Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Bishoujo Senshi Sailor Moon Crystal


Alternative Titles

English: Pretty Guardian Sailor Moon Crystal
Synonyms: Pretty Soldier Sailor Moon (2014), Sailor Moon Remake, Bishoujo Senshi Sailor Moon (2014), Sailor Moon Crystal
Japanese: 美少女戦士セーラームーン Crystal

Information

Type: ONA
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 5, 2014 to Jul 18, 2015
Licensors: Viz Media
Studios: Toei Animation
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.001 (scored by 27,200 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #35102
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #959
Members: 79,339
Favorites: 713

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 11, 2014
doodlemancy (All reviews)
Preliminary
I wanted to love this. After the waiting, the uncertainty, biblically-proportioned flood of 20th anniversary merchandise... this wasn't a case of hype killing an experience. Sailor Moon Crystal is an unmitigated disaster in almost every way imaginable.

Let's address the biggest, pinkest elephant in the room from the start: the artwork. I think what happened here was an ambitious idea (trying to mimic Naoko Takeuchi's elaborate manga style in animation) with poor planning and sloppy execution. Visually speaking, they missed the mark. Right from the teaser, people rightfully pointed out that something was off. The first episode looks mostly fine-- not amazing, but ok-- and then read more
Mar 15, 2015
aloricg (All reviews)
Preliminary
I've given up on Sailor Moon Crystal. As a former avid Sailor Moon fan I made it to episode 17 of this series before just completely giving up. It is downright terrible. The art is ugly and everything is so static it reminds me of a low budget flash animation cartoon. Storywise the pacing is dreadful and you'd think that was because there was too much to fit into this condensed manga-esque chapter structure.. but no, 75% of an episode is Usagi crying or dramatic name shouting.

The characters seem braindead. For dramatic purposes in storytelling you often have to have the characters miss a read more
Jul 24, 2015
Ferria (All reviews)
Personally, I was a bit on the edge when watching the trailers. The first couple of episodes really put me off as I am a big fan of the older series and manga, a remake was music to my ears.

The artwork takes a load of time getting used to. Not to mention the 100% CG transformations making the characters look like rubber dolls being stretched to fit their costumes properly.

There was really little effort put into every frame in terms of animation that I felt sick to my stomach just watching it, but... as a loyal fan, I swallowed that and continued anyway.

As it progresses, read more
Dec 22, 2014
UkiSes (All reviews)
Preliminary
"Fighting evil by moonlight"

For decades now. Sailor Moon has been the legendary all mighty queen of anime, who has launched a million girls (And lots of boys, and hentai artists) fantasies. Sailor Moon finally returns to her awaited throne with the release of Sailor Moon Crystal. However.....question is. Will she fall off her rightful throne? Let's get to it then........

Basically Sailor Moon goes through the same story it has been going through since its own first release during the 1990's. This time around it follows the story from the manga as close as possible. The best thing about Crystal is that. Crystal finally opens read more
Aug 2, 2015
chilon (All reviews)
I'm a big fan of the original series and the manga. This was a huge let down. The animation quality is dreadful, lazy, sloppy and ugly. I think this is best illustrated by Usagi's buns, they are consistently drawn on top of her hair when clearly they should be behind her hair and peaking out over the top; this looks so ugly. Considering major details of the main character are so badly drawn you know what to expect from the rest of the art.

The story in the original anime and manga also came across as very kitsch, I think this was a huge part of read more
Sep 14, 2015
zuziako (All reviews)
I tried not to mind it. I tried to overlook the always-changing faces, the weird camera angles, the god-awful direction. I tried to stay optimistic, and episode after episode I just told myself I'm overreacting. But no more lies. Time to say it - this anime is bad.

Before anybody get's angry - don't get me wrong. Sailor Moon Crystal isn't bad because of the new look, CGI transformations, new voices or new theme music so many people are angry about. These things really don't matter, regardless whether you watched the original 90 version or not.

Sailor Moon Crystal is bad because, to put it plainly, read more
Jul 18, 2015
LuffyVsNaruto (All reviews)
Some spoilers As a child I watched sailor moon on toonami with my other string of shows and it was a childhood favorite so I was really looking forward to this remake but Man this anime was a bumpy ride. I watched the original Sailor Moon series over as I was watching the 1st half of crystal and was comparing them. I had to step back and think of them as 2 separate works so I didn't let my nostalgia ruin what could possibly be a good series.


After I stopped comparing them and just look at this as a stand alone I still had one read more
Dec 7, 2015
Esperano (All reviews)
Preliminary
I tried... I honestly tried - and that's how I managed to get through 16 episodes of this show. The problem however... is that there was nothing to encourage me to continue forward.

The bottom line with me is that I focus primarily on characters and story line when dealing with fiction. Good characters will not excuse a poor story line, and a good story or plot will not excuse weak characters. Crystal had both poor characters and a fairly weak story line.

The thing about the original Sailormoon anime is that the characters were solid enough that they could decently affect how the story was presented. read more
Jul 19, 2015
lennyfanime223 (All reviews)
One thing that's good about this anime is that there's a story, but although things can be mixed, it turns out well in the end. I watched the whole series and it seems to be a good way of seeing off the past and start making plans for the future. That's one sentence for the story that I liked most.

I hope others watch this, and I don't mind if others would have a lot of comments no matter what side. The anime can have its own great moments and its flaws.

Anyway, let's get to the story itself. First off, it's outstanding. The originality of read more
Sep 17, 2016
Pahatar (All reviews)
*English is not my first language! Review will be edited... eventually.*

I can only imagine, that relatively low score for this show is either earned by those, who grew up watching the old show - like yours truly - or from those, who are fans of the manga and not so much of the anime, OR from those, who are just thrown away by this "new-age art style a la CGI"- animation, and think it as a canser of the art-form that so many of us love, and admire - like yours truly! Either way, I'm with them, since the original Sailor Moon is actually one read more
Aug 21, 2015
EbiNewin (All reviews)
The video review is up, but here is the written review.

A remake of well-beloved series with more homage to the plot than the original, but animation slows it down.

Story - 6/10

Usagi Tsukino is just your normal average clumsy, whiny and happy middle schooler girl. Who runs into a cat with crescent shaped moon on her forehead, named Luna. Now this cat magically turns Usagi into Sailor Moon to fight evil. At first Usagi is more shocked and disinterested in fighting, because she is whiny, however becomes use to it eventually. Sailor Moon’s mission is find the other Sailor Guardians, Mercury, Mars, Jupiter and Venus, assemble read more
Oct 24, 2015
Risa_no_hime (All reviews)
I loved every little detail of this new remake. For me it was very faithful to the original resource the manga. As a very big fan of Sailor Moon, I can truly say I enjoyed this new series, I really loved that the manga is brought to life. Now Usagi may finally get her wedding in the anime. Stars in the manga is my favourite season.

The art is very beautiful, the character are not bland like some others say, it's just that the original story focus is Usagi and Mamoru. But it gets better when the next season mugen arc comes and later on. read more
Oct 23, 2015
SailorTuxedo (All reviews)
I'm a big fan of Sailor Moon who's been into the series for years now as it was my gateway intro to anime. I've seen all of the original anime in both Japanese and English, read all of the manga, seen the live action musicals and live action TV show, and I have all of the Sailor V manga. I know there's a lot of cynicism towards Sailor Moon Crystal, but I honestly think it's actually very good and probably my favorite adaptation of the manga. I had always anted an accurate adaptation of the manga as that was always my favorite read more
Mar 17, 2017
Wysteria_ (All reviews)
First of all, I understand why I dropped it in the first place. HUGE dissapointment for someone who grew both reading and watching the original Sailor Moon.

I started to watch the Crystal series when it came out in 2014 and I remembered being super hyped about it. I watched 14 episodes before I dropped it out of boredom. Years later I decided to pick it up again and watch the rest since I was fairly surprised to find out it had two more seasons.

I tried my very best to overlook my nostalgia and compare it the original 90's series since it's bound to read more
Aug 9, 2015
lucie_lucielle (All reviews)
So Sailor Moon Crystal just ended today so here's a review on it :3 (I won't give a summary this time bc SMC had two seasons in one) (maybe minor spoilers)
-----------✿My Opinion✿
When I heard there was going to be another Sailor Moon celebrating the 20th Anniversary, I was so excited but then I saw the voice actresses and the transformations and it reminded me way to much of Pretty Cure. But when it was actually started airing I was super excited and I couldn't wait till the next episode! Sadly they made us wait 2 or 3 weeks for the next episode which completely killed read more
Oct 21, 2015
InsaneLeader13 (All reviews)
"It's like we had a very long dream. A dream that felt like riding on a roller-coaster."
Usagi Tsukino, Episode 26, Sailor Moon Crystal

Now I truly understand why people take such a strong stance against remakes of classic anythings unless it is done near-perfectly.

Let us break this down.

Story: 6/10
Sailor Moon Crystal covers two major arcs, arc one dealing with the Dark Kingdom and the various minions it has. This arc lasts about 13.5 episodes. Arc two deals with the Black Moon Clan and a few of it's minions also, and lasts about 12.5 episodes. Arc one also deals with a blossoming romance between the read more
Jun 16, 2016
meeKlynoT (All reviews)
As someone who grew up watching the original Sailor Moon anime, I was hesitant to watch Sailor Moon Crystal. A huge fan of the series, I heard nothing but awful reviews from friends, YouTube critics, and fellow MAL reviewers. I expected SMC to be a mediocre to poor series. I was, however, surprised.

Story: 8

SMC contrasts with the 1990s anime series as it attempts to more closely the original manga series. The story is therefore more of a translation than an adaptation. As a translation, SMC feels like much closer to its source material than the original anime series. Unnecessary filler and "villain of the week" read more
Nov 21, 2015
hnrbledischarge (All reviews)
My two cents includes nothing that hasn't been said already, at least to my knowledge.

Crystal was super hyped but failed to live up to it. While I enjoy the faster pace of the series and the fact that they generally abandoned the Youma of the Day model, the animation is increasingly hard to ignore. The magic-oriented sequences make the Senshi look as if they're made of rubber, and the overt CGI in the transformations make me think of early Pixar rather than something we'd use in 2015.

My lukewarm reception to this series is truly a heartbreak for me, as Sailor Moon was my gateway to read more
Nov 21, 2016
Seiya-Meteorite (All reviews)
Preliminary
Sailor Moon Crystal, as we all know, is a reboot of the original popular and successful Sailor Moon anime that deserves praise as one of the best anime series ever made, whatever flaws it has, along with the manga that is said to be one of the best manga series ever made. This adaptation is said to be more closer to Naoko Takeuchi's original manga and is an awesome series....or is it? Well, here's what I think.

Unfortunately the first two seasons of this anime are nothing short of a complete disaster, a complete insult to Naoko Takeuchi and the Sailor Moon franchise (anime/manga), and fail read more
Mar 3, 2016
Firechick12012 (All reviews)
Sailor Moon has won fans all over the world, and everybody loved both the anime and the manga. Love for this eponymous magical girl series festered on decades after its inception. When a reboot of the original anime was announced, fans were excited. Two years later, we finally got Sailor Moon Crystal...unfortunately, nowadays, Crystal is seen as spoiled goods, a blemish on what made Sailor Moon great, and nowadays, people hail the 90s anime as being the better adaptation despite it having just as many problems, if not more. Despite it being a straight adaptation of the manga, people have lambasted it left and right, read more