Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Fullmetal Alchemist

Fullmetal Alchemist

Alternative Titles

English: Fullmetal Alchemist
Synonyms: Full Metal Alchemist, Hagane no Renkinjutsushi, FMA, HagaRen, Fullmetal Alchemist Gaiden
Japanese: 鋼の錬金術師

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 27
Chapters: 116
Status: Finished
Published: Jul 12, 2001 to Sep 11, 2010
Authors: Arakawa, Hiromu (Story & Art)
Serialization: Shounen Gangan

Statistics

Score: 9.131 (scored by 97729 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #32
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #11
Members: 171,914
Favorites: 24,267

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 13, 2010
Archaeon (All reviews)
One of the problems with something being truly good is that every so often it becomes a victim of its own success, and in a sense that's what happened with the fans of Full Metal Alchemist.

Arakawa Hiromu's tale of two brothers and their adventures in alchemy is one of the most well known stories in anime and manga to date, and has spawned a horde of games, a movie (with a second one planned), numerous doujins and fanfics, piles of merchandise ranging from tatoos to chibi plushies, and two very different anime series. The story itself is very typically shounen at times, however there is read more
Jun 10, 2010
MayuzumiYukie (All reviews)
Preliminary
I shed a tear as I read the last chapter of this manga. A manga that I've been following since I was in Primary School has just concluded with the most epic and satisfying finale. I'm sad to see one of my favourite series of all time finish, yet I'm happy to see such a great ending. I really want to procrastinate more, but I should press onwards with the review and leave that for discussion in the forums.

Fullmetal Alchemist is one of the most innovative manga I've ever had the pleasure of reading. The concept of Alchemy itself was a superb idea, and in read more
Mar 7, 2015
Polyphemus (All reviews)
Fullmetal Alchemist is not spectacular. What I mean is that nothing about the art or the plot immediately strikes the audience as impressive or unique. The art is not flashy or detailed. It gets the job done, but only just. The action is easy to follow from panel to panel, and it is just dynamic enough to be interesting. The characters are all pretty much distinguishable from each other, despite their simple designs, and some of them look kinda cool. More than anything, the art is solid. It never gets in the way of the audience's enjoyment. And sometimes that's enough. The only times I read more
Apr 5, 2008
iAlkemy (All reviews)
Preliminary
Fullmetal Alchemist is one of the most amazing, interesting, emotional series I've ever been fortunate to read. The powerful mix of brilliant characters, an outstanding plot, interesting settings, and thoughtful concepts drew me in from the very beginning.

Story: (10) I give this series 10 when it comes to story. Fullmetal's plot is one of the most well-developed and interesting plots I have ever encountered when dealing with manga. Every event has a reaction that ends up playing larger roles in the story than you would think.

Art: (8) I give this series an 8 when it comes to art. Hiromu Arakawa has, without a read more
Mar 7, 2008
EmeraldWolfChild (All reviews)
Preliminary
First review for a manga series because I have to do this! I can't believe no one has yet written one!!

Story: I am not going to go in the whole 'this happens and that happens' as you can read that in the summary up there *points* About the story itself, all I can say is that it has one of the best developed plots I have ever encountered. Everything comes closer and closer to the main goal and even when you think it has nothing to do with the story, you find out that it has a tremendous value to the whole tale. It definitely read more
Sep 20, 2017
WithMyCigs (All reviews)
“Do you have the courage to face the truth?”

Too often, artists promote their own inexperienced and narrow-minded agendas in their stories, shamelessly condemning the actions and decisions of those living in circumstances they couldn’t possibly imagine accurately. Hiromu Arakawa, thankfully, is not one of those artists. Where her ignorance would have left holes in her story, she did research and conducted interviews. When opportunities came during the story in which she could pronounce judgment on one type of people or belief, she refrained from making naïve and arrogant assumptions. As her characters experience the sorrows and joys that come with facing the truth, that crouching read more
Jun 11, 2010
Damonashu (All reviews)
Recently I have found it impossible to find a good shonen series to watch or read. It's come to the point that if it even looks remotely shonen, I stray away from it with untamed fury. Why do I keep coming back though? Why do I still look for shonen manga to read? It's all because of series like Full Metal alchemist.

When it comes to critiquing, I'm somewhat merciless. I'm sure some of the people who have seen my reviews of their favorite series think I consider myself a know it all, but nothing could be further from the truth. Often I see "but they read more
Aug 3, 2009
eneri (All reviews)
Preliminary
Okay, so let me just start off by saying that I am writing this review mainly because of the numerous people who will probably check the manga out after the FMA: Brotherhood hype, which as I'm sure everyone knows, is following the manga storyline. Hopefully this will be able to clear up any doubts or misconceptions some might have about the series. I can safely say that I started the first FMA anime early this year. A few years back, I tried picking up the FMA manga but it didn't manage to captivate me at all, and I ended up dropping it after the first read more
Jun 13, 2010
siovannie (All reviews)
Normally, I don’t write reviews. But after I read the last chapter, I thought FMA deserves a review. Maybe it’s not that good, but I still hope you find it useful and decide you want to read it, since FMA is the best series I have ever read.

Story: When you read the story synopsis, it’s not that special. You find more stories like that. But, what makes FMA special is how it’s thought out. The story is really deep, nothing is unimportant. Characters aren’t forgotten, they keep coming back, and everything is explained. And it’s always surprising. You think you got the whole story figured read more
Sep 28, 2010
xxPuri-chanxx (All reviews)
Preliminary
I being a huge fan of FullMetal Alchemist enjoyed reading this. I only wish other characters such as Roy, etc...could have been added. I gave "8 for character" because there could have been at least a few afterwords on everyone else lives. I gave "9 for overall" because I just felt again, the other characters could have had a few mentions. But it's about Ed, Al, and Winry's life after the end of the manga so I'll deal with it haha :] Overall its a warming conclusion full of love. Long live FMA!
Jul 3, 2015
Alexeii (All reviews)
I remember when I had only four chapters left of this manga, I almost cried at the thought that it is the one I enjoyed the most, which means I may never come across something this awsome ever again. I absolutely don't regret reading it and I wish I could go back in time so that I can read it for the first time.

Art:
I always drew manga charcters just for fun, without even watching or reading the series they belong to, but the fullmetal alchemist manga made me think seriously about taking it to the next level. Arakawa Sensei's drawing style is outstanding, apart from read more
Jun 19, 2011
06blackheart (All reviews)
Preliminary
First you got to know that Fullmetal Alchemist Gaiden is an epilogue to the acclaimed Fullmetal Alchemist manga so if you haven't read the original manga you really should before checking this one if you want to understand and also because Fullmetal Alchemist is one of the greatest manga out there. With that said of course after the end of the Fullmetal manga people wanted more and this one shot serve as a closure and gives us info about what happens to our hero after the original manga.

For those who have read Fullmetal Alchemist and I hope you have, you will not be in unknown read more
Jun 11, 2010
Shar (All reviews)
In the huge bountiful production of Shonen series out there many continue to go on forever and are filled with cliche's and troupes galore. Fullmetal Alchemist is a series that shines above the rest. There is no pointless power-up, fight the bad guy and continually lose and come back only to repeat the cycle over and over again.

It is very story driven. And character driven. Every character takes a part in the grand scheme of things. Every conversation has value and shows importance to the advancement of plot and development. It is a powerful tale of sacrifice, love, friendship, family, and reaching your potential.

I read more
Jul 19, 2015
ConstantReader (All reviews)
Full Metal Alchemist is the Harry Potter of the manga world. And when I say that I don’t mean that their plots are remotely the same (although both have a main villain who splits himself seven ways… that’s actually cool) or that they're such big names in their respective mediums and genre (while it's true FMA has nowhere near the same amount of fame internationally as Dragonball or Naruto, it's almost always one of the first anime recommended to new-comers and frequently put on top anime lists); just in the way that absolutely everything about FMA has set itself apart from other shounen manga - read more
Jun 12, 2010
kyokai (All reviews)
What to say about a masterpiece? All good things must come to an end and that is what happened with FMA's legendary run. When I finished the last chapter today, I seriously shed a tear of joy for all the character development and so many things I was rooting for since I've been following this manga (since last 3 years). The two anime spin-offs pretty much assure full enjoyment and deep storyline that keeps the reader/viewer on the edge of their seats with anticipation and speculation.

The best thing about FMA is not only its story but the alive characters. The story is definitely fantasy but read more
Dec 22, 2008
Mugiwara-Pyon (All reviews)
Preliminary
Im afraid that im a FMA fan alright a 10 for everything becos im just mad haha

Story: well if i were to tell u the story line u wudnt see the end of this review so ill just make it short and simple for those that have not read this before.Basically its about alchemy where u will have to draw a transmutation circle to perform renkinjutsu(alchemy) . The 2 main characters , Edward Elric know as Ed and Alphonse Elric known as Al ..these 2 are pretty popular and famous and are known as the elric kyoudai (elric brothers) . I think that they are read more
Mar 9, 2010
sergeyo13 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is my first review (sorry for my bad english)

When I began to read the manga (and it was about 4 months ago), the story immediately captured me, I sat and read for two weeks until I read 101 chapters, now every month I waiting for a new chapter.

Events are incredible, chapter goes only once a month, and is plagued by fans themselves: "What will happen next?", The plot is simply stunning, and with each chapter becoming more interesting. This manga will end soon, but probably for the better,I do not want FMA to become 400 serial shounen.

Drawing is very simple, you should not strain read more
Dec 15, 2008
Eternal_Light (All reviews)
Preliminary
Fullmetal Alchemist was the first anime/manga that I ever saw, and after reading tons of other stories it's still my favorite. Maybe I'm being a little biased because it was the one that really got me into anime, but I'm not lying when I tell you it is a phenomenal piece of work.

For one, the artwork is amazing. It's some of the nicest I've seen and certainly keeps your eyes wanting to continue to look, which I think is a vital part about manga 'cause lets face it; who wants to look at something that isn't appealing to their eyes?

Another is the story. read more
Dec 9, 2009
SillyMellow92 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This manga is great, I love the characters, the art, the story. I also love how the characters have so much emotion, it just makes me feel like I'm really there watching! Also I love how it makes you have to read more to know what's going to happen. Great manga, I'll be watching for new chapters! =3
Nov 23, 2013
Tetsuoz (All reviews)
First of all, i'm sorry for my bad english, i'm learning, so... Try to understand :p
Fullmetal is my favorite manga, I just love it. The dimension of this series is absurdly complex. At first glance, it seems to be only a handful of chapters and adventures with some drama to the mix. However in a few episodes so that the viewer understands that FMA is much more than that. The subjects covered are quite controversial and interesting, as the creation of a perfect society, represented by Amestris, the greed and ambition of human that lead them to commit the most heinous atrocities, clearly evident in read more