Bambino!
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Bambino!

Alternative Titles

Japanese: バンビ~ノ!

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 15
Chapters: 164
Status: Finished
Published: Dec 6, 2004 to Feb 23, 2009
Genres: DramaDrama, Slice of LifeSlice of Life, SeinenSeinen
Authors: Sekiya, Tetsuji (Story & Art)
Serialization: Big Comic Spirits

Statistics

Score: 7.921 (scored by 22512,251 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #8602
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2458
Members: 5,337
Favorites: 83

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 19, 2015
dipes (All reviews)
It's like shounen with a heavy spice of senien, its about a young cook struggling both in the kitchen and his daily life throughout the whole series.

supporting cast in this manga has a very rich background and their development progresses throughout the series making it enjoyable

the only bad thing about this manga is that things or events happen to suddenly like very very suddenly without any hints given or rarely given.
Oct 30, 2013
treelet (All reviews)
Bambino! is a seinen manga about the nitty gritty of the culinary world as seen through the eyes of a young man looking to find who he is on the threshold of adulthood. The story is fairly simplistic at the offset, with Ban struggling to juggle his ambitions, his relationships, and the tangibility of his dreams as he sets off to become a great chef. It will strike a chord with many young adults with similar dreams, especially in creative fields like cooking. Therein lies the primary theme of Bambino!: having the heart -- or the ambition, the drive, the optimism, the read more
Jun 11, 2016
Mayuka (All reviews)
When people say "cooking anime/manga", the first thing people think of is Shokugeki no Souma. And for most, that's the best cooking series that they've watched/read. I also thought that way until I read this series, Bambino!. Don't get me wrong! I like Shokugeki. But... This isn't just a cooking battle shounen series like Shokugeki.

It's about life, motivations, dreams and how to overcome hurdles.

I would compare this series to Tetsuwan Girl (a sports seinen about freedom, virtue and liberation; one character in Bambino reminds me of the MC in Tetsuwan) and Honey & Clover (a slice of life josei about finding your raison read more
Mar 5, 2012
old_boy22 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Howdy folks. Today I'd like to talk about a series I really enjoyed as I have always had a personal interest in the culinary world called Bambino!

Review

Surprisingly there isn't a whole lot to say about this story. It's about Ban's journey through young adult life having to make adult decisions while trying to progress through his choice of career: culinary. It's really just a more serious, realistic (within the world of anime and manga) take on a cooking centric story if you ask me.

There are other characters, chefs, cooks and read more
May 6, 2011
anonymousperson (All reviews)
Preliminary
I didn't see any reviews up so I figured I'd write one, I only read up to volume 8 myself though. I haven't read much manga about cooking so it was a nice change of pace (and even got me in the kitchen for a little bit) Overall it was pretty good and I'm glad I read it but it was nothing life-changing and I would've been fine not reading it.
Story;
The story was really basic, and I could tell you the story of what I read without giving any spoilers. There were a couple things I wasn't expecting, but for the most part it's fairly read more
May 13, 2018
BlueKite (All reviews)
Bambino is a frustrating reading experience that had me feeling all sorts of emotions. I don’t mean that in a negative way. You see, it’s always a tendency that success is always the objective of the story when it revolves around an empowered character. They have their own share of struggles, but they immediately overcome it through the power of plot convenience. Bambino, however, is quite different.

The road to success is not a smooth route that can be achieved by just having talent. The manga attempts to slap the harsh truth to our main character Ban Shogo. He is not as great as he read more
Jul 16, 2020
acloudwithfeet (All reviews)
To keep this review short, on terms of characters and art, Bambino excels. The shading and exaggerated lines are really good at conveying the hectic and stressful atmosphere of a top class kitchen in a top class restaurant. Yet at the same time it also works to convey the beauty of both the process and product of good Italian cooking. All of the characters, even the small side characters, are well developed with their personality seeping through their actions and minor characteristics. Sometimes a chapter is given a single chapter to themselves and not only does it not break the pacing, but it tells you read more
Nov 24, 2019
0309 (All reviews)
"𝘐𝘵'𝘴 𝘰𝘬𝘢𝘺 𝘵𝘰 𝘣𝘦 𝘳𝘰𝘶𝘨𝘩 𝘨𝘦𝘮𝘴𝘵𝘰𝘯𝘦. 𝘉𝘶𝘮𝘱 𝘪𝘯𝘵𝘰 𝘵𝘩𝘪𝘯𝘨𝘴. 𝘚𝘮𝘰𝘰𝘵𝘩 𝘺𝘰𝘶𝘳 𝘦𝘥𝘨𝘦𝘴. 𝘈𝘯𝘥 𝘳𝘰𝘭𝘭 𝘰𝘯𝘸𝘢𝘳𝘥." ㅡ Yonamine Tsukasa

Such a fantastic reading experience!
The story gives a strong impression because the main character, Ban, always face unstoppable obstacles that make the story alive and rich in values. The arts successfully make the reader (me, ofc) hungry all the time with good detail of mouth-watering Italian cuisine illustrations. The panels greatly express emotions, pressures, and all the elements that build the manga. The characters have their uniqueness and problems that so refreshing for every volume. It's worth reading this manga as a pastime especially for adult/young adults read more
Feb 14, 2019
yunfanz (All reviews)
Being a cook myself, I do have a fondness of the sub-genre that is cooking. With the rise in popularity of the series Shokugeki no Souma, there also rose a small trend in the culinary culture. Bambino; however, still stands as an unique one-of-a-kind series despite this.

Focusing on the young protagonist Ban, an inspiring chef. The story begins as he lands a job in the kitchen of the popular Italian restaurant, Trattoria Baccanale. While having just finished culinary school, he quickly realized the workplace is like nothing he could ever be prepared for.

Starting from the bottom, the story progresses as he moves up the ladder, read more
Mar 10, 2019
hexashadow13 (All reviews)
tl;dr: A food theme manga with a lot of variety and good writing for most of it, but that completely botches the ending to a ridiculous degree.

While this is a manga focused around food, like a lot of mangas that are technically focused around some specific subject such as food or a sport, the core of the manga instead lies beyond that. It does describe food to a decent degree and as someone with no knowledge about Italian food or restaurants whatsoever, it was pretty new and interesting. Still, what holds up this manga is the stories surrounding the food. What most impressed me about these stories was that read more