Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Code Geass: Hangyaku no Lelouch


Alternative Titles

English: Code Geass: Lelouch of the Rebellion
Synonyms: Code Geass: Hangyaku no Lelouch
Japanese: コードギアス 反逆のルルーシュ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 6, 2006 to Jul 29, 2007
Premiered: Fall 2006
Broadcast: Fridays at 01:25 (JST)
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.821 (scored by 493,275 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #222
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #6
Members: 754,923
Favorites: 52,740

Reviews

kiriska
Jun 5, 2008
I was incredibly skeptical about Code Geass at first, but I'm very pleased to say that I was greatly surprised.

STORY - Before I saw this series, it was described to me on multiple occasions as "Death Note with mechas." After seeing it, however, I am inclined to disagree. The similarities between the two series are superficial at best, and though I can see why people would draw the comparison, I don't really think that dis/liking one means that you'll dis/like the other. But anyway, unlike Death Note, I wouldn't say that the story in Code Geass is particularly notable or unique. It's actually rather straightforward read more
I found this review Helpful
Plun
Aug 31, 2008
Code Geass is one of my favorite anime. Why? It's filled with so much action, bombastic dialogue, and has such eye-catching visuals that it tops the charts in entertainment value. This is an exciting and epic anime and it's over the top.

For some people, the plot, characters, and music alone is bad enough to make the show unwatchable. For others, the high action, flashy animation, and drama will be more than enough to make the show a favorite of all time though I like everything about Code Geass.

Story: Lelouch Lamperouge appears to be a typical high school student at Ashford Academy in the read more
I found this review Helpful
Isambard
Dec 27, 2008
Alright, its taken me since April to reach this point so I may as well dispense with any further delays and say it outright. Code Geass: Lelouch of the Rebellion is not a masterpiece, it isn’t a great show nor is it a very good one. What it is is a marginally good television program that takes concepts and characters from a wide variety of successful anime productions from the last decade and stitches them all together into twenty-five episodes of vulgarity and excess, a Frankenstein’s monster of a production that has the cold manufactured feel of a product of a focus read more
I found this review Helpful
Hiromi
Mar 27, 2007
A new Gundam series is being announced! Naruto: Shippuden is finally beginning! KyoAni is doing something new! RomeoXJuliet!

These are titles that attract us to the newest animes, but Code Geass, much like our beloved Suzumiya Haruhi was (and is) a fall/winter sleeper success. This anime, backed by Sunrise, director Goro Taniguchi (s-CRY-ed, Gun X Sword) and scriptwriter Ichiro Okouchi (Azumanga, RahXephon, Eureka 7) showcases an excellent engine of entertainment.

Story
A key part of any mecha/action anime. Code Geass is set in an alternate reality in which it appears the American Revolution during the late 1700s was quelled and Britain went on to conquer the read more
I found this review Helpful
TheWestExit
Aug 19, 2007
Directed by Goro Taniguchi, arguably one of the best directorial talents left at studio Sunrise, and written by his Planetes screenwriter Ichiro Okouchi, Code Geass promised to be a true epic series in the making. An interesting alternate history, a lead character that promised to evolve into a ruthless rebel seeking revenge against the father and the country that ruined his and his sisters life and a dash of mecha added into the mix for good measure. So why did it turn into such a complete circus? An absolute mess of jumbled ideas never touched upon in any way that isn`t absurd or laughable, a read more
I found this review Helpful
-Naami-
Aug 24, 2009
Yet another review for the highly acclaimed Code Geass. I believe this is the 98th review C.G would’ve received; but I can’t help but review this even if so many others have.

How does such a blatant horribly written show gorging with clichés and plotholes ever be compared to the likes of or considered as Death Note’s rival? I suppose it's because both shows were aired at the same time in Japan. I suppose it's because of "how uncanny" the resemblance between the two anti-heros are. And I suppose it's because they feature "the ends justify the means" views and morals. I started read more
I found this review Helpful
7Th
Oct 22, 2007
Probably one of the most blatantly obvious train-wrecks of bad writing in the history of serial visual narrative production, shamefully destroying its own at first stimulating concept of alternate reality with awful characterizations, extremely weak script and cheap developments that only serve the purpose of working as a “shock-factor” to keep the audience entranced beyond the notice of a very clear lack of sequential planning.

Honestly speaking, the show is certainly fun and even held itself within certain quality standard during the irregularly interesting initial 11 episodes but as characters exponentially lose their own minds and personalities we are nothing else but witnesses of the now read more
I found this review Helpful
TheLlama
Nov 15, 2008
Code Geass is set in a alternate reality where the Britannian Empire has conquered more than one third of the world and counting, and that includes Japan. In said Japan, now called "Area 11" - and its inhabitants "elevens" -, a Britannian student named Lelouch Lamperouge finds himself thrown into a cycle of events that ultimately leads to him gaining a power known as the "Geass", a power allowing him to force anyone to obey any order he gives to them. Together with his hate for Britannia, he uses his newfound powers to gain followers and eventually bring forth a war against the oppressive Britannian read more
I found this review Helpful
iamjoe
Oct 25, 2008
Code Geass is awesome. If you have any qualms against it, whether you dislike mecha or anything like that, put it aside and watch a few episodes. Then you'll see what I mean when I say that Code Geass is a great anime.

If you want an anime that is going to leave you on the edge of your seat, biting your nails, waiting impatiently for the next scene--this is for you.

Art is pretty decent. It's very colourful. The animation is also good--the action sequences are well drawn.

The characters are all interesting. Never have I seen an anime with a cast of read more
I found this review Helpful
Xerxes4158
Oct 18, 2007
Some people like to attribute Code Geass's success to the fact that it is a Sunrise mecha. Personally, I'd like to think that it succeeds (critically) despite the fact that it is a Sunrise mecha. Code Geass manages to establish a believable backdrop from which it launches a compelling plot along with motivated and realistic characters, something that has been missing from the last few Gundam series produced by Sunrise. It injects a plot where the focus is finally on the characters and the events surrounding them, rather than the machines that they use to fight. In fact, it could be read more
I found this review Helpful
phs_togusa
May 10, 2015
The most succinct way to describe Code Geass is to call it a cross between Death Note and MEGAS XLR/Gurren Lagann with a generous helping of your average ecchi harem SOL romantic comedy and a dash of Evangelion thrown into the mix. Does it work? Not exactly. Code Geass is one of those shows that brings a lot of good stuff to the table but fucks it up in so many ways once the script comes into question. There are more plot holes here than there are potholes on the Grand Central Parkway, and whether or not that's hyperbole is entirely up for you to read more
I found this review Helpful
lawlmartz
Mar 10, 2015
"I was dead until the moment I met you. I was a powerless corpse pretending to be alive. Living without power, without the ability to change my course, was bound to a slow death." -Lelouch Lamperouge

Preface:
I've been debating a review of Code Geass for a while now, and I was really unsure of where to start, given how expansive the story is, and how immense the cast of characters is coupled with everything that I have to say about it. So, that said, this will be a two part review, one for Code Geass part one, and one for R2.


Overview:
Let me first read more
I found this review Helpful
phpwind6
Sep 22, 2009
Code Geass is the most overrated anime on the top 20 list.

Although it has a fast-paced plot with quite a few surprises along the way (which is why I finished 25 episodes), I cannot help but feel that it was a complete waste of time.

It seems to me that the creators of Geass sit together, with trend analysis graphs and bar charts on the table, pick out popular elements of the recent years and just throw them into this anime.

So at the end, we get a villain as the main character (Death Note?), lots of read more
I found this review Helpful
ZakuCustom
Jan 5, 2008
Code Geass is one of those series that can inspire praise, hatred or mere ridicule, depending on what is expected or what can be tolerated. Curiously, I find entirely valid reasons behind each of those reactions. There's still a bit of this and that, to put it bluntly, but perhaps the lines aren't quite as clear as they seem.

In short, I enjoyed the series and still find that its virtues and sheer fun factor outweigh its objective flaws, but I'm worried about the future. Whether or not the inevitable sequel picks up the slack, addresses existing concerns or drops the ball completely is something that read more
I found this review Helpful
Pipluphmv
May 3, 2015
The following is a review for Code Geass Lelouch of the Rebellion as well as it's second season R2. Enjoy!

Important Notes:
Before we get into the actual review, I believe a quick bit of back story is important. Code Geass was first conceptualized at Sunrise Animation in hopes to create a show that would appeal to a wide range of audiences. The idea originally only entailed a underground resistance leader leading a double life. The idea was then given to the manga author team of Clamp for character designs, (both physical and portions of other aspects as well) a partnership which continued read more
I found this review Helpful
holdenn
Sep 17, 2008
There some mecha's that achieve near brilliance, and others that are rendered useless in their awkward failure. Code Geass is neither of this.

I started Code Geass as soon as the first episode aired.. Yes, I have enjoyed it very much. But to my surprise, on the arrival of the 13th episode, Code Geass took the anime industry by storm. Like a moth to a flame, people crowded the anime and simply worshiped it(God knows how many CC fans are being born as of this moment). Much as Ive enjoyed Code Geass, it does not do justice to be considered what it is today. In read more
I found this review Helpful
Visceras
Jan 27, 2015
I'm here to talk about the both seasons of Code Geass. I don´t want to make 2 reviews about it so i will do as i did with Clannad.


Code Geass .. one of the best rated animes here on MAL .. for sure it deserves it !

Story: (9/10). It is a complex story, usually or this go terribly wrong, or goes extremely well. It depend if it gets confuse or not. This story starts to be a normal one, but then with some twists we get lost for some time until we figure everything out at the end. The plot is original and read more
I found this review Helpful
dogofthemilitary
Mar 12, 2015
I had high hopes for this show, and it certainly delivered.
First off, the story; In 2010, the Holy Empire of Britannia -which rules about a third of the world- decided to invade Japan, the Japanese resistance didn't last long against Britannia's new fighting robots, the Knight-mares. After adding the country to its territories, it was renamed Area 11, with its citizens dubbed 'Elevens'. Now after all of this, the protagonist, Lelouch, vows to destroy Britannia. 7 years later, he gets caught up in a terrorist attack and the mysterious girl C.C. grants him the power of 'Geass', the ability to make anyone obey your order. read more
I found this review Helpful
game8910
Mar 1, 2008
At first when i heard of how great Geass was and then I learned it was a mecha show, I was a bit reluctant to watch it since I am not a big fan of mecha. But once I sat down and watched code geass I was really impressed at how good it was.

Story: The story of this anime is one of the best I've seen and it is highly enjoyable. At the end of every episode I had the urge to quickly watch the next because of how incredible this show was giving you all this conflict and plot twists at would just leave read more
I found this review Helpful
Spock96
Apr 4, 2015
The anime doesn't waste any time and jumps straight into action and to the point. The anime contains lots of various elements as in technology, super powers, intellect etc. which COULD HAVE ruined it due to over crowding of too many features BUT as they are well planned and placed, it complements to the story and keeps the views entertained and occupied thoroughly. The interesting combination and relations of the character is what I liked the best which keeps the momentum of the anime going and makes the anime more interesting. However the battle of the wits and intellect is my favorite part of the read more
I found this review Helpful