Vinland Saga
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Vinland Saga

Alternative Titles

English: Vinland Saga
Japanese: ヴィンランド・サガ

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Apr 13, 2005 to ?
Genres: ActionAction, AdventureAdventure, DramaDrama, HistoricalHistorical, SeinenSeinen
Authors: Yukimura, Makoto (Story & Art)
Serialization: Afternoon

Statistics

Score: 8.881 (scored by 4730947,309 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #202
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #28
Members: 124,748
Favorites: 13,360

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Jan 24, 2009
Beatnik (All reviews)
Revenge, compassion, humanity, love. Pointy weapons making minced meat of people.

Vinland Saga almost has nothing in common with Makoto Yukimura's previous much praised work, Planetes, except for his passion for technical realism. He grounds his work with research, yet at the same time leaving it open for creative exploration. It’s not dry and lifeless, and at the same time it’s not completely in the realm of fantasy. Vinland saga walks the thin line well. Razor blood soaked thin.

This manga is brutal. More brutal than Berserk, Vagabond or anything of that ilk. Not to slight those manga, but one read more
Jan 7, 2009
kuglefang (All reviews)
Looking for an intelligent manga with intense violence, action, complex character development with a little bit of viking touch? If you answer yes then this epic manga is a must read.

The story is set during the golden age of the Vikings (11th century) particularly during the invasion of England. The main story is about Thorfinn's quest to avenge his father's death by defeating Askeladd (his father's murderer) in an honorable duel and he plans to accomplish this by working for him and doing whatever Askelad asks and in return he is granted a chance to kill him in an honorable duel. The story however is read more
Mar 28, 2019
nutboal (All reviews)
Let me start by saying this is a very good manga, objectively speaking that is. The world of Vinland Saga is one of great depth and one built upon layers of history. The towns, cities, farms and campgrounds feel well thought out and are meticulously detailed, bringing the story to life with a strong sense and feel of believability. Many of the side characters in Vinland Saga seem to have been written to overwhelmingly overshadow the main character, to the point where I had fully believed that the story was in fact NOT about Thorfin, which I believe would have been a good thing. The read more
Aug 12, 2015
Nervin (All reviews)
Childhood innocence, murder, sorrow, revenge, emptiness, redemption and aspiration. Taking place in the 11th century, the age of vikings, Vinland Saga follows the tale of Thorfinn's path of revenge which ultimately culminates into his redemption and aspiration. From the impressive story telling to complex and deep character development, and least but not less, the art style, Makoto Yukimura manages to create a masterfully written story of the brutal age of the vikings.

~Story~

The story of Vinland Saga is set in the golden age of the vikings, narrating the tale of the protagonist, Thorfinn. Witnessing the murder of his own father Thors at a very young read more
Jan 5, 2020
BigKEKW (All reviews)
I wanted to like this manga but i simply couldn't.

What starts off as a good story slowly falls deeper and deeper into the shit.
Ever since Askaladd died the story got really cliche and worse as time went on.

Thorfinn changing into a betamale and the rest of the cringe worthy cliche
cast of characters and their bland comic relief has ruined this sorry excuse of a manga. The story has turned into a piss poor shounen at this point.


Probably one of the most overrated things iv read.

The first arc is enjoyable the rest is trash.

D R O P P E D.
Apr 28, 2015
PowerUpOrDie (All reviews)
"God's divine creation is so brimming with love... and yet there is no love in the hearts of men." -Canute

I believe this work to truly be the best manga series currently running, and believe I can back this assertion with valid examples. 'Vinland Saga' is available from Kodansha Comics USA in 5 double-sized volumes (containing the first 10 Japanese volumes), with the 6th and 7th double-sized volumes scheduled to come out later in 2015.

-Story-

This series is brutal and it's mature, but those two things are not the same. There's no shortage of graphic carnage and gory battles, but any mangaka worth his or her salt read more
Aug 11, 2019
Nizada (All reviews)
I really wanted to give this Manga a 10.
It starts out very well, with a plot hook that makes you want to know what happens onward. The reason I can't possibly give this manga more than 6 is because of the characters. Almost all the main characters are so incredibly Japanese. It hurts seeing a character that is portrayed as a Norse warrior do things, and think things, that fits for a Japanese peasant.

One comment in particular stuck with me. And this isn't a big spoiler as it comes up very quickly and is often repeated.
"A true warrior don't need a sword".
How do I read more
Mar 15, 2016
Fro_Buntu77 (All reviews)
I'll keep this review brief.
I started reading this manga because it was part of the recommendations for the "Kingdom" manga. Let me tell you for anyone who wants to read this for the same reason; there's so little similar about the two mangas you'll probably end up as pissed as I am.

I've never wrote a manga review before, but after reading about half-way through I got so annoyed by the complete and utter genre change from action/drama to a buddhist/hippy/drama, I just had to write my first one.

The manga starts off about a young boy thats struck with hardships and turns into a hard read more
Aug 8, 2014
Yung_Doug (All reviews)
Historical fiction is often a hard subject to tackle, especially for anime/manga. The pandering nature of the medium somewhat limits the spectrum of takes on historical events in a fictional retelling, usually falling into the comedy "parody" or shonen-action genres. Vinland Saga is not either of those. It's everything historical fiction should be. It’s fun, it's sad, it's epic, and it's thoughtful. High adventure, fast paced action and political intrigue are abound in Vinland Saga, balanced out by an equal amount of philosophical introspection and character development. All around, it's an uncommon masterpiece.

Vinland Saga, as stated before, is historical fiction, and set in a uncommon read more
Feb 10, 2015
blazingraz36 (All reviews)
Anime Recommendation and Review.

Manga - Vinland Saga
Author - Yukimura, Makoto (Story & Art)
Genres - Action, Adventure, Drama, Historical, Seinen.
MAL Rating - 8.72

Vinland saga is a Historical Seinen manga based on true historical facts along with . It is more like famous manga Kentaro Miura's Berserk and Takehiko Inoue's Vagabond. If you are a fan of Vikings TV show then Vinland saga is basically a manga version of it with Realistic art, Gore and blood, Tragedy, Self Reflection, Emotions, Adventure, Dreams, War, Conflict and Vengence!

Plot summary
Thorfinn is son to one of the Viking's greatest warriors, but when his father is killed in battle by the mercenary read more
Jul 31, 2015
animeBee1ver (All reviews)
It was a long trek since I started this manga. There were two attempts. The first, I lasted until 6 chapters, the second, with effort and scrolling, I finished 'till the latest update of chapter.

The manga details the prologue around the first 50 chapters and after that, the real story.

And when it comes to details in the story, well, let me tell you, it equals to describing thick fantasy books.

I don't mind this style. I mean, if done well, it could be a great captivating read. You'd bury yourself to the world the manga enforces.

It's just that, I've seen this kind. Can't tell you read more
Nov 23, 2014
Sorrow (All reviews)
Makoto Yukimura’s award-winning Vinland Saga is the #1 manga I look forward to reading every every few months when a new volume is released. Why? Well, maybe because it's maybe the best historic - fact and fiction story I've ever read. After all the it's-amazing blah blah blah praises I've heard from the anime community, I finally decided to give this manga a go a couple weeks ago and once I started, I just could not put the manga down. Who knew that a mere manga about Vikings-love-revenge could result in one of the greatest tragic stories ever both inside and outside of the manga read more
Sep 7, 2019
crizunhor (All reviews)
In my opinion, the manga is very overrated. With a pretense for realism, there is nothing realistic in it at all. The manga is full of convenient developments, plot armor, unbelievable personality changes. Many characters look interesting at first, but eventually degrade into typical stereotypes from a shonen manga, losing any believability. Strategy and politics look realistic only until the main characters are getting involved, then things just start to bend conveniently to make the heroes shine.

The manga is not bad, by any means, compared to other similar works out there, but one shouldn't expect anything more than a viking-themed time-killer, and imho it read more
Jan 4, 2020
BowDownPeasant (All reviews)
Does Vinland Saga live up to all its HYPEEEEEEE? Does it live up to the title "Masterpiece" like Berserk and Vagabond in a similar genre? No, it doesn't. It come closer to Naruto at this point.. Hell, he runs like him and even preaches similar bullshit now.

I'l go over the main problems i had with Vinland Saga.

The first problem: Thors, who preaches about his pacifism in a viking setting which for those that are critical of the historical/viking setting will be a huge turn off because it doesn't fit the setting whatsoever. The second problem for some
is that he goes around defeating his enemies read more
Oct 3, 2014
Jet_Nice_Guy (All reviews)
In a world which knows nothing but violence, war and betrayal, it is still possible to find your glimmer of light.
Vinland Saga takes you away to the 1000s, an old, long forgotten era, where seamen known as Vikings are the ruler of the sea. They murder and plunder without inhibitions.
The protagonist of Vinland Saga, Thorfinn sun of Thors, is one of those Vikings. Only with revenge on his mind he travels from battle to battle, day in, day out.

However, you will learn that everyone has his own reasons, his ambitions to go that path of violence. And even among those Vikings there are libertines such read more
Nov 18, 2014
cwhits91 (All reviews)
There are very few series I have read or watched that I would give a perfect 10, but believe me when I say this series is a masterpiece. This series at first glance seems like your typical story of revenge, but after reading a few chapters you realize it is so much more.

Story: This story has it all, in terms of truly depicting all the emotion included with drama such as despair, anger, revenge, sadness, repentance, hope, and bearing with sin while moving forward, very few works compare. the author takes his time with the story, the first half is a prologue, but read more
Jan 28, 2020
Pixeldrum (All reviews)
Don't get it twisted.
This manga is good.
For the first half, at least.

I first read this manga a few years back, watched the anime that just aired, and caught up to the manga again just now. And honestly, Vinland saga's story gets worse and worse once you get to the part where the anime drops off. It's a whole completely different story.
Is it a bad thing? Well, yes. The entire genre of the story is basically changed, and so is the pacing. And if I'm being blunt here, I don't quite like the direction the story goes. The story goes from a hardcore blood and read more
Sep 13, 2015
Cheesegod (All reviews)
A gritty historical adventure manga with a strong story, great character development and beautiful artwork makes this manga one with few peers.

I only have two very minor issues, I feel that at times the pacing of the story is slightly out and some scenes could benefit from another page of 'screen time'. I also would like some of the side characters to have a more fleshed out story but this could be done to reduce bloat which I completely understand.

I personally find the art style to be exquisite and the attention to detail makes for breathtaking landscapes and stunning battles. The intense fights are made read more
Feb 4, 2012
seinenfag (All reviews)
Story - Not your typical revenge story. Almost funny in a way, if it were not so brutal. The revenge arc is fairly interesting, where we mostly see Askeladd's and later Canute's characters being developed, with some of Thorkell as well. Thorfinn got practically no character development during the revenge arc and only really developed after he became a slave. I found the farmland saga quite refreshing and not at all boring compared to the previous arcs, even though there was less action.

Art - Outstanding. On par with Berserk I would say, although cleaner and slightly less detailed.

Character - Thorfinn is strange, I read more
Oct 3, 2015
VanAlex (All reviews)
This is the First Time I've Encountered the "BEST of the BEST"

-How it was done- 8
the story were told in great style, I've never seen anyone who would put such a prologue in 50 chapters, or 50 months, I mean, that's a gamble in Manga Making. The Art was Superb, it was able to give the expression and the message without showing too much scene. The characters design here are not the best looking, but the best in showing who they are. But the background is superb, which is hard to pull.

So far, the only disadvantage of this manga is the the Chapters Story, this read more