Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Fate/Zero


Alternative Titles

English: Fate/Zero
Japanese: フェイト/ゼロ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 2, 2011 to Dec 25, 2011
Premiered: Fall 2011
Broadcast: Sundays at 00:00 (JST)
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: ufotable
Source: Light novel
Duration: 28 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.411 (scored by 449,082 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1492
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #49
Members: 808,020
Favorites: 24,366

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 14, 2012
Archaeon (All reviews)
Type-Moon have made a habit of finding success with their dark blend of magic and supernatural elements in modern day settings, but with the release of the Fate/Stay Night visual novel on the PC in 2004, the developer seemed to have found its flagship title. Unfortunately things never really work out the way people expect, and while Studio Deen's 2006 anime adaptation of the "Fate" storyline was well received by fans, many who were unfamiliar with the source material found it all a bit ... juvenile.

At the end of 2006 the developer began collaborating with Nitroplus in order to create a prequel light novel series, read more
Nov 11, 2011
Detective (All reviews)
Animerican Pie (to the tune of "American Pie")

A long, long time ago
I can still remember how that Emiya
used to make me smile.
And I knew if it had a chance
Fate/Zero could make those haters dance
and maybe, we'd all be happy, for a while...
But Studio DEEN made me shiver
As Blade Works was delivered
Bad news on the doorstep
I couldn't take one more ep
I can't remember if I cried
When I read about ufo (in all it's pride)
But something touched me deep inside
The day
That ufotable...

tried.

So bye, bye crappy CGI
Urobuchi writing this stuff (I could really just die)
TYPE-MOON fanboys jerking left and right
Singing this'll be the day that I cry!
This'll read more
Dec 20, 2011
Reckoner (All reviews)
Preliminary
Being the prequel of the well known franchise Fate/Stay Night, Fate/zero certainly captured the attention of many very easily. What is immediately clear about this production though is not only does it match its predecessor, it far surpasses it in every way imaginable. Whether it be the directing, visuals, character exposition, or anything you can possibly think of, Fate/zero manages to move into a class of its own. In the end, this all adds up to a much more complex and interesting tale, which one will certainly not be soon to forget.

The very base of Fate/Zero is no different from Fate/Stay Night. It revolves around read more
Mar 11, 2014
KingFlabadingdon (All reviews)
I’m fairly confident this review is going to get near as damn 0% helpful marks simply because of my ratings. If anyone feels what I said wasn’t helpful in this review, drop me a message, if you disagree with something I said, drop me a message, thanks.

Story – 3
Oh dear…

Firstly, I think it is a bit of a cheat essentially splitting fate zero into two separate series, so that all the good bits can be condensed into ‘one’ of those series. Nonetheless, I will still assess this as a single series, in terms of setting the stage for the second season.

Fate Zero read more
Oct 23, 2011
Kiev (All reviews)
Every once in awhile there will be an epic masterpiece that appears which is truly outstanding and fascinating. Fate/Zero is one of them, and i believe it has the potential to be one of the best anime of the year.

Story wise, it's been following the light novel consistently with great precision, picking up almost every single finest detail that are required to elaborate the story into a fine piece. The battle scenes are just simply amazing, you could never get enough of the fighting scenes, some of the episodes filled with action just make your blood boiled when you watch them. The way how they read more
Oct 3, 2011
amirhoss (All reviews)
Ufotable probably used the Holy Grail and granted the fan's wish.most of the fans turned their attention to fate/zero the moment they heard about the involvement of ufotable since they knew they could expect great things with other works they had seen from them.as we all know just having a good story won't make an anime good.how to adapt it and include the parts of the story,the good use of music and art and many other things are playing a big role in an anime.this anime didn't disappoint and tried hard to bring out the awesomeness.

Starting with the story the anime made a good use read more
Oct 21, 2011
lolzteez (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime so far has been absolutely mind blowing. The first 3 episodes has done an outstanding job of following the original Light Novel's story, as well as capturing Gen Urobuchi's writing. An absolute MUST SEE for everyone this season. Filled with fluid consistent animation, gorgeous art, 3 dimensional characters, and an amazing sound track from Yuki Kajiura. This will be a show to be remembered.
Mar 11, 2013
Abs0 (All reviews)
I wrote a review for Fate/Zero before but it got deleted because it only talked about the fight scenes. So I'm including the story in this review as well. Enjoy.

Warning: spoilers.

The story can be summed up in two words: Forced Grimdark. Characters suffer and die for no apparent reason other than to make the show darker and edgier. [spoiler]Why was Kariya even in there? Most of these characters don't even become relevant until FSN. That Rin episode was fucking awful, it had no relevance to the plot whatsoever. As was the Kiritsugu backstory which I thought was two long episodes of nothing but read more
Jan 18, 2012
Vallaw (All reviews)
The main flaws with this anime are that it's dialogue heavy and the fights are ultimately pointless.

Story: 8
The "Holy Grail War" is a battle royale with 7 sets of Masters/Servants partnering together to take out the other 6, winner gets the Holy Grail, which grants a miracle. Masters can use magic or guns to fight, or are completely useless in battle, some staying far away from the action. The servants all have a fighting style unique to their "class", Lancer uses spears, Saber uses a sword, Assassin is an assassin...you get the point. A few more people are thrown in to the war to make read more
Oct 29, 2014
GonWithARose (All reviews)
“Mature, innovative, fun and mesmerizing. A journey of epic proportions in a well-grounded mythological world based on reality, a masterpiece”

REVIEW FREE OF SPOILERS!

As I have stated before in my reviews I’ve been watching anime shows for a short period of time -3 years-. And as I’ve said before, thanks to the help/aid of some of my friends, I’ve had one of the best beginnings/introductions to the anime world, and here’s where “FATE/…” comes in, more specifically FATE/STAY NIGHT. [I know this is a “FATE/ ZERO” review]
FATE/S. N. Was the third anime that I watched. I’ve been a fan of magic stories since I can remember, read more
Jan 8, 2012
Bubblesboobs (All reviews)
When I first started this anime, I thought it was very good, but then it took a turn for the worse and became piss poor. Why you say? Maybe because every character falls into a generic archetype, such as, Irisvile (weak defenseless female), Saber ( strong female), and a boring protagonist who hardly ever shows up, and is apparently cheating on his wife. Now getting to the story, for the most part, it consists of Irisvile clinging to Saber's underwear while acting as a defenseless female who has no where better to be but involved in this Grail War which the shows speaks of a read more
Mar 10, 2014
RakiRaki (All reviews)
Fate/Zero is a show as confident in its storytelling as it is confused in its aims. After many tries, I've filed it away still unable to describe what point Urobuchi is trying to make with this. The closest I've come is that it's a condemnation of idealism, but this is only weakly supported by the text, and I suspect that impression is more a function of it being a prequel to a visual novel that thoroughly affirms the great moral significance of ideals. In that light, Fate/Zero's grim, cynical ending merely serves a narrative purpose. This doesn't make it unwatchable or even bad, but it read more
Oct 4, 2011
kyokai (All reviews)
Preliminary
I have been waiting for this for so long, my wish finally granted by the Golden studios ufotable! It’s not every day that a Type-Moon fangirl like me (who has to yearn for VN & light novel translations to keep her company) gets such a treat. After finally getting a closure on Kara no Kyoukai after reading the light novels, Carnival Phantasm and Fate/Zero were the beacons I wanted to grasp. I say, forget the Fate/stay night anime right now, srsly right now! DEEN simply raped it badly and the VN’s epicness was never captured but if you’ve seen it, at least it gives you read more
Apr 13, 2014
NYanimefan (All reviews)
In almost all forms of media, spinoffs, sequels, and prequels all have one thing in common. They are a crap shoot. Most of the time these spinoffs suck. Fortunately in anime, that is not always the case. In fact there are several times where I find myself enjoy the sequel/ prequel better than the original. However this anime is true rarity, in which the prequel just about outdoes the original in virtually every aspect. This review focuses solely on the first season of fate/zero. I'll write a separate review for season 2.
___________________________________________
O.K. here is the actual review with my IADb rating system:
Story: Fate read more
Oct 22, 2017
NiBer (All reviews)
I'm sorry, but this anime is simply atrocious.

I honestly don't understand the appeal of Fate/Zero at all. It's been praised by so many and it has a really high rating, however, I just can't stomach it. Mind you, there are some minor spoilers of first four episodes just to be able to shed light on why I rated the show so low without being automatically reported. Not that it won't happen regardless.

First episode has to be the most boring, pointless episode I ever watched. Absolutely no effort was made to spark the interest of the viewer or to summarize the story properly. It threw at read more
May 16, 2015
bread4breakfast (All reviews)
I am one of the many who walked into Fate/Zero with no prior knowledge of the Fate franchise, so when I watched the super long exposition/info dump that was this show's first episode a couple years ago, I was skeptical of whether or not I should have continued. I'm very, very glad that I chose to continue.

Fate/Zero is the prequel to Fate/Stay Night, written by Gen Urobuchi who is well known for his use of dark and mature atmosphere in his writing. This darkness and maturity is in full swing in Fate/Zero. This series is chock-full of plot twists, engaging dialogues, moral ambiguity, and read more
Jul 27, 2013
Snakes (All reviews)
Fate/Zero is the prequel to the well known and successfully debatable Fate/Stay Night series. As one might assume that Fate/Zero is your generic shounen or action anime, this is indeed very far from being true. As the series tells the experiences of the participants in the Holy Grail War, the differences between Fate/Stay and Fate/Zero are very prevalent right from the word go as the anime starts. Depicting a much darker setting and tone as well as its far more mature story than its predecessors, Fate/Zero hits on many elements which make a great anime.

Through a variety of different plot features such as the lore read more
Dec 6, 2015
Horatio_Nelson (All reviews)
Where do I begin with Fate/Zero? The first time I watched this series (roughly two years ago) I, admittedly, adored it. However, I recently rewatched it after reading the Fate/Stay Night light novel. It was then that my opinion of the seriess dropped substantially. Don't worry! This won't be a review where I bitch about how Fate/Zero messed up the characters that had been lovingly crafted in Fate/Stay Night! Indeed, I will try my best not to mention that wonderful novel (and godawful fanbase) and will instead focus on analyzing the content at hand. There will, however, be MILD SPOILERS. Consider yourself warned.

read more
Nov 8, 2013
Link_of_Hyrule (All reviews)
**SPOILER FREE REVIEW OF BOTH SEASONS (NOT FATE/STAY NIGHT)**
"Say that humanity has been narrowed down to merely 500 people. 300 of them are packed onto one ship, 200 are on another, sailing toward an irrelevant destination. Suddenly, both ships suffer massive structural damage simultaneously and begin to sink; you are the only one who can repair them. However, there is only time to repair one ship: What do you do?"
"The answer is simple. Repair the ship with 300 people."
"Suppose that upon learning this, the ship of 200 people captures you and demands that you fix their ship first. Now what do you do?"
"...Kill all 200."

The read more
Nov 23, 2011
jasonjackson44 (All reviews)
Preliminary
tired of ridiculous fan catering anime and manga with annoying wimpy protagonists and bad production values with terrible plot lines?

you've come to the right page. now please enjoy my first review.


fate/zero is the prequel for the extremely popular fate/stay night visual novel.

the fate/stay night anime received mixed reactions and if you ask me, its extremely overrated.

studio deen known for butchering adaptations did it again. and the result wasn't pretty.

fate/stay night was a pretty bad anime if you ask me, even if the animation was pretty good for its time.
all the story was presented in the most boring way possible. the fights werent exciting, the voice read more