Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Dead Leaves


Alternative Titles

English: Dead Leaves
Japanese: デッド リーブス

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 16, 2004
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: Manga Entertainment
Studios: Production I.G
Source: Original
Duration: 53 min.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.251 (scored by 28,237 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #27152
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1589
Members: 58,781
Favorites: 414

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 28, 2009
Skadi (All reviews)
Dead Leaves is the kind of show that would probably blow your mind if you watched it stoned or drunk. It is so completely insane that it almost doesn’t make any sense if you’re sober. The first thing I am reminded of while watching this was another wild and crazy series, Furi Kuri. By the end of that show I wasn’t sure if I liked it or not. That’s not the case with Dead Leaves, it was a great ride that I recommend strongly.

The story for Dead Leaves is as nutty as you might expect. A couple find themselves naked read more
Nov 13, 2008
Venneh (All reviews)
Title: Dead Leaves

Anime: Dead Leaves is a 55 minute OAV that was created by Imaitoonz (who also did work on the 3D mechanical designs on Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann), was produced by Production IG (known for their work on Azumanga Daioh and the Ghost in the Shell series), and directed by Hiroyuki Imaishi (who also directed Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann and FLCL). It was released in Japan on January 17th, 2004, and was licensed Stateside by Manga Entertainment, who released it on September 28th, 2004.

Story: Retro, a guy with a TV screen for a head, and Pandy, a girl with a panda-esque mutation mark read more
Sep 15, 2009
hiruma55 (All reviews)
No words can begin to describe how ridiculously epic this anime is, this is just a film on another level. The film is just in-your-face action on the top end of the awesome scale. Dead Leaves is an anime that will have you stuck to your seat the entire time, the sheer amount of action in the film is like an adrenaline rush that takes you there so fast it’s like being on a rollercoaster ride. Sure there are moments where the film gives you moments to breathe to explore the story and characters, but once that point is over you are on the move read more
Feb 10, 2008
Bluesnow (All reviews)
Dead leaves was made by the same people as Furi Kuri~ which if you saw that series should give you a hint of how messed up this movie isXD
Because its just a movie~ they kind just threw out any attempt to make a comprehend able story~ and instead just threw action/Sex/And freaky Mutants in a blender and created this movie. Don't try to make sense of it~ just turn your brain off and bask in the craziness of the movie.

Story: There's a story some where, but its not really the focus of the movie, and half of it makes no sense at all; not even read more
Oct 28, 2008
krelyan (All reviews)
As a preface, Hiroyuki Imaishi's works seem to be a mixed bag for me. While I've greatly enjoyed what I have seen so far of his latter work, Gurren Lagann, Dead Leaves seems to be more reminiscent of his earlier piece, the infamous FLCL. Unfortunately, for me FLCL was a bit too eccentric to get into.

Art:
The surrealist, stylized artwork was certainly the highlight of the show. Not only is the animation crisp, bright and visually inventive, it's also chaotic and frenzied (almost to the point of headache-inducing). I viewed the show over a television broadcast and the intermittent advertisements may have read more
Jan 27, 2015
lawlmartz (All reviews)
I thought I had seen it all, then I saw Dead Leaves.

Preface:

From the mind of Hiroyuki Imaishi (director of FLCL and Gurren Lagann) comes this cracktastic adventure of the bizarre and insane. Get ready for a 45m long wild ride on ludicrous speed. It goes full plaid.

Story: 8

Retro- a guy with a TV for a head, and Pandy- a woman with an enormous red eye wake up in the middle of nowhere with no recollection as to how they got there, or what the heck they were doing in the first place. Their inhibitions flung to the wind, they take up arms and read more
Aug 1, 2008
Adam-Kun (All reviews)
If you are looking for something different, and want something to make you say "what the hell" out loud, with crazy sex scenes and gory, (but comedical) violence, then I suggest you watch Dead Leaves.

Story - 7
Very odd storyline, which fits this very odd anime. In short, the two main characters, Retro and Pandy, awake naked on Earth, not knowing who they are or how they got there. After going on a rampage in Tokyo, they are captured by the authorities and sent to the high level security prison - Dead Leaves. From there on, Retro and Pandy make plans to escape from there, read more
Oct 12, 2008
PokeNirvash (All reviews)
This series seemed ugly the first time I came across it, but after watching it on Sci Fi Channel, I instantly fell in love with it.

STORY: The main plot, the one involving the lunar prison, comes into effect in the first five minutes - not in the first twenty minutes like every other anime out there.

ART: Crazy style that reminds me of FLCL. Sharp colors and psychedelic designs build up the DL universe, from the simple-drawn streets of Tokyo to the "chewed-up" persona of the moon where DL is located.

SOUND: Clear sound that gets all the sound through the speakers to your noiseholes.

CHARACTER DESIGN: To read more
Oct 16, 2008
Fullmetal-Locke (All reviews)
I do believe I watched this once before, last year I think. Small fragments of memories of this still remain floating about in my head, but I decided to watch this again.

Storywise, this film lost me completely. I got to the point where their past is explained on the train. Then understood nothing after that. It was like there were bits missing from the film. That was how confusing it was. For me at least. I mean, I do have to point that out because there's always one who will disagree.

And I may sound odd in saying this & you may disagree, but read more
Apr 19, 2010
kajia (All reviews)
I was told this anime was "FLCL, except worse". I found it hard to believe... how can anything be worse than "FLCL"?!

Now that I've watched it, I'm sorry to say that, impossible though it may seem, this anime is truly more worse and more insane than "FLCL". If you despise "FLCL", then this anime is not for you. If you hate shows that are just crazy without making much sense, then this anime is not for you.

I think there's meant to be some sort of story behind this, and if the everyone in it would stop pissing about so much then maybe I could figure read more
Jan 1, 2009
Mugiwara-Pyon (All reviews)
This is some kind of weird funky kind of anime which somehow takes place in the future where these 2 people , pandy and retro who wakes up naked in this deserted place near a city and they have no recollection or memory of what happened before they woke up in that place. Both of them team up together to get some clothes food and such and become wanted criminals in that city and resulted in them getting caught and brought to an infamous prison going by the name of dead leaves where escape is impossible.Its full of gore killing , bloody scenes along with read more
Apr 20, 2010
Colonelfancy (All reviews)
Jeez, I just finished watching this on my DVR and wished it wasn't the last thing I saw before I went to bed. I remember hearing the title Dead Leaves, but couldn't recall what it was, and the title is appropriate.
I don't mind a good OVA or short movie every now and then, but for the love of God, can they at least make just a little bit of sense. I felt like I was watching Furi Kuri ( hate that show) or that other horrible mid 90's cyber punk, music video-styled bull crap that's packed with mindless action and crude language. Is that read more
Jan 4, 2019
megafat (All reviews)
One could describe Dead Leaves in so many words. Crazy, over the top, wacky, crude, insane, bizarre, crazy, energetic, confusing, relentless, manic, vulgar, mindless, and loud. All of these words describe Dead Leaves perfectly. But it would leave little to be desired if that was the only way I described it. So let's jump into it.

The plot follows two people awaken naked on Earth, a man with a TV for a head called Retro and a woman called Pandy, named for her panda patched eyes, with no recollection their past. Not even having the clothes on their backs, out two main characters embark on a read more
Aug 26, 2018
Shayisgay (All reviews)
Phenomenally educational, the bright character design caught my attention immediately and soon popped up onto the top of family movie nights to watch list. The kids just loved it. Chinko quickly became my daughters favourite character. She enjoyed him so much that she has begged me to diy a Chinko halloween costume. Pandy's pregnancy was a truly emotional experience, was beautifully portrayed and reminded me of many of the struggles I faced during my own pregnancy. I recommend this movie to all of my friends at mommy and me yoga. Its perfect for those that enjoy tales of adorable anti heroes and light comedy.
Nov 5, 2010
kirAth-shiAue (All reviews)
Stupid and pointless. The worst Anime movie ever. This is so bad it makes me want to change all my other 1's to a 2. I would be so embarrassed to watch this in front of non-Anime fans, like my sister, who would make fun of me for the rest of my life if she knew I watched this horrible mess.

The story was almost decent and the action was good(there was a lot of it), but the art was terrible and the characters were so stupid looking. I didn't care for any of them, and wouldn't have mind if they all got killed(sorry if that read more
Oct 7, 2013
Asfaria (All reviews)
Dead Leaves is a bizarre, psychedelic 45 minute long movie. People often say for shows like "Gurren Lagann" and "Kill La Kill" that you just need to shut your brain off in order to really enjoy them, and this movie is kind of similar. Well, it's similar except that even by doing that Dead Leaves is just too bizarre and too bad to enjoy. It begins with two naked people, one man and one woman. The man has a TV screen for a head and the woman has a strange red eye. Not remembering who they are or why they have amnesia, the two do read more
Mar 2, 2018
Whiskeyjack1k (All reviews)
I have a tendency to enjoy absolutely batshit expressions of creativity. Unsurprisingly Dead Leaves was right up my alleyway.

It reminded me of getting way too drunk or way too stoned, dizzying experiences that are hard to fathom at the time but special in retrospect (that's a pathetic pun right there but fuck it). Dead Leaves submerses the viewer in this deluge of insanity without offering too much explanation. There is a story but it takes a backseat to the true selling points; the outrageous art, frenetic characters and absurdist comedy. Seriously this is fucking hilarious and actually pretty disturbing. Ultimately though, this is a film read more
Jun 10, 2016
A_Fine_Egg (All reviews)
Dead Leaves is the pinnacle of Hiroyuki Imaishi's untamed insanity, given full bore like a rich man in a brothel with a raging boner. Many people would be surprised to learn that, besides FLCL, all of the work that Imaishi is known for such as Gurren Lagann, Kill la Kill, and the spiritual successor Panty & Stocking were after Dead Leaves, making this absolutely insane, asisine joyride the grandpappy of the anime-saving works of our lord and savior Imaishi. But is such a short burst of Imaishi's ridiculous insanity worth your time? Let's see.

STORY - 7
Dead Leaves cares very little about its backstory. It claims read more
Aug 4, 2018
Eoussama (All reviews)
I usually start out my reviews by laying down a proper introduction, probably stating some facts or presenting a background on the reviewed show, but I feel like in Dead Leaves's case I should mention something else first. Please note that the R+ rating is not just sitting there, so if you're younger than you're supposed to be, do not attempt to watch this, this might sound very polite for the age, or maybe too optimistic for me to think that people would go by my advice and call off their planned watch, believe me, you don't want to sacrifice your numbered days of innocence read more
May 21, 2011
Blind_Guardian (All reviews)
This is one of the most utterly insane movies I've ever seen, which is saying a fair amount from someone who's endured 'Mulva: Zombie Ass Kicker' and 'Manos: Hands of Fate'. Let's do the breakdown:

Story: 6/10 - The story is largely incoherent, and it doesn't really matter much anyway. Two people (or a person and a guy with a TV for a head) wake up naked on Earth, go on a crime spree and wind up in some kinda superjail on the ruins of the moon. Hijinx ensue.

Art: 8/10 - Like Gurren Lagann on a blood-soaked acid trip.

Sound: 8/10 - read more