Zero no Tsukaima


The Familiar of Zero

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: The Familiar of Zero
Synonyms: Zero's Familiar
Japanese: ゼロの使い魔

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 3, 2006 to Sep 25, 2006
Premiered: Summer 2006
Broadcast: Mondays at 00:30 (JST)
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Light novel
Genres: ActionAction, AdventureAdventure, ComedyComedy, FantasyFantasy, RomanceRomance
Explicit Genre: EcchiEcchi
Themes: HaremHarem, SchoolSchool
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.281 (scored by 400469400,469 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #25032
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #169
Members: 705,652
Favorites: 7,271

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 14, 2008
Pontifus (All reviews)
I decided to watch Zero no Tsukaima because I wanted a leave-your-brain-out-of-the-equation sort of show, one I could sit back and watch without worrying about a negative outcome or depressing and/or disturbing complications. (Yes, for all my talk about artistic integrity and such, I do watch things for pure and simple fun sometimes.) Zero has most of that, but only to a point, and in the end I was pleasantly surprised at the amount of depth this show manages to pull out of nowhere. I went in expecting another Nanoha, or the first season of Shakugan no Shana all over again, and what I got read more
Dec 31, 2014
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

Do you like Moe? Do you like S&M? Do you like obnoxious female leads? Boy do I have a series for you!

Plot: 3/10

Familiar of Zero is an anime about an ordinary boy named Saito that is forced to be a magical slave to an obnoxious twat that summoned him from Japan to the far away land of extremely generic fantasy Europe. Here he must learn to adapt to his odd new life and learn about the various types of magic users. I am not going to go really in depth with the plot honestly. It soon becomes a very generic harem show and the read more
Apr 14, 2013
ShionxChan (All reviews)
This is my second review of an anime series. Please spare me. xD;
I don't do many reviews on shows but I would like to review on this one. Since this series touched me a lot and its my childhood. :P

One of the series that expanded my variety of anime after Inuyasha and Shana.

Story:

You have Louise, your mage that possess terrible magic and a boy that came from another world. He has to deal with the customs in Louise's world and has to face many obstacles; and with war, I'm not gonna spoil. Or I will try not too.
This series is a comedy, so it read more
Jun 18, 2015
quicksuper (All reviews)
Zero no Tsukaima-- The Familiar of Zero. With a badass name like that, what could go wrong? Awesome action with a really nice romance subplot, now that's what I like in anime. Which isn't what Zero no Tsukaima has. At. All.

Story: 3
To sum up the entire plot in Zero no Tsukaima in one sentence, it would be, "I feel like it'd be a lot better if I was nine." Me, personally, I'm an over analytical prick who over thinks every little thing. But I feel like someone with the IQ of a potato would still find the plot holes in this swiss cheese. To start read more
Jun 22, 2007
jet2r0cks (All reviews)
I can’t say I liked Zero no Tsukaima as much as hormonal, pre-teen male otaku out there.

Plot-wise, I’d say it’s a revamped version of Maburaho. Other than being produced by JC Staff, the two series have other things in common. First off there’s the setting – both series are set in a magic school. There’s also the harem anime aspect – Louise, Siesta (my favorite!) and Kirche are all fighting over the token loser male character, Saito. Finally, there’s the ecchi. It’s a good thing that the ecchi in Zero no Tsukaima isn’t as heavy as Maburaho’s.

It was a stable ride for me during read more
Aug 16, 2008
Sandeep18 (All reviews)

Zero no Tsukaima takes place in an alternate world where magic and dragons exist. The majority of the story takes place at a magical academy where students train to become successful mages. Everybody has their own specialty whether it be earth magic or water. Enter Louise de long name not worth typing out. Louise is a high strung and cocky mage wannabe who can't do much of anything right. Every spell she attempts to cast seems to fail miserably and just blow things up. During the ceremony to summon what is to be your familiar forever more, she ends up summoning a boy by the read more
Apr 8, 2009
Splitter (All reviews)
This one's gonna hurt, folks. My lowest review yet, but you should expect that from a series that capitalizes entirely on cliches without an ounce of originality or effort in any single field. Ladies and gentleman, I give you Zero no Tsukaima.

Getting the technical bits out of the way, Zero no Tsukaima was average in audio and visual. No memorable BGM, forgettable OP, and an irritating ED, but the performances were rather pleasing in some cases. Rie Kugimiya plays the standard tsundere role well, but shines better in scenes where she's interacting with someone that isn't Saito, where her other sides become more apparent, such read more
Jul 23, 2015
Anomylix (All reviews)
Warning: Minor spoilers (that don't really ruin much at all), as you'll see the majority within the first two episodes.

This is a review for all four seasons, posted here to warn you of how much pain you might be coming across. I've watched some pretty bad anime but Zero no Tsukaima and its sequels are very high up. I was spurred to finish it by the suggestion of a friend saying it got better and because I can't stop what I've started. Note - This is my first review and my opinion, think of it as you will.

Story 4/10
Over four seasons half the 50 or read more
Dec 24, 2007
vadeka (All reviews)
Story:
.. not many plots in here and some are realy obvious but zero no tsukaima isn't exactly the kind of anime where serious and complicated plots would fit in.

Art:
Its the usual anime.. looks good, can't say much bad about it.

Sound:
The sound fits realy well and I loved the opening song :)

Character:
ah.. this is anime is kinda wierd, first and for all.. don't forget that the main characters have the mentality of 12 year olds(not including the idea of punishment.. you will understand once you've seen louise angry) so.. even if certain things get explained and feelings start to develop.. there never is much of a read more
May 1, 2013
Karpman (All reviews)
Zero no Tsukaima should be an enjoyable action anime based in a majestically magical world, sadly it executes the premise horrendously, clinging to repetitive comedy and a subpar plot. The characters were written poorly; this is evidenced by their shallow nature and monotonous interaction, of which Saito and Louise are the worst offenders.

So, Zero no Tsukaima (after this abbreviated as ZnT) has a premise of a modern Japanese boy who ends up in a fantasy world after being summoned by her master, who happens to be a young, petite girl, with a fiery attitude. And with these two not getting along too well, this should read more
Jul 24, 2007
megara (All reviews)
I\'ve always had a weakness for magic schools - like Harry Potter\'s Hogwarts. That\'s my main motivation for watching this anime. And who wouldn\'t want to be suddenly thrust into a magical world from a boring life, right?

The story\'s not as lighthearted as I thought. Immediately there are the ecchi elements and the political conspiracies that surrounds the characters. But other than that, you get what you expect: the marginalized boy and girl who suddenly become the hero and heroine, seemingly more than what they were initially shown to be.

Nevertheless, Zero no Tsukaima is a fine anime. Nothing too extraordinary, but not that bad either. read more
Sep 18, 2008
holdenn (All reviews)
Preliminary
Zero No Tsukaima is what you’d get if you crossed the Harry Potter flicks and Shakugan no Shana. One wonders if the title of the show was a response to the mandate for one-word monikers: Here it Goes Again

The basic elements of these stories are repeated ad nauseam, but astonishingly there is absolutely no difference. Seeing as there is no hope for redeeming itself from turning to an appalling cliched harem anime, I could not bear watching any longer. It is amazing how it only took five episodes took to suck the life out of me.

But if you must know, the story started with read more
Sep 20, 2008
theeggman85 (All reviews)
Wow, I really was not expecting this to be a good anime, but it turned out much much better than I thought it would. What looked like just an average "I can't confess" love story turned out to have something special in it, maybe because they got to the point within 13 episodes like most animes don't.

STORY: 9/10

The story is very unique, as far as I can tell. Louise can't use any magic, but on the day where all 2nd year students summon a familiar to help them, Louise summons a teenage boy from Japan, which is obviously another world from the magical world. From read more
Dec 24, 2013
I_AM_THE_SLAW (All reviews)
Shout-out to Dilan-sama for which this magnificent review is for!

MAL users prepare your collective anus for what is possible the longest and most rantiest review you will ever read.

The first half of the review, the episode deconstructions, should only be read by those who have actually watched the show since it won't make sense otherwise.

******************
DISCLAIMERS!
******************

- Do NOT take this review 100% seriously. While I will say that I personally hated it, it is completely fine if you do like it! I am only poking a bit of fun into, IMO, a very badly written story.

- Do NOT read if you do not wanted read more
Dec 11, 2011
sen_mcgrath (All reviews)
I enjoy a good romcom every once and a while, and if it can be combined with another genre to create more or better situations, then all the better right? A situation, setting, and characters can make a romcom really good, even if it's taking an old concept and adding in a new element.

So we get Zero no Tsukaima. the story of a noble mage from a magical realm and her familiar, a human from our world. Sounds like a good mash-up like Inuyasha, Shakugan no Shana, or any of the many magical girlfriend animes out there. The problem read more
May 1, 2015
animeglaze (All reviews)
Story 3/10
The story starts in a magic school where the failure of a female lead summons our protagonist to be her familiar. A magic school is a wonderful ideal in theory however this is not used in any sort of effective manner. It uses magic in the story but only for minor bits of action and torturing Saito so it takes the fantasy out of it. It quickly devolves into a bland, tasteless harem comedy that really isn't even that funny. The characters have no really explored back-story and feel like they were picked out of a harem character pool of cliches.

Art 6/10
I have no read more
Mar 14, 2008
Tekky99 (All reviews)
Length: 13 episodes
Original Airdates: 7/06 - 9/06
Demographic: Seinen
Genres: Adventure, Fantasy, Comedy, Harem, Romance, Ecchi

Plot Synopsis
Louise is a magician at the Tristein Academy, dubbed with the nickname "Zero Louise" due to her inability to effectively use her magic properly, resulting in zero successes. An upcoming test at her academy requires her to summon a familiar, a servant and partner to support her as a magician. Despite desiring a familiar that would be superior to her constantly mocking classmates, Louise ends up summoning Hiraga Saito, your average Japanese boy. Even with Louise and Saito both unwilling to accept each other, they have no choice. Louise cannot attempt read more
Dec 28, 2008
ZeroTheUltimate (All reviews)
The Familiar of Zero is an anime based around Louise the "Zero", who was given the name by her classmates at the Tristain Magic Academy because of her inability to correctly use her magic. In fact, every time she tries any kind of spell, a big, smokey explosion is caused instead. So when it comes time for Louise to summon her familiar at the annual ceremony, yup, you guessed it. Big, smokey explosion. But she still managed to summon her familiar. However, it's not a cat, owl, dragon, or bugbear, but instead it's a human! Hiraga Saito, from our very own Japan even. Things don't read more
May 8, 2010
Andristian (All reviews)
Tsundere galore! Zero no Tsukaima (or The Familiar of Zero) tells the story of two lovers – or so we are told. This delightful anime takes place in a fictional world where magic is all around and aristocrats (in other words: the rich people; as opposed to plebeians, the average peeps) are being taught magic in school. We are introduced to a magic academy where Louise Francoise is having difficulty keeping her spells under control and therefore is being scorned by her fellow classmates who call her Zero Louise.

Things take a rather interesting turn when the day comes for the students to summon their familiars read more
Jun 7, 2008
ethann (All reviews)
Zero no tsukaima is set in a fantasy world where the nobles stay separately from the commoners and can practice magic. The story forcuses on a magic school academy for the nobles and on the day that they are to summon their partners, the female lead summons a boy from another world which is our world i guess, however, she believes he is a commoner from her world and treats him like a slave,little do they know that he will become the ledgendary partner or familiar that can own with a sword.

The story is unique as it differs from your usual fantasy anime, though it read more