funniest anime I've seen in a while.

It's filled with religious jokes and their roles and abilities as Gods are used in a clever and funny way. The sound is pretty good as well, there is quite a lot of "in mind" dialogue which is great as the dialogue itself.

The read more
May 22, 2015
ratchet573 (All reviews)
Saint Young Men has the kind of premise that you just have to watch no matter what you’re a fan of. Jesus and Buddha are roomies, on vacation in the mystical world of modern Japan, and get into all kind of antics? This could either be really good or really bad.

Thankfully, Saint Young Men is a fun, silly, and in no way painful movie. When you think about Jesus and Buddha starring in a movie together, you instantly think low-brow humor. Religious figures in a comedy film tends to lead to derogatory and easy attacks on the characters, sometimes vitriolic rather than intelligent. Saint Young read more