Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kimi ni Todoke


Alternative Titles

English: Kimi ni Todoke: From Me to You
Synonyms: Reaching You
Japanese: 君に届け

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 7, 2009 to Mar 31, 2010
Premiered: Fall 2009
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 00:59 (JST)
Licensors: NIS America, Inc.
Studios: Production I.G
Source: Manga
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.151 (scored by 191,913 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #3662
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #102
Members: 370,367
Favorites: 7,491

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 1, 2010
Skadi (All reviews)
Only rarely does a series break the mold its genre has cast for it and even more uncommonly does it set itself apart from all others. Such is the case with Kimi ni Todake. It takes all the classic shoujo romance stereotypes and plot devices and flips them on its head leaving us with a thoroughly rewarding and groundbreaking romance.

At first, Kimi ni Todake drew me in before I saw its first frame of film with its story concept. Our heroine is Sawako, a sweet and gentle girl with an awkward personality and an uncanny resemblance to Sadako from The Ring. read more
Jul 23, 2010
Reksho (All reviews)
How do you recognize that you’ve watched a great show? Do you wake up the next morning and think about it the whole day? Do you talk to people full enthusiasm and passion about the show? Or did you just get that feeling that makes your heart ache and feel all good and warm inside? Kimi ni Todoke manages to do all this.

Kimi ni Todoke starts off as an anime that could make you wonder if you’re actually watching said series. The very first scene is practically a half-horror scene attempted by the animators to make you understand in a snap what kind of person read more
Nov 27, 2009
Moonfrost (All reviews)
Preliminary
Okay, here's what I thought after watching this Anime up to it's latest episode. Also, I didn't include spoilers, so don't worry.

Story: 10/10

One word, superb. I got hooked up since episode one because this Anime looks like it's real, and by real, I mean no swords, magics, etc. It portrays love and friendship as you can see these elements in every episodes. Also, I love where this Anime is going. It might get cheesy sometimes, but they did it so well, that you have no choice but to go with the flow and be affectionate.

Art: 10/10

The Art/Animation was outstanding. I loved everything. It was well read more
Apr 2, 2010
skys0ng (All reviews)
This anime left a bad taste in my mouth. Before watching I read some of the previous reviews and was spurred to watch it after many comments stating how original it was. It's not. There are certain aspects of the anime that differ from the usual but really it was just another shy girl meets popular boy type of anime.

The first few episodes were definitely enjoyable, the back story to why Sawako is an outcast is different and interesting and so is how she begins to make friends. Unfortunately after about episode 6 or 7 you are wasting your time. This anime should have been read more
Feb 10, 2016
Fleure (All reviews)
Tales of romance never fail to tug at our heartstrings and entrance our species with a commanding power. Witnessing the innocuous meeting of two unsuspecting individuals struck by an incomprehensible tempest, finding themselves in a whirlwind of chaos and feeling, just piques our imaginative fancies. Thus, Love and all its related counterparts feel universal and evident in stories unfazed by time or land. It’s the one subject that transcends language barriers into a collective realm of human dreams. Why? It’s simply the unequivocal remedy to longing, to despair, to emptiness; a cure for an incurable illness. It fills voids that can’t be explained. As read more
Oct 23, 2009
chayito (All reviews)
Preliminary
I am really liking this anime. I am a fan of the manga, and I have to say that this anime is doing it justice. I have to to say I'm loving the pace that this ANime is taking. SO here it geos
Story-
revolves around a quiet girl named Sawako. She is very shy and has been called "Sadako" (girl from the RING movie)as long as she can remember. She soon gets attention from a very cheerful boy named Kazehaya and her world goes upside down.
Art/sound- Looking pretty good, nothing too fantastic about the art. I am giving props to the voice actress for Sawako, read more
Feb 13, 2010
ChiisaiYume (All reviews)
Preliminary
I couldn't help but share my thoughts on this wonderful show with others =)

At first glance, it may seem like a typical shoujo, boy-meets-girl kind of series. That's what I thought when I first read the synopsis, so I was kind of reluctant to watch it. But now...am I glad I did!

Story: 9/10

While not the most exciting or original plot line, it's simplicity charms me. It has a rather slow flow, but it doesn't bore, rather it helps emphasize the special moments that Sawako experiences in her school life. The process of growing up, feeling love for the first time, making read more
Dec 15, 2009
Chenoan (All reviews)
Preliminary
The holidays had just begun when I chose to crack open this anime, the summary sounding cute enough and the reviews close to overflowing with greatness and I was looking into the fall anime which I had neglected.

But little did I expect to be sorely disappointed.

Story:
This anime isn't terrible persay, though I would say that it has been greatly overestimated. The story is unrelatable and unrealistic and I don't mean this in the "GIANT MECHA AND SPARKLY COLOURS" way, but in the "There is no way this could be seen as a real life situation, it's just so silly" way.
Now, a quick overview of the read more
Dec 25, 2014
_Otaku_31 (All reviews)
Quickly: I've watched 47 anime shows and this is the second that I am writing a review for. I really just got into this and I hope my review is helpful to you.

~Story~ 10/10

I hate complex storylines. I will watch shows like that but very rarely, and only if it has enough promise. Kimi Ni Todoke was my absolute favourite anime because they kept it real and they kept it simple. I was giggling at cute moments between the couple of Kazehaya and Sawako and rolling over laughing at funny moments. I cried read more
Jul 29, 2015
shoujohoney (All reviews)
Kimi ni Todoke is a heartwarming story about a girl named Sawako navigating the awkward and uncertain path of high school and the important relationships she makes along the way. Sawako has been socially shunned by all of her classmates because they believe that she is creepy and has the ability to make contact with the supernatural. Sawako is a sweet and thoughtful girl; however her awkwardness and inability to explain situations only furthers rumors of her "weirdness" and provides great comedic moments.

Sawako's story changes dramatically when she is befriended by Kazehaya, a kind boy who sees her for who she truly is. Kazehaya's read more
Mar 16, 2015
TokyoSanchez (All reviews)
The romance genre is one of my favourites of this medium. Even though it's hard to come up with an original story or setting in this genre, I find it is the one of, if not the best way to explore characters, their relationships, and get some decent development out of them. Kimi ni Todoke is no exception, for the most part anyways.

To pay homage to the innocence and optimism this show radiates, I'll get the most and pretty much only big negative I have out of the way first. The last little bit of the second arc focusing on "the main antagonist" (AKA secondary read more
Apr 27, 2015
phs_togusa (All reviews)
There's a rather irksome trend in anime that I've noticed as I got older: romances are less about actual romance and are more about a so-called "couple" locked in a perpetual dance of will they/won't they. As much as I love the anticipation and that sweet sense of satisfaction when I see my ship finally set sail, it just feels like it amounts to nothing when the series just ends right then and there. You can only imagine my frustration when I come across a much-lauded title that I eagerly look forward to watching and then I find out that it leaves me completely and read more
Oct 22, 2009
snicky (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm loving the adaptation of kimi ni todoke!
If you've read the manga, you'll know this is a great story. It's not your typical shoujo type where the main character is a super cool and preety girl who falls for a guy and drools around following him. It's very funny, very cute and you just fall in love with all the characters in it. Especially Sawako.
The characters in the anime look just like they do in the manga, and I know the art might not be everyones cup of tea, but it is VERY similar to the mangakas style, wich I think is great. Backgrounds in read more
Feb 22, 2011
Reim_Seranth (All reviews)
After reading some positive reviews on the internet, I decided to watch Kimi ni Todoke, thinking that the storyline may be similar to Nadeshiko Shichi Henge, which is very fun and entertaining. However, after watching the first episode I was disappointed by the fact that Kimi ni Todoke holds totally different story than Nadeshiko Shichi Henge. For a moment I thought that it was way too girly for me to watch (of course, it's a shoujo but some shoujo really does attract male audience these days), and the animation looks a bit uncommon (not the characters ,but the colorful painted background which seems surreal at read more
May 14, 2010
Madgie (All reviews)
This is my first review, so hopefully this will go over well. ^_^ I haven't seen the series in a while, so I'll try to accurately try to portray how I felt when I watched it the first time.

Story:6/10
Indeed, the story summary was what pulled me in. It sounded like and interesting spin on a old storyline, and it was a bit. It certainly was interesting to see the interactions of he characters of Sawako since so many were afraid of her. But when you really get down to it, this is a lot like other high school romances. Outcast girl likes most popular guy, read more
Nov 17, 2016
Palkaline (All reviews)
There is such an amount of stupid in this anime it goes quite simply beyond words, so I will stick to the basics:

Story:
if I thought that romantic animes tend to make everything that happens to those lame drama queen teenagers a matter or life or death, Kimi ni Todoke has gone overboard.
What story, by the way? Is this a story about autism? If it was so at least it would have a purpose and it would be promoting something serious.
Keyword: Misunderstanding that could have easily been avoided and even more easily been cleared from the beginning.

Art is OK, Sountrack was a bit too read more
Mar 16, 2014
genesic123 (All reviews)
A review for both season one and two.

Poorly written,overrated Shoujo.No way that this deserves to be the best or Ultimate Shoujo.Apparently,There is this claim that this show has a wonderful way of resolving an abusive relationship,were a girl could keep coming back even though its bad.Ill tell you this after watching the show,that NEVER HAPPENED.

Let's start with the premise.Apparently everyone in the class treats the main character as a ghost girl worth avoiding.This is unrealistic as she doesn't really look like that,Its just the chibi art doing the work.People aren't that shallow in real life.Making fun is fine, but the show expects me to think read more
Apr 12, 2010
Buruno (All reviews)
Kimi ni Todoke, one of the most famous shojos lately. I don't understand the cause of the high score on this, but let's go to what matters.

Kuronuma Sawako, a student with a sweet and adorable look... not for her classmates. She gained the nickname Sadako (from the cursed girl of the "The Ring" movies) thanks to the way everyone sees her, besides her antisocial style and the difficulty of making friends. Only until she mets Kazehaya (her big romance partner of the show), Ryuu (Kazehaya's friend) and her new friends, Ayane and Chizuru. They then try to show everyone the real Sawako: sweet and shy.

The read more
Jan 6, 2010
Synaizen (All reviews)
Preliminary
Kimi ni Todoke: From Me To You, is one of the better known shojo mangas in Japan, but not to the extreme fangirl level of something like Fruits Basket.

One of my female friends had been bugging me to start watching this series -- and I'll admit, I actually did watch most of it, and then start to read the manga once the episodes were caught up with. If you're a romantic person, or like the silly girl-meets-boy-girl-falls-in-love-girl-is-happy-forever-after, you'll enjoy Kimi ni Todoke. I personally loved the series.

Story -- 6

The story of Kimi ni Todoke isn't hard to understand. Sadako/Sawako is a shy, antisocial (not by read more
Mar 24, 2015
wengdeng (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ok, I might have no right to be writing a disparaging review on a series I've watched a quarter of, but this is less of a review and more of a warning: THIS ANIME IS FOR SHOUJO FANS/EXPERIENCED SHOUJO WATCHERS. Don't let the top reviews fool you. The only way in which this series differs from the typical romance formula is the premise. Otherwise, the way events develop all scream textbook shoujo.

I would have tried to finish this anime, but after reading a few other comments about how the second half is even worse, I decidedly gave up after only having watched the first major read more