Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Another


Alternative Titles

English: Another
Japanese: アナザー

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 10, 2012 to Mar 27, 2012
Premiered: Winter 2012
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: P.A. Works
Source: Novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.841 (scored by 384,655 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #7742
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #26
Members: 621,853
Favorites: 9,992

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 11, 2012
Myrmidon83 (All reviews)
Another was one of those series which had me waiting eagerly for Mondays to arrive and wishing that the weekend would end sooner. For twelve weeks, it was my priority above all else to watch this amazing series, and to be honest, I'm already awaiting the release of the OVA in May. If I had to say what makes it so incredible, I would cite the short series length, the clever plot with a brilliant resolution, and outstanding animation as the main contributing factors, although the promise of blood will probably be enough for most people to decide whether this show is for them or read more
Sep 15, 2012
Starisu (All reviews)
--- Warning: Contains spoilers ---

When it comes to anime, the horror genre is a tricky one. A fatal flaw arises right from the beginning, as each person has their own definition of horror depending on how imaginative they might be. While some may immediately think of a bunch of gruesome killings, others may think of more eerie supernatural events, and the list goes on, but because of this, the genre has a high chance of failure depending on each person's perception of horror.

Unfortunately, Another just happens to fall way outside my definition of horror, and seems to fit very nicely within comedy.

But hold on a read more
Feb 3, 2014
Seeyounextweek (All reviews)
Notice: some spoilers will be present in this review, despite my best efforts; I've made them as vague as possible, but sorry about that anyway.

Another advertises itself as a mystery horror anime; its premise is definitely interesting and right off the bat the production values look promising. Unfortunately, the show starts to fall apart halfway through, the mystery leaves you with many, MANY questions of the wrong kind and is so serious yet so over-the-top that the "horror" tag might as well be read as "comedy".

This show is a prime example of a promising story being told in the worst manner imaginable. The beginning is read more
Nov 22, 2014
Monjoex (All reviews)
This show actually caught me by surprise. I went into it knowing absolutely nothing about it, but needless to say, I was hooked after just two episodes. Who is this girl? Why is she so special? Why is this new transfer student the only one that seems to know she’s even there? A mystery indeed. The show does an amazing job leaving the audience to wonder what’s going to happen next. Each episode’s cliffhanger is gripping. They take things to a whole new level during the second half of the series.

read more
Mar 15, 2012
Swaggletooth (All reviews)
Preliminary
"Another" is a series that I really wanted to like. The initial premise whilst unoriginal was somewhat promising, but somehow it never quite managed to move away from that initial premise - to the point that it never actually went anywhere.

Here's the problem I have with "Another": the entire series is about unraveling a murder mystery but for the greatest part of the series no unraveling is done. Almost every conversation goes over the topic of mystery, but never is there anything developed. It's frustrating filler which has no right to be there.

The fact that conversations continuously retread the same subject matter read more
Jan 9, 2012
Zankoku (All reviews)
Preliminary
Well I decided to write a review for this anime since no one has yet.

Story 9/10:
Right off the bat from the first episode, this anime lives up to its mystery and horror genre. So far it is interesting and mysterious in that the audience is feed extremely small bits of infomation.

Art 9/10:
The art is fairly good and a bit graphic at times; this probably wont be for the faint of heart.

Sound 10/10:
The sound is just amazing in that it really sets the mood for each scene and adds a bit of mystery. The opening by Ali Project is also a very nie touch.

Charcters read more
Dec 23, 2014
gedata (All reviews)
Some horror flicks manage to work because of good pacing, unique presentation, and a genuinely unnerving atmosphere, others are just entertaining gorefests that make up for there weak writing and stupid characters with a healthy dosage camp. I genuinely enjoy both sides of the horror spectrum and came into Another looking for one or the other and instead got what seems to be a horrendously botched attempt at both. As far as being creepy goes, Another employs the most ridiculously derivative approach. A small pale chick and ugly dolls? It’s about as done to death as it sounds . Plainly put, the series puts a read more
Apr 25, 2012
MikanCos (All reviews)
This is going to be short and sweet. While I am a huge fan of Noizi Itou's artwork and character design in general, I must admit the end of this series was a huge let down. I was, naturally, captivated by the visceral and beautifully displayed fates with which the characters met and was immediately entranced by the lure of a ghost story. However, there were many plot "twists" hinted at through out the story, most of which seemed lazily unfinished. It almost made me feel that the authors had really no concrete plot line to begin with, and hoped the masses would be entranced read more
Dec 19, 2015
LeaderTGW (All reviews)
I was amazed at how great Another was. I must say that there were lots of things that had really stood out to me while I was watching. The most noticeable thing for me was the art and sound. In my opinion the art and sound really enhanced the atmosphere of the story and the events that were taking place. The music made things so uncomfortably eerie along with the decaying, drearier backgrounds. The story to me was a little cliche and predictable however that didn't stop it from being any good. There are lots of shows with the similar "main character moves to new read more
Mar 29, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

Since I have been on a horror anime binge lately, I may as well review the ever popular series "Another". This is a series that despite its popularity, is quite divisive in terms of critical rating. I will attempt to take a fair and objective look at it and separate the actual flaws from the popularity-backlash.

I'm going to get this out of the way early. The plot of Another isn't very good. Not only is it absurd in its premise and character actions, but it doesn't even feel creative or like it works within its own constructed world. The basic plot and mechanics that drive read more
Nov 14, 2012
HopeFails (All reviews)
I don’t watch horror movies. I’m the kind of guy who hides under his covers during thunderstorms and checks behind the shower curtains for serial killers. So, being the weak-willed man I am, I was a little apprehensive about starting Another. I shouldn't have been. Another is psychological horror done right. It’s bloody, gruesome, and flipping scary, but it’s also got a strong story, beautiful animation and powerful characters.

The story is good. Not great. It could have been a lot better. The first five episodes are great. It's mystery, suspense, and terror, and it's done masterfully. After that, the plot starts to crawl. The big read more
Mar 5, 2015
Playbahnosh (All reviews)
[TL;DR: Very well made mystery/horror adaptation, intriguing (and FINISHED) story, interesting characters and pretty art style. Little short, but high on tension and great storytelling/pacing. Some people might be turned off by the nicely detailed gore, but it IS a horror anime, so viewer discretion is advised. Discount a few plot-holes and questionable decisions of some characters, I highly recommend it to all horror/mystery enthusiasts.]

Another was a genuinely pleasant surprise. I saw very mixed reviews of this series around, but as I later found out, the more negative ones were mostly because of the amount of gore. Yes, disclaimer, there are some pretty graphic scenes read more
Nov 11, 2013
Satire (All reviews)
What is considered a horror and what is considered a thriller? This is a subject that can confuse many, much like the difference between plot and story; the topic of whether or not something is a thriller or horror is a concept that most people have vague knowledge of, yet people often use incorrectly. The question to ask now is which does Another fall under?

Let's begin by discussing horror versus thriller. Horror, essentially, is based off of basic, scenic brutality; it is typically filled with blood, gore, and 'creative' methods in which people die gruesome deaths. Think of common horror flicks like Halloween, Nightmare read more
Mar 30, 2012
porudesu (All reviews)
When trying to formulate a good mystery plot, the author is prone to making some loopholes; the biggest challenge is to prevent these from happening, or cover it with a literary device.
It is also easy to make a mystery plot without any loopholes at all, but with that case, it gains a risk of being bland and predictable. I have watched and read my own fair share of those kinds of stuff, like Detective Conan, Gosick, CSI, and other books and movies, and though I'm not saying that they're not enjoyable, some can be easily predicted halfway.
That is why not only I became a fan read more
Mar 9, 2015
ran614 (All reviews)
Horror in anime… how does it stand out? When I see a horror tag in an anime, I know it’s more gore than it is horror. “It’s gore not horror”. When we say horror, it’s supposed to be scary not icky. It’s rare to see some really good horror in anime. As a matter of fact, I don’t think I’ve seen a really good horror anime. Maybe Corpse Party but it’s more gory than scary too. Let me think quickly here. Nah, I really can’t find anything that scary in my list. But what about Another? It’s a bit eerie will it suffice as a read more
Aug 25, 2013
That_Bulge (All reviews)
-No spoilers are contained within this review-

Story (6/10)
When I first got a grasp on the story in Another I was slightly surprised. I started to watch this show with expectations of a cliché storyline, where the “surprises” could be seen from a mile away. The story in fact is something very different than what I would expect. Another takes the form of a “slice of life” show at the very beginning and evolves from then on into a thriller. The whole of the story follows a character named Kouichi Sakakibara after he transfers to a new high school. As he begins adjusting to his new read more
Oct 2, 2014
incarnate1 (All reviews)
One of the few animes I've seen that isn't entirely predictable, it's one of those animes that you want to keep watching after each episode. I've never been a fan of most long-running anime series that have 100+ episodes, with exception; because a lot of it tends to be filler and if the writers haven't told the story they set out to, they're rehashing old things or cooking up inferior ones.

I love that Another has only 12 episodes and I love that the beginning of the anime was written in mind with its end. It's not an anime that needs to keep coming up with read more
May 9, 2014
Demi_V (All reviews)
We all have our own expectations for a horror, and whether Another fits this genre is controversial. Its similarities to Final Destination, one of America's horror film series, makes it well-known for the countless freak accidents. It doesn’t go without saying that Another has its shortcomings that declined to make it as serious a horror as Higurashi no Naku Koro ni, which it desperately tried to compete with and failed. On the other hand, Another pulls through with a solid mystery, and the top-notch animation by P.A. Works enhances the suspense throughout the series.

Another revolves around a 26-year-old mystery of one particular high school class read more
Jul 26, 2013
Venten (All reviews)
If I can sum up Another in one word it would be, "fun." (Of Course if you're into horror/Suspense/Thrillers) Another is a show that's not the best of it's kind, or not the greatest in it's execution but for what it's worth, nonetheless I had a GREAT time! There's was enough suspense at the end each episode that left me wanting more and even if I fully didn't understand what was going on, the events that were shown on screen were still highly enjoyable to watch!

Story:
The Story of Another is pretty simple enough; A class has a curse and the characters spend the series trying read more
Jan 10, 2012
Hashiruyuki (All reviews)
This is actually an updated ver of my review after watching the twelve ep of the series (already ended at that point, I guess). I thought I need to update it since I got different feeling from the first impression I had, and watching this show till the end just reducing my points.


Story 9/10:
The story is one of the most intriguing idea I ever know, and it fits perfectly as the backbone of a horror. So, at first it's just incredible. However, the routine deaths in the sense of Final Destination bored me. I lost the most of the creepiness feeling on the second half read more