Tiger & Bunny
Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 


Alternative Titles

English: Tiger & Bunny
Synonyms: Tiger and Bunny, Taibani
Japanese: TIGER & BUNNY (タイガー・アンド・バニー)

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 3, 2011 to Sep 18, 2011
Premiered: Spring 2011
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Viz Media
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Original
Genres: ActionAction, MysteryMystery, ComedyComedy, Super PowerSuper Power
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.991 (scored by 6355463,554 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #5702
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #691
Members: 164,287
Favorites: 2,672

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 10, 2011
Nadir (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'd like more people to give this show a chance.

At first glance at the title, the first impression was that the show "Tiger & Bunny" will be a cutesy show with talking tigers and bunnies. It is not.
This may be a disappointment for some.

And looking at the promotional art, people assume "Oh it's some mecha anime. Since I don't like mecha, I won't watch it." I assure you, this show is not about mechas at all. Those "mechas" are in actuality the main characters of the show in their power suits. Calling them "mechas" is akin to calling Tony Stark (of Iron Man fame) a read more
Mar 17, 2012
Archaeon (All reviews)
Superheroes have long been a staple of popular culture, especially in the West, and over the years characters like Superman, Batman, Spiderman, and even The Hulk have become household names. With their popularity at an all-time high thanks to video game tie-ins and movie adaptations, it's only natural that pretenders to the thrones that Marvel and DC sit upon should crawl out of the woodwork.

The most obvious attempts to capitalise on the success of these comic-book creations have come from television and cinema, but while shows like "Heroes", "Chronicle" and "Misfits" have found a degree of success, the majority of attempts to reinvent, reboot or read more
Apr 23, 2011
IceAndCream (All reviews)
Before it came out, I saw the title and a poster art, and I figured it would be Playboy-esque. Or about Mafia. Then on a fansub site, I saw it tagged as a shounen mecha with action and comedy. Now I was confused. But whichever it was (about Mafia or mecha) it wasn't gonna be good.

Then I saw that episode 1 was on Hulu. HULU? Was this legitimacy? OK, so I watched it. It was not what I was expecting. It's not about Mafia or mecha. It's about SUPERHEROES! Why couldn't somebody just come read more
Apr 3, 2011
Nyron (All reviews)
Preliminary
Alright, it's time for a new season and there's a chance that Sunrise is gonna make it a good one with this gem. Of course, Sunrise is probably the most incompetent major studio when it comes to handling a story and has been for years, but I'm willing to put my hopes and dreams for anime's future on the line for Tiger&Bunny.

The premise: Superheroes are real, and they're the latest and greatest tool for capitalism. Anyone who's anyone that has a superpower is sponsored by a company, and they all compete on a reality TV show where they catch crooks and stop disasters from read more
Dec 12, 2015
qtblader (All reviews)
[Insert obligatory pretentious quote here]
#3deep5me

I have been told that I recommend this anime a bit too much.
That's because it's so underrated. Every time i tell someone to watch it, they give me shit like "I don't watch mech" or "Looks gay"
IT IS NOT FUCKING MECH. Learn to read the damn tags.
As for the gay part, people can ship whichever characters they want, doesn't make it canon. As long as you avoid the doujins, you're good. Unless of course you like that kind of stuff, which is perfectly fine.
I do admit the banner doesn't look too appealing. Trust me, the anime looks much better.


Story-
Anime about people read more
Sep 13, 2014
Fear_the_Reefer (All reviews)
Up in the sky, look! It’s a bird! It’s a plane!
No, it’s... Billboard Man! Fighting crime, defending the innocent, an whoring himself out like it’s his first night in Hollywood!

It’s the distant future for us, and a bizarre mutation has started to occur among our population. Human beings with superhuman powers are popping up everywhere, and we’ve taken to calling them Nexts... Presumably because ‘mutants’ was taken. We initially rejected these outcasts, until they decided to don costumes and assume the role of superheroes, defending the very people who judged them on live, national TV!

Unfortunately for read more
Sep 17, 2011
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
I really hate it when a potentially fun premise finds itself eventually getting bogged down by the conventional elements it was seemingly trying to subvert. Tiger and Bunny's premise was unique in the fact you had superheroes on a reality show competing for points and being corporate-sponsored, which had me thinking this series would get its fun off exploiting the premise and poking fun of the absurdities commonplace with superhero formulas when I first heard about it. Instead, it creates plot development out of Kotetsu and Barnaby getting used to each other as a superhero duo when the former's company gets bought out and the read more
Jun 8, 2013
dsleech (All reviews)
When I first saw this anime, I thought I wouldn't like it. This isn't the type of art I like and action superheroes are not my thing. That was my initial impression until my friend had highly recommend it. You definitely have to push through the first episode if you do not like episodic battle anime. The story will get better and you will have your darker plot!

The art needs getting use to, I guess it is not very traditional. I can't remember the sound but I like the opening.

What I love about this story.. ohh the characters. There are so many hidden facets and read more
Sep 23, 2011
NeverKnowsBest26 (All reviews)
Tiger & Bunny is definitely not your average action anime. Actually, it is more akin western superhero comics than to the shounen and seisen that make up most action anime. From the comic-bookish hero costumes to the loose and fun atmosphere, this very much like the Saturday morning cartoons western audiences grew up on... except better. It's a breath of fresh air and welcomed diversity in the world of anime, but more than that, it's a damn fun show.

Right from the start, Tiger & Bunny sets itself apart from just about any other show with its 'superheroes meet capitalism' premise. You see, in the city read more
Feb 1, 2015
kukkanen (All reviews)
PLOT: 1/10

Started out promising, with an unique idea of capitalist super heroes competing for "hero-points" in a reality tv-show, their suits plastered with commercial ads. In the reality tv-show, good deeds yield points to the heroes (saving a human life +100p, catching a bad guy +200p, etc.). Brilliant start!

But! This original idea of capitalist heroes was not explored in any depth, which left me super disappointed. The story doesn't touch the subject of capitalism or commercial ads or anything like that. It's just silly super powers and silly villains one after the other. None of the characters question the scoring of saving human lives, and read more
Apr 16, 2011
WildNeptune (All reviews)
Preliminary
Out of all the shows to debut for the Spring 2011 season, Tiger and Bunny was the only I had the most reservations about prior the actually seeing it. The description was non existent and the cover art made it look like some sort of yaoi mecha anime.

I'm please to say that none of the above is true. The show is pretty awesome after two episode. The premise is a buncha of random people got super powers and some use them for good, others evil, but someone decided to cash in on this and now their exploits are set up on public television.

The show read more
Jan 16, 2019
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Tiger & Bunny is a hero series from 2011. It was brought to us by Sunrise. I've heard it mentioned a lot over the years, but never got around to watching it. But since it's hero month, it seems like a good time to check it out and form some opinions. 

Story:

Our narrative is set in the future where mutants... I mean "Next" have started popping up. Naturally, this has led to a group of heroes who wear product placements like they think they're Captain Amazing from Mystery Men and who fight criminals & rescue civilians alike to earn points for a television show. Enter newcomer, read more
Dec 5, 2018
dragon97king (All reviews)
Tiger and bunny I remember seeing ads for this show on youtube thinking "Wow this looks like a complete sell out anime" So I never gave it a try till I saw japan rated this anime rank 6th, 2nd and 1st place on all time anime. I was shocked so I turned I on ep 1 expecting to hate it and I ended up watching 14 eps in a single day loving it...... Never judge a book by it's cover

Story
The story is about heroes saving the day but on a tv show to get points yep every time they save someone or read more
Jan 21, 2013
maddynamite (All reviews)
Hi, and thanks for taking the time to read my review of Tiger & Bunny! I have come to terms that I am obsessed with this show, and I'd like more people to give it a chance.

Story: I'd say the biggest letdown is the story; the main plot has been done before. On the plus side, there is considerable effort put into the side characters' stories that helps add to the overarching plot.

Art: Another iffy spot. At times, the art is gorgeous. Other times, the art is very simplistic and "lazy". I think that the CG implemented into the show is a bonus, rather read more
Sep 10, 2011
Soiku (All reviews)
Preliminary
I know another Tiger and Bunny Review when there is so many other great reviews. But I really wanted to say, or rather type, why I loved this show. And how it is the only 2011 anime that I have kept updated with constantly.

First let's start with the Story.

When you look at the title its a little off putting, but honestly the title is what drove me to try this series. An anime called Tiger and Bunny with a cover picture of Mecha suits. It raises the curiosity. So I tired it. And I was surprised. It was funny and the art read more
Jan 24, 2018
Entitatea (All reviews)
It's an ok anime if you ignore the ending. Otherwise it's a pretty normal one, characters don't progress as much, but there is something at least. Art is pretty good and sounds and voice actors are ok. Good if you don't know anything you want to watch, I'd say overall for me a 7. If you don't mind inconsistencies and like superheroes, i'd say it could be an 8. If you ignore the last 2 episodes which were atrocious.

This gets a 2 because there are a lot of inconsistencies that happen sometimes that take me out of it (like stupid decisions of characters), but in read more
Jun 6, 2011
ItsSoPringles (All reviews)
Preliminary
listen i know this show looks AWFUL and just flat out stupid but let me tell you that couldnt be farther from the truth, without a doubt this is the best show of the season. when i first saw a preview for this i though

"oh god, what is this crap, well thats one show ill never watch"

im so happy my freind talked me into watching this, this show starts off just being really fun with a very nice color pallet to it. then you realy start to love the charecters ecpecialy the MC, then you start getting tot he serious part then the villian then read more
Sep 17, 2011
Reckoner (All reviews)
Coming in as a Western anime fan it is hard to not be skeptical of an anime about superheroes. Considering our own comic book industry and how it contrasts to anime in general, I almost would never consider the possibility of an anime successfully capturing the world of superheroes. Perhaps this is why I consider Tiger & Bunny to be one of the most pleasant surprises I have seen in quite a while.

Tiger & Bunny is a story about corporate sponsored superheroes called "Next", essentially mutants like those of X Men, who are constantly filmed on television in Sternbuild City. By engaging in heroic acts read more
Oct 19, 2011
sweeny (All reviews)
I wasn't going to watch this show. Nothing about the preview appealed to me in the slightest. Over the top action heros? Fighting in suits? Boring.

The funny thing is, that statement is absolutey correct, and absolutely false. Yes! it is over the top action heros fighting in suits. But it isn't boring in the slightest. From the first episode I was hooked. And the reason --> Kotetsu - Wild Tiger, the main character of the show.

Kotetsu is thick, honest, well meaning, and one of the most endearing characters I have come across in recent times! From the start, you find yourself totally on read more
Dec 22, 2011
artist-retired (All reviews)
Imagine a reality show focused around X-Men-este characters saving the day in very corny and cliché ways. Now imagine that idea, but good and is actually very entertaining and has characters you seriously can't help but to cheer on, despite the corniness and clichés.

STORY: Saturday morning cartoons about superheroes were awesome, but that's the past and those shows are near dead, but this anime here, this lovingly homage to those flashy costumed hero shows is quite frankly one of not only the best, but one of the most important anime created in 2011, it's one of those kind of anime while it isn't the most read more