MyAnimeList.net

Ranked #47
Yokohama Kaidashi Kikou (Manga)

Yokohama Kaidashi Kikou

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Yokohama Shopping Log, Yokohama Shopping Trip, Touge
Japanese: ヨコハマ買い出し紀

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 14
Chapters: 142
Status: Finished
Published: Apr 26, 1994 to Feb 26, 2006
Authors: Ashinano, Hitoshi (Story & Art)
Serialization: Afternoon

Statistics

Score: 8.701 (scored by 4725 users)
Ranked: #472
Popularity: #199
Members: 13,533
Favorites: 1,330
1 indicates a weighted score
2 based on the top manga page.

My Info


Popular Tags

sci-fi seinen slice of life
Jul 27, 2013
lpf
As the sea assaults continents, slowly but surely, humanity is declining. Telecommunication is no more. Government gave way to local organisation. Quietly witnessing this apocalypse unfold, humans are living peacefully.

Among the many ways fiction depicts apocalypse, "peacefully" is uncommon. We like to think of the world ending in brutal, dramatic and lightning fast ways. Of humans against their fate struggling. But the end of the world in this manga is gradual, slow enough to give mankind the time to accept his fate, sit back, and enjoy the last hour of his age. Whatever will be will be – the die is long cast.

So unfolds the read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 13, 2008
TheCriticsClub
Yokohama Kaidashi Kikou (abbreviated to YKK outside Japan) is an example of the proverbial “diamond in the coal mine”. Written and drawn by Ashinano Hitoshi, the manga was serialized in Kodansha's Afternoon magazine for almost 12 years, and has gathered a number of devoted fans around the world despite the lack of licensed English translations. This comes as no surprise since it is one of the few series which deserves to be treated as a works of literature rather than of pop culture. YKK is a testament to the true potential of manga and the series is recognized as such, having been deemed worthy of read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jul 18, 2007
Yuunagi
"This gentle calm and quiet is the twilight of an era.
I will probably watch the passing of this twilight age."


Content:
The stories featured in YKK are mostly light and melancholy. Readers who are used to action, sex, fanservice, violence, and/or intense drama would either be A) disappointed, or B) surprised that stories without the said elements could possibly exist and still be enjoyable.

YKK is characterized by mono no aware, a Japanese concept that describes beauty as an awareness of the transience of all things, and a gentle sadness at their passing. Entertaining old customers in a coffee shop, riding through desolate roads on a scooter, reminiscing read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Nov 27, 2011
TrenchKamen
It is a brilliant stroke to tell a story about transience through immortal cyborgs. Maybe many Westerners would even find that counterintuitive, because transience--more specifically, mono no aware, the nuances of which I will not belabor here, but if you are not familiar, look it up, it's a treat--is a particularly Japanese literary theme, and most Western works focus only on the rapid change the future brings. But there is a constant in that, change and transience, and though we have the saying "the only constant in life is change", I don't think Americans have come to understand that paradox fully. It's given token observance read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 4, 2010
Sjiveru
Reading YKK always puts me in a strange mood. Often reading seems to be the only way to trigger this mood in modern American society. Reading YKK makes me want to sit back and appreciate things, rather than just going through life doing what I've always been doing. Whenever I'm forced to take a break, I always have an impulse to go for a long walk - even though I know that as soon as I get back in I will die from allergies (I live in Austin, TX, in all seriousness a contender for "Allergy Capital of the US"). The only reason I read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
May 14, 2008
Acinonyx
SLICE. OF. LIFE. This might as well be the end-all be-all of the genre. The lazy countryside setting in a low-tech, post-apocalyptic future is something unique and is accentuated very well by the beautiful artwork and endearing characters.

The slice of life aspect of this series is sometimes taken to the extreme. Many chapters focus on simple conversations or mundane aspects of life out on the countryside, but manage to never be boring with the endearing characters and whimsical direction of the story. One such chapter focused solely around Alpha trying to decide where in her yard to re-set her read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Sep 10, 2008
Maltovski
First of all, I’m going to start off by saying that I think YKK is amazing. Not just amazing. Absolute genius. It possibly the most thoughtful, beautiful, and well crafted story of any manga. It takes real skill to create an interesting manga, essentially, about several people living their 'run-of-the-mill' everyday lives. From something as simple as a friend visiting, or going to the beach, its creator, Ashinano, crafts a wonderful, detailed story with equally as beautiful art to match.

I'm not going to bother going through a detailed synopsis, but basically, YKK follows Alpha, a robot looking after a coffee shop for her owner who read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Oct 21, 2008
StarfleetCpt
Yokohama Kaidashi Kikou is one of those works that just comes along and doesn't manage to gather a huge fanbase, but the cult following it does gather will remember this story for a lifetime. It's simply outstanding, and manages to carry a story larger than its obstensibly slice-of-life tone with just enough subtle hints to carry it into the realm of mystery and science fiction.

Story: 10 (Outstanding)

The story is about Alpha Hatsusueno, an unusual young woman living in the outskirts of Yokohama, Japan. After a brief conversation with Ojisan, her closest neighbor, we quickly discover that this sometime-in-the-future Yokohama has been wiped out by rising read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Jun 17, 2011
kirsion
YKK is a manga revolves around a female robot named Alpha who lives in a far-fetched, but peaceful japan. To start off, YKK was a 90s manga, so a lot of the clothes style and technology are 90s and surprisingly haven't changed much over it's 12 years run. The plot is simple, Alpha a robot who runs cafe and gets occasional customers, and seems to live life in the moment. Some people dropped YKK because they didn't find the story engaging enough or it was too boring. Personally I think that YKK is a soothing, very laid-back and has a nostalgic feel with mysterious undertones. read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Aug 8, 2010
galadriel_832
I was shocked and disappointed after I decided to pick YKK up after checking it had nothing but 10 reviews. So here comes a balancing effect, observations of one of the few who do not consider it a masterpiece.

This manga is a lot like some children's TV program about "what the Teddy Bear did today".

Sure it's "pleasant" to read but that's about where it's good aspects end.

There doesn't seem to be any kind of real continuing story, except "life, which goes on" which hardly is sufficient for a "masterpiece".

We are presented with very haphazardly explained new technology - one might even say, perfectly justifiable, read more
I found this review Helpful  Not Helpful
Help     FAQ     About     Contact     Terms     Privacy     AdChoices