Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Berserk: Ougon Jidai-hen I - Haou no Tamago


Alternative Titles

English: Berserk: The Golden Age Arc I - The Egg of the King
Synonyms: Berserk Movie, Berserk Saga, Berserk: Golden Age Arc I - Egg of the Supreme Ruler, The Golden Age Arc I: The High King's Egg
Japanese: ベルセルク 黄金時代篇Ⅰ 覇王の卵

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Feb 4, 2012
Licensors: Viz Media
Studios: Studio 4°C
Source: Manga
Duration: 1 hr. 16 min.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.891 (scored by 64,627 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #7042
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #794
Members: 99,145
Favorites: 465

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 30, 2012
Shadow67733 (All reviews)
For my review I will simply break things down by the rating system here and explain my choices. A little background on me.. I have been a Berserk fan since I discovered the series back in 2001. This is the series that originally got me into anime and eventually manga. I have owned and watched the 25 ep anime countless times and have read and own all the currently existing manga chapters. This is my favorite story series, bar none.

Okay, lets begin..

Story: The problem with the story is pacing. The movie leaves off way to many character building moments in favor of action read more
Feb 3, 2012
ParaParaJMo (All reviews)
Just earlier this morning upon writing this review, I had the privilege of watching this movie in theaters in Japan. For the longest time, virtually everyone who has watched the original Berserk anime series have endlessly demanded more. And now that day has come upon us though not really in the most idealistic of terms. Many of us wanted a continuation of where the series leaves off, but for now, we have to settle a re-telling of the Golden Age arc which will eventually pave way for the rest of the manga to be adapted.

As for what it is covered, if you're already familiar read more
Aug 19, 2015
_Megami (All reviews)
(This is a review for all three Berserk movies, but read more
Oct 27, 2014
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:
This movie essentially did to the Berserk franchise what Femto did to Casca!

Berserk is one of the most beloved anime of all time and yet this movie is one of the sloppiest remakes I have ever seen! At least the title is appropriate, because when I first saw the quality of the CG art I indeed went Berserk! Actually, when I first saw the art I laughed because I thought it was a joke. To my sheer horror, I discovered that they were serious. The CG is below the quality of many early titles for the PS2 like Kingdom Hearts or Xenosaga, both read more
Jun 6, 2012
5camp (All reviews)
I first saw the original Berserk TV series about 2 years ago and thought it was pretty good. By 'pretty good' I mean I consider it to be the greatest story ever told, better than The Odyssey, Hamlet, Citizen Kane and Big Oiled Butts 3 combined. 15 years later they've brought out a Berserk movie. A trilogy no less, the first of which was just released in good old illegal format for all of us dirty foreign pirate scum to watch. Early impressions: They've changed a few things. Very few things.

The movie covered about 10 episodes of the original, from when Guts first meets Griffith read more
Jul 1, 2015
Xhynk (All reviews)
I'd give this a resounding, and low toned "meh." at best. I hear great things about Berserk. The few episodes I've seen of the anime are wonderful, and I plan to watch the rest and even started buying the manga. I had quite high hopes for this movie, since the rest has been great. That may contribute to why I was let down. This movie is frankly crap, and if you like Berserk, do yourself a favor and skip this in particular.

The character development is rushed, and poorly explained at best. Guts feels very shallow, and Griffith is even more shallow. The story line would read more
Nov 8, 2015
YoungVagabond (All reviews)
Judged on its own merits, it's good. As a remake of the 1998 anime or an adaptation of the manga, it's awful.

Part of the problem is trying to cram so many events into such a short movie. We barely get a glimpse into Guts' past, and nothing about Griffith or Caska, which is central to understanding them. We don't see all but one of the battles the Hawks win, many of which are vital to the story. And even that lone victory is abbreviated. No one in the Band of the Hawk except Griffith, Guts, and Caska gets any attention. Judeau gets a read more
Oct 12, 2013
NotenSMSK (All reviews)
Berserk Golden Age: Egg of the high King is hard to see as a stand alone with the original series preceding it serving as a standard of comparison. Yet to properly appreciate the attempt made one has to look at it from a stand alone perspective.

The story is basically of a vagabond by the name of Guts, who is extremely skilled with the sword or rather has enough brute strength and skill to defeat ranked opponents. This is when he meets Griffith - a man of grace and charm (that may as well be mistaken for a woman) but skills that surpass Guts'. Guts is read more
Jun 24, 2015
Amphetamine (All reviews)
Ever since I came across the manga, Berserk has always been one of my top favorite series of all time. I finished the manga in a few hours because I couldn't stop reading, it was like I was possesed. The story is incredible, and the art kept getting better and better so of course after I finished the manga I wanted to check out the anime, and boy I wasn't disappointed albeit I was unhappy that it ended so short. It covered the most popular and best rated arc of the series, the "Band of the Hawks Arc". When I heard about the movies, I read more
May 2, 2015
Piegoose (All reviews)
The idea of a series of high-budget Berserk films is a fantastic one, but to truly be successful in storytelling through films around an hour in length, a studio would have to be quite risky in being willing to release a larger quantity of films to cover the first arc of Berserk than simply three films. Now, I haven't yet seen the next two movies, so I couldn't say that the transition there is quite as it is here, but what part of the manga this one movie covers is enough to tell there's a problem with pacing and with priorities.

Firstly, let's just get into read more
Jan 30, 2015
LegionWrex (All reviews)
After the Berserk TV series ended in March of 1998, the cliffhanger ending had people clamoring for a sequel that sadly would never come. While fans of the manga were currently sinking their teeth into the Conviction Arc, anime only watchers were out of luck.

However, when a new Berserk anime project was announced, anime fans from around the world had their eyes square on Studio 4C, the studio in charge of this new project, in hopes that they would finally adapt the Conviction arc.

Instead, Studio 4C opted to go back to square one and readapt the Golden Age Arc for a new audience, in an read more
Dec 7, 2017
LucisCaelum (All reviews)
I do not care about so called “pretty colors” and sounds. They are serviceable here and honestly that is enough for the story, which is the most important aspect here.
I also do not care if my points are nit-picking for some, because they played important role to me.
I may use some buzzwords, as soon as they are self-explanatory, because I’m not motivated to elaborate everything.
I do not remember original anime or manga that well, to compare them with this, but I dislike them too.
English is not my native language and I have close to zero experience in writing essays, so prepare for errors.

THIS REVIEW CONTAINS read more
Jun 4, 2012
HEAVYb51 (All reviews)
When i had heard that they were planning to release movies under the Berserk name, i was very excited to say the least. i had never expected them to pick up berserk again since the anime ran quite a long time ago. i had originally thought that the movies would continue the brutal ending of the anime as the show really left you on a cliffhanger making you want a lot more, however thats not what this movie is.

this ova, as im sure the other two are going to be, are retellings of the series that had already had an anime adaptation, kinda like dragonball read more
May 13, 2013
HybridMedia (All reviews)
A land of war.

For a hundred years Midland and Chuder have fought one another. Guts is a wandering mercenary, taking advantage of the war to make his living. In his wanderings he catches the eye of Griffith, the young leader of an up-and-coming band of mercenaries. The meeting isn't a happy one. Guts kill some of Griffith's men and Griffith stabs Guts in the chest. But Griffith is taken with Guts' skills, and duels with him to force him into his mercenary corps, the fabled Band of the Hawk. Years pass. Despite his hot temper and frequent clashes with Griffith's lady lieutenant Casca, Guts read more
Jul 27, 2012
Featheredhat (All reviews)
First off, I'm not a kind reviewer, especially when it comes to my favorite story of all times, Berserk. Also, I recommend whoever is interested in this show to either read the manga or watch the anime first, because you will get the wrong impression from this alone. Finally, if you know the old anime you probably won't be spoiled anything, but everything between brackets or about the plot is best avoided if you haven't watched anything and are planning to watch the old anime.

On the opening sequence of the battle: I found the animation to thow me off and annoying as heck. New read more
Feb 23, 2016
Rikuson1 (All reviews)
Berserk: The Golden Age Arc I - The Egg of the King Review



Story (8/10) Very Good

So the first Berserk Movie adapts episode's 2-10 of the 90s anime of the Golden Age Arc of the series. I think from a story standpoint it did a good job now obviously things were removed to reach the 1 hour and 16 minutes they clocked in by the time the movie was done. Like the Gambino flash back was quickly rushed over for example if you haven't read the manga or watched the 90s anime then that scar on Gut's nose you might not know that it came from read more
Jun 4, 2012
4v4l0n42 (All reviews)
Few stories can capture your mind and soul in a visceral way from the beginning, and never leave you. Berserk is one of them.

Written and illustrated by the legendary manga artist Kentaro Miura, Berserk (ベルセルク) is an epic fantasy saga that knows no time, no boundaries, and no has end. It tells the story of a Guts (ガッツ, Gattsu), a boy born from the corpse of a woman hung on a battlefield, who struggles to fight his unfortunate destiny. Set in a fictional version of medieval Europe, Gatsu is a young mercenary who travels with no direction nor purpose, swinging his huge sword in merciless read more
Oct 11, 2016
ProfaneValkyrie (All reviews)
No spoilers and I will keep it somewhat short.

Oh boy, this is a very touchy subject, reviewing berserk especially these remakes, either you hate or love it. Me, I am more like it is okay but meh.

The movie summaries the many first episodes of the original series and being a movie with a shorter running time it makes it necessary to cut some scenes. Overall I must say that it kept the feel of berserk but being more superficial because the interacting between the supporting characters are almost gone which gives the movie of somewhat a feel of being a very lonely world, as if read more
Aug 11, 2015
charliechaplin2 (All reviews)
[Contains mild spoilers]

When watching this film, especially considering the two sequels have already been out for a number of years, it's best to view it as one third of a whole, rather than separate to two movies.

While it may be true that individually, the first is the weakest of the three films, it does have the hardest task of setting up the premise, introducing us to the main characters and world-building. It's for this reason - the fact that this first film is basically an introduction into the world of Berserk's Golden Age - that it suffers the most. However, when seen as the read more
Dec 8, 2014
thefunkhunter (All reviews)
A solid remake of the berserk tv show from the 90s and the manga. Some excellent art work and classic berserker Gore for good measure. Berserk tv show was probably one of the best animes of all time so this is not an easy follow up by anymeans. Berserk ova throws in a little homoerroticism between griffith and it's lead character. the OVA is self aware of it's art style which is a nice touch. Too often we have these pretty boys who are all powerful in anime series. An addicting show to a fault. The first episode leaves you wanting more but does not read more