Suzumiya Haruhi no Shoushitsu


The Disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: The Disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya
Synonyms: The Vanishment of Haruhi Suzumiya, Suzumiya Haruhi no Syoshitsu, Haruhi Movie
Japanese: 涼宮ハルヒの消失

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Feb 6, 2010
Studios: Kyoto Animation
Source: Light novel
Genres: ComedyComedy, MysteryMystery, RomanceRomance, SchoolSchool, Sci-FiSci-Fi, SupernaturalSupernatural
Duration: 2 hr. 42 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.661 (scored by 241683241,683 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #502
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #234
Members: 467,017
Favorites: 11,157
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 9, 2010
Archaeon (All reviews)
To say that the Suzumiya Haruhi franchise has been a bit of an emotional rollercoaster for fans of the show would be an understatement. The first season hit the anime world like a storm, and huge numbers of people immediately swore their devotion to Haruhi and the SOS Brigade. The second season though, sorely tested the patience of many fans with the lesson in tedium known as "Endless Eight", and many were left wondering where it all went wrong. The ups and downs of the franchise are well documented and commented upon, and while Suzumiya Haruhi no Yuutsu (2009) had some great moments, the lacklustre read more
Apr 10, 2010
AzureHakua (All reviews)
Assuming that a standard episode is about 20 minutes long, many would ask, “Couldn’t they just have taken out some “Endless Eight” episodes and add this movie into the 2009 Haruhi season?” However, with The Disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya being 2 hours and 40 minutes, it would not be possible to fit it into a 14 episode season without condensing the majority of the plot and the monologues of Kyon.

First and foremost, this movie is indeed a sequel to both of the previous two seasons of Haruhi. Watching this movie without seeing both seasons is not suggested. For those who have seen both seasons, I read more
Jan 6, 2014
StillSwingin007 (All reviews)
I’ve always had mixed feelings about the show where the esper, the alien, the time traveler, and the normal highschool student all gathered together to entertain that certain ecstatic girl. However, as time passed by, it ended up being one of my favourite guilty pleasures. How could I forget the super fun misadventures of the SOS Brigade? Kyon’s snarky attitude? Haruhi’s one of a kind personality? And, most of all, Mikuru’s tea?

The series, though arguably mediocre, had some very fun moments. So where does this movie, The Disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya, stand?

Story/Presentation: I’m going to skip over the synopsis, since you can already read read more
Jan 19, 2015
AnimatedGuru (All reviews)
First off i would like to start this review by saying that I found this movie very enjoyable. It was good just like the original series but possessed a different tone and threw in different elements that helped me see what was going on in the world a little deeper.

STORY 9/10:
I found the plot very interesting because they show you how the characters react to the events of Haruhi's disappearance(specifically Kyon). Within the original two seasons of the show Kyon is always complaining about all the ridiculous things that Haruhi gets him and the rest of the S.O.S Brigade into. But after she disappears and read more
Apr 12, 2010
game8910 (All reviews)
In a time when originality is something rare to find in animes, it is the way the content is delivered that defines whether a show becomes great or not, and in this aspect the Haruhi Suzumiya series is when it shines the most. Everyone that knows the series knows that this franchise has always been the "odd guy" that stands out when it comes to the way things are presented or given to the fans, with jumbled chronological airing, or slipping new episodes into what would be otherwise a "re-run" of the old series, or repeating the same events for 8 different episodes. While the read more
Feb 15, 2014
FullmetalCowboy (All reviews)
***This review is dedicated to Justin Carmical (JewWario)***


Critic’s Log - Earthdate: February 14, 2014. Review #81: The Disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya

Today is Valentine’s Day, and if someone you care about disappears. What would you do? You may or may not get the answer from The Disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya.



It is the middle of December, andSOS Brigade chief Haruhi Suzumiya announces that the Brigade is going to hold a Christmas party in their clubroom, with Japanese hotpot for dinner. The brigade members Kyon, Yuki Nagato, Mikuru Asahina and Itsuki Koizumi start preparing everything for the party, such as costumes and decorations. But a couple of days read more
Apr 9, 2010
leingodf8 (All reviews)
Hmmm writing a review for the Haruhi Movie is a bit tough, as its not something you'd want to screw up, so lets take a quick look back as to why that is. Haruhi started off as an original an innovative series that captured the heart of many portraying the life of a girl with God like powers as seen through the eyes of a sarcastic yet very relatable boy. The series was a huge success and even to this day you can walk into any internet forum, type something about aliens, espers, and time travelers, and at least somebody will understand what your talking read more
Feb 12, 2016
LeaderTGW (All reviews)
Perhaps the best 2 hours of my life today re-watching this film. I absolutely enjoyed watching Suzumiya Haruhi no Shoushitsu again! It was a major upgrade in terms of story and character relationships from the anime. Few things I loved about the movie was the outstanding story and relationships between the SOS brigade. When you watch the anime (not the movie) it can be quite the chore actually trying to get through it. However the movie adds to the story that interesting "But what if" factor and it just completely re-write everything into..dare I say "Greatness!"

One of my personal favorite things observing in the read more
Aug 31, 2013
BallsOfShinji (All reviews)
So after the debacle which was the endless eight I came into The Disappearance of Hrauhi Suzumiya with just as much scepticism as when I first entered the franchise. This time, however, I was overwhelmed with surprises.

Story- 8.8

Unlike the series the movie is very much plot driven rather than being the episodic and sporadic. Also it takes on a much more serious feel to it which is alien to the series and could have gone terribly wrong, but gladly they succeeded magnificently. Although it is mostly predictable it still manages to keep your attention throughout its long run time, 2 hours and 43 mins to read more
Apr 21, 2017
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
*Spoilers for Suzumiya Haruhi no Shoushitsu*
Imagine you hang out with this certain group every day. Each member has their own eccentricities, but there’s that one in particular that manages to really grind your gears at times. She harasses everyone in one way or another, she’s loud-mouthed, she’s obnoxious, and sometimes you really wanna showcase true gender equality by giving the same slap she might sometimes give you. However, what do you do when she’s gone; how would you feel?

Given the title of this movie, that seems like the appropriate question to ask, but, in reality, it isn't. What you should be asking is: “What would read more
Feb 15, 2014
Link_of_Hyrule (All reviews)
**SPOILER FREE REVIEW**

The Haruhi Suzumiya series has taken its fan base through quite a few emotional twists and turns over the years. It all started with the absurd first episode (episode 0), followed by a fantastic first season, followed by the dreaded "endless eight" of the second season, followed by the great conclusion to the second season. When the movie was announced, the only question on everyone's mind was:
"Are they going to screw this up like they screwed up season two, or will this be just like season 1?"

The answer was "neither". The Disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya is an absolute masterpiece that not read more
Apr 13, 2010
Cobbles (All reviews)
I was never a really big fan of Haruhi to begin with. I watched the first season because of recommendations and word of mouth. The premise itself was interesting to say the least, perhaps a little dumb. High school girl has deity-esque powers and controls the world around her with her emotions without actually knowing that? Not to mention that it was again up to a bunch of high school kids to save the world from her mood swings...yeah it sounds pretty dumb on paper. What made it work so well for me was the main character nobody ever thought would make a good main read more
Jun 5, 2013
TakezoKensei (All reviews)
Let me be blunt: The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya was, unquestionably, mediocre, nearly pointless drivel. I will never understand how the anime garnered the popularity it did with those two seasons.

The characters had next to zero development and next to zero introspective expositions, combine that with a complete lack of a tight, finished plot(really, because there was none) and you get one of the most pointless anime's ever made, which would never be capable of enthralling or delivering something as complex and satisfying as an emotional catharsis. Sure, it was entertaining -- at times. And yet, at times, you also just wanted to smack Haruhi's read more
Apr 12, 2010
Gamer_2k4 (All reviews)
Until I saw this movie, I was rather unimpressed with the Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya anime. I had seen the first season and really liked it, but the second season severely disillusioned me. I got it into my head that the things that drew me into the original 14 episodes were the art, the humor, the variety, and the novelty. With Season 2, it seemed that once you took those away and focused on the plot, the anime was mediocre at best.

Then this movie came along and restored my faith in the series.

The thing that stood out the most to me after read more
Feb 18, 2013
ChibiHime (All reviews)
The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya was never a series I liked a lot. I watch the latest anime craze go by and I never watch the 'trendy' anime until months even years after it's completion. Due to this, I believe I lose the extra 'oomph' that makes everyone love the new 'trendy' anime so much.

However, 'The Disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya' changed my opinion on the series quite a bit. Whether the effect was intentional or not, I'm not sure, but it is this one theme I felt that made me appreciate Haruhi a whole lot more.

Throughout the series, you see the ridiculously random events that read more
Aug 20, 2010
ShonenBat (All reviews)
I'll be blunt right up front and to the point. Suzumiya Haruhi no Shoushitsu is a fine movie, great even depending on how you view it but it has a few overwhelming flaws that keep it from being all that I could be. But before I get too far into that I will put this up since, this review is not going to garner much sympathy. I liked the original series and that in no way holds sway over the opinion I'm about to state. So no more stalling on to the review.

Chances are you have already heard of the original series the Melancholy of read more
Jan 7, 2015
Lord_Odous (All reviews)
This review contains SPOILERS, read it at your own risk.

It took me a second viewing to be able to grasp the message of this movie, it is interesting to note that this movie, and the Haruhi series in general, have a reasonably high rewatch value. Additionally, I believe that in order to enjoy this movie to its fullest potential, one has to sit through the entire 2 seasons of Haruhi TV series beforehand as well. Think of it as doing a marathon on Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, or Star Wars.

One should not watch this movie without watching the previous 2 seasons, as read more
Sep 26, 2011
xm0123 (All reviews)
Nineteen months. That's how long I had to wait for the R1 release of The Disappearance of Haruhi Suzumiya to come out. I could've done like most other people, and just see it fansubbed, but I waited, and now I've finally had the chance to see it, on blu-ray no less. Anyway, Disappearance is an adaptation of the fourth Haruhi Suzumiya novel by Nagaru Tanigawa. It takes place after the second season, and unlike the second season, it's been as well-received as the first season, if not more so. Now that I've seen it, I can understand why; it's good.

Story:

It's close to Christmas time, and read more
Apr 11, 2010
HalRyder (All reviews)
It's been ages since I gave my last 10 pointer.

After the roller coaster ride of the poor second season, where we went though one important episode, then went through a really boring "Endless Eight" arc, and yet another poor "Sigh" arc, and the Haruhi-chan parody series, we had to wonder, what happened to the brilliance that took the anime world by storm? Well, fans of the series, time to rejoice. The Disappearance has practically erased all hatred I had for the series after 13 really bad episodes.

Story
On the 17th of December, Haruhi decided to have a Christmas party on the 24th, and gave the SOS read more
Jun 3, 2013
Foxclore (All reviews)
The Suzumiya series has been an intriguing thing for me. The order in which the episodes aired was confusing at first. The plot was never the best part. I had the most fun watching the club just running around having fun, the baseball episode being my favourite. Haruhi would be the driving force for each episode. She would order the club around and they would have no choice but to comply or the world would end.

This movie is nothing like that.

First and foremost, the most discernible thing about this movie is the lack of Haruhi. Instead of employing Haruhi as the driving force behind read more