Love in the Mask
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Love in the Mask

Alternative Titles

Japanese: 가면속의 사랑

Information

Type: Manhwa
Volumes: 32
Chapters: 134
Status: Finished
Published: Not available
Genres: ActionAction, ComedyComedy, RomanceRomance, ShoujoShoujo, Slice of LifeSlice of Life, Gender BenderGender Bender
Authors: Han, Yu-Rang (Story & Art)
Serialization: None

Statistics

Score: 7.861 (scored by 47174,717 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #9912
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1340
Members: 9,348
Favorites: 366

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 24, 2010
Moon_Light (All reviews)
Preliminary
A love to hate manga, not because it's so horrible but because the characters really piss you off.

Do the characters have their bad qualities? Yes, but at this point I think their qualities are essential to the drama and its unfolding.

[Mild Spoilers but very little]

Suh Hyun-bin. She’s had a rough start in life. Watched her little brother die in her arms without being able to do anything. Was later picked up by a wealthy man who needed a bodyguard for his granddaughter. It was either be a guy forever or be on the streets. She chose what anyone would have chosen. Used and abused by read more
Apr 16, 2010
lovelove (All reviews)
Preliminary
I absolutely love this manhwa because it really goes in detail of the characters from their childhood to their adulthood. The story is about a girl who is an orphan, but live amongst street gangsters. She conceals the fact that she's a girl so that she can survive. One day she's taken in by a rich family and becomes the family's granddaughter's bodyguard. The owner of the house tells her to conceal the fact that she's a girl to everyone and concentrate on training and protecting the weak granddaughter. Hyunbin is the name that is given to the heroine. She lives her life as a read more
Apr 22, 2015
Korppi (All reviews)
Let's see.

-Really long, going on circles (I love him, can't reveal, I love him, can't reveal, I love him...). Would have worked way better as 30ch series.

-Art is awful. It is hard to describe, but the art is very crude except for hair.

- Plot is bad and unrealistic, every single character is unlikeable.

Unless you are 12-13 years old and female, I'd stay away from this. There are so many better series.

Nov 4, 2014
PetiteAni (All reviews)
I don't really usually rate something I watched or read, but this manhwa was an exception. This really is one of the best manhwa I have ever read! I strongly suggest many to read it, but if you are as sensitive as I am, be prepared for a lot of tissues xD

Love in the Mask is about an orphaned girl, Suh Hyun Bin, who was forced to live as a guy in order to survive. She isn't just your typical protagonist who lived a horrible life and then just magically becomes one who lives a perfect life. It is way much more than that. This read more
Jun 20, 2010
la_tigra (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is one of the most original manhwa ever. Almost every gender bending manhwa have the same pattern but this one is different.

Story:
A girl who has to survive in an early age. Having to disguise as a guy since she was young. The story is full of unpredictable events. You would be surprise how the characters change and mature.

Art:
The art is superb. I have to admit that this manhwa is one of the reason that I would say most of the shoujo manhwa is better than shoujo manga. Don't get me wrong shoujo manga is really good but shoujo mahwa would always take the cake. read more
Mar 16, 2012
nicparmesan (All reviews)
This manwha... Just yikes.

I honestly was in love when I started this manwha. It has so much heart and the heroine is strong in the face of tragedy. The two leads gradually begin to have feelings for each other despite the fact that our heroine is believed to be male.

Then things just took a downward spiral. Don't get me wrong. It was great for a while, but soon things just got so dragged out to the point where it seemed as though these romantic conflicts wouldn't conclude. And then of course as we need the end soap opera-like occurrences begin to pop up read more
Jul 21, 2010
Maz-Maz (All reviews)
Preliminary
Using the seemingly un-rusting gangster setting, this Manhwa would have been dropped faster than it would take you TO READ TILL HEre. But it had something extra; not only did it have the overly, and I mean OVERLY, used setting and characters but it had something new, something that most don't have.
No it's not detailed drawings but a bodyguard.
Yessiree, a bodyguard.

It is a tale told from a bodyguard's point of view. Not a rich kid, or a poor kid;

It was a bodyguard.

You see, I'm a simple person. I don't like overly used things or things that are 100% nonsensical (a little nonsense here read more
Dec 5, 2016
Shonyerr (All reviews)
I've never written a review here before but after spending however many hours reading and completing this manhwa, I felt the need to write something, cause oh boy was it all over the place.

I'll keep it brief:

The characters are all pretty unlikable and many are just plain annoying.

The story is dragged out and seems to just go in circles, basically nothing happens in the first half that means anything.

I can't say much to avoid spoilers but I got quite annoyed at the ending, not to mention the lead up to it, Hyun-Bin's motivations completely change in a matter of chapters and the conclusion is just read more
Jun 12, 2010
SaintWhastername (All reviews)
Preliminary
This manga is sooo cool......I mean the story is originally and the characters are great but ....the thing that I like the most in this manga is the thing that the girl have a strong personality and she is disguised as a boy and she is good at fighting too.....I think that this manga is the best ...XD ...I suggest you to try it because you won't regret ....^_^
Apr 15, 2011
dara97 (All reviews)
Preliminary
The first thing I did when reading this manga was cry. This manga was for me heart-wrenching and very depressing. This poor girl has had unfortunate upon unfortunate thrown upon her. Her little brother died in her arms then she had to become a heartless body guard. After 9 years of trying of what I can only describe as a half-hearted darkness she falls in love but she can't reveal it. Then to top it all off the has to spend another 9 years as a heartless gangster all the while having to pretend to be a boy.

I read this manga thinking it would be read more
Jan 9, 2012
EfiChan (All reviews)
If you're looking for a simple manga without any unnecessary complications, look somewhere else.

Plot (8)
When you read the synopsis first, you may think it's pretty simple, but it totally complicated. The story focuses on the dark side of life: Death, orphanhood, lonliness, crimes and more. You will see unmoral actions (which will influence some of the characters. Even a character who doesn't look hurmful at the beginning, may reveal its darker side).
The story in the beginning pulls to certain direction, and as it goes on, the relationships are changing as well as the feeling of the characters (and even their mental condition).

Characters (8)
In one word: read more
Oct 15, 2011
marYellE13 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story: 8/10
Han Yu-Rang made the gender bender of the story unique. I haven't seen gender benders done like this, so I was really happy. There's not much to complain about the story itself, yet there's not much to brag about the story either. But it did keep me really interested.

Art: 9/10
This is the first time I'm fully engaged in a manhwa, and the different style it has from manga is very obvious that it took me a while to get used to it. In the end, I still love the art. I didn't give it a read more
Nov 26, 2011
Blackstar_aria (All reviews)
Let me begin by saying I loved this manwha all the way until chapter 127. I liked the characters and although I got a little annoyed with all the self sacrifice (and there is a lot of it) I liked seeing what was gonna happen next and waited anxiously.
The reason it wound up with an 8 from me is because the ending was completely rushed. Its like waiting 2 hours for a really short and uneventful ride at an amusement park. The majority of it is awesome keeps you interested and shows a lot of longing, emotional stress, and the true value of relationships and read more
Apr 28, 2012
PrincessBanu (All reviews)
I have never written a review for any manga till now. But this manga really captured my heart. It is awesome! There are so many touching moments. I love it so much. I cried at least 12 times, that means that at least 12 chapters were so sad. It really broke my heart. I love this manga and how it expresses fate and destiny and about true love! I love this manga! I might even read it someday. One day, I will share this manga with my kids. LOLXD This manga has made me feel so sensitive and now I am babbling and talking nonsense. read more
Nov 27, 2015
BAKAChouji (All reviews)
This manwha was a mess.

It was all over the place. The story started out very interesting with the introduction of characters and all. I also liked the main female lead very much because she was a tough girl and was able to fight and defend herself.

However, then the author started introducing more characters and unnecessary drama. Half the time, I could not even understand the whole vengeful situation and interactions between Chairman Kim Pil Joong and Chairman Yun (I think this was their names. I also couldn't keep up with all the names because there were just that many characters) whose relationship actually instigates read more
Jun 23, 2017
finwatchin07 (All reviews)
This is the longest manhwa/manga I've read that is completed. Overall I rate it a 7 even though I enjoyed the story and the fact that it's reverse harem.

Storyline: As mentioned already, our female lead has a pretty rough life as child and is saved by a rich powerful man. In exchanged for her survival she's to obey their orders and pretty much live as a robot without feelings and opinions while acting as a bodyguard to the family's only granddaughter. Eventually she meets multiple men that puts her through a whole lot of emotional and mental roller coasters. Despite having feelings for read more
Apr 28, 2016
Otaku365 (All reviews)
How do i say... The story isn't bad, in fact the plot s actually pretty good, something that will sound dramtic and enjoyable if a friend was discribing it to you, however, the set up was not very good. It is a great plot but not well executed.
I originally planned a 6 but taking the good parts like the plot in consideration i guess it is more deserving for a 7. Giving a grade score, 60% would be too low for it and 70% sounds about right, a C.
The art was not very good, the eyes were really large and shimmery looking and read more
May 13, 2017
ichounette (All reviews)
This is the best story I've read so far! Koreans keep on impressing me everytime. I'll be waiting for the next korean who'll impress me with a new story!
This story is reallly harsh, it depicts how hard life is really by showing its darkest sides. It made me feel bad too because we always complain about little things, while they are many orphans who couldn't get a chance to taste happiness.
It took me a long time to read it, because it's too long (32volumes), but also because it was too stong for me (lol). Eventhough, I really wanted to know how it's going to read more
Feb 16, 2013
SaoriHayami (All reviews)
The manga is a good gender bender. It has lots of action, drama and romance.
But what I did not like was the fact that Hyun-Bin is a girl, she was beaten almost all the chapters. It is cruel and inhumane to take a woman like that.A woman would never have sufficient physical strength to beat several men at the same time, take both. It was part of the fantasy author
Sep 22, 2012
xmcleishx (All reviews)
Never Written a reviw before, but this one needs one. It has such amazing characters and such a great plot but i was soo disappointed at the end, the story moved soo fast towards the end while at the start it was at a nice pace. OMG i felt like the author needed to finish the story quick. I really wished it would explain a bit more. Can't believe she made the main character like another guy.....and what happened to Chi ho!!! - i felt like he was forgotton i really thought he would end up with the other women! It is an amazing story read more