Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Rinne no Lagrange


Alternative Titles

English: Lagrange: The Flower of Rin-ne
Synonyms: Flower declaration of your heart, Lag-Rin
Japanese: 輪廻のラグランジェ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 8, 2012 to Mar 25, 2012
Premiered: Winter 2012
Broadcast: Sundays at 22:00 (JST)
Licensors: Viz Media
Studios: Xebec
Source: Original
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.971 (scored by 19,236 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #39002
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1788
Members: 51,782
Favorites: 104

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 15, 2012
lolzteez (All reviews)
Preliminary
First attempt at a longer review, let's see how it goes. It's only been 2 episodes, so this review probably won't matter all that much later on. Will try to update! So here's my 2 cents...
As of Episode [2]-

The Story [8]:
Kyouno Madoka is a high-spirited and confident High School girl who enjoys helping those who are in need. One day, she meets a strange girl named Lan, and is then asked to pilot a Robot (yes, the mecha in this show are called 'Robot') in order to protect her home town from invading aliens who have come to attack Earth. This is a somewhat generic read more
Mar 30, 2012
_mahoushoujos_ (All reviews)
Most people did not enjoy this show. However, I did. Maybe my opinions are highly flawed. I doubt I'm the pinnacle of good taste, so you shouldn't take my review as the word of God. But the fact remains that I liked Rinne no Lagrange while many others did not, so here's me telling you why.

Story: 7/10
The plot of Rinne no Lagrange is not very complicated to begin with, at least not to me. A lot of people found it a bit confusing and the back stories not fleshed out enough, but keep in mind that this is a two-season anime. I expect, with the read more
Nov 24, 2014
Monjoex (All reviews)
Oddly enough, while it appears to be a typical show about mecha, it has much less to do with the mecha themselves than you would think. It actually focuses more on the characters and their interactions with each other. This is not necessarily a bad thing even if you were looking into this series for the mecha, because they do have some visually stunning battle scenes. Lagrange did a steller job keeping a good balance between the sci-fi mecha, high school life, and character drama.

The pacing is back and forth. A read more
May 24, 2015
michalpelszyk (All reviews)
I was severely disappointed by this show. Mind you, I am paying a lot of attention to the creation of the world itself as well as plot and characters. I found myself rolling eyes a lot when watching the series - the tropes are a plenty here - and what makes it worse is the mediocre execution

What I liked:
* The "stick to what you decided" theme
* The older cousin character
* Art was good

What I disliked:
* Holes in the plot
* Incomplete world (examples: mecha get damaged, how do they become functional again? What really happened in the past between the main character and the mecha? Staff read more
Jan 2, 2012
GomenidAC (All reviews)
Preliminary
So, the first episode leaked in very, very, really bad quality. If THAT impresses enough to write a review, then it must be an anime worth closer attention.

This anime is good, just good, in each and every component - art, sound, characters, story. The story may be an exception, though. The first episode created lots of possible roads the story may travel - into the past, future, deep space, or even into a very earthly conspiracy.

Characters are always another suspect for an exception, what can prevent them from some fascinating developing, anyway? Maybe the anime just not being about characters, like this one? My impression read more
Jul 16, 2013
platinumSKIES (All reviews)
I didn't really know what to expect from Rinne. Considering that, during the Winter 2012 season there were two other 'scifi-girls' shows, I wondered how this particular anime would stand out. And how did it? By being as much of a character piece as it was a mecha show.

Story (7/10): With our lead heroine Madoka and the two friends that she acquires in aliens Lan and Muginami, you get a sense that the story wouldn't have worked nearly as well without the dynamic that they build up over the course of 12 episodes. We have an alien war going after the Vox mechs and read more
Apr 18, 2012
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Rinne no Lagrange is a sci-fi series written by Suga Shotaro, known for working on several really strong titles such as Stand Alone Complex, Le Chevalier D'Eon, Brotherhood and some others. It sounds promising so let's take a look.

Kyouno Madoka is a young high school student and the only member of the Jersey Club, a group that aids other student organisations. One day she's approached by a strange girl and taken to a battleship to pilot a giant robot called a Vox that everyone seems to want to possess or destroy. To make things more complicated, there's a disturbing legend about the Vox. That's the read more
Feb 29, 2012
Besuro (All reviews)
Preliminary
Maru!~

Ok this is my first review, so I'm going to try to keep you entertained.

When I first looked at this show, my frist thought was "its going to be another lame mecha with a bad plot" and after the first couple of episodes, I still believed that. But that was soon changed.

While the show didn't turn amazing, it did pick itself up later in the show.

Story: 6
The main character is Kyouno Madoka, who teams up with a girl named Lan, to fight aliens that attack her hometown with their robots called Vox. Not a very exciting story, but for what they have to work read more
Feb 20, 2012
fonmaster (All reviews)
Preliminary
As a huge mecha fan, Rinne no Lagrange seemed like a frilly majou shoujo in heavy battle armour. in short, it is. the title mecha doesn't describe this anime accurately to me.
Rinne no Langrage takes the events of three girls and, from what i've seen, shows the power of kindness and friendship (with lesbian subtext, of course!)
no seriously, it's hilarious, these girls are revved up for each other, but i love how the story doesn't "focus" on it, like a shoujo-ai.
so far, it's cute, it's funny, it's enjoyable. just don't go in thinking you'll be seeing awesome fight scenes and heavy action, because you won't.
Mar 26, 2012
Lanf (All reviews)
If you are looking for hardcore mecha action along the lines of NGE, this show won't deliver. If you are looking for an intriguing story, this show won't deliver. This show has more appeal to those who enjoy slice-of-life, as what really carries this show is the art and characters.

We have 3 main heroines in this story; Kyouno Madoka - the lead, an energetic, cheerful girl with natural leadership talent; Lan - the mysterious klutz, with tsundere elements; and Muginami, a mischevious, carefree girl, though the most perceptive of the others' emotions.

The story of is simple. In short, waves of mechas attack earth, and only read more
Jan 28, 2012
velkro16 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Wonderful art, the music is ok, the characters still have time to develop but as of the first three episodes there isn't much there. Just on the colors, and the mechs alone does the enjoyment make a 7. I feel like Madoka didn't hesitate enough when her responsibility of piloting the "Vox" or the robotic/aircraft that she pilots was heaped upon her. Now i'm not saying she has to pull a Shinji Ikari from Eva or a Renton Thirston from Eureka 7 but she hardly hesitates at all making me think "ok that's a little unrealistic". I think why I was put off a little read more
May 3, 2012
colonelpanic (All reviews)
Preliminary
From the start, this show stretches credibility. I found it increasingly difficult to suspend disbelief, not because the show got any worse, but because it pretty much stayed the same. It doesn't get any easier to take as it goes along.

If some of the characters annoy you, it's time to stop watching. Otherwise, you'll end up pausing it repeatedly to look for reviews that aren't praising it; reviews with useful information. Take my word for it. You aren't going to like this any more seven episodes in than you did at the start.

The seagull attack was pretty read more
Oct 25, 2017
BriefEd (All reviews)
Ever seen a sheet of bubble wrap? Then you've seen something more solid and with less holes than this plot. Teen girls in ancient high tech robots pooping holographic flowers into space isn't going to work no matter how nicely you dress it up.

Depending on how sensitive your ears are you could end up having a difficult time with Madoka because the voice belongs to Ishihara Kaori and the sound is so extreme and intense that only one in a thousand characters is a good match. I want to punch someone for making it fit Madoka so perfectly that I can't imagine anyone better suited.

Now read more
Jul 25, 2018
earl_of_sandvich (All reviews)
This review may contain spoilers.

"Alone, one cannot support oneself. Two would break apart. When it's three of them, the bond is stable. Madoka isn't alone. The three members of the Track Suit Club are one."

I'm not 100% sure why Lagrange grew on me. It could be that since I dropped Captain Earth in the same season and wanted a giant robot show I could watch without facepalming because it reminded me of childhood moments I wanted to forget. It could be that I thought the Nissan-designed mechs looked cool, even if they weren't Kawamori designs (Anime law of aerodynamics: Any shape, no matter how strange read more
Aug 29, 2016
jeffreyhou1997 (All reviews)
I remember watching a bit at "bad anime night" at my friend's house. I thought it was good at the time, but I just finished it today, 2 years later. The positive feelings I had towards the show were probably contextual.

It was really painful to watch. It might have been because I stick to dubs, but the English translation was really irritating. The lines sounded like they had been run through a translation program, nothing like what an actual person might say. Soundtrack was good though; I think the singer also sang as Ranka from Macross F.

The story sucked, there's no other way to phrase read more
Aug 6, 2017
HDTurtle (All reviews)
Nothing stood out, except the beautiful and detailed sky shots with their expressive and colorful clouds, nothing was too outstanding. The characters were clear and understandable, you knew their pasts and the reason for the things they did, but you didn't care. The story left us with questions at the end, I myself had 5 of them. The second season is likely going to answer these questions but I didn't find the story engaging enough to continue watching. The story couldn't decide if it wanted to lean more towards being a funny show or a serious one and because of this failed at both.

The show read more