Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Pokemon Advanced Generation


Alternative Titles

English: Pokemon: Advanced
Synonyms: Pocket Monsters: Advanced Generation, Advanced Challenge, Advanced Battle, Battle Frontier
Japanese: ポケットモンスター アドバンスジェネレーション

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 192
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Nov 21, 2002 to Sep 14, 2006
Premiered: Fall 2002
Broadcast: Thursdays at 19:00 (JST)
Studios: OLM
Source: Game
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG - Children

Statistics

Score: 7.181 (scored by 63,483 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #30462
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1005
Members: 106,432
Favorites: 371

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 5, 2009
Skylavis (All reviews)
Preliminary
*cough* I noticed no people wrote a review for this, so I'll make one myself *cough* And my first review...If you don't like to read this review, then go away >_>.

Pokemon Advance is very enjoyable to watch, followed by Ash (Satoshi) and co. traveling on the whole Hoenn region. This anime also brought me to love Pokemon! How? Uhh...long story, but Pokemon Emerald was my first game and that game brought me on loving Pokemon.

Characters: 8
Anyway, let me start. I love the story of Pokemon, even I only watched *cough* five or more...I just watch random episodes of the anime, that's all. The characters? Hmm...Ash read more
Jan 29, 2010
SakuraForever (All reviews)
I didn't expect many reviews on this chp. of pokemon. The history of pokemon had done so well up until this point, as seen by many. However, hardcore/loyal pokemon fans stuck around and watched the entire ADV generation. We embraced the new characters, though many did not want to see old ones retire away. We took note of even more pokemon added to anime, though some felt the originals could never be replaced. The games were stellar, I've played every single pokemon game out there and I can honestly say ruby/sapphire or emerald are must haves. So what is about ADV? I mean, it should read more
Feb 27, 2017
Lil-Bird (All reviews)
Note: Given the nature of this series, this review will be split into two parts to cover both the Hoenn League and Battle Frontier.

Regardless of what we think of Pokémon, it's a successful franchise, and the original series was popular even with its ups and downs. However, its popularity began to decline during the Johto season, and the Pokémon phenomenon that rocked the world lost its luster. That didn't mean Pokémon was done with, as the Ruby and Sapphire versions rolled around for the fairly young Game Boy Advance on November 21 of 2002 in Japan, and then March 19, 2003 in North America (April read more
Jun 7, 2019
Rascaz (All reviews)
First of all, I'm a 28 years old dude who still loves Pokemon. Me and my brother grew both with Pokemon. And to be honest its still a great serie to watch.

The story in short, you follow Ash with he's journey to become a Pokemon Master. And together with he's friends he will try to conquer the League and the Battle Frontier. There were funny, drama and sometimes sad moments. But overall its still great to watch. (anno 2019).

The artwork in this serie is just decent. Its a old serie and you will see that sometimes. Its easy to watch for kids. Thats all I read more
Feb 13, 2019
PokeFan2112 (All reviews)
Pretty good, but a step down from the Original Series.

In terms of negatives, the contest episodes mostly were pretty boring. A lot of them were all flash but with none of the intensity that usually makes the gym battle episodes so good. The battle centered ones were usually fine, however.

Adding to this, the high amount of tournament arcs, as well as a lighter, more relaxed tone, resulted in there being less interesting episodes than the OS.

But though it was weaker than the original, that doesn't mean it was BAD. There was still more good episodes than not, and quite a few (such as read more
Nov 28, 2015
DarkRaven804 (All reviews)
Pokemon Advanced. Another enjoyable pokemon series. Its full of humor, lovable characters, and a AMAZING soundtrack. Advanced really doesnt fail with the enjoyable formula pokemon is so well known for.

Storyline9/10-NO SPOILERS. Ten year old Ash Ketchum is now on his quest to go to the Hoenen region. He is joined by May, Max, and Broack. Ash once again is going to collect gym badges and become a pokemon master. Pokemon once again has that really fun and enjoyable storyline. Its cute, adventrous and full of laughs. Its like the first series, just newer.

Characters8/10-The charaters are once again, enjoyable, Ash is once again, my favortive, read more
Jan 11, 2019
Lord_Valzin (All reviews)
This one is better than the prequel. This region gets ash in the top, where he might've won first, but this region makes ash start the trend of losing forever to make it seem like he never ages, but he does age, just keeps him looking young.....weird. This season ash gets May and annabelle (second to last frontier brain) there might've been another girl or 2 earlier, but highly doubt it. They scuffed charizard in the end lost first round and didn't defeat a dusclops.
On the contest side of things they did great as a first time, they introduced a gay harley out of nowhere, read more
May 23, 2017
Duckielover151 (All reviews)
So, as anticipated, I did end up enjoying Advanced quite a bit more than the Original for most of my viewing experience. Though you may have noticed that the overall score doesn't reflect that... And it wasn't for the same reasons I'd expected...

As I mentioned in my review for the original series, Hoenn was my generation. I didn't get really into playing the games myself until Sapphire/Ruby. I expected to connect better with Advanced because the towns and gym leaders and some of the special events with teams Aqua and Magma were more familiar to me. But that wasn't really the case. It was kind read more