Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kami nomi zo Shiru Sekai

Kami nomi zo Shiru Sekai

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: KamiNomi, Kami nomizo Shiru Sekai, The World God Only Knows, TWGOK
Japanese: 神のみぞ知るセカイ

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 26
Chapters: 271
Status: Finished
Published: Apr 9, 2008 to Apr 23, 2014
Genres: ComedyComedy, FantasyFantasy, RomanceRomance, SchoolSchool, ShounenShounen, HaremHarem, SupernaturalSupernatural
Authors: Wakaki, Tamiki (Story & Art)
Serialization: Shounen Sunday

Statistics

Score: 8.531 (scored by 4566445,664 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1082
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #52
Members: 84,910
Favorites: 8,664

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 2, 2011
ringoo4 (All reviews)
Preliminary
"Gotta catch em all!" This famous pokemon phrase might be fitting with this series in such a weird way. Instead, we get 'I can see the ending'.

Shonen Sunday has been getting quite bad financially. After the long running of a few hit series such as Conan, Kenichi, Hayate, Inuyasha, and bunch of others, they were not getting notable works. As all those long running series are encountering mannerism, it is pretty obvious they are getting less and less viewers due to lack of importing of fresh new series with good idea. This manga, Kami Nomi zo Shiru Sekai, is also meeting the point where read more
Jul 15, 2008
Quintessence (All reviews)
Preliminary
Before reading any of my reviews, please keep in mind that I am a VERY harsh critic. I do not hand out 10's easily and anything I rate 7 or higher I consider recommendation worthy.

Story: 9/10
Humor level is VERY high for anyone who (like me) is familiar with the visual novel genre. I've often joked around saying stuff like "Real girls are overrated, the only girl I'd ever want is an animé/manga/visual novel girl!" because I get attached to them rather easily (<3 Akane from ONE ~to the radiant season~, Mahoro from Mahoromatic and Hisui from Tsukihime). So after reading a couple chapters the only read more
Jun 8, 2014
Gonzo-lewd (All reviews)
There comes that one manga you find at the corner of your eye to where you can enjoy it whether you like the genre it consists of or not, all in the essence of parody and satire. It can be a challenging comedic flavor to pull off correctly. Not only do writers have to analyze the aspects of the things that they are trying to parody in the first place, but they have to make all of the things that make good comedy work. These things include great comedic timing, sharp jokes that don't feel forced, and excellent pacing in-between comedy segments. For a manga read more
Jun 12, 2009
AnimeloverYori (All reviews)
Preliminary
What happens when you unwittingly sign a contract to help someone claiming that they are a demon from the underworld?

Do you collect spirits? Yes, of course! But, the originally is the way you do it...by stealing a girl's heart!

Story (9/10)
- "The World Only God Knows" is quite original, as stated above. The plot is basic and dull sounding at first, but then you question what the heck is going on when you continue reading this manga. Why was a CLEANING demon sent after a 17 year old boy that can only woo girls in video games? Why is the demon calling him "God"? The storyline read more
Apr 28, 2014
Cludensyo (All reviews)
It's hard to find a series where you feel really invested. The kind that even after finishing an arc, there's a little moment of reflection. The World God Only Knows is no exception.

The setup of the story has a very solid foundation because it tackles one of the subjects fans can relate the most ─gaming. BUT, some people will have a problem in terms of relation because the genre of choice is not that popular ─galge (a contraction to gal gaming).

For those who don't know, visual novels (another name for galges) is a type of game where it's mostly story. The "game" part is where read more
May 2, 2013
DesuChan (All reviews)
Preliminary
Synopsis: Katsuragi Keima is known as the "conquering god". He is an infamous gamer who is known to have conqured 10000 heroines in games and is a heavy influence to gamers world wide, also to game companies. Keima despises reality and he hates anything that's not a game, even girls! However one day he is approached by Elsie, a demon of what they call "New Hell", and she requests the aid of Keima, who is known as the conquering god to help capture the "run-away spirits". These spirits formal demons of "old hell". To restore their formal power, the run-away spirits will reside inside a read more
Apr 30, 2015
callofthewind (All reviews)
Before reading this reviews, please keep in mind that I have an erratic way of scoring. SO THIS PROBABLY GONNA BE ME FANGASMING.

Story: 10/10
Just kidding, the humor is great especially if you like visual novels.The story is an epic tale of an otaku king conquering all the chicks with all the generic quirks while battling for the fate of world itself(this actually happens)

Art: 10/10
The girls look ok but what makes the manga is the art of the setting. It becomes a little no game no life at the end with strategy and shit. The transitional in art style reminds me of how erratically monogatari read more
May 30, 2008
Ichijo_feast (All reviews)
Preliminary
Alright, I know, the warning bells are going off; perfect 10-score. But hear me out.

At the time i'm writing this, there are only four chapters of this manga translated in English right now. So I'm basing my perspectives on these chapters, and hopefully what's to come.

A 10 equals "outstanding" in this ratings system; for all four categories, I must say, after a significant amount of thought, A World Only God Knows definitely falls into those precedents.

When I look for a good story, there's one undeniable element it must exhibit; originality. If it's the same thing you've seen before, you'll probably find yourself read more
Jul 5, 2008
edgewalker00 (All reviews)
Preliminary
if you're wondering why this manga deserved straight 10's then please, read it first (even the first 3 chapters would do) then read my explanation.

one thing that makes this manga unique is that it breaches the boundary of real world and online gaming. who would've thought that an approach in the game world can be made possible even in the real world?

in order to spare his head, keima must use his mastery of visual novels and sway the hearts of spirit-possessed girls to his side. aided by elshee, the spirit capturer from hell, he embarks on one wacky, romance-filled adventure.

one thing that makes this manga read more
Aug 16, 2016
SirKnight007 (All reviews)
Well, it's about time I wrote a manga review. And which manga did I start with? Why, with 'The World God Only Knows' ofcourse. Why this? Because I recently finished this gargantuan manga. But first, a confession. I HATE the Harem genre. I could make a list if I wanted to, but I guess I'll save it for later. Let's dive in.

Story - 8/10
Now this has to be the one section that stands out. This what drew me to THIS Harem manga in particular. For those who watched MatPat's video about how Dating Sim game can actually help you find love, you'll find this manga read more
Mar 24, 2012
azeriraz (All reviews)
Preliminary
Not going to lie, I picked this manga up while I was waiting for the next chapter of Bakuman was out. Even though I decided I was going to read it, when I saw it had an anime I figured that would be a faster way to decide whether the series would be worthwile.

It's worthwhile. It's also possibly one of the most unique plots for a fantasy romance I have read in a while.

The plot itself starts off as being a romantic comedy about a guy who is known as the "God of Conquest," (since there is no video game girl he can't read more
Apr 22, 2011
Bleodsian (All reviews)
Preliminary
Despite how the idea that a guy has to wander around and make random girls fall in love with him may sound at first, The World God Only Knows has a great story and even greater characters.

Story (10/10): The plot progresses at a moderately slow pace as each arc generally focuses on a single character and her problems as the main character, Keima, helps them overcome obstacles and such. Bits and pieces of new elements are added to the storyline every few arcs. It is best that you keep your eyes open for clues as that could be important for later chapters.
It made me read more
Apr 13, 2013
RedvelvetDaisuki (All reviews)
Preliminary
The World God Only Knows started with a number of episodic stories, for the reason of wanting to achieve a perfect ending but as the manga gains more popularity, the author was able to thoroughly manipulate the stories and made it into something bigger and twisted.

Story (10/10)

The story originally began as a parody of dating sims and romance genre but afterwards, became more than just a simple parody of dating sims and the romance genre but as well as Greek Mythology and other anime. Additionally, the more chapters you unfold, the more philosophical and psychological it becomes as well while still maintains its elements read more
Jan 4, 2012
Kmanmaster (All reviews)
Preliminary
Sup guys ill make this quick The World God only Knows TWGOK for short is A beautiful manga and you can see that right from the start the artist really make this come to life and the expressions that the characters make when either shocked surprised or anything else is quite the seen they tend to use the same expressions alot which is my only gripe but that has to happen for them to focus on more important aspects of the art. You will really enjoy this manga every girl has something different about themselves which makes every chapter unique so you will want to read more
Oct 1, 2010
Sugarsync (All reviews)
Preliminary
FIRST OF ALL,i would think i would not write a review,just understand the manga and pick few details and it will be not a long review....so smile up=)

The World God Only Knows is 100% opposite of its title,i ask few of my classmate about"u think what genre of The World God Only Knowws would be?" and right,action and all shonen stuff so i just laugh ^_^

Story=100% different from it's name,the author give you a fasinating,mis-adventure of Katsuragi Keima...your super genius,otaku-megane character that u will follow across the story...Keima who has a fond of playing dating sims and also like commenting about the real world and read more
Oct 11, 2019
wasabikelabu (All reviews)
Personal thoughts (Enjoyment 9/10)
i used to find romance are boring, especially shoujo romance with just love as the main concept of it. but then years later i figured its not romance manga that i hate, but a plain manga with no original concept and no spicing touch of uniqueness is boring. Then i started taking pills of romance manga and this manga is one of those romance manga that fit into my soul even tho i never a fan of romance furthermore 'harem'. These is why i love this manga and why YOU should atleast give this manga a chance.

Synopsis,
Protagonist a gamer nerd that a read more
Oct 1, 2011
Deagle_zero (All reviews)
Preliminary
Remember when you were a child you used to read fairy tales where the handsome prince got the princess in the end? Remember how no-one even LOOKED at nerds at school? Remember how 80% of romance manga have a weak protagonist?

Dump all that stuff into a bin and send it straight to hell.

Welcome to Kami nomi zo Shiru Sekai (aka The World God Only Knows).

It's a whole new different ball game.

It's also the most awesome & hilarious harem/romance manga (+anime) EVER.

Like EVER.

Story (10/10): Two words: incredible genius.

Throw in a guy who hates girls (but loves game ones).

Throw in several dozen girls who hate this guy read more
May 5, 2014
Pokeralho (All reviews)
WARNING: THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS!!, if you are thinking about reading the manga or haven't finished it yet, I suggest you not to read this.

I've first seen this in the anime, and end up reading the whole manga.. I gotta say, I really like this manga/anime..this series entertained me for the most part until the last 20 chaps, the story got boring and kinda rushed. But for me, the most disapointing part was the author ruining the main character personality.. Keima. He suddenly confesses a sudden love, I say it was "sudden" cause it came out of freakin nowhere, wtf. I thought this manga would read more
Apr 9, 2010
samseison (All reviews)
Preliminary
Well....This is one of the many Comedy-Romance-Harem manga out there,but do not look down on it. Read it if you get the chance.

Story: Spirits escape from hell and a demon is sent to capture them. She is then assigned to a young high schooler to aid her quest. The twist is this: The spirits can only possess females and the only way to free the possessed is to fill the void in the girls heart. Find the rest out yourself.

Art: Is simple and cheerful. Nothing to Awesome and not anywhere near bad.

Characters: Are lovable and Funny especially the lead characters,Keima,an extremely intelligent,dating-game obsessed,Introvert read more
Apr 26, 2013
Moonhitler (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'll start off by saying that I have never played a Galge before; I don't avoid them, I just never found them appealing. Keep this in mind when I say that this manga is, quite frankly, a brilliant read. You may find it more enjoyable if you can relate to the main character - a loner-by-choice, preferring to withdraw himself into his private world of galge - but even if you can't, it is still a fantastically made manga, still exciting after reading more than 200 chapters.

It starts as a sort of inversion to most 'getting friends/girlfriends' stories, with the main character reluctantly being forced read more